Skippos's 2015 Draft Resource

Hey Skippos,
do you know much about this Victorian cricketer Alex Keath the Crows are keen on signing? Apparently Gold Coast looked at signing him prior to the draft, do you remember how you rated him back then and how high he would of gone in the draft?

Hey Skippos,
do you know much about this Victorian cricketer Alex Keath the Crows are keen on signing? Apparently Gold Coast looked at signing him prior to the draft, do you remember how you rated him back then and how high he would of gone in the draft?

Testing my memory as back then I was just a casual draft watcher instead of an active one. But I reckon he was an 8-15 type. Tall super athletic KPD who'd run the ball and had a lovely left. Could swing forward.

Gold Coast did sign him as a 17 year old - like Matera etc. - he just decided to go with cricket during that contract.

Testing my memory as back then I was just a casual draft watcher instead of an active one. But I reckon he was an 8-15 type. Tall super athletic KPD who'd run the ball and had a lovely left. Could swing forward.

Gold Coast did sign him as a 17 year old - like Matera etc. - he just decided to go with cricket during that contract.

Thanks Skippos. Sounds like a good signing if he could be recruited outside the draft.

Just an update. Have done a pretty reasonable update to the power rankings. Will have another mock up within a few days, just gotta chase up measurements for state leaguers. Including mature age blokes in the mock but for now the power rankings are just kids in the system. A few overaged kids but they're still part of the junior system and not state league types.

Will look to add a profile a day over the next month too now that I'm really settling on the top 50-60.

VWMACph.png

WfWzobh.png

QfvJk9I.png

Unluckies:
Andre Parella, Matthew Perry, Keiran Agius, Thomas Cameron, Clint Hinchliffe, Brendan Dew, Levi Ridley, Jake Sushames, John Shaw, Dan Houston, Dylan Smith, Bruno Laguda, Jack Watson, Tom Bennett, Mark Kovacevic, Harry Cross, Josh Minogue, Ryan Gardner, Lachlan Tiziani, Harry Thompson, Karl Brown

Will GWS have enough points to get two guys in the top 12?

Skippos based on Bombers results and needs.
Will they take Parish at pick 4?

I doubt it.

Will GWS have enough points to get two guys in the top 12?

I think it's very likely.

Skippos - any chance you can get Michael Hagan (NT) into that top 100?
He looks a player.

I don't mind Hagan but let's be honest - what role does he play? He's short and has some real deficiencies. Want to like him but not sure I have a role for him at AFL level.

Is a he a top 100 player? Perhaps. 80-120 is a lottery, could be anyone in there, all so even. But really, he's nothing flash.

Skippos, do you think Brisbane will take Hipwood as an Academy selection?

Reckon we're talking a 95% chance. They'll find picks in trade week to ensure they can grab whichever of their academy they like, I'd expect. Some absolute gems in there.

I was watching his highlights yesterday and they've got themselves a bloody good prospect. Exactly what they need - home grown talent and a tall

VWMACph.png

WfWzobh.png

QfvJk9I.png

Unluckies:
Andre Parella, Matthew Perry, Keiran Agius, Thomas Cameron, Clint Hinchliffe, Brendan Dew, Levi Ridley, Jake Sushames, John Shaw, Dan Houston, Dylan Smith, Bruno Laguda, Jack Watson, Tom Bennett, Mark Kovacevic, Harry Cross, Josh Minogue, Ryan Gardner, Lachlan Tiziani, Harry Thompson, Karl Brown

Please not another KP Player with our first pick. We need speed and outside run. A Nakia Cockatoo type would be nice

there are an abundance of outside runners in this years draft, but very few bigs and I would be happy if we take a KPP with our first pick.

I doubt it.

I don't mind Hagan but let's be honest - what role does he play? He's short and has some real deficiencies. Want to like him but not sure I have a role for him at AFL level.

Is a he a top 100 player? Perhaps. 80-120 is a lottery, could be anyone in there, all so even. But really, he's nothing flash.

Fair enough. I guess maybe see how he tests at the combine. I think he looks decent enough. Only little but going ok in the NEAFL. I guess he plays an Impey kind of role. High half fwd.

Skippos, could you tell me a bit more about Mitch Hibberd. What sort of player do you see him developing into and how is his defensive game? How does he compare to Riley Bonner or Darcy Tucker?

He's a similar type really. Bonner playing div 1 & footy in SA means it's a bit easier to assess his talent relative to the crop and Hibberd also being that year older is a negative.

But Hibberd's impressive. Like Bonner he's tall, athletic enough, a lovely kick and a SD/Mid. I feel Hibberd has more scope to develop and inside game and just seems a little more aware of his surroundings in congestion, something that lends much more to midfield play. Reckon Bonner ends up a SD and Hibberd perhaps an OM. Matt Rosa a comparison perhaps but I'm not happy with it. Tucker plays wider of the contest to both, very much a runner and receiver.

I'd probably prefer Bonner to Tucker, just, with about a round between those two and Hibberd.

Thanks. Do you think Bonners 1 on 1 work will be an issue with him playing in defence at AFL level? Would it be an issue with the other 2 if that is where they end up? If a team was looking for a Grant Birchall or (taller) Rory Laird type who is first and foremost a solid lockdown defender but who can contribute offensively when it is his time to go, who would their options be?

Sorry to jump in on your string Skippos but id like to add a few comments to bring back bas question. 12 months ago Bonner had zero defensive action, ive been tracking him for over 3 years and he's always been extremely outside as Skippos would agree. His defensive development in '15 has been impressive, 1v1 contests have improved 50% with most either resulting in a win or a dead ball. To answer your question I can only see it getting better with more elite AFL guidance. His positional play is improving but id like to see more intercept marks. Another positive is his exposure to playing through the midfield in West Adelaide reserves, his last 3 games have been impressive with his inside game developing.

How was Partington tonight? How has he been tracking since the championship? Is he a 1st rd quality mid?

Made some good strides, breaking in and consolidating a spot in Norwood's league side.

He was okay without being excellent or terrible. About a normal game for him. I think he's a late firs round/early second round quality mid.

Sorry to jump in on your string Skippos but id like to add a few comments to bring back bas question. 12 months ago Bonner had zero defensive action, ive been tracking him for over 3 years and he's always been extremely outside as Skippos would agree. His defensive development in '15 has been impressive, 1v1 contests have improved 50% with most either resulting in a win or a dead ball. To answer your question I can only see it getting better with more elite AFL guidance. His positional play is improving but id like to see more intercept marks. Another positive is his exposure to playing through the midfield in West Adelaide reserves, his last 3 games have been impressive with his inside game developing.

Not much more I could add.

Always welcome here DHB, not many who'd know Westies better than you!

Skippos little bit more about Hibberd, what type of player is he? Strengths weaknesses ect. What do you see his range in the draft?

Hey mate, made a post about him earlier that might help. He's an outside mid/half back with scope to develop a more rounded inside game. A pretty composed and classy player. I reckon he goes anywhere between 20-40, probably more 20-30

He's a similar type really. Bonner playing div 1 & footy in SA means it's a bit easier to assess his talent relative to the crop and Hibberd also being that year older is a negative.

But Hibberd's impressive. Like Bonner he's tall, athletic enough, a lovely kick and a SD/Mid. I feel Hibberd has more scope to develop and inside game and just seems a little more aware of his surroundings in congestion, something that lends much more to midfield play. Reckon Bonner ends up a SD and Hibberd perhaps an OM. Matt Rosa a comparison perhaps but I'm not happy with it. Tucker plays wider of the contest to both, very much a runner and receiver.

I'd probably prefer Bonner to Tucker, just, with about a round between those two and Hibberd.

Skippos's 2015 Draft Resource