• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFL DIV3 2014

Moorabbin going down, dragons coming in and both GF sides staying down would make an even 12 sides in div 3.

Keysy come in to Div 2 keeping it at 10 sides.

That's my guess on what's going to happen.

I trust that the league will consult with all Div 2 and Div 3 clubs prior to locking in as there will be some really peeved off clubs if that eventuated in both Divisions. Plenty of debate before that occurs I think.

It's been instructed that there will be a bye in Div 2, as I said, it's in writing there is is to be a promotion.

They will probably rectify the bye with an incoming team in 2016.

Southern Dragons were sought out for that reason, obviously the league has a plan in place for the 2016 season in Div 2 and are setting things in place now.

Spot on mate, I heard the same thing.

Not surprising that the Dragons realised that there long term future is with the SFL. They are a club that required a lot of SFL assistance when setting up and when they got on their feet flew the coup but when the VAFA treated them like just another district club and the promotional opportunity for the VAFA subsided then lost interest in the Dragons and they knew that the SFL would support them. Well the previous SFL regime would have welcomed them...hopefully the same now applies..

For the sake of balance the Dragons actually started life as a VAFA Clubbies team then crossed to the SFL. Not denying the SFL did a lot for them and were quite rightly peeved when they flew the coup but likewise the VAFA have done a bit for them also. However not sure they are that concerned that they have chosen to leave this time. And not really sure what you mean by promotional opportunities?

To be honest the SFL probably a much better fit for them as they have battled even in the bottom VAFA grades. Obviously the travel is an issue. But hard for them to establish themselves when they keep chopping and changing between competitions.

Also not sure they are pitching themselves as district club. That division already has a high concentration of suburban clubs in the Springvale /Dandenong area. Most really battling and tapping into the same shallow talent pool. I’m sure that they hope their point of difference is what sustains them and good luck to them.

(BTW a lot District clubs doing well and pretty happy in the VAFA)

Thanks Rooster good points. By promotional I meant that the VAFA along with Jaime promoted the club for its point of difference and when that expired dropped off them like flies. SFL's gain VAFA's loss, The Southern Dragons are good blokes.

No worries. Still not sure what you mean and don’t want to labor the point but can’t particularly remember the VAFA rolling them out for promotional purposes or for that matter dropping them like flies! There has been an ethic based club the VAFA since the 60s so the concept not entirely new in VAFA circles.

And agree they seem like a good bunch. Hope they embed themselves in the SFL and prosper.

and the $$$ circus continues in the west. Obviously Ross chasing $$ which Ashwood have to find and in the meantime strip Sandown where they go back or have to spend to compete.

Cannizzo and the board 'pumps its chest' about looking after current SFL clubs and they just sit back and allow this to happen. As stared on Div 1 thread, league allows the clubs to run the agenda by allowing this type of spiralling cost effect to happen in our area which is already stretched in terms of players and sponsors with end result that players paying subs have to foot these bills I know I cant afford it and will drop out..
Turbo if Ross is that good why doesn't he build his cred and coach in a higher division rather than chasing $$ in the same level. Also I hope you don't go there, if you are annexed to his contract with $$ would be a shame as you need to remove yourself from his skirt and go out in a higher standard and maintain your cred.

If you and him to go there for $$$ doesn't sit right.

SFL should set a rule a player or coach cannot move to same division in its league following year i.e. 12 months out of that division if they are fair dinkum in shutting down the $$$ circus which is destroying SFL battling clubs in this case Ashwood and Sandown. Good help the poor 2's and 3rds players at Ashwood having to pay increased subs with Ross, Turbo and Wineburg t+ all other potential Sandown players. Come on Canizzo get fair dinkum here.

Ok, I'm not here to get into a tick-for-toe, but lets get our facts and information correct first before posting.

Mick Rossborough was pushed out of Sandown by the GM who openly stated he didn't want Mick to continue even thou the Board all agreed to offer Mick a 2-year deal, but the GM changed it to one year deal with a number of restriction and micro-manage conditions. None of the Senior Group of players were consulted with by the GM regarding Mick's coaching abilities and if he was the guy to take the club to the next step. - This is open common knowledge in the footy circles already.

Everyone will see the fall out of the GMs decision with a number of key player's, support staff and board members likely to walk away from the club at no fault of Mick's. He completed his current contract at Sandown, believed his position was unsecured and lacked trust and seeked a new challenge / job elsewhere to extend his coaching career past 2015. - Yes, its a paid job, a business decision to look after himself and his family, when is that ever a crime?

Mick was one of 6-7 I believe to apply for the Ashwood position as was selected as the "best candidate" by the club and the feedback from many at Ashwood past and present is positive, that show the "cred" he has as a Coach. Only 1 player went with Mick to Ashwood, the rest have all made inquiry's to follow and will make their own mind up where to play, but its unlikely many of them will stay at Sandown now. But if they do move to Ashwood, it just shows the connection, trust and support he has with the players, who were not consulted with by the GM remember.

I believe Mick's needs a senior premiership (for cred) before a move to Division 2, this is his best opportunity. $$$ as you put it was not part of any decision to stay or move. Security, trust and support made the decision easy and I believe the $ at Ashwood are less or on par with Sandown so the move wasn't about finance.

I hope this helps understand the situation.

Would like to see this "writing" that is supposedly proof someone from div 3 is going up. All I've read is the SFL haven't ruled it out, i.e. they are still considering IF someone will go up, not WHO. They may still decide no one goes up. Show me where it's been written in stone, other than you reading between the lines and making up your own mind?

Also where is this 1 charge for CPL vs 5 charges for MW coming from? Seems made up as well. 1 person said it (made it up) and everyone rolling with it as gospel? If true, that implies Lucas will get down for breaking Beecroft's jaw on the field, will be dealt with as a tribunal action, and CPL get absolutely 0 charges from SFL at a club level, or from AFL victoria. I find that hard to believe. It takes 2 to brawl.

I'd be surprised if liquor licenses weren't revoked at a minimum.

Ok, I'm not here to get into a tick-for-toe, but lets get our facts and information correct first before posting.

Mick Rossborough was pushed out of Sandown by the GM who openly stated he didn't want Mick to continue even thou the Board all agreed to offer Mick a 2-year deal, but the GM changed it to one year deal with a number of restriction and micro-manage conditions. None of the Senior Group of players were consulted with by the GM regarding Mick's coaching abilities and if he was the guy to take the club to the next step. - This is open common knowledge in the footy circles already.

Everyone will see the fall out of the GMs decision with a number of key player's, support staff and board members likely to walk away from the club at no fault of Mick's. He completed his current contract at Sandown, believed his position was unsecured and lacked trust and seeked a new challenge / job elsewhere to extend his coaching career past 2015. - Yes, its a paid job, a business decision to look after himself and his family, when is that ever a crime?

Mick was one of 6-7 I believe to apply for the Ashwood position as was selected as the "best candidate" by the club and the feedback from many at Ashwood past and present is positive, that show the "cred" he has as a Coach. Only 1 player went with Mick to Ashwood, the rest have all made inquiry's to follow and will make their own mind up where to play, but its unlikely many of them will stay at Sandown now. But if they do move to Ashwood, it just shows the connection, trust and support he has with the players, who were not consulted with by the GM remember.

I believe Mick's needs a senior premiership (for cred) before a move to Division 2, this is his best opportunity. $$$ as you put it was not part of any decision to stay or move. Security, trust and support made the decision easy and I believe the $ at Ashwood are less or on par with Sandown so the move wasn't about finance.

From my interactions with mick and just watching him all together he would be the last bloke I wood wanna play for

This is me being dead honest here. If your a player that can't take criticism or soft headed, your probably not a player that's gonna respond well with him. But he will get the most out of his players that have drive and determination. I've played footy in the Gippsland league, division 1 SFL & WRFL... he is the best coach I have ever played under. Every coach at all levels have their own coaching style. He will back his players and praise them when it's warranted. People havin a dig at him are people that dont know what he is about. I will miss playing under him but really look forward to my new coach who I also have alot of respect for.
this is my opinion and I'm sure everyone else will have their own take, but their has to be something said for the fact that sandown will loose 14 senior players (7 of then finished in the top 10 of the bnf, plus the entire leadership group) from his departure.

but their has to be something said for the fact that sandown will loose 14 senior players (7 of then finished in the top 10 of the bnf, plus the entire leadership group) from his departure.

Sounds like a coach you wouldn't want at a club then, if players leave when he does. You can't keep a coach around forever, but you would hope to keep players around for their whole career if you can.

If Wilkin had the same exit I'm sure the same would happen. Players respect Wilkin, and why wouldn't they! Fantastic player / coach / bloke.
Having a coach that I wanna play for is one of the most important things for me as a player, hence my decision for the club I chose to play at next year.

No worries. Still not sure what you mean and don’t want to labor the point but can’t particularly remember the VAFA rolling them out for promotional purposes or for that matter dropping them like flies! There has been an ethic based club the VAFA since the 60s so the concept not entirely new in VAFA circles.

And agree they seem like a good bunch. Hope they embed themselves in the SFL and prosper.
Yes let hope so, the VAFA promoted at 2 functions that I attended that the Dragons due to their multicultural aspect belonged in the VAFA as that was the VAFA was underpinned by which in my eyes put the SFL down for not being that style of league. I have heard from 2 people connected to the Dragons that as soon as they sat down to talk to the VAFA about a possible move back to the SFL they were not courted but told " all the best". That was my reference to "dropped like flies" probably a bit harsh by me.. But it doesn't matter now they have returned to the SFL and hopefully they will stay for a long time.

Would hate to play for sandown all there players just up and leave

Would like to see this "writing" that is supposedly proof someone from div 3 is going up. All I've read is the SFL haven't ruled it out, i.e. they are still considering IF someone will go up, not WHO. They may still decide no one goes up. Show me where it's been written in stone, other than you reading between the lines and making up your own mind?

Also where is this 1 charge for CPL vs 5 charges for MW coming from? Seems made up as well. 1 person said it (made it up) and everyone rolling with it as gospel? If true, that implies Lucas will get down for breaking Beecroft's jaw on the field, will be dealt with as a tribunal action, and CPL get absolutely 0 charges from SFL at a club level, or from AFL victoria. I find that hard to believe. It takes 2 to brawl.

I've heard 20 different versions of what the outcome will be...each person adamant they were "connected" to those on the SFL Board!

Yes let hope so, the VAFA promoted at 2 functions that I attended that the Dragons due to their multicultural aspect belonged in the VAFA as that was the VAFA was underpinned by which in my eyes put the SFL down for not being that style of league. I have heard from 2 people connected to the Dragons that as soon as they sat down to talk to the VAFA about a possible move back to the SFL they were not courted but told " all the best". That was my reference to "dropped like flies" probably a bit harsh by me.. But it doesn't matter now they have returned to the SFL and hopefully they will stay for a long time.

Not sure that allowing unhindered transfer to the competition of your choice is dropping them like flies but take your point.

Nailed it, I'm not sure some of the people at Sandown really understand this. I fear they are going to take some massive steps backwards next year.

If Wilkin had the same exit I'm sure the same would happen. Players respect Wilkin, and why wouldn't they! Fantastic player / coach / bloke.
Having a coach that I wanna play for is one of the most important things for me as a player, hence my decision for the club I chose to play at next year.

Where you off to next season big fella ?

Are you from CPL or Mt? Why would you think you would be made privy to that info? The only reason I mentioned it was to try and keep some of you in the loop as to the time frames.

The charges stem from the recommendation of the AFL investigator, his report was handed to the SFL 2 weeks ago, a 70 page document containing transcripts of all the witness testimonials as well as his own verdict and opinion on appropriate punishments for both clubs. This was just his opinion. Both clubs have been provided the full transcript.

From that, the SFL charged Carrum with 2 offences, Mt with 5, one of those offences for Carrum is a striking charge for the tribunal, so not really relevant to the big picture in terms of the punishment relating to the off field stuff. This was in a statement to both clubs last Monday I believe.

Also in that statement was the decision of the promotion, included in that it outlines the conditions for choosing which one goes up, which I'm not going to go into.

Both clubs are to make their submissions to the league in the last week of October, I believe the hearing itself is set down around Melbourne Cup week, in which they will announce which team is going up and the relevant punishments.

But yeah, I just went to all that effort to make that shit up, as you can see....

SFL DIV3 2014