• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFL DIV3 2014

Lyndale opening the cheque book further this year
Dandy paid some coin last year
Mt Waverley always spending

We (Mt Waverley) don't pay players..
actually I've been told even our Subs are one of the most expensive compared to other clubs due to our lack of major sponsors to cover costs.
So the players are definitely only playing to play with mates and to enjoy themselves at the club.
We only pay Coaches & Trainers.

Just curious as to the strength of Hallam. They are playing a new startup club from the WRFL next Saturday and wondering how to read the result whichever way it goes. Cheers

I am assuming you are taking about Tarneit. Not knowing the strenth of Tarneit I would think Hallam should win, simply based on the fact it will take Tarneit a few weeks to consolidate and find the right mix of players for their 'default' starting 18. So i wouldnt look to far into it.

I come from Carrum and we only started up last year, took us about that long. We lost both of our practice matches, then went on to make the grand final in our first year.

If Tarneit win, then that is a good sign that they will be competitive during the season which is great for a start up club in their first year. It may not mean they will make finals, but its a good sign that they may not just be the percentage boosters in their first year.

Word is they have to fence the oval down at CPL with the influx of players knocking on the door. Big names & big boys also !! If true they will be hard to Knock off.

I am assuming you are taking about Tarneit. Not knowing the strenth of Tarneit I would think Hallam should win, simply based on the fact it will take Tarneit a few weeks to consolidate and find the right mix of players for their 'default' starting 18. So i wouldnt look to far into it.

I come from Carrum and we only started up last year, took us about that long. We lost both of our practice matches, then went on to make the grand final in our first year.

If Tarneit win, then that is a good sign that they will be competitive during the season which is great for a start up club in their first year. It may not mean they will make finals, but its a good sign that they may not just be the percentage boosters in their first year.
cheers mate, I don't watch much SFL at all so its good to try and get a gauge on these things

Word is they have to fence the oval down at CPL with the influx of players knocking on the door. Big names & big boys also !! If true they will be hard to Knock off.

Alot of new player signings this year. Exciting times at the den!

Every club looks good at this time of year

I have frequented these forums for years and I am actaully quite surprised by how much the amount of pre season boasting has dropped off this year compared to other years.

Have yet to see a "No one will get within 10 goals of [insert team here] this year" which is disappointing

Agreed. Going off the clearance page, you guys should be one of the class teams in division three. Any other teams going to be up there do you think?

Ladder prediction time:

1,CPL (Way to strong recruited very well)
2,STH YARRA (Must respect any side that drops a div)
3,DANDENONG (Lost Levi Moss but will still be around)
4,MT WAVERLEY (Always there about's must be respected)
5,SANDOWN (Have too many quality players not to get back in the 5)
-------------
6,HALLAM (Nice signings from Ellinbank league)
7,ASHWOOD (Will beat the bottom sides but will fall short)
8,LYNDALE ( Might take a step back this season played above them selves last season)
9,BLACK ROCK (Finished season off well last year might surprise but i'm not convinced)
10,ENDEAVOUR HILLS (Was 15 to 20 goals behind last year too big a gap will they win a game?)

CPL - A lot of big name recruits
ASHWOOD - I expect a lot of improvement
LYNDALE - Should improve across the grounds with their pick ups
DANDY - Levi Moss too big a loss for Dandy to improve
MT WAVERLEY- Not sure they have improved, Div 3 Southern is improving making it harder
SANDOWN - Not sure they have improved either
BLACK ROCK - new names, should go better
STH YARRA - Lost their captain and possibly best player, not many new ins as yet. Have been pretty ordinary in Div 2
HALLAM - Hopefully their ins improve them. I expect to win 4 to 6 games this year
END HILLS - Can't see them getting further up the ladder

I do believe that End. Hills will win a few games this season, I've watched a few training sessions and although every team looks good in training they seem to be developing alot more structure then what was evident last year. The question who are there major chances against?

CPL will win the flag they have too many better than div3 players.
I tip them to knock Dandenong off in the granny with the other finalists
Mt Waverley and Sandown .
Lyndale, Sth Yarra to fight out 5th with Ashwood.
Blackrock and Hallam might win about 6
I would be surprised if Endeavour Hills win a game this season they have been pretty bad recently and would need a few good players to win a game.

i hpe cpl are not another parkmore alot of good players glory hunting and gone in 3 years

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
I could never understand why players who are Div 1 standard would play Div 3 it doesn't make sense all it does is lop sides the comp.
Are they looking for another flag or want to exert there superiority not sure, clubs aren't patient especially new clubs they want to be successful yesterday they want a flag now these clubs generally fall by the wayside a strong club is a long term goal instant success can lead to disaster very quickly.

I believe the majority of them played their junior football at CPL and are coming back because they now have a senior side, but I'm sure flag chasing has played a part.

I don't think they will fall by the wayside. They are a very well run club, and Barnsey and co have done an incredible job getting that club established and successful in such a short period of time. With their good junior set up, I believe they will be a Division 1 side within 5 years.

On paper, they appear to be far too strong for anyone else in Division 3 this year. They are an older side though, and old bodies failing them is the only thing that I can see stopping them from running away with the flag this season.

We are not another Parkmore, in case you are thinking it we do not have a wealthy businessman (or business for that matter) propping us up and in reality I don't think we ever expected to make the grand final in our first year. Our number 1 goal from the start has been to just build a structure that is sustainable and it still is.

Danners is spot on with his comments, alot of players coming to us are ex-carrum juniors, the rest are pretty much just good mates of ex-carrum juniors. We do have an older side but with our transition plan going in place we are hoping to see a continual flow of juniors into seniors in the next couple of years.

We are not another Parkmore, in case you are thinking it we do not have a wealthy businessman (or business for that matter) propping us up and in reality I don't think we ever expected to make the grand final in our first year. Our number 1 goal from the start has been to just build a structure that is sustainable and it still is.

Danners is spot on with his comments, alot of players coming to us are ex-carrum juniors, the rest are pretty much just good mates of ex-carrum juniors. We do have an older side but with our transition plan going in place we are hoping to see a continual flow of juniors into seniors in the next couple of years.
That's good to hear not having a go at your club at all,that's good you can get those ex juniors back all i want to see as a sustainable SFL comp without sides coming in and going out when it all goes pear shape.Good luck to CPL for the year.

G'day all, back again for 2014 good to see some relevant rabble going on
In no particular order and please don't hold it against me its just an early prediction: The Divvy is going to be quite tight! well here's hoping it is.

1-4. CPL (huge favorites, just going by with last years team performance; and the depth & ## of players being added) South Yarra (Strong club, and yes always respect a team coming down a divvy) Mt Waverley (Strong club but has always been questioned on the mental toughness perhaps due to the few years of finals losses, however it really is up to them to consolidate on their finals experiences, but when does the train run out of steam?) Sandown (a very solid club, quite surprisingly lost in 2013 finals campaign - i had them finishing 1st)

5-7. This will be the wildcard mix, there is no doubt teams in this group should and does deserve to be in 1-4, so don't count them out just yet!. - Lyndale -last few years the Puma boys have been named mid table, why exactly? not sure. however with a lot of hoopla about offers to prospective players i believe this is the year they are primed to have a crack. Ashwood - dropped into Divvy 3 in 2013, and was quite bullyish about their footy; as they would be coming down a notch from the divvy 2 standard, but that didnt last too long as Divvy 3 isn't exactly all easy beats. So is 2014 time to step up back up a notch or rebuild? Dandenong - won & loss quite a few tight games last year, certainly cannot be ruled out of their capability to be close on the scoreboard or push pass teams in this mix.

8-10. Hallam - more sign-ins and have reportedly got strong numbers on the track, they will have a dip and like a fast type of footy, have they plugged the defense enough?? They will be the 'tweeners' of 8th to 5th. Black Rock - is the big Spider of a man still in the team? - surely if they get first use , with their fast mids they can bogey teams higher ranked? 2014 who knows. Endeavour Hills. call me biased well unbiased too, but hey every team this early before round 1 has a perception will be quite strong, right? Alas, this is just all a hopeful prediction. Would more than happy to be proven wrong come the end of season, all i know is i am happy FOOTY IS BACK!

Good luck to all in 2014.

SFL DIV3 2014