• Stephen Hill

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • David Zaharakis

• Steele Sidebottom

So you think Hurley is better than Hill?

I don't know if he does, but I sure do. Mainly because I think an elite KPP is more value than an elite Mid. I rate Hill incredibly highly & would love him, but in my biased opinion Hurley is probably going to be a once in a generation player a la Brown.

I can understand others disagreeing, but that's my certain opinion

I'm sorry stantonLEGEND but you are wrong.

I played a lot of junior footy with Zaharakis. He is definitely a decent player, but no where near Sidebottom, and not even fit to be in the same sentence as Hill.

And don't claim I don't watch Essendon enough. The kid can't keep his feet. Everytime he goes to contest the ball, he gets pushed off it and goes to ground.

And it's not because he is smaller than everyone, it happened in the juniors as well. He just goes to ground way to easily, and everyone will tell you the best players (judd, ablett) never ever go to ground.

Further, he doesn't have the skill set that Sidebottom, and definitely not Hill, have.

You'll see it if you watch the game closely enough.

Whist a good find, those numbers comparing Zaka to Didak/Ablett aren't really "accurate".

Go watch some footy of 2002 and you will see the game was completely different. There were no easy kicks and alot more contests, hits etc. Basically anything illegal now was legal back then.

In the modern game now, every "statistic" is inflated massively. Hence Zaharakis being ahead of both Ablett and Didak at the same point in their careers.

I like Zaka and am not having a crack at him but the direct comparison are somewhat misleading.

Ablett has gone on to become a once in a lifetime generation player and Didak is among the elite.
Yeah fair point, seems everyone just has 20-40% more possessions for not much more gain these days.
It wasn't my intention to try and say (as others have done with Cyril v Ablett) that first year results are an indication of how they'll turn out. Obviously a long way to go there. Merely that Zaha's numbers stack up alright alongside some very good small forwards.
But on the flipside, Didak was playing forward flank in a gun side, Zaha's been pretty solid in a fairly up-and-down side. Zaha's being used as more of a target in the forward line, no doubt.

Yeah good find mate. Looks well ahead of both at the same stages in their careers. Lets hope he can be as good as Didak , pretty confident he has all the tool required.If he gets to GAJ...:D.
Like DT13 said, it's a far higher possession game now, and if you take that into account, he really isn't ahead.

Added to that, Zaharakis is a far more physically mature player than both Didak and Ablett were back then.

Very much doubt he'll get to Didak's level. Didak he an elite small forward. I don't think Zaharakis has the capacity to be that good.

I'm sorry stantonLEGEND but you are wrong.

I played a lot of junior footy with Zaharakis. He is definitely a decent player, but no where near Sidebottom, and not even fit to be in the same sentence as Hill.

And don't claim I don't watch Essendon enough. The kid can't keep his feet. Everytime he goes to contest the ball, he gets pushed off it and goes to ground.

And it's not because he is smaller than everyone, it happened in the juniors as well. He just goes to ground way to easily, and everyone will tell you the best players (judd, ablett) never ever go to ground.

Further, he doesn't have the skill set that Sidebottom, and definitely not Hill, have.

You'll see it if you watch the game closely enough.

Yes he does go to ground very easilly, as does Didak but that doesnt neceserally mean that Didak isnt a bad player. I agree with you however, the better players do keep their feet. I will keep a closer eye on Sunday and see how he goes. I think he has been far better this year and not going to ground as often as last.

Like DT13 said, it's a far higher possession game now, and if you take that into account, he really isn't ahead.

Added to that, Zaharakis is a far more physically mature player than both Didak and Ablett were back then.

Very much doubt he'll get to Didak's level. Didak he an elite small forward. I don't think Zaharakis has the capacity to be that good.

Yes it is a far higher posession game now, not much comparison can be taken between them. Possibly with Deledio as his debut was only 4 years previous. Ill try and get some stats up.

As a lot of people have said, I'd take Sidebottom anyday, with Hil a close second and several before Zaharakis. Sidebottom is an absolute bullet and keeps his feet, kicks goals and gets the ball.

Zaharakis has only done 1 thing and thats the anzac day goal, not much since then.
hill slightly ahead atm but sidebum is starting to show why he was worth pick 11.

So you think Hurley is better than Hill?

Yes I do.

Don't doubt at all that Hill's early form could suggest that he could potentially be a star though. I just think that KPP that can play at either end of the ground dont grow on trees and if you can grab a good one they're are probably worth 1 or 2 good midfielders easily.

Zaharakis has only done 1 thing and thats the anzac day goal, not much since then.
hill slightly ahead atm but sidebum is starting to show why he was worth pick 11.
Leading our goalkicking, smashing our shots on goal, and doing OK with contested marks (compared to smalls across the league) and I50s.
He's doing what we want a small forward to do.

Hill is the best by a mile and i think barring injuries i just can't see him not becoming a top 30 player in the comp at worst. Sidebottom next, is really good still, though i'm not as sure though where he will rank in the competition long term, time will tell. Zaharakis is behind the other two but has been unfairly bashed on this thread as if he's a hack. He's a quality second year player that has shown a lot and is developing up forward currently before he moves into the midfield. He's an absolute gun at taking contested marks for his size which is why he's getting so many shots on goal every game. The only thing holding him back from a midfield role is a slightly bigger tank, but he's not heaps bad in this area anyway. I wouldn't be that surprised if in a year or two this poll didn't look quite so stupid.

I am a huge Zaharakis fan and wanted him in the 08 draft. In saying that Hill is a superstar and it is ridiculous to compare the two.

COmparing Sidebottom and Zaharakis is more fair. At this stage Sidebottom has done much more including dominating a finals game. I think Zaharakis though will be just as good.

People saying that Zaharakis has done nothing this year are stupid, he has had the most scoring shots for Essendon, most goals for Essendon and is top 10 in the league for goal assists.

Another thing that has been left out is the age gap between the 3.
Steele is 7 months younger than Hill and Zaharakis is 10 and a half months older.

In two years time it will not mean much but in the first couple of years it does. It goes to show how good Steele actually was last year when you consider he is only 4 months older than Scully .Makes you where would he have gone in this years draft?

Another thing that has been left out is the age gap between the 3.
Steele is 7 months younger than Hill and Zaharakis is 10 and a half months older.

In two years time it will not mean much but in the first couple of years it does. It goes to show how good Steele actually was last year when you consider he is only 4 months older than Scully .Makes you where would he have gone in this years draft?
7 months??? Your kidding aren't you?

Sidebottom v Hill v Zaharakis