Roast Should Richmond begin searching for Luke Meehan's replacement immediately?

Should Richmond look for a big bucks, top tier replacement for Luke "The Punt Rd Slasher" Meehan?

• Yes. Club needs to be ruthless and "Pay the Price!".

• No. We should back in Meehan and gamble our aging stars bodies, potentially sacrificing 2024.

• No. replace with another el cheapo McGee with their online $29 P.T cert IV and cross our fingers.

• Undecided.

Results are only viewable after voting.

I would give Meehan the chop at the end of the season. but that's just me

I reckon club will keep him another year to prove himself.
Nothing else to prove. We have seen enough. People power to remove him from the club.

burn-the-witch-screaming.gif

What about the rehab coach?

It seems that most of our problems are after the player is injured and their rehab period just gets longer and longer and they continually have set backs in their recovery.

Dusty 8 week hammy last year, Gibcus 6 month hammy this year, MRJ 8 week hammy, Hopper looks like a 6 to 8 week calf.

He has proved to be an utter disaster! Compared to other clubs, as T4L said we are not as fit or strong. Injury management is apparently saying is 4 to 6 weeks even if they have been on injured reserve for 12 months. It is arguably one of the most important roles to fill and we are settling for chimps (of the non-Cotchin variety).

We can be progressive too and look outside the AFL circles. There's plenty of elite sport and sports science specialists, strength and conditioning experts, etc in Australian sport.

Could also scour the NRL, A-League, NBL, Rugby Union, etc. for experienced, respected and qualified strength and conditioning experts.

Hard to say, Meehan wouldn’t really make any decisions in isolation and especially for players returning from injuries any decisions made about increasing load would be done in consultation with multiple doctors and specialists both club and external

Meehan would probably look after general fitness of the players and the conditioning side of things not individual return from injury programs
He is head of fitness isn't he? So, he makes the final calls and has the responsibility to ensure the general management of the player is optimal. Safe to say that hasn't been the case. You can't be head of fitness and then subsequently swerve any accountability when it goes poorly.
Conditioning of players who are coming back from injury is our biggest issue. As an example, pertaining to the Soldo debacle. I'm sure match committee would have asked Luke "hey mate, do you think Soldo is in a current state where he can pull off a full game of footy with minimal risk of reinjury?"
That's the perfect opportunity for Luke to say "sorry guys, he has only just come back into main training after a lengthy lay off, maybe another week or so of conditioning will be the better way to go".

You might think it's all well and good to say that in hindsight but if the majority of this board was saying "don't rush him back" from the comfort of our own homes, then the head of fitness should know better. But here we are and we haven't seen Soldo since.

There's no excuse and there needs to be a level of accountability. I'm not saying he should be fired from the Tigers completely, but maybe he should go back to a role that doesn't require critical decision making.

Meehan is the Physical Performance manager meaning he is the head of the whole fitness and conditioning team.

But the people under him are Strength and Conditioning coach, which was Meehan’s previous role when Burge was Physical Performance Manager, and Rehabilitation coach which was Rob Innes former role.

Dude has caused our clear number 1 talent to miss his entire second year if footy. Possibly stalled the development of a kid who looked an A grader.

Dude has to go. With Hardwicks cash off the books then we should throw more resources at the fitness department. Flags can't be won in Feb but they can be lost through bad fitness programs

Why is that moderators tend to also be the most rational/composed of us here, compared with the stock standard lynch mob brigade? Question was probably already answered.

mods get the 20 week bigfooty TAFE course free of charge and a few 1-on-1 posting lessons with chief

Players show on the injury list as likely return in 8 weeks, we wait 8 weeks and they show likely return in 8 weeks, wtf is going on down at Punt Rd, at Geelong they tear the hammy from the bone and are back in 2 weeks, lets open up the bank account and get the best person we can at whatever cost.