Simmo's Class Warfare

He should be banned for two years for bringing the game into disrepute. Doesn't matter if he is just saying the quiet part out loud, or if "everyone thinks it" or if the context/hidden meaning is meant to exist in there somewhere (I'm sure Eagles fans running his defence will spin it). This sort of shit will kill footy at grass roots level. It will turn the game into Rugby Union, only without a century of running/protecting the game in the private school system.

2 year ban. See you in 2024.

What a pathetic thing to say.

My anger must be because I went to a public school, had a single parent and a sh*tty upbringing, guess Simmo must be right.

Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that you idiots are defending a position that is in line with LNP dogma, that frames public school kids as undeserving.

Don't respond to me again. As far as I'm concerned, anyone who is a classist arseh*le like your coach, can go jump off the nearest cliff.

It's funny to see people linking private schools to elitism.

In a lot of cases private school kids parents just work harder and sacrifice more than many public school kids parents do.

Plenty of working class people send their kids to private schools.

Plenty of tight arse leeches send their kids to public school.

In a lot of cases that hard work as meritorious as it may be, breeds elitism and judgement and in many cases I hate those people a lot more than the lower social class people that they look down on

You're the ******* dunce lmao

"Why aren't people talking about the normal, reasonable thing he said, instead of the f’ed up part that he added at the end?"

Gee whiz mate, have a think.
No attempt to address the point, or the prior comments on the issue. But "PrIvAte ScHoOOls!!! right?

Dunce you are.

But that’s the issue you can’t just look at two kids from two different background and based their character just on that …even more when you publicly state that private school kids are less hassle than other kids

I was the president of a large cricket club, I also did all of the recruiting.

I had an unofficial "no dickhead" policy and palmed off players that I didn't feel fitted the brief of what we wanted in our club. It set standards and ultimately led to some serous onfield success.

My rule of thumb was not what their nationality, schooling, religion, sexual persuasion or ability was, it was all down to the quality of the person which I assessed during the pre-season training period. This was all done at suburban level, not in a professional national sport which has way more costs associated, media scrutiny & sponsorship expectations.

Simpson is saying the same sort of thing, he could have chosen his words a little better though.

"Unless you agree in every way with my university educated perspective on this issue I'm an indisputable expert in then you don't deserve to have an opinion and I refuse to engage with you.... Anyway here's why this other guy's an elitist."

Actually it's the fact that I had to do 4 years of research to gain the knowledge about just how far this country has sunk when it comes to structural inequality - after experiencing it my entire life personally, then someone calling me a dunce, that led me to say what I said.

It isn't 'elitist' to state you know more on a topic. It is elitist to state you know more because you had rich parents, a good upbringing and no domestic issues. There's a difference.

You can go join your Eagles brethren too.

Ignored.

No attempt to address the point, or the prior comments on the issue. But "PrIvAte ScHoOOls!!! right?

Dunce you are.

I don't have to address any other point, because this thread is about the point that I'm talking about, dunce.

If you want to piss and moan because everyone's piling on your father figure, go to your sooky little West Coast containment board and let your sooky la la flag fly.

I reckon he is focussing on the screening process first & foremost, some draftees will have a risk element attached and he doesn't want to go down that path, I fail to see the issue.

Other clubs will probably snap up those Simpson passes over with open arms.

All draftees are a risk & all clubs do their due diligence to minimise that risk.
When the number of applicants exceed the positions available you make choices.
Those unsuccessful repeat the process.
Their is no issue unless you are unsuccessful & look to blame someone.

Yes, soft cap cuts are disgusting, but what a GRONK.

Not to toot my own horn, but if he has children; I’d imagine they are my age and I promise you I’d be doing better than them financially. It makes **** all difference if you’re private schooled or not.

What a classist, racist thing to suggest. How many indigenous children in remote communities parents can afford or provide private schooling? What about the Sudanese 1st generation refugees whose parents come over with nothing to their name? Can they provide private schooling?

But that’s the issue you can’t just look at two kids from two different background and based their character just on that …even more when you publicly state that private school kids are less hassle than other kids
Every club does their due diligence through the interview process. Even yours.
What a stupid thing to get riled up over

No it isn't. You are suggesting that richer parents just work harder and love their kids more is pretty disgusting.
That was my take on the first read, but tbh I'm not sure that's what they said.

There are plenty of wealthy parents who send their kids to public schools because they offer a high-quality education at a fraction of the cost.

There are also lots of people who come from poor socioeconomic backgrounds who end up at private schools (I'm one of them).

And FWIW My private school education was a complete waste of time. I'm all about public education thank you.

Yes, soft cap cuts are disgusting, but what a GRONK.

Not to toot my own horn, but if he has children; I’d imagine they are my age and I promise you I’d be doing better than them financially. It makes fu** all difference if you’re private schooled or not.

What a classist, racist thing to suggest. How many indigenous children in remote communities parents can afford or provide private schooling? What about the Sudanese 1st generation refugees whose parents come over with nothing to their name? Can they provide private schooling?

How 'bout Charlie Cameron? Boarded at the same school as the Cripps, Fyfe, Baker etc ... all just kids who could play footy.

Slinging off based on the school attended or race or religion says plenty about those making the comments.

So only working class parents that have the ability to send their child to private school, are working hard enough? Anyone who sends their kid to a public school is a 'leaner' and hasn't succeeded enough in life.

You might know about private schools, but I can damn well be sure that you know nothing about public schooling.

Your thesis must be gospel.
Where kids went to school doesnt count in life.

and here comes the confected PR backtrack, come in spinner.

The most bizarre part is that he didn't even address what people are angry about. They're not angry that West Coast would choose private school people over public school people, it's the weird Game of Thrones style view on bastards and commoners that people are angry about.

Simmo's Class Warfare