Southern FL - 2011/12

Yeah you did. But the info I was getting was that it would be quashed pretty quickly. THats how it was going a few weeks ago. But, things have certainly changed now.

I heard this today as well. Geez, you would think that there would be more costs involved if that was the case. Uniforms for on and off the ground. Why??
Doesnt really make sense to have two names and colours under the same roof.

If Lauderdale get into the SFL the smartest thing they could do is enter as the cats, it would bring back alot of past players, supporters and sponsors! being an ex cat i personally would support it! have heard these ex cats people you speak of would inject a sh!tload of cash into the club.

Bring back the catta's!

If Lauderdale get into the SFL the smartest thing they could do is enter as the cats, it would bring back alot of past players, supporters and sponsors! being an ex cat i personally would support it! have heard these ex cats people you speak of would inject a sh!tload of cash into the club.

Bring back the catta's!

Its going backwards in my opinion, The Lauderdale Football club in the past was a party club and a place to drink all weekend, no way should it under any circumstances go back to anything that remotely resembles that. Everyone should be proud of the fact that the what has been achieved at the club in the past 10 years, it has gone from what I just said to being in the top 5 football teams in Tasmania, pretty remarkable really. To think that a few disgruntled past players want to sacrifice all this because they cant get there own way is an absolute disgrace, if there SONS aren't good enough to play at he club in the TSL they should grin and bare it and move on, not try and drag the club back down to there level.

Yeah you did. But the info I was getting was that it would be quashed pretty quickly. THats how it was going a few weeks ago. But, things have certainly changed now.

I heard this today as well. Geez, you would think that there would be more costs involved if that was the case. Uniforms for on and off the ground. Why??
Doesnt really make sense to have two names and colours under the same roof.

Yeah its stupidity if you ask me, I can only seeing it being detrimental to the Real Lauderdale Football club which is playing in the TSL which will be an absolute shame.

Its going backwards in my opinion, The Lauderdale Football club in the past was a party club and a place to drink all weekend, no way should it under any circumstances go back to anything that remotely resembles that. Everyone should be proud of the fact that the what has been achieved at the club in the past 10 years, it has gone from what I just said to being in the top 5 football teams in Tasmania, pretty remarkable really. To think that a few disgruntled past players want to sacrifice all this because they cant get there own way is an absolute disgrace, if there SONS aren't good enough to play at he club in the TSL they should grin and bare it and move on, not try and drag the club back down to there level.

Party club? I don't know what Lauderdale your talking about but the one I am talking about, I'd say it was a community club where the local community was represented by a team from the community who wanted to be there instead of being bought. If you think a few blokes having a beer at the footy is a party, me and you have a difference of opinion there...
You mention that it is one of the top 5 sides in the state... I wouldnt agree to that either. Have you been to a Lauderdale game, or any TSL game? Their home attendance is about 3... with no atmosphere whatsoever. And two of those are the barman and timekeeper.
Clubs in the SFL, OSFA and other local leagues in the north are leaps and bounds ahead of TSL clubs in terms of community involvement and their atendances resemble it. I think Lauderdale have seen this and want to get back to being the community club it once was, my opinion for the best way of that happening is bringing back the cats.
it has nothing to do with disgruntled players, or players not being up to the standard. The blokes pushing for it just want to see Lauderdale playing in their original colours instead of playing as the bombers because of some crappy deal struck with Essendon 10 years ago that drove alot of people away from the club.

Party club? I don't know what Lauderdale your talking about but the one I am talking about, I'd say it was a community club where the local community was represented by a team from the community who wanted to be there instead of being bought. If you think a few blokes having a beer at the footy is a party, me and you have a difference of opinion there...
You mention that it is one of the top 5 sides in the state... I wouldnt agree to that either. Have you been to a Lauderdale game, or any TSL game? Their home attendance is about 3... with no atmosphere whatsoever. And two of those are the barman and timekeeper.
Clubs in the SFL, OSFA and other local leagues in the north are leaps and bounds ahead of TSL clubs in terms of community involvement and their atendances resemble it. I think Lauderdale have seen this and want to get back to being the community club it once was, my opinion for the best way of that happening is bringing back the cats.
it has nothing to do with disgruntled players, or players not being up to the standard. The blokes pushing for it just want to see Lauderdale playing in their original colours instead of playing as the bombers because of some crappy deal struck with Essendon 10 years ago that drove alot of people away from the club.

Not a party club? So what about blokes walking in the gate armed to the teeth with stubbies and cans? blokes sitting on couches in the back of utes with music pumping drinking cans hurling abuse whilst the game is on? Senior players smoking bongs in the car on the way to the game? half the team standing outside the change rooms at half time smoking burners? players drinking in the clubrooms on a Thursday night after training too all hours? Everyone underage kid in Lauderdale knew you could go there and get served a drink. I played my first game in the colts there at the age of 14 and straight after the game a can was put in my hand. Underage parties were a regular thing there which always ended in a brawl. I know all this because I was apart of it and if you think this didn't happen or that is what a community family based Football club should be like then you clearly weren't there or are very naive. Go and ask Scott Wade what he thought when he had to carry his 14 year old son out one night after an under 17 grand final.

Interesting read guys. I do think clubs are getting carried away with them selves if the think they can run SFL & TSL teams under the same roof. Kingston look like they want to try it. North Hobart looked at it, Glenorchy did it for a couple of years if I remember.
The problem is
1) enough players?
2) How do you focus on having success for two senior teams who both want the best players?
3) Trainers for 5 teams?
4)Volunteers to do more functions & kiosk days?
5) Who has priority of ground use for training?
6)Divided loyalty of supporters
Probably other questions as well.
Good luck if they try, but it looks risky both for the club financially & getting enough support to run it all.
At the rate this TSL comp is going we might all end up back in the SFL anyway!!!!

Bring back the catta's!

So just who are these ex Cats players from years ago. And what was the go back then. Did Lauderdale really get any benefit from changing to the Bombers?

As a life member of the LFC and current ECB player. I'm finding some of these posts rather humorous. I would have never classed Lauderdale as a real party club. Compared to most SFL clubs at the time we were pretty well behaved. Standards have vastly improved in the past ten years. Drinking on selection night have been banned for years and player sculls have been gone for nearly ten years. On the subject of crowds. Lauderdale has always had some of the biggest and vocal crowds in the TSL. Hopefully the LFC and the ECB can come to satisfactory agreement that will benefit both clubs.

You just hit the nail on the head mate, vastly improved in the last 10 years. No coincidence that Lauderdale Football club moved into the Premier league in 2004.

Heard that Kingborough are having problems signing a coach for there SFL team, was going to be announced 2 weeks ago, but that candidate pulled out and doesn't seem like anybody is willing put there hand up. Seems that a lot of last years reserve and fringe senior players are heading to Channel.

I'm hearing Lauderale want to take over East Coast all together. The whole hog. Running the club, committee, coaches, player payments, all out of Lauderdale. Basically everything!! Also heard the players arent in favour of a full take over. Might get ugly. East Coast own their own license, Lauderdale wouldnt get in if East Coast went ahead next year. Have heard from a couple that player payments would basically be cut in half, or less if this goes ahead.
The vultures will be circling!!

I'm hearing Lauderale want to take over East Coast all together. The whole hog. Running the club, committee, coaches, player payments, all out of Lauderdale. Basically everything!! Also heard the players arent in favour of a full take over. Might get ugly. East Coast own their own license, Lauderdale wouldnt get in if East Coast went ahead next year. Have heard from a couple that player payments would basically be cut in half, or less if this goes ahead.
The vultures will be circling!!
Well that sounds a touch one sided... From what I've heard is that Lauderdale would like members from both clubs on a committee to represent both clubs who would both have a 50% share. I'd imagine most clubs would. And on that the current set up, player payments, coaches, training staff etc would be looked at from both parties. It is a merger where both clubs would have to agree on everything. Hardly a take over if you ask me

Yes dropper, you would think it is a bit one sided. East coast had a meeting on Monday. One of ECB better players told me that there were copies of emails from Lauderdale to ECB at the meeting that stated what I previously posted. He said Lauderdale want a merger, but want the runnings of it all.

You would think the Lauderdale own the East Coast players??????

Or...someone is telling porky pies!

I know for a fact the email your talking about didn't say that. You're obviously an east coast/triabunna player or supporter that doesn't want a merger go ahead. Coming on here and telling the whole local footy community details of a deal (even though it is complete rubbish) that should be kept in house isn't doing anyone any favours

I know for a fact it did!!!!

I think this proposed merger is a good idea. But that is what it needs to be. East Coast is basically Lauderdale MKII. I reckon there would have been lucky to be more than 4-5 players in the EC team that arent from Lauderdale. Wiggins and Arnol are from there.
I'm not a EC player or supporter. But I keep a very close eye on what happens with Sorrel, Dodges, EC and Lauderdale.
IMO, if a merger went ahead, they would have a pretty good team.

Clearly it is just Lauderdale trying to sure up a twos side for 2015 as I hear there are no reserves at TSL level after next season? The players at East Coast would be brain dead if they think Lauderdale actually give a shite about them. These are the same players who were discarded not too long ago. What do East Coast get out of a merge other than most of their players getting to train closer to home? And how would they play games out of Lauderdale considering the TSL side will have two games there every second week. Don't tell me the SFL would have to schedule a roster specially just for them.

I am totally against this idea but the scheduling of games would be the least of there issues, Lauderdale play a few of there home games on sundays so would only be 5 or so saturdays that the SFL couldnt use it. My question would be how would the whole thing be financed? And then you have volunteers, trainers and supporters and not to mention 70 odd players. It was bad enough for 1 week this year when lauderdale had there seniors and colts playing at different venues in the finals. I just cant see it working properly, Glenorchy tried it and failed and they would have a lot more resources to draw on than most clubs I would imagine.

Settle down Jack, get your facts right before coming on here and looking like a twit.
The blokes u say that were 'discarded' weren't that at all, AFLTAS removed the reserves comp not lauderdale and lauderdale didn't force anyone out. They made a deal with Triabunna, Although pretty poorly managed at the time, because Triabunna had no players and were on their last legs. Now these blokes have an option of going back to Lauderdale, I don't see what the problem is. Sure Triabunna gave them somewhere to play for a few years but it wasn't as if they had to go there, they could have gone to any club they liked, in my opinion keeping Triabunna alive for a few more years

I am totally against this idea but the scheduling of games would be the least of there issues, Lauderdale play a few of there home games on sundays so would only be 5 or so saturdays that the SFL couldnt use it. My question would be how would the whole thing be financed? And then you have volunteers, trainers and supporters and not to mention 70 odd players. It was bad enough for 1 week this year when lauderdale had there seniors and colts playing at different venues in the finals. I just cant see it working properly, Glenorchy tried it and failed and they would have a lot more resources to draw on than most clubs I would imagine.

Yes good points. There is a lot to sort out. How long do they have until it has to be sorted? Surely the SFL would want it all finalised by January.

Settle down Jack, get your facts right before coming on here and looking like a twit.
The blokes u say that were 'discarded' weren't that at all, AFLTAS removed the reserves comp not lauderdale and lauderdale didn't force anyone out. They made a deal with Triabunna, Although pretty poorly managed at the time, because Triabunna had no players and were on their last legs. Now these blokes have an option of going back to Lauderdale, I don't see what the problem is. Sure Triabunna gave them somewhere to play for a few years but it wasn't as if they had to go there, they could have gone to any club they liked, in my opinion keeping Triabunna alive for a few more years

I am settled brother. So tell me, what happens in 2015 if the rumours are true of no TSL reserves? What happens to Lauderdales TSL twos from 2014? You would think they would play for the SFL side. And if so doesn't that put a stack of current ECB players out of a game in 2015? Yeah you are right, those lads could have played anywhere they wanted but I'm pretty sure they enjoyed playing together. If it wasn't for Triabunna then they would be scattered across a number of clubs in the OSFA & SFL.

Where are the boys training at the moment and who is coaching if this merge goes ahead?

Yes good points. There is a lot to sort out. How long do they have until it has to be sorted? Surely the SFL would want it all finalised by January.

I am settled brother. So tell me, what happens in 2015 if the rumours are true of no TSL reserves? What happens to Lauderdales TSL twos from 2014? You would think they would play for the SFL side. And if so doesn't that put a stack of current ECB players out of a game in 2015? Yeah you are right, those lads could have played anywhere they wanted but I'm pretty sure they enjoyed playing together. If it wasn't for Triabunna then they would be scattered across a number of clubs in the OSFA & SFL.

Where are the boys training at the moment and who is coaching if this merge goes ahead?

How many of the current ECB side went there at the start anyway? Didnt a good few of them play for Richmond after leaving Lauderdale?

Actually thinking about the ground issue, i would be highly suprised if the Clarence council would give approval for an extra 3 teams to be playing on the ground in the middle of winter. The playing surface was in great nick last year and that was because it was being managed properly for probably the first ever time.

So are we lead to believe the TSL due to popular demand are bringing back the Reserves competition just to get rid of it after one season? Surely not.

I heard that the reserves are going from the TSL as well, not too sure it will be in 2015 but definitely on the cards. Apparently the way AFL Tas want to structure it is for the TSL to be a one team per club structure with the TSL clubs running their “reserves teams” in the NTFL and SFL. The SFL then to be split in 2 comps again with the TSL reserves teams playing the bigger SFL clubs in the top comp. Im sure the current SFL clubs will be thrilled with that.

I also heard that North Hobart Demons were looking at fielding an SFL side in their own right 2015.

Southern FL - 2011/12