Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Gibbs

Votes: 0 0.0%

Gibbs has the potential to be a superior player. But it looks more and more likely that he will never reach that potential, partially because of a few flaws in his game (namely hardness) and also where he is being played, in the backline as opposed to the midfield.

Sharrod is nowhere near as good a kick but is superior in almost every other area, in particular speed. Sharrod is an inside mid with blistering speed. These players are hardly a dime a dozen or standard fare. Most teams could not name one genuine inside player with great line breaking ability if they have any at all.

Taking nothing away from Gibbs but I would not even consider swapping them.

Wellingham has become a jet. His rise has been nothing short of outstanding.

Gibbs.

Wellingham was a non factor in the finals series.

Gibbs has elite disposal.

I am surprised at the result TBH.

Hahahaha ^^^^^.

Non-factor? I suggest you watch it again.

You are confusing his impact with that of Gibbs'.

Nice try though.

Bryce Gibbs.

2008: 7 Brownlow votes, 5th in Club BnF
ave 20.7 disp 5.6 marks 3.5 tackles

2009: 15 Brownlow votes, 3rd in Club BnF
ave 26.7 disp 6.1 marks 4.0 tackles

2010: 7 Brownlow votes, 4th in Club BnF
ave 24.4 disp 5.5 marks 3.6 tackles

I think Bryce gets marked a lot harder for being a #1 pick.
9/10 players in the AFL would be quite satisfied with averaging 25 touches and finishing top 5 in their clubs best and fairest for the third time in succession. And all this at 21.

Wellingham has done well this year, but seriously cannot be compared to a bloke who's been performing at a similar standard for 3 years. Wellingham is almost a year older than Gibbs so we should compare his 2010 with Gibbs' 2011.
Thomas/Pendlebury v Gibbs is more apt.

Wellingham needs to back it up next year no question. Wellers is a bit like Dane Swan though. He has only really knuckled down and worked hard at his footy in the last year or two, after being a bit of a larrikan his early years. I think he has a pretty similar upside due to that fact.

Bryce Gibbs.

2008: 7 Brownlow votes, 5th in Club BnF
ave 20.7 disp 5.6 marks 3.5 tackles

2009: 15 Brownlow votes, 3rd in Club BnF
ave 26.7 disp 6.1 marks 4.0 tackles

2010: 7 Brownlow votes, 4th in Club BnF
ave 24.4 disp 5.5 marks 3.6 tackles

I think Bryce gets marked a lot harder for being a #1 pick.
9/10 players in the AFL would be quite satisfied with averaging 25 touches and finishing top 5 in their clubs best and fairest for the third time in succession. And all this at 21.

Wellingham has done well this year, but seriously cannot be compared to a bloke who's been performing at a similar standard for 3 years. Wellingham is almost a year older than Gibbs so we should compare his 2010 with Gibbs' 2011.
Thomas/Pendlebury v Gibbs is more apt.

brownlow votes and BnF finishes are hardly a measure stick when comparing wellingham, who has to compete for votes with swan, pendlebury, didak, shaw, thomas, jolly, ball, et al.. with gibbs, who.. well, plays for carlton..

Pies supporters saying they wouldn't swap Wellingham for Gibbs......lol
Doesn't mean we consider Wellingham a better player right now.

Wellingham is becoming fairly important structurally and his rate of improvement has been incredible, there's no saying how much more he will improve. I'd be holding onto him personally.

Wellingham is faster and fitter (or made to look it by Collingwood's gameplan and rotations). Gibbs is a vastly better footballer, better kick, better mark, better decision maker.

Unfortunately this year in AFL faster and fitter seems to have been more important in winning games.

could be the worse poll of all time please gibbsy is about 3 million streets ahead of wellingham get ur head out of ur arses pies supporters fair dinkum

It's not only the pies supporters voting for Wellingham mate. I think you should get your head out of your ass and realise that Gibbs isn't that good.

Wellingham breaks lines, is faster, harder and is more damaging with his disposal then Gibbs will ever be.

I do think that Gibbs has the potential to be a superstar, however at this point in time Wellingham > Gibbs.

wellingham had a better season than bryce by his own standards. but comparing gibbs to wellingham on a level playing field is like comparing a ford fairlane (wellingham) to a porsche (gibbs).

wellingham had a better season than gibbs by anybody's standards.

wellingham had a better season than bryce by his own standards. but comparing gibbs to wellingham on a level playing field is like comparing a ford fairlane (wellingham) to a porsche (gibbs).

Lmao.

I bet this is all because he's a #1 pick, right? I'd love to see them go head to head. Gibbs would squib and chase tail all day.