AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
After speaking with Bentleigh's coach yesterday StPauls credibilty is as low as any clubs.Acouple of years ago they had a combined U/19's with StPauls and the next year StPauls offered all the better kids $50-$100 a game to play with them.I think that is shocking for local footy and i bet McIntrye Jnr got a reasonable deal to cross as well.who said we are spending big??? Majority of our players are home grown talent.......ridgway, wyld, smith, mcintyre, shaw, dessent, barnes........and with players like rafferty and mcintyre jnr comming back home it proves that unlike stkilda city, we don't need to spend a large amount to get the talent to the dogs cuz it was already there to start with.
Sure we spend some money because otherwise we wouldn't be as competitive but stkilda city eclipses all other teams spending
Being close to the Bentleigh coaching staff, I know for a fact that Bentleigh have no issues with Trent McIntyres' reasoning for leaving. He is a good quality kid with plenty of football ability. Players come & go from footy clubs, it is the nature of the beast but anyone who has ever played @ Bentleigh is always welcomed back so keep Bentleigh out of this as we are happy with our young developing squad & enjoyed a good tough contest with Heatherton on the weekend.bentleighs coach is a goose, more sour grapes than truth there cos his best players wanted to play senior footy with their elder brothers he threw that crap out he should be encouraging them to play senior footy those kids are way to good to be playing with kids.
who said we are spending big??? Majority of our players are home grown talent.......ridgway, wyld, smith, mcintyre, shaw, dessent, barnes........and with players like rafferty and mcintyre jnr comming back home it proves that unlike stkilda city, we don't need to spend a large amount to get the talent to the dogs cuz it was already there to start with.
Sure we spend some money because otherwise we wouldn't be as competitive but stkilda city eclipses all other teams spending
City spend big and spend the most we all know that... Could they be spending their coin more wisely??? Rafferty back will be good for the midfield, heard a whisper Mercoulia could be back from Casey too?
It was a serious question, with the access to the big dollars what more could they be doing with it? I think most of them earn their keep. Heard they got a touch up at home yesterday though! on to the doggies- ridgway, wyld, smith, mcintyre, shaw, dessent, barnes...home grown yes but being paid anyway.
After speaking with Bentleigh's coach yesterday StPauls credibilty is as low as any clubs.Acouple of years ago they had a combined U/19's with StPauls and the next year StPauls offered all the better kids $50-$100 a game to play with them.I think that is shocking for local footy and i bet McIntrye Jnr got a reasonable deal to cross as well.
Here we go, for a start Barnes is on plenty, throw in Ljames, Cooke, B.Davies, Rafferty., Krieger,Sziller, the list goes on add it up it would be a fair quid, dont hide from it it takes coin to be successful there is nothing wrong with it!
another home grown talent.
I know our good players get paid but it's only because to keep teams like stkilda city from poaching them from us, we will pay them but like the artz case, if they ask for too much we simply can't afford to pay them. Payment is simply a form of respect and recognition of their loyalty.
Our players would get more money elsewhere but they are content playing for stpauls as we have a strong club culture and stick together. But when you have teams like St Kilda City offering our players $600+ a game, we can't compete with that, we have to rely on our players wanting to stay, which to date we have successfully done.
Pretty Funny,
StKilda City do not poach players from any SFL Divvy 1 club, I know Ben Artz and he went there without any financial inducement, also after speaking to some saints people initially they werent thrilled by Bens arrival
but over the last 2 or 3 weeks he has put his head down and worked hard on the track and fited in well, I think he might have done a slight hammy yesterday
If the Saints were paying $600 per game to anyone they would have kept Arvanitis,Newman & Hassan possibly?
Pretty Funny,
StKilda City do not poach players from any SFL Divvy 1 club, I know Ben Artz and he went there without any financial inducement, also after speaking to some saints people initially they werent thrilled by Bens arrival
but over the last 2 or 3 weeks he has put his head down and worked hard on the track and fited in well, I think he might have done a slight hammy yesterday
If the Saints were paying $600 per game to anyone they would have kept Arvanitis,Newman & Hassan possibly?
Geez tough one there to whom i will be watching on Anzac day.
A bunch of spuds trying to kick a football at cheltenham or a high standard of football at brindisi street.
Keeping the same list for last 7 years is great but,when youve lost 5 grand finals in that time maybe they needed to overlook some of the locals and get some recruits that can get the job done.who cares he is a more trouble than worth all he does is un balance a side. they will be lucky to get 6 games, i put money he will pull an injury when they play the dog
95% of st pauls players live in bentleigh either there from juniors or friends of friends.
they have managed to keep the same list for 7 years with a couple recruits every year.
rafferty ex junior.
davis, smith,wyld,ridgway,macintyers, krieger,barns, cooke the list is endless all home grown and cos they are successful other clubs autimatically put them in chelts or st kilda bracket when the fact is they are a mates club go out on a sat night and you will see them all togethger
Don't tar us with that brush mate common knowledge that St Pauls, Chelt and Clayton are all very similar. Mates who play footy together and head out together.
Get used to that! Not an inch of fat on him which = lots of soft tissue injuries.
Believe me, Ben knew that there was going to be some money for him at St Kilda City, he used going to your mob as a ploy to try and get more money out of St Pauls and we simply said no Ben your not worth that much. So rather than swallowing his pride, he goes to St Kilda City who would be more than willing to accommodate him due to their losses this year.
Geez tough one there to whom i will be watching on Anzac day.
A bunch of spuds trying to kick a football at cheltenham or a high standard of football at brindisi street.
Chelt would give them STBMT a touch up mate. Ammo footy isnt all its cracked up to be my friend.
Speaking to he president about Ben Atrz he signed and ididnt even discuss money, why he left St Paulks is still a mystery, its a fact he got offered very good coin at Black Rock but the footy was puss
if you honestly think that than you have no idea. St bedes would smash most teams in this league. bedes have a snrs, reserves, 2 under 19s and clubbies. they have alot of depth and would easily beat chelt. chelt may be competitive but bedes would win comfortably
$100 a game isnt that much money, thats why he didnt play there because he wanted more.You still didnt answer my question why train at black rock after signing at city.
I watched a St Bedes play at Mentone last year and the standard wasn't that impressive at all - I was actually very disappointed after everything I heard. St Kilda City were a better team last year and would of smashed them - and ammo footy is probably the softest football I have ever witnessed. If you hit packs hard in that comp you would be seen as a thug I reckon...