Southern Football League 2007

Anyone who missed out on a game for their own team would be crazy not to put there hand up to play for the other side. If you play a good game against your own side you have more chance of getting picked the following week then if sit down and drink tinnies all day. Plus you still get to play a game of footy.

id happily don the boots and play with skye if they where short of numbers but i wouldnt be good enough to get in there side, still at least i could suck down a few cans with my mate MADMAN!

If the Cobras and Parkmore are both struggling for numbers, wouldn't it make sense they merge. The Cobras have terrible facilities and the Pirates have a decent set up there. The Cobras have a great senior coach and the Pirates have a great reserves coach. They are only a few kilometers apart, so it shouldn't upset the local players. Or is it too late? Or are both clubs too proud to merge?
Hem, is Neil Collett, still coaching Parkmore ?

G'day fellas, this place is crazy... i'm addicted to the dream team and found my way to this thread... haha. One thing i've noticed is that there is a lot of SFL bashing going on in an SFL blog, why even come here if you think the league is ****.

I've played in the SFL for a few years now, went to a club that didn't win a game, won a flag the next year, and were very competitive in DIV 1 last year. from my experience the competition is pretty good. I've seen plenty of vfl players become handy SFL footballers without staring. I think it is more an even spread of quality rather than a league full of stars. On average the top 5/6 teams in DIV one can really play... and probably the top 3 in division two, and the worst senior player at each of these clubs can hold their own. It's not as tough as a really good country league, probably not as quick as some other metroplitan leagues but it is a pretty good mixture of the two.

i know that at my club we had some pretty talented players missing out on senior games, and their are plenty of blokes that could play at VFL level if they trained harder or were more dedicated, but at the end of the day it's not the AFL and we are all just out their to have a bit of fun:) Still if all the boys at my club were fully fit i would be pretty keen to have a crack at anyone.

i havn't been able to train much over the last two seasons and have probably been playing at %60 fitness, i have plenty of mates playing in the VFL but i have more important things going on in my life than to dedicate that type of comitment. I think that is an issue people are forgeting about.

i thought Clayton were pretty tough last year. St Pauls were good all rounders and Cheltnam had alot of potential. From the previous year i thought Taronga were very good users of the ball and were really well coached, but I don't really know much about players other my team mates.

anyways i'm thinking about pulling out the boots again and it's good to hear that the boys had a good win in a practice match, and that some of the new fellas went well.

go the saints:p

Southern CEO Phil Stevens has announced a proposal for Clubs struggling to field reserves to draft in players from other teams. He wants clubs who have a surplus of players to submit a list to the league on Fridays for other teams to pick from.

He has to be kidding.

Its like straigthening the deck chairs on the Titanic.

SFL needs strong decisions from the top end - delivering long term goals, not band aid programs that do not have a hope in hell of taking off

The do gooders that criticise the Phantom take a good look at what is happening in your comp before you have a crack at me. I only predict the inevitable. Numbers lacking, Stevens trying band aid methods. SFL means SLOWLY FOLDING LEAGUE.

Also look at what happens to clubs like Parkmore when the mercenaries leave. They go down the drain because the money players have no loyalty when dollars dry up. I feel sorry for the poor guys in the SFL who slog their guts out week in week out for nothing and watch the mercenaries take the cream then run off leaving the true club stalwarts to hang in and try to save their club.

Got any solutions instead of bagging me.

The do gooders that criticise the Phantom take a good look at what is happening in your comp before you have a crack at me. I only predict the inevitable. Numbers lacking, Stevens trying band aid methods. SFL means SLOWLY FOLDING LEAGUE.

Also look at what happens to clubs like Parkmore when the mercenaries leave. They go down the drain because the money players have no loyalty when dollars dry up. I feel sorry for the poor guys in the SFL who slog their guts out week in week out for nothing and watch the mercenaries take the cream then run off leaving the true club stalwarts to hang in and try to save their club.

I agree 100%.

The league over the last couple of years has looked like a joke !

Parkmore - Purchased a flag now in deep s**t ?

South Mornington - Won a reserves flag with only 1 side then said see you later and is now in the Amateurs.

Brooklyn came into the league because they couldn't afford the local league fees and when they played away players refused to travel.

The SFL is fast becoming the League you go to when no one else will have you or when you want to start a football club up for 1 season.

If Mr Stevens wants to fix the league then give it some credibility instead of allowing the league to be the laughing stock of Metro football.

Finally, before you all get on and start with the your so negative on the league approach. Attend a few President meetings and you will find that most agree with these views.

We want a viable league for the future, not just short term band aid solutions.

If all fails then we could all join the EDFL ? :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

I agree 100%.

The league over the last couple of years has looked like a joke !

Parkmore - Purchased a flag now in deep s**t ?

South Mornington - Won a reserves flag with only 1 side then said see you later and is now in the Amateurs.

Brooklyn came into the league because they couldn't afford the local league fees and when they played away players refused to travel.

The SFL is fast becoming the League you go to when no one else will have you or when you want to start a football club up for 1 season.

If Mr Stevens wants to fix the league then give it some credibility instead of allowing the league to be the laughing stock of Metro football.

Finally, before you all get on and start with the your so negative on the league approach. Attend a few President meetings and you will find that most agree with these views.

We want a viable league for the future, not just short term band aid solutions.

If all fails then we could all join the EDFL ? :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
l agree, how much are we paying this ceo,

Phantom, go back to your VAFA thread! Your consistent bagging of the SFL and negative posting is boring.

The SFL as everyone knows is under new management and should be given at least two, maybe three seasons before the administration can be
judged fairly.

Given the quality of the people involved now running the competition, confidence should be high in regard to a steadily improving competition for the Southern Region.

Bring on the start of the season!

l agree, how much are we paying this ceo,

I played a lot of Ammo football and if i can assure you of one thing it would be that, Phil Stevens will be great for the league and will bring some respect and integrity to the SFL. Afterall we all want that so we have somewhere to play. Lets give him a go.

Mt Waverley vs Box Hill Nth ( 12.00/2.00pm) Sat 14th
Lyndale vs Mt Waverley (12.00/2.00pm) Sat 21st

Phantom, go back to your VAFA thread! Your consistent bagging of the SFL and negative posting is boring.

The SFL as everyone knows is under new management and should be given at least two, maybe three seasons before the administration can be
judged fairly.

Given the quality of the people involved now running the competition, confidence should be high in regard to a steadily improving competition for the Southern Region.

Bring on the start of the season!

You idiot Demon. Most intelligent people would see what I had to say was logical and positive. Band aid methods DO NOT WORK. Buffoons like you can never offer constructive or positive ways to improve. Your answer to everything is "go back to your VAFA". I have been involved with the Southern league clubs for years and saw the writing on the wall. I still maintain untill you do something positive your comp will fold. Guys like you will help it along!!!!!!

Just out of interest, have any clubs that have jumped off SFL into the Ammos had much success? Syndal, Parkdale, Sth Melbourne to name a few. & how are Nth Kew shaping up since departing?

You idiot Demon. Most intelligent people would see what I had to say was logical and positive. Band aid methods DO NOT WORK. Buffoons like you can never offer constructive or positive ways to improve. Your answer to everything is "go back to your VAFA". I have been involved with the Southern league clubs for years and saw the writing on the wall. I still maintain untill you do something positive your comp will fold. Guys like you will help it along!!!!!!

The reality is from D grade down the ammos are a pseudo metro competition, all the sides above that are school related, plus the standard of D grade down is ordinary, there wouldnt be one side D grade down that would be competitive in Division 1 southern, so get off your high horse. The wheel IS turning and southern will bounce back, its a shame sides like South Districts sold there sole and joined the amatuers.

Your obviously not too sharp Phantom!

You say you were involved in the SFL for years and saw the writing on the wall and moved on.Hooray for you and your club! You obviously still harbour a lot of bitterness towards the SFL as all you do is bag the comp and harp on about how it's going to fold.Get a new tune it's getting boring!

Here are some positives re the SFL that have been implemented or are in progress:

-UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT -A talented bunch of administrators assembled for the 2007 season.

-COLTS COMPETITION- In the embryotic stages but a huge step forward and one of the keys to the future of the comp and clubs.

-LEAGUE SPONSORSHIP- In hard pursuit of Corporate sponsorship to improve finances and brand image of SFL.Stay tuned.

-BETTER COMMUNICATIONS- Improved website and communications between clubs and SFL.

-MORE STREAMLIMED PROCESSES-Introduction of computerised processing between the league and clubs to improve operational efficiencies.

These are just a few of the improvements that are starting to happen within the SFL, with many more to come on an ongoing basis.The current administration has only been in a short while and achieved quite a lot.

I would suggest the things indicated above are positives that you say are not happening.

Phantom, I think you should research what you are talking about a little bit first otherwise you come across looking fairly foolish.Especially when you are continually bagging a comp you are no longer involved with and have no idea what is currently happenning behind the scenes with that comp.

Mentone who were in the old South East Suburban FL were 1st to go to the Amateurs by merging with St Bedes @ end of 1992 & won a flag in 1993 in D grade, C grade 2006 & back in B grade this year.

Also participated in finals in the period 1993 to 2006.

Both clubs would consider the merger successful as the club has teams from u 9's all the way through to seniors with 6 teams winning flags in 2006.