Seymour District Cricket Association

Surely Sammy Watts would be close to 50 and Geoff Hateley past that mark these days? Whats goin on in the Seymour comp if these two relics are still running around in A grade?:confused:

Both in their 50's cutter, but as Lego said according to the selectors were in the Rooks best 11 cricketers with young Martin and Irving unavailable for the granny. I must admit I was amazed early in the season to see Sam throwing himself around in the field, still offers a little with the ball too. As the season wears on the old legs do too - I haven't seen a scorecard yet from the GF but from past experience he woulda dug in with the willow too.

Geoff got 80 odd in the B-grade semi to get his promotion for the GF, dunno if he went in injured or not but they had a sub for him in the field and like I said no scorecard so dunno what he scored.

Just read your post again Doon and have to say that it doesn't sound hypothetical as much as it does specific. You seem intent on Joe Pollock leaving the Rook and now you've got Clint going with him. ( Couldn't the royals find a spot for maybe Leigh Irving, Lachy Watts, Grant Hateley and Dave Martin? LOL). I'm sure, as you said that if something unthinkable happened at your club you wouldn't hesitate to move on ( Jump ship. LOL), but this isn't the case at Tallarook and so I don't see why you keep trying to get Boonie to Royals.
As for the Carby thing, just speaking hypotheticaly of course Doona;)

I would never jump ship, I meant in the unfortunate event of disbandment or folding - geez thought you knew me better than that. Besides Im only 30 so my best A-grade cricket is ahead of me if the standard continues to slide :D

Any other 'super' vets still running around the comp these days? Its been quite a few years since i was down that way. How did Avenel fare this season?

Made 102 and bowled the Rook out for 89 in the GF can you believe it!!! Thank god for the two skippers otherwise it coulda resembled a soccer scoreline.

Avenel captain Shaun Pearce got 43 and bowled 36 of the 70 odd overs the Rook faced, and his Rook counterpart Joey Tarran took 5-44 (27 overs) in a super performance.

Lets just hope the talk of Joey retiring is crap as he could rest his troublesome hip not bowl and just bat at 4, and field in the slips.

Made 102 and bowled the Rook out for 89 in the GF can you believe it!!! Thank god for the two skippers otherwise it coulda resembled a soccer scoreline.

Avenel captain Shaun Pearce got 43 and bowled 36 of the 70 odd overs the Rook faced, and his Rook counterpart Joey Tarran took 5-44 (27 overs) in a super performance.

Lets just hope the talk of Joey retiring is crap as he could rest his troublesome hip not bowl and just bat at 4, and field in the slips.
They wouldnt have won a gf since 50's or 60's would they? I know they had been bridesmaids quite a few times in the past

Played in 3 of the last 4 I think, lost to Seymour last season, beat Broady the year before that and I reckon may have won it in 03/04

Must have to disagree with you lego man about the state of the juniors at tallarook. I agree we have alot of talent coming thru, but we still need the likes of the tarran's, capuano and pollock to keep our A Grade competitive. If we lose those guys our juniors players are not yet ready to step up and fill the void. The only one i would say who could truely hold his spot in A Grade would be young Leigh Irving who will end up being a gun!! The others like D.Martin, G.Hateley and yes you son Travis need time to mature and aren't yet consistent enough to hold their spots in A Grade. Granted in time they are the future of the Tallarook Cricket Club along with some other young guys who should break thru for some game time in our B's this year. I guess what i'm trying to say we have to blend these juniors in with some experience and it's a matter of getting the right mix! ;)

If you cared to read my post I think you would find that I had included Pollock and Capuano in that group of young fellas and I did not for a moment suggest that we didn't need the Tarrans. I was simply pointing out that the junior development at our club seems to be working with some talented kids poised to carry us forward. As for getting the mix right I'd suggest that's what we're trying to do albeit amid critisism for playing the vetrans.
Anyway, why aren't you at work?

Stole me thunder Jase, all Bennett Oval needs is a couple of experienced players to want to play there. Capuano and Pollock could be the start of it, young guys who have played A-grade cricket and more importantly good enough to compete at A-grade level. All of a sudden your list gets stronger and guys want to be part of it. You cant tell me a list containing Mulraney, Enrico, Lawler, Wyatt couldnt be built around with another opening bowler (Capuano) and a middle order bat who bowls a bit (Pollock).

Has someone tried contacting say a club legend like Glenn Cole to get back involved? Not to play but a figurehead who could have a real positive influence. I know G aint around a lot but if his time could be gotten even say 4-5 times next season Im sure the Royals CC would be better for it.

What Im saying is that if Lawler and Enrico did stay and an experience A-grader or two joined the mix then things would turn around all of a sudden.

$2000 bucks to lewer Shaun Pearce to the club (Captain Coach - Money Talks.
Joel Dunne will come to if we wave cash under his nose.
Chase Simon Hepburn again with cash and along with Mulraney your bowling Crisis is fixed.
Chase Jac Smith if he is unhappy at the Hill - Theres One Bat.
Keep Tommy sober Friday night theres 2 bats
Put incentives in place EG 50 runs 10 free pots.
Put lesser rewards in B & C grades keeps the kids interested ( SCC Hot Spot Award)
Chase Capuano & Pollock until the cows come home.
And finally get in the Telegraph like other clubs so the General Public knows whats going on.
Its just common sense ay fellas.

Put incentives

$2000 bucks to lewer Shaun Pearce to the club (Captain Coach - Money Talks.
Joel Dunne will come to if we wave cash under his nose.
Chase Simon Hepburn again with cash and along with Mulraney your bowling Crisis is fixed.
Chase Jac Smith if he is unhappy at the Hill - Theres One Bat.
Keep Tommy sober Friday night theres 2 bats
Put incentives in place EG 50 runs 10 free pots.
Put lesser rewards in B & C grades keeps the kids interested ( SCC Hot Spot Award)
Chase Capuano & Pollock until the cows come home.
And finally get in the Telegraph like other clubs so the General Public knows whats going on.
Its just common sense ay fellas.

Put incentives
sorry solman disagree you play 4 the pride of your own / team performance and the club.individual incentives should not come into team sport's play 4 the love of the game

That's not always true unfortunately black cat. You'd think playing for the pride of your club would be enough. The young blokes nowadays go wherever the cash is. We have never had to pay players at the rook and we have done alright. We have a strong club, good atmosphere and a bunch of great blokes to play cricket with! surely that is enough!! :thumbsu:

could not agree more jazzy good 2 hear from you get the right blokes that won't to play the game the rest look's after it"s self

I hear Bigshow's mum was very upset after the grandfinal on sunday! Had to go to Vic roads with the number plates she brought him for christmas and get them changed to "NOSHOW" :D

Good to see your working as hard as usual!! ;)

Least he's at work, first bloke Ive known who needs a week off to prepare for his wedding -- i thought the chicks did all the running around!!!

Chook and Guiness want to know who's doing your hair for the big day? All jokes aside pal in case we dont see ya all the best for Satdy :thumbsu:

Least he's at work, first bloke Ive known who needs a week off to prepare for his wedding -- i thought the chicks did all the running around!!!

Chook and Guiness want to know who's doing your hair for the big day? All jokes aside pal in case we dont see ya all the best for Satdy :thumbsu:

well actually my missus is having a nervous break down i think, need to calm her down!! Thanks doona, just hoping everything goes smoothly!!

as allway's nothing"s changed big night sunday carn't turn up to work all week mate soft :p

actually wasn't a real big one sunday for me, was for a few of that players and they backed up monday, u'd think they'd won it!! The bigshow made a quacker in the final and missed monday and tuesday!!

that go"s 4 me 2 jazzy all the best 4 saturday. noshow going 2 show or what :p

Yep and just where is that gonna get us mate.
We need to pull this club out of $hit and to get some A GRADE GUNS it means $$$$$.

nice 2 hear the we part solman we don't need to spend money we don't have just look at eurora big $$$ spen't got no flag this year got no money no players no loyaty people coming 4 money not to play the for the club from what i hear thing's are all under controll solman so don't panick:thumbsu:

Have a look at Royals results for the past few years buddy. Then tell me not to panick.

If we are going to get technichal look at Seymour football club $$$$ bought the flags Sumpa.

Come on mate

It's none of my business Sol but I reckon Black Cat has some good points.For one I dont think that getting your club outa trouble means having a strong A grade side. I'drather focus my efforts on building (or rebuilding) a strong club and that doesn't take $$$ so much as it does a fair dinkum commited effort by a small group of dedicated and like minded people. Now I'm not against paying players if all your trying to do is build a strong team for a short time or perhaps buy some expertise to assist or improve your local talent, but dont be fooled into thinking that this is sustainable or is in any way the same as building a strong club. I'd suggest that you'd be doing more for your club by getting around the schools and attracting enough kids to fill three junior sides than you would by going out and spending money on boom recruits that only stay until they get a better offer and seldom do anything to improve the quality of your club. I really hope that whatever you guys decide to do works out because one things for sure, the SDCA can ill afford to be losing any clubs let alone those with a proud history such as Royals.

Well we got beat on the weekend, we did everything right in the field really, dropped 2 catches, but **** me, we cant chase 102, well, we suck. No excuses, we suck, dont deserve **** if you play like that, and it still hurts.

Well done to the Avenel boys, really did the right things at the right times, you apply pressure, the lesser team will collapse.

Still as mentioned by club legend (and soon to be pensioner) Sam Watts, life goes on, and we showed just how good of a club we are by drinking ourselves silly for next few days afterwards....not that we condone excessive drinking...but we all had a good time...and lets face it, with guys like leggoman around the club you gotta drink copius amounts of piss to put up with em...

Royals paying players? Seriously who deserves money around the this comp? Im yet to see a young cricketer come through the ranks in the last few seasons who even looks like he doesnt suffer from some sort of ******ation. Heres a tip, get rid of the ****head from your club, buld your club into something where people wanna actually come and play for, and secondly, juniors, juniors, juniors...get a juniors team...

P.S. - my asking price is 5K....:)