• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

South West District Football League 2020

Heard on the grapevine that Westerns are only going to get stronger with the possible return of a former player.
Also heard this, could it be a former league B & F??

Should be a great game between Heywood and Westerns this weekend, will really see where both are at. Anyone else shocked to see Heathmere go down to Coleraine by so much? and did the senior coach pull the boots on in the two's?

Also heard this, could it be a former league B & F??

Should be a great game between Heywood and Westerns this weekend, will really see where both are at. Anyone else shocked to see Heathmere go down to Coleraine by so much? and did the senior coach pull the boots on in the two's?

Yes my information says that it is.. handy mid season recruit he could be

Yes I was shocked to see Coleraine boot the boots to Heathmere... surely it was an abheration?

One week Heathmere look good the next they look terrible.

had a crack at my team of the year so far..

B: M.Gore(Heath),D.Alexander(West), Z.Howlett( Dart)
HB: J.Eats(Col), S.Jones (Dart), M.Steele (Branx)
C: K.Richerdson(West), J.Imbi(hey), B.Millard (Hey)
HF: S.Clarke(Try), J.Bell (Hey), J.Vaughan(Hey)
FF: A.Schurmann(Cav), T.Annett(West), R.Cracknell(West)
Rucks: M.Keem(West), D.Pemberton(West), H.Dyke(West)
Int: S.Obrien(Hey),V.Ryan(Dart), M.Phillips(Dart), C.Tosseti(Col)

you would no want to be in the trenches with some of the footballers leaveing there clubs mid season.what ever happend to caractor and commitment?? i wonder

Nice to see rowan clarke is not in your team biggest dud. heywood vs westerns should be a good game westerns by 14

Always i
had a crack at my team of the year so far..

B: M.Gore(Heath),D.Alexander(West), Z.Howlett( Dart)
HB: J.Eats(Col), S.Jones (Dart), M.Steele (Branx)
C: K.Richerdson(West), J.Imbi(hey), B.Millard (Hey)
HF: S.Clarke(Try), J.Bell (Hey), J.Vaughan(Hey)
Rucks: M.Keem(West), D.Pemberton(West), H.Dyke(West)
Int: S.Obrien(Hey),V.Ryan(Dart), M.Phillips(Dart), C.Tosseti(Col)

Always interesting too see different views on players in the league from what they have seen. Especially as most of us have only seen a team once this season. I can't agree with the selection of Steele, I do agree that he is a good player but I don't see how a team that get's smashed every week can have a player in the top 22 of the league. In past years their have always been a few players from the bottom sides that get a gig, similar to the league vote count when players from Sandford have gotten votes in 200 point losses.

BigDog69 can I get more on your opinion of the Tyrendarra coach Clark? Obviously not a fan but haven't given any reasons

Thought id have a go at this but from a mid season point of view.

Premiers: Heywood/westerns, hard to split!
Wooden Spooners: Branxholme
League Medal: hayden dyke/james imbi
Goal Kicker: Tim Annett but will get very tight
Most under-rated player: james scalanders
Most over-rated player: lance lucas
Toughest bloke in the league:
Biggest Sook in the league:

good idea Shaun, rethink of the pre-season predictions now we have a bit more info.

Premiers: Heywood although I think this could be a cracking game between Westerns & Heywood especially if the Rumors of Sam Ansons return are true.
League Medal: Damien Pemberton
Goal Kicker: Tim Annett
Most under-rated player: Michael Keem
Most over-rated player: Lance Lucas
Toughest bloke in the league: Jason McClintock
Biggest Sook in the league:[/

Rowan clark has shocking hands and a bad shot for goal 19 goals for year is not enough for a key forward and has not kicked a bag to get his side over the line

Matt gore and zac howlett def could both be inclusions. Both been very consistent. I also dont know about Steeley hes a great player but would be hard to put a branxholme player in the best back 6 in the comp. Should be a cracker between westerns and heywood this weekend, hopefully the weathers not too much of a factor. Any tips/matchups to watch?

yeah i see your points on steele.. still a gun tho..

Premiers: Heywood
League Medal: Damien Pemberton (picked from the start ill stick with him)
Goal Kicker: Tim Annett
Most under-rated player: Matt Gore
Most over-rated player: Jason Saunders
Toughest bloke in the league: Michael Keem
Biggest Sook in the league:

Yeah would be good to see how Steeley would go on a decent side!

Huge game tomorrow with Westerns vs Heywood. Still no clearance form lodged for Sam Anson so interested to see what happens their. Key match ups

Saunders/Imbi vd Dyke/Pemberton
Two class midfields going head to head should be a great spectacle for supporters. I think Heywood hold the advantage here but only slighty

Keegan vs Keem
Huge match up in the middle between the two premier ruckmen of the comp. This could go a long way in deciding the winner

John Bell vs David Alexander
Should be a great match up as both have been in good form, if Alexander can keep JB quiet will go a long way to helping a westerns victory

Tim Annet vs Leigh Malseed
The leading goal kicker in the comp has been in great form, Malseed will need to shut him down.

My tip is Heywood in a nail biter especially with the conditions set to be wet and windy.

Tyrendarra vs Sandford - Darras to bounce back after last weekends loss and have a good win.

Dartmoor vs Branxholme/Wallacedale - Darty to have a big win

Coleraine vs Cavendish - the only other game of the round that could be close, on last weeks form will be very hard game for the dish and Coleraine should get the win

A great insight there mate! The midfield battles will def play a huge roll in the outcome if westerns can keep it tight and not allow imbi any space they could get on top. Johnny Bell and dave alexander should be a cracker prob the best leadup foward and stopper in the comp. If its wet i think and westerns can bottle it up they have a great chance but if its dry and heywood can get out and run they will be hard to stop. Too tight for me!
In other games darras, darty and coleraine should all win easily

Big dog which games have you seen Rowan Clark play? I would have thought two goals a game is a pretty good return given the ground he covers. A lot of the other key forwards tend to camp in the goalsquare and have no impact on the game unless they kick a huge bag. generally clunks more than his fair share too.

heywood by 17 in the match of the round.

Yeah would be good to see how Steeley would go on a decent side!

Huge game tomorrow with Westerns vs Heywood. Still no clearance form lodged for Sam Anson so interested to see what happens their. Key match ups

Saunders/Imbi vd Dyke/Pemberton
Two class midfields going head to head should be a great spectacle for supporters. I think Heywood hold the advantage here but only slighty

Keegan vs Keem
Huge match up in the middle between the two premier ruckmen of the comp. This could go a long way in deciding the winner

John Bell vs David Alexander
Should be a great match up as both have been in good form, if Alexander can keep JB quiet will go a long way to helping a westerns victory

Tim Annet vs Leigh Malseed
The leading goal kicker in the comp has been in great form, Malseed will need to shut him down.

My tip is Heywood in a nail biter especially with the conditions set to be wet and windy.

Tyrendarra vs Sandford - Darras to bounce back after last weekends loss and have a good win.

Dartmoor vs Branxholme/Wallacedale - Darty to have a big win

Coleraine vs Cavendish - the only other game of the round that could be close, on last weeks form will be very hard game for the dish and Coleraine should get the win

Anson hasnt been cleared for the game and dyke is rumoured to be a late out with an elbow injury.. cracking match ups!

Well Heywood v Westerns was a little bit of a let down in the end, had to laugh at Malseed getting the huge picture on the paper kicking a goal from fullback!
By the looks of the draw Westens should hold top spot for the rest of the season and 4th-6th could get tight in the next few weeks.

Tips for this week:
Tyrendarra over Banxholme by 120
Cavendish over Dartmoor by 9 (in an upset)
Heywood over Heathmere by 60
Coleraine over Sandford by 32

Premiers: Heywood
League Medal: Hayden Dyke, would like to say James Imbi but I think the Bell boys, Nash boys and B. Millard will take too many votes away from him. Matt Gore the dark horse chance.
Goal Kicker: Tim Annett, after playing a majority of reserves games last year a great effort
Most under-rated player: Jason Walker, kicks goals, runs all day, super skillfull
Most over-rated player: Not sure, stick with Lance Lucas
Toughest bloke in the league: B. Cook, B. Bell
Biggest Sook in the league: This question was so much easier with Huggins still playing...
Team that went below expectations: Heathmere, knocked off Tyrendarra and went downhill from there
Team that went above expectations: Cavendish, sitting in 5th at the moment but a tough draw will probably see them miss finals, just.

Right into the business end of the season now. If all goes to plan for westerns they should regain top spot when Heywood have their bye, but that could all change. The real fight will be for the 3 remaining finals spots, tyrendarra look to have all but secured theirs which leaves 3 good teams in cavendish, coleraine and dartmoor for the other 2. If coleraine lose to westerns this weekend then have a bye it will make it very hard for them.
Thoughts?
Also can anyone see any teams other than Heywood and westerns being a genuine premiership threat?

Right into the business end of the season now. If all goes to plan for westerns they should regain top spot when Heywood have their bye, but that could all change. The real fight will be for the 3 remaining finals spots, tyrendarra look to have all but secured theirs which leaves 3 good teams in cavendish, coleraine and dartmoor for the other 2. If coleraine lose to westerns this weekend then have a bye it will make it very hard for them.
Thoughts?
Also can anyone see any teams other than Heywood and westerns being a genuine premiership threat?

I dont think there would be any other side to really come close to Heywood or Westerns... I thought maybe Darra's or Darty??? But Dartmore have really seem to have dropped off the pace.. It would be interesting to see how they go against Heywood this weekend. Darra's might get close to making the GF.. i think they might be the only real other chance.. But i'm saying this very lightly. I think they give themselves a chance against westerns and I've heard that they feel as though their only one QRT away from staying "close" to heywood. They feel as tho they can match it with Heywood but let themselves down by one bad QRT.. But to answer your Q, No i dont think there are any other "genuine" premiership threats..

Both times I've watched Heywood and Westerns both teams have been short of their full list. I cant wait to see these 2 sides play against each other at full strenght.. Gee I hope this does happen.. Last time these 2 teams meet Heywood were the much better team by far. Very well balanced across the board. Played in tough conditions I know but on that day in any conditions Heywood would have won 10/10. Westerns would be loving their new pick ups through the year and this will add plenty of depth and telant across the board. They were lacking in my opinion a hard ball get player but have now covered that with Anson. They had big Kleemy in there but they just needed someone a bit cleaner and faster around the stoppages. There are plenty of "wide reciving" players in their team who are very dangerouse, Dyke, Huppo's, Richardson etc to be a very damaging team. Thats what would make for an awesome GF against Heywood. Both teams have strong runners, skilfull ball users and marking power forwards.

Match ups = Imbi-Dyke cracknell-mizzi saunders-pemberton Anson-B.Nash J.Bell-B.Hanson M.Hppatz-Walker Annet-Malseed Keem-Keags O'Brian-T.huppatz
B.Nash-Bampfield Cook-Wilson (If cook plays down back) Barr-Webb Edwards-Malseed

And the list goes on and on... Any other big stand out match ups that i've missed?? Add? Or I have wrong here..?
And would anyone be game enough to highlight the winners from these match ups??

I believe this weekend will answer the question if there are any other contenders for this years flag with Coleraine and Dartmoor playing league leaders in Westerns and Heywood. If they can upstage the two top teams, they deserve to join the current top 3 as potential premiers.

Anybody out there willing to put their name on the line for league BnF and team of the year? Pemburton, B. Millard, S. Clark, Dyke and J. Imbi would have to make the top 5. Westerns, Heywood and a handful of Dartmoor and Tyrendarra players to make up the team of the year structure surely.

I believe this weekend will answer the question if there are any other contenders for this years flag with Coleraine and Dartmoor playing league leaders in Westerns and Heywood. If they can upstage the two top teams, they deserve to join the current top 3 as potential premiers.

Anybody out there willing to put their name on the line for league BnF and team of the year? Pemburton, B. Millard, S. Clark, Dyke and J. Imbi would have to make the top 5. Westerns, Heywood and a handful of Dartmoor and Tyrendarra players to make up the team of the year structure surely.

I don't really rate Pemburton.. I see his name in the paper a bit but I dont believe he's up there with the likes of J.Imbi and B.Millard... My opinion. I think Imbi would go close and Millard is a star. I think the Heywood boys will share the votes around to much tho for one of them to win. Maybe a Dyke or a Darra player.. Lucas might get a few votes as well.

Changed my thoughts on B & F,

B & F: Ben Millard- Heywood
2nd: Damian Pemberton- Westerns
Others to come close: Dyke, Scott Clarke, Robert Bleumink, Joshua Eats and maybe Jason Saunders or James Imbi..

Team (I've left a few out but can't think of who right now..! mental blank):

B: M.Gore(Heath), L. Malseed (Hey), B. Foster (Tyr)

HB: J.Eats (Col), Si.Jones (Dart), P. Roberts (Heath)

C: H.Dyke (West) , S.Obrien(hey), B.Millard (Hey)

HF: L. Cooper(Branx), J.Bell (Hey), J.Vaughan(Hey)

Rucks: M. Keem(West), D.Pemberton(West), S. Clarke (Tyr)

Int: R. Bleumink (Heath), M.Phillips(Dart), B.Nash(Hey) D.Alexander (West)

Coach: Hawke (Westerns)

Changed my thoughts on B & F,

B & F: Ben Millard- Heywood
2nd: Damian Pemberton- Westerns
Others to come close: Dyke, Scott Clarke, Robert Bleumink, Joshua Eats and maybe Jason Saunders or James Imbi..

Team (I've left a few out but can't think of who right now..! mental blank):

B: M.Gore(Heath), L. Malseed (Hey), B. Foster (Tyr)

HB: J.Eats (Col), Si.Jones (Dart), P. Roberts (Heath)

HF: L. Cooper(Branx), J.Bell (Hey), J.Vaughan(Hey)

Rucks: M. Keem(West), D.Pemberton(West), S. Clarke (Tyr)

Int: R. Bleumink (Heath), M.Phillips(Dart), B.Nash(Hey) D.Alexander (West)

Coach: Hawke (Westerns)

Interesting thoughts their Showtime. I agree with most of your side, has been interesting to watch some players emerge and other drop off as the season comes to a close. Really looks like Heywood and Westerns are the two sides with real shots at winning the flag. Tyrendarra would be next in the line but the closest they have came was 25 points to Westerns. They look to be hitting some good form at the right time of the year and this weeks game with Cavendish should be a cracker and could decide 3rd spot.

Having a look at the form of players and again hard to pick players after only seeing teams a couple of times have revised my team of the year from the half way mark.
Left out some big names but only due to their inability to stay on the park.
John Bell easily would have made it but only played 7 games. 10 games to qualify
Peter Roberts was a tough one to leave out but only played 10 games, 2 of those got injured early.
Feel like there will be more from Cavendish and Coleraine but again haven't seen enough of them to know their guns. Can't have anyone from Branx or Sandford.

B: M.Phillips (Dart), L. Malseed (Hey), S. Rhodes (Tyr)

HB: M.Gore (Heath), Si.Jones (Dart), P. Young (Heath)

HF: T. O'Connell (Tyr), J.Bell (Hey), J.Vaughan(Hey)

Rucks: M. Keem(West), D.Pemberton(West), S. Clark (Tyr)

Int: L. Thorpe (Tyr), M.Phillips(Dart), J. Imbi (Hey) D.Alexander (West)

Coach: Hawke (Westerns)[/

For league B and f i reckon hayden dyke/Scott Clark... With Pemberton, Ben Nash, Imbi, Saunders, Luke Purcell all to poll well.

B: L. Malseed (Hey), D.Alexander (West), M.Gore (Heath)

HB: J.Eats (Col), C.Tosseti (Col), B.Millard (Hey)

C: J.Saunders (Hey), J.Imbi (Hey), L.Purcell (Hey)

HF: S.Clark (Tyr), J.Bell (Hey), V.Ryan (Dart)

FF: A.Schurmann (Cav), T.Annett (West), J.Mcrae (Dart)

Rucks: R.Bluemink (Heath), D.Pemberton (West), H.Dyke(West)

Int: Si.Jones (Dart), M.Keem (West), B.Nash (Hey), B.Rhook (Col)

Coach: Hawke

For league B and f i reckon hayden dyke/Scott Clark... With Pemberton, Ben Nash, Imbi, Saunders, Luke Purcell all to poll well.

B: L. Malseed (Hey), D.Alexander (West), M.Gore (Heath)

HB: J.Eats (Col), C.Tosseti (Col), B.Millard (Hey)

C: J.Saunders (Hey), J.Imbi (Hey), L.Purcell (Hey)

HF: S.Clark (Tyr), J.Bell (Hey), V.Ryan (Dart)

FF: A.Schurmann (Cav), T.Annett (West), J.Mcrae (Dart)

Rucks: R.Bluemink (Heath), D.Pemberton (West), H.Dyke(West)

Int: Si.Jones (Dart), M.Keem (West), B.Nash (Hey), B.Rhook (Col)

Coach: Hawke

L.Purcell is cavendish*