havoc_planet

May 25, 2007
Parkville
Calder(tac cup)Melb Storm
WITH his side knocking on the door of the top eight, Kevin Sheedy is bullish on the Bombers’ chances of a victory over the Swans in Sydney this Saturday.
The 2005 premiers appear to be slowly regaining some of their grand final touch, having beaten Port Adelaide and the Bulldogs in the past fortnight, but two wins on the trot for Essendon had the veteran coach in a buoyant mood when he spoke to reporters on Wednesday.
“I think we’ve got a pretty good side ready to go to Sydney, we’ve won a game over in Adelaide which was a terrific win, we beat Sydney last year and they haven’t beaten us by much in the last couple of years when they’ve been in grand finals,” Sheedy said at Windy Hill.
“I think we’re a better team this year than probably the last two years at least.
“We’re a better team this year than last year, obviously with Lloyd back in the team, but we’ve taken a decent 18 months to get some young players in that can actually play pretty good footy very early in their careers. That’s very hard to do, particularly if they’ve only been in the place about 18 months.”
Facing the prospect of battling twin towers Darren Jolly and Peter Everitt, Sheedy flagged the return of ruckman Jason Laycock for the clash, but he warned the 22-year-old needed to take the next step in his development to keep his spot.
At the other end of the spectrum, Sheedy expressed his delight at the form of veteran James Hird who, after flirting with retirement last year, hasn’t missed a game this season and received the award for best-on-ground in the dramatic Dreamtime at the ‘G win last weekend.
“Hird very rarely trains, he mainly needs the energy for the weekends, and I think that’s been a pretty good bonus for us because the alternative was him sitting in the grandstand retired,” he said.
“I think he’s enjoying his year better than what he may have thought.”
Asked if Hird might consider playing on further, Sheedy said he hadn’t had that discussion with him, but felt it was unlikely.
With the season back on track, Sheedy will continue to tinker with his line-up and forecast the imminent introduction of some new faces with an eye on the future.
“I’m pretty close to putting some new kids into the team over the next month. I’ve told the team that and discussed it with the selectors. We’d like to get two or three more younger players into the line-up with pace,” he said.
“We’ve got to make sure that (players such as) Houli and Winderlich come on and just keep working on that group of players like Henry Slattery.
“If we can get six or seven or eight players up and build a new block of young players in the team then the fans will enjoy that.”
Players in contention for a call-up include Tom Hislop, Jay Nash and rookie-listed Dean Dick, who Sheedy said would come under serious consideration for promotion in the next fortnight.

Our away form is still pretty ordinary and unless Hirdy has another blinder....just cant see us having enough to get over them. BE interesting to see how far off we might be though.

Yeah thats is a big call considering we are one from one interstate

Sorry, my mistake....I was referring to our away form over the last 6 or so years. Adelaide in Rd 1 seems like a lifetime ago. Still, very ordinary at best.

I know mate...my comment was very much tongue-in cheek. one game doesnt mean much and as you say we have pretty much taken it up the arse the last few years once we leave tullamarine.

Yeah thats is a big call considering we are one from one interstate

Thats all good and well, but we played a side plagued with injuries. Dont forget we've been well beaten since Rd 4, Brissy aside. Taking it up to Richmond last weekend still didnt instil a great deal of confidence in me.

I know mate...my comment was very much tongue-in cheek. one game doesnt mean much and as you say we have pretty much taken it up the arse the last few years once we leave tullamarine.

Maybe we should depart via Avalon from now on. ;)

Might need a one tonner for Lloydy, Mal, Laycock and Johns in the one carpool.

Ok - Theoretical......Essendon Travel In a bus to sydney, however, Bus Runs Out of Petrol. Who do they send to walk to the next town with a Jerry can to get Fuel!

You never know with Lloyd & Lucas up against the Sydney defence. They've both troubled them in the past, so if they both have a good day we would be a big show. Otherwise, we'll struggle.

“If we can get six or seven or eight players up and build a new block of young players in the team then the fans will enjoy that.”

this is why he is so great - he knows exactly what he is doin, it may not be all about putting the best team on the park this week, or next week or in 5 rounds time - its putting the team that is going to take us to the next premiership glory....within reason though

I reckon we're a decent chance, we've had tight contests with Sydney in the past, this year I think we are better equipped than recent years and I dont think they are as good as they have been.

Also think we play smaller grounds better with less space to cover, and defend the high ball in defence really well, they will have less space to lead into.

Having said that, the result is a variable, depends whether we turn up switched on or not.

I can actually see is putting up a real fight. Something tells me we might actually give the swans a shake, Ess by 12 points.

Lloyd always does well against Sydney and Lucus is in form so I think you guys can trouble us up forward. The question is whether you get enough ball to do that without our forwards scoring a few, and I don't think that will happen.

Swans by 30.

Lloyd always does well against Sydney and Lucus is in form so I think you guys can trouble us up forward. The question is whether you get enough ball to do that without our forwards scoring a few, and I don't think that will happen.

Swans by 30.

I reckon Mal will play well on Barry especially on such a small gorund that has to play into Mals fortunes. And i also reckon the smaller ground will play into our "one paced" midfields advantage.

Hall has an excellent record on Mal... towelled him up in most recent games against the Lions. I'm sure Hall is looking forward to the rematch :D

Sheedy Talks Up Bombers Chances