Skippos's 2015 Draft Resource

It's how the bidding works now under the new system. If a bid is made for a player, to match it the clubs now have to 'buy' the pick before. In this case, Brisbane have 'bought' those picks using current other and future picks.
You're assuming that these bids will be made?

Hey Skippos, noticed you've got Port Adelaide taking Weideman at Pick 9 despite previously rating him as a C-grader. I assume your opinion on him has changed, has he been impressing lately?

What sort of player is Aidyn Johnson?

Outside. Very quick. Breaks the lines. Not many of those types in this draft with most of the outside mids having a few extra strings in place of pure line breaking, whereas Johnson, while limited in some regards, breaks those lines.

Hey Skippos, noticed you've got Port Adelaide taking Weideman at Pick 9 despite previously rating him as a C-grader. I assume your opinion on him has changed, has he been impressing lately?

I'm not as high on Weideman as some (that said, I'm more sold on him than most on here) but the mock draft is very different from the power rankings. The mock draft is about where I expect them to go, and I expect Weideman to go around that range to a club needing a young KPF, and given that I'm not confident in any of Shaw, Butcher, Harvey and Howard, I suspect you need a genuinely good one as opposed to the speculative types.

Very strong whispers around footy circles that Dixon is going to request a trade to Port at the end of the year. Would you still have us taking Weideman and if not, who's the next best option (assuming we keep pick 9)?

Skippos
Mock Draft
I note you have Adelaide taking Darcy Tucker, for their 1st pick is it because he is a KPD
when R.Burton, and R.Bonner would be still available for their 1st pick the reason I ask is
both boys already live in S.A. (no go home factor)

plus what are your feelings on young Ferrera of Norwood
Would he be Quicker than Wilson,and Cameron of Adelaide

Very strong whispers around footy circles that Dixon is going to request a trade to Port at the end of the year. Would you still have us taking Weideman and if not, who's the next best option (assuming we keep pick 9)?

Yeah, I would. You want two key forwards, and Dixon is one of those. If Schulz goes, the point becomes even more clear but even if he stays, it allows Weideman time to develop and replace him in year three or so. Quantity of talls doesn't = quality, and just not sure any of your current depth talls are AFL standard, so you definitely need more from below as well.

What are his limitations?

Have only seen him twice and wasn't watching closely. Ball winning and accumulation stuck out from what I saw, but I wouldn't be running with that as gospel.

How do you compare Schareburg and Francis at the same stage and potential for the future

They're similar in a lot of ways, but different too. Athletically Francis is better, mentally I prefer Scharenberg. Francis has that speed, leap and agility that Shaz doesn't and I also feel he's got a bit more fire and aggression to his play. Scharenberg has more composure, poise and awareness as well as better positioning. While Shaz is a utility, I feel like Francis is 'more' of a utility too, having more confidence in him to play taller or forward.

I'd take Francis - and reckon he's got more upside than Shaz.

Skippos
Mock Draft
I note you have Adelaide taking Darcy Tucker, for their 1st pick is it because he is a KPD
when R.Burton, and R.Bonner would be still available for their 1st pick the reason I ask is
both boys already live in S.A. (no go home factor)

plus what are your feelings on young Ferrera of Norwood
Would he be Quicker than Wilson,and Cameron of Adelaide

Tucker is a small defender. Positionally similar to Bonner.

You draft best available and back your culture to keep them. Only in a 50/50 would I advocate drafting a local.

I like Ferreira. Eye test says he's not near quicker than Wilson. Unsure about Cameron - is Charlie even super quick? Like Eddie is pretty average for speed, just has evasion and a burst. Without consulting testing, feel like Cameron might be someone who has evasive moves and a good first few steps but at his top speed is't elite.

Skippos you put a lot of effort into this mate! Amazing effort. Have you contacted the club, they might want you!

Appreciate the kind words. Haven't made contact with a club because I'm a realist. Sure I'd like to get into the industry but I have very little playing or coaching experience in football, so while I do love watching, observing and analysing - when it comes down to it, I've really got nothing I can offer that someone who's spent time in football could.

Perhaps in 4-5 years when we can look back on these with hindsight and see how my talent I.D. stacks up, then I might be a shot. But I suspect I'll be far more time poor by then, unfortunately.

Appreciate the words, though.

Skippos you put a lot of effort into this mate! Amazing effort. Have you contacted the club, they might want you!
I'm serious about that! Send them an email or something, clearly a huge passion you have. The amount of work you Chris25 and Knightmare put in each year is to be commended. While I go to the occasional U18 game (only 1 this year) and will watch the fox games, I enjoy reading everyone's analysis. Helps cement my own perception of players and where they might fall in the draft order.

Hi Skippos,

Love your work mate, given that the Saints have said that they are looking to inject some pace into their side and some replacements for the likes of dempster and Fisher, who do you think they will be targeting with their picks in the draft? Do you think they would trade up to get Francis at 3 or do you think they would go for a Tucker or Ah Chee type with their current first round?

Cheers mate!

Hi Skippos,

Love your work mate, given that the Saints have said that they are looking to inject some pace into their side and some replacements for the likes of dempster and Fisher, who do you think they will be targeting with their picks in the draft? Do you think they would trade up to get Francis at 3 or do you think they would go for a Tucker or Ah Chee type with their current first round?

Cheers mate!

I suspect they'll go best available non KPF. If they rate Tucker or Ah Chee ahead of the others, and they're best available, it might happen.

While speed is a need, clearance players to help out armo/steven/dunstan certainly help too. Rhys Mathieson wouldn't go astray.

Regarding trading up, I feel like it's normally far too difficult to get something reasonable done to justify even bothering.

I like your new draft order. Coughlan and Morgan is really picking the eyes out of the back end of the draft. Not so sure on Chol but it's a crap shoot back there. I'd like us to push for Cornell or Keough instead.

Anyway, considering how quickly it drops away if Dunkley nominates should we just take him and write this draft off,

Skippos, from a VFL POV (having seen a shitload of games) the standouts for me are:

Mitch Brown (Sandringham)
Dan Coghlan (Essendon)
Michael Hartley (Coburg)
Nick Rippon (North Ballarat)
James Polkinghorne (Essendon)
Matt Hanson (Werribee)
Josh Porter (Werribee)

And a couple of smokies:

Sam Tagliabue (Essendon, hasn't played a lot of footy this year, but dominant ruckman when he's on the park)
Nathan Gardiner (Frankston, 193/90 key forward with good movement and goal awareness)

Hey Skippos, what are the odds of Milera bulking up a bit and developing a contested game ala Aaron Hall?

Hesitant to proclaim hall as having an inside game yet, purple patch. Let's see him keep it up first.

But reasonable. He's got the touch, he's not tiny and he plays close enough to the contest. It's a mentality thing with Wayne, he sometimes doesn't go in as hard as you'd like.

Minor tweak to the power rankings. Another elite KPP enters the mix. I'm all in on Ben McKay, fully expecting him to bolt into the top 20 come draft day, 25 at worst.

Clayton Oliver the other bolter. Liked what I saw of him early season, and to hear he's now doing well - knowing what he does, if he's increasing that damage and production - well he's a dangerous proposition.

Minor tweak to the power rankings. Another elite KPP enters the mix. I'm all in on Ben McKay, fully expecting him to bolt into the top 20 come draft day, 25 at worst.

Clayton Oliver the other bolter. Liked what I saw of him early season, and to hear he's now doing well - knowing what he does, if he's increasing that damage and production - well he's a dangerous proposition.
Are you able to expand?

Skippos's 2015 Draft Resource