Smacking Kids: Is It Really Abuse? Or Does It Help Them Learn?

My mum does family day care and isnt allowed to smack the children (obviously) but uses every other method. She is quite good at controlling the children and has taken over quite a few bad eggs that other carers couldnt control and shes turned them around into decent children.
Without violence. Argument over.

I think you could argue that on a song-by-song basis then tally up punk vs folk. Then the punk faction would stomp on the heads of the weedy folk faction and claim victory.

I am not so sure about that. 72% of the worst 10% of bands are Punk.*

*Statistics provided my Loyallion

I totally agree with your way of thinking Ripper. I have four great kids, late teens early 20's, and if smacking them really did make them into violent adults who relied on physical violence to prove a point or get their way, i'd be in trouble, my 3 boys are all over 6ft!
They got smacks when they were young, but I never called them stupid or put them down, and hey, they still love and respect me, are not scared of me(never have been) and dont go about randomly bashing people.
I am NOT a lazy parent and I resent being called one and I have very little faith in so called "experts" telling me how to do my job.
In our house you were asked to stop doing whatever was inappropriate then you were told, then you were smacked. And heres another revelation, sometimes kids dont actually have a reason,they are not troubled or frustrated or bored or have deep seated issues, sometimes they are just being naughty.

I wouldn't want anyone from a childcare centre smacking my kids. I never got smacked when I was at kindy - I was a good kid back then, but don't recall any other kids getting smacked. Plenty of childcare workers smoking cigarettes around us, no smacking though.

Got smacked a few times in primary school though.

Smacking Kids is it needed to teach kids right from wrong whilst they act up?

IMO No it isn't needed yet alot of people believe when you smack your child while they have been Naughty will teach them not todo it again.

Thoughts?

I did and I bloody well deserved too. Nothing wrong with a smack now and again.

Laying into a child isnt acceptable though.

Isnt raising kids being over-complicated. ADD and the like?

How many little ********s were there 20 years ago? You know the ones, you see at the supermarket today... (Id like to know, as I may have been one haha)

Dont think there'd have been as many though...

Isnt raising kids being over-complicated. ADD and the like?

How many little ********s were there 20 years ago? You know the ones, you see at the supermarket today... (Id like to know, as I may have been one haha)

Dont think there'd have been as many though...

There were just as many, my son is 28 & he was diagnosed with having "hyperactivety" when he was 2, point is then, they didn't give the kids drugs, he used to go to a council run creche for 3 hours twice a week, so I could do shopping & housework, without worrying about my son running around bouncing off walls, jumping off tables, benches or what ever else he climbed on. But the main thing was, he was never actually naughty, he never threw things, smashed things, or was violent, he was just never still & only slept about 4 hours a day.

Fortunatley when he was six, a child psycholigist worked out he was hyper because he was highly intelligent & his brain was always working, so advised me to tire him out, by tiring his brain out with books about science, geography etc., worked a treat, he still didn't sleep as much as the rest of the family, but happily stayed in his room reading, while the rest of the family got the sleep they needed, also stopped him bouncing off walls. :thumbsu:

It just shows a parent not willing or able to try non-violent methods. I've never laid a hand on my 3 year old and he's a great kid. Used time-outs, rewards, ignoring the bad behaviour, getting down on his level and reasoning with him in age-appropriate ways.

I think once he was going for something dangerous and I knocked his hand out of the way, but I would have done that with anyone in the circumstances.

Hitting is just not needed.

That sounds like something straight out of some wanker parenting book they'd pedal on Oprah or Dr Phil.

I agree with Chief, smacking is a big no no, never smacked mine & they turned out great people.

My parents smacked me and I'm "great people" too. I know plenty of kids that were smacked, and plenty that weren't, all of whom are great people.

Why does one method have to be a no no, just because it's different from what worked for you?

Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner.

Yep. Thread
threadclosed.gif
:thumbsu:

There were just as many, my son is 28 & he was diagnosed with having "hyperactivety" when he was 2, point is then, they didn't give the kids drugs, he used to go to a council run creche for 3 hours twice a week, so I could do shopping & housework, without worrying about my son running around bouncing off walls, jumping off tables, benches or what ever else he climbed on. But the main thing was, he was never actually naughty, he never threw things, smashed things, or was violent, he was just never still & only slept about 4 hours a day.

Fortunatley when he was six, a child psycholigist worked out he was hyper because he was highly intelligent & his brain was always working, so advised me to tire him out, by tiring his brain out with books about science, geography etc., worked a treat, he still didn't sleep as much as the rest of the family, but happily stayed in his room reading, while the rest of the family got the sleep they needed, also stopped him bouncing off walls. :thumbsu:
Does your son live in Perth?

No, moved back to Melbourne when he was 19, found Perth too boring & culturally lacking. He spends a lot of his time overseas mostly in the nordic countries, like Iceland, Norway, Denmark, he does visit England & Amsterdam as well, he says it helps with his writing, getting out of insulated Australia.

Smacking Kids: Is It Really Abuse? Or Does It Help Them Learn?