Southern FL - 2011/12

Not certain if I am the one who has gone very quiet or not.

Don't really feel like spending much time reading about my club getting bashed time and time again, and at the present time I can't add anymore to what is already known.

Don't think anyone is bashin mate. Just want to know what the go is. Lots of talk at the moment.

The Tringrove injury sounded very nasty. Has lost an aggot unfortunately.

Sad to hear. If CH won't be playing this year then it's a perfect chance for the SFL to redo the roster and get the thing right. 18 games, play everyone twice and no byes.

Writing was on the wall when the coach and assistant resigned.

Central Hawks - gone into recess.

That's bad news, any club that has to resort to these measures is a shocking thing for all concerned.

Don't think they are on there own, heard that Kingborough are struggling with numbers, heaps of juniors just not many senior players on the track, they do have a few who still have cricket commitments,

Central Hawks - gone into recess.
no good that the hawks gone in to recess footy in the state in a bad way junior numbers down and there has been a club or two fold for the few years eg last year latrobe saints ringarooma year before glenorchy sfl pity footy clubs are a big part of the community

Predictions for this year?

New Norfolk
Lindisfarne
Kingston
Claremont
Dodges
Brighton
East Coast
Huonville
Cygnet
Sorell

Thompson to win goal kicking, Puiselli william lietch and new norfolk probably wont lose a game with their rumoured pick ups!

And after watching Sorell the other week, they're in for a loooooooooong year.

Big movers to be claremont, i think they've recruited pretty well and all reports that Jacko has them pretty fit! Just depends if they implode amongst themselves or not.

New Roster for 2013

Round 1 6-Apr
Claremont New Norfolk
Brighton v East Coast
Cygnet v Sorell
Huonville v Dodges Ferry
Kingborough v Lindisfarne (N)

Round 2 13-Apr
Brighton v New Norfolk
Sorell v East Coast
Dodges Ferry v Cygnet
Lindisfarne v Huonville
Claremont v Kingborough

Round 3 20-Apr
New Norfolk v Sorell
East Coast v Dodges Ferry
Cygnet v Lindisfarne
Huonville v Kingborough
Brighton v Claremont

Round 4 27-Apr
Dodges Ferry v New Norfolk
Lindisfarne v East Coast
Kingborough v Cygnet
Claremont v Huonville
Sorell v Brighton

Round 5 4-May
New Norfolk v Lindisfarne
East Coast v Kingborough
Cygnet v Huonville
Brighton v Dodges Ferry
Claremont v Sorell

Round 6 11-May
Kingborough v New Norfolk
Huonville v East Coast
Cygnet v Claremont
Lindisfarne v Brighton
Dodges Ferry v Sorell

NTFA vs SFL 18-May

Round 7 25-May
New Norfolk v Huonville
East Coast v Cygnet
Brighton v Kingborough
Sorell v Lindisfarne
Claremont v Dodges Ferry

Round 8 1-Jun
Cygnet v New Norfolk
East Coast v Claremont
Huonville v Brighton
Kingborough v Sorell
Lindisfarne v Dodges Ferry

U 23 Rep Game 8-Jun

Round 9 15-Jun
New Norfolk v East Coast
Brighton v Cygnet
Sorell v Huonville
Dodges Ferry v Kingborough
Claremont v
Lindisfarne

Round 10 22-Jun
New Norfolk v Claremont
East Coast v Brighton
Sorell v Cygnet
Dodges Ferry v Huonville
Lindisfarne v Kingborough

Round 11 29-Jun

New Norfolk v Brighton
East Coast v Sorell
Cygnet v Dodges Ferry
Huonville v Lindisfarne
Kingborough v Claremont

Round 12 6-Jul
Sorell v New Norfolk
Dodges Ferry v East Coast
Lindisfarne v Cygnet
Kingborough v Huonville
Claremont v Brighton

Round 13 13-Jul
New Norfolk v Dodges Ferry
East Coast v Lindisfarne
Cygnet v Kingborough
Huonville v Claremont
Brighton v Sorell

Round 14 20-Jul
Lindisfarne v New Norfolk
Kingborough v East Coast
Huonville v Cygnet
Dodges Ferry v Brighton
Sorell v Claremont

Round 15 27-Jul
New Norfolk v Kingborough
East Coast v Huonville
Claremont v Cygnet
Brighton v Lindisfarne
Sorell v Dodges Ferry

Round 16 3-Aug
Huonville v New Norfolk
Cygnet v East Coast
Kingborough v Brighton
Lindisfarne v Sorell
Dodges Ferry v Claremont

Round 17 10-Aug
New Norfolk v Cygnet
Claremont v East Coast
Brighton v Huonville
Sorell v Kingborough
Dodges Ferry v Lindisfarne

Round 18 17-Aug
East Coast v New Norfolk
Cygnet v Brighton
Huonville v Sorell
Kingborough v Dodges Ferry
Lindisfarne v Claremont

This roster looks a damn sight better then what was previously submitted..Everyone plays everyone 2 times and no byes. Only thing is how they can have the SFL v NTFA rep game so early in the season. So its obvious the team will be picked on reputations and names rather then players who are in form.Would'nt it be a better idea to have it after round 9 at least.
My Ladder-
New Norfolk
Lindisfarne
Kingborough
Claremont
Dodges Ferry
Cygnet
Huonville
East Coast
Brighton
Sorell

McVilly played at Lindisfarne last year. Good tagger, played in some premierships at Clarence

Saw Horne from CH has gone to Norfolk according to the clearance page. Norfolk could just about do the rep game by themselves this year.

This roster looks a damn sight better then what was previously submitted..Everyone plays everyone 2 times and no byes. Only thing is how they can have the SFL v NTFA rep game so early in the season. So its obvious the team will be picked on reputations and names rather then players who are in form.Would'nt it be a better idea to have it after round 9 at least.
My Ladder-
New Norfolk
Lindisfarne
Kingborough
Claremont
Dodges Ferry
Cygnet
Huonville
East Coast
Brighton
Sorell

I reckon you've got the bottom 6 right. I'm not sure about 2nd to 5th though as I don't really know how those clubs are traveling at the minute. Guess we'll see in a few weeks

Heard over the weekend Brighton smashed Swansea by 118 pts, Kingborough smashed OHA by 77pts and Claremont smashed St Virgils by 75pts.. Anyone know of any other results?

A lot of people have Kingborough fairly high up in the ladders, from what I have seen and heard, they will be lucky to make the 5, I think they will struggle. But everybody is playing for a spot in the GF cause New Norfolk will be side they will play.

Why do you say that? Who have they lost? They have won all their pre-season games have'nt they?

Lucky nobody tipped in round 1

Claremont 12 24 96
N Norfolk. 14 10 94

Cygnet. 21 6 132
Sorell. 15 10 100

Huonville. 16 12 108
Dodges. 11 7 73

East coast 19 9 123
Brighton. 13 7 85

Kingborough. 13 8 86
Lindisfarne. 9 13 67

went to the Claremont v New Norfolk game, was a beauty of a contest. Awesome crowd as well..If the Magpies had of kicked straight they should of won by 5-6 goals..They are going to be big improvers this season, looks like we now have a big 4..Norfolk,Kingborouigh,Lindisfarne and now Claremont..Great day of footy!!

Putting Claremont in your big 4 after 1 win is a little premature. Watching the club over the years its fair to say they could go out and lose to the bottom team next week.

From what i saw i dont think it is premature..Over the past years they would've got thumped by 15+ goals..

I don't think the coach's in place at the moment will let that happen.
Totally agree with that.

For someone who generally writes common sense on here, that would have to be the silliest thing I've ever seen you write, Lachrilly.

They're a totally different side to those you've seen over the years and was a win achieved without arguably their two best players - Kamaric and Jake Gillie - for large portions of the game. Still Kickin's comment is spot on. I'm not saying they're unbeatable, I think we all thought New Norfolk were/are, but they won't be losing to "the bottom side" any time soon!

Perhaps you should be more concerned about your old mob, Channel - for whom nothing seems to have changed after yet another "recruiting campaign"!

For someone who generally writes common sense on here, that would have to be the silliest thing I've ever seen you write, Lachrilly.

They're a totally different side to those you've seen over the years and was a win achieved without arguably their two best players - Kamaric and Jake Gillie - for large portions of the game. Still Kickin's comment is spot on. I'm not saying they're unbeatable, I think we all thought New Norfolk were/are, but they won't be losing to "the bottom side" any time soon!

Perhaps you should be more concerned about your old mob, Channel - for whom nothing seems to have changed after yet another "recruiting campaign"!

Lets just wait and see on the Mont. I'm not saying it was a one off, but when they are still playing good footy in a month i will be on the train. Your right about Channel though, not even recruiting good players from other clubs works for them. Looks like another long year down at the Saints (I refuse to call them the Sharks). I hope this isnt the case and things turn around soon.

Saints/Sharks look to have recruited the 'wrong' character of players this year. Not all of them, but I know of at least one who is getting paid an extraordinary amount, who has no interest in team success/camaraderie whatsoever. As long as he kicks a goal or two, his old man gets a b&f vote card, and he gets his money after the game, he could not give a rats arse if his team wins, lose or draws. Almost none of his match payments will come back to the club as he won't hang around long after cash is in his hand. Unfortunately, these types of players are putting enormous strain on country/ regional footy clubs when they demand big $$, then don't perform, and more importantly, don't hang around to spend a bit of their dosh at the club who pays them. They only cause angst and division in clubs that need everyone moving in the same direction to breed success.It is becoming more and more common, which is the biggest shame in country/regional footy in Tas today.

Southern FL - 2011/12