Southern Football League (Tas) Thread

Sherrin's shit all over Burley's.
A Burley sort of floats when being kicked and resembles a pasty being booted.
Not sure why that's the case. Once heard Jonathon Brown talking about them and he was saying the same thing in regard to Burley footballs.

Yeah seemed all the players hated them and that was why they were looking to make a change.

I had wondered as I'd never kicked a Burley, though they do look kinda odd shaped and not like a normal footy from what I've seen close up of the balls.

Have to say, with all due respect, that the SFL executive have really dropped the ball again this season.
The Gala Day was a joke with teams fielding third string sides and some clubs not even turning up at all.
Information about venues to be used is akin to something of a state secret.
Is Anzac Park at Lindisfarne available or not?
The TCA will be out of action for some weeks yet.
The Sporting Pulse website doesn't even have the SFL Colts competition listed so good luck to any players, supporters or general public who might want to go watch or play!
I'm at the football every week and I don't even know when Hobart's colts play next.
The women's comp can't even work out whether SE Suns v Hobart is playing on the Saturday or the Sunday.
The competition is very weak this year in all grades.
This is a direct failure of management at the SFL. No publicity. No sponsors. Not a lot of interest.
Madeline Ogilvie is useless. Kyron Johnson is an ashtray on a motorbike. Tony Gibson is overwhelmed.
SFL is going further and further down the plughole.

I really don't know what is going on with the colts, all I know is that they aren't sure still what teams are able to field teams this year in the competition and what not. I am not sure if Anzac Park is available, I don't get told much I am left to go by the SportsTG website and that's all I can do.

I have asked to get more responsibilities to help out since Madeline isn't doing much there, and Kyron I am not even sure his job, Tony is doing all the other management as well as the STJFL stuff, and here's me offering to do more but not getting anywhere.

Tony asked clubs to text me scores, I didn't get any sent to me. I read the Hobart Facebook page, and I got some from Facebook groups that's about it.

I think it is time to get more people involved with the league who are actually going to assist.

Absolutely spot on. If it wasn't for your efforts it would be a total embarrassment.
They've basically saddled you with all the promotional activities (pics, page updates, scores etc) and given you no help and very little credit or thanks. It's an absolute disgrace!
I can see why Ben Harrison quit after year. No help.
Madeline Ogilvie needs to go, knows nothing about football, doesn't go to meetings, only attends when there's an opportunity for her to photobomb. Alltime worst SFL president.
Only interested in womens football.
Kyron Johnson is not worth a pinch of shit either. He backdoored his way into being VP of the SFL because Scott Wade had him on that useless Tasmanian Football Council and was Wade's puppet. Has no interest in the SFL or even bothers to attend games.
Sack him as well.
It's time all the presidents got together and had a serious discussion about the future of the SFL and where exactly the league is headed and come up with some good candidates because as in its current state it's like a ship with no rudder.

Keep up the good work Majestic, I respect your efforts totally.

Interesting results on Friday.
NN have lost a fair chunk of players but still competitive at giggle town against the Farne.
Niether that impressive really.
Cygnet look to have lost heaps and blooded loads of youngsters and got thrashed at home to Claremont.
Hobart in a turn up over Dodges down at the primary school. Long drought for the Tigs winning down there. Had some good pickups, complete contrast to their preseason form.
Jock McGregor's Sorell boys gave Brighton 16 goal smashing at Pontville which, not a surprise in the result was a definite turn up with the margin. Kicked 14-30!
Looks like Brighton probably wont win a game this year. Club building season for them.

I am told by the New Norfolk trainer that the Eagles were still missing a few he reckoned 4-5 players.

Claremont still were not at full strength as well, I noticed a few names missing still even in their ressies a few names were missing and they were filled by their colts. Bowden and Potter would be quite an interesting forward duo if that remains.

Lindisfarne got unsettled a bit too easily in the game, and that kick to kick indirect part of their game needs to be removed, once they settled down they looked like a stronger side. New Norfolk supposedly had a few players who only just started training, but I had seen them train a couple of times when I was doing photos seemed the ground was hard too according to the trainer which was why the Eagles were cramping up.

I am interested to see how they go against Claremont, I don't think the Eagles have much to stop Bowden if the Magpies can feed him the ball well, Crossin lurking around the forward line could be good for them. The Eagles didn't have much of a forward line against Lindisfarne.

SFL Reserves: Round 2 (7/4/18)
Screenshot_2018-04-08-12-22-56-1.png Screenshot_2018-04-08-13-08-29-1.png

SFL Colts: Round 2 (7/4/18)
Hobart 14.25 (109) d Huonville Lions 0.0 (0)
New Norfolk 12.6 (78) d Claremont 7.3 (45)
Southern Storm 10.8 (68) d Sorell 6.6 (42)
Screenshot_2018-04-08-14-08-25-1.png

With the total mess the SFL Colts competition is currently in (it's a total shambles), I've collated the results from the last two rounds to give an updated ladder for that competition in the post above.
Hobart having no score kicked against them by the Huonville Lions have no percentage as yet.

Screenshot_2018-04-08-13-24-31-1-1.png
I see the Sporting Pulse website has still not got the SFL Colts competition even listed!
How are players, supporters and other interested parties supposed to know exactly who's playing who and where or when? It is a disgraceful indigtment on the competition.
Might need to be taken over if it continues to be run in such a shambolic and unprofessional manner.
Of all the league results listed in the Sunday Tasmanian today, the SFL was the only league that didn't even have current ladders for any grade listed.
What the hell is going on with it?
It makes AFL Tasmania look like seasoned pros in comparison.

With the total mess the SFL Colts competition is currently in (it's a total shambles), I've collated the results from the last two rounds to give an updated ladder for that competition in the post above.
Hobart having no score kicked against them by the Huonville Lions have no percentage as yet.

View attachment 480445
I see the Sporting Pulse website has still not got the SFL Colts competition even listed!
How are players, supporters and other interested parties supposed to know exactly who's playing who and where or when? It is a disgraceful indigtment on the competition.
Might need to be taken over if it continues to be run in such a shambolic and unprofessional manner.
Of all the league results listed in the Sunday Tasmanian today, the SFL was the only league that didn't even have current ladders for any grade listed.
What the hell is going on with it?
It makes AFL Tasmania look like seasoned pros in comparison.

Who is the Storm?
To only have nine clubs in the league is a far cry from the old days.

Good to see Maj still in the loop down there.

Storm are the Southern Storm, they are Cygnet and Kermandie, there was talk going around that all Cygnets STJFL sides were going to be known as the Southern Storm. It hasnt happened just yet just they field more then one team in some grades.

I have been fielding complaints about the lack of the colts being on there, I do have all the ladders, and such, I will post them up on the SFL page, I am awaiting the colts fixture still. It took many messages to get the scores sent to me on the weekend.

I also know I messed up posting scores, which wasn't on purpose but I have been doing everything once again for the SFL, Tony does a lot for that and the STJFL. Martin Duffy was saying how much he does and he's surprised he can do it all. He thinks it's unfair Tony and I are left to do it all.

Kyron was meant to add Martin as an admin of the SFL page and hasn't yet.
Kyron Johnson and Madeline Ogilvie - that's two major problems the league's got.
What exactly do either of them do for the SFL?
Aside from occasionally popping up out of the blue and photobombing an important club photo somewhere and buggering off again?
I'm very surprised that the club directors haven't come together and had a bit to say about all of this and demanded action because it sticks out like a honeymooner's **** on a wedding night that the whole thing is running into the ground and headed for a major crash.
Seems to me the SFL has been on this path ever since those two started running the show (and I say "running" loosely).
It was only seven years ago a crowd of over 7,000 piled in to KGV to watch a Grand Final.
Ten years ago that competition was so much more professional and for all intents and purposes we have two people running the entire operation now. Where did everybody go?
Players can't be bothered to represent the league against the northern comps.
This is supposed to be the major southern competition outside the Tasmanian State League, on its current path it'll end up being the third tier competition behind the Old Scholars before long, deservedly.

I don't know how you and Tony do it, it's a disgrace, I would've told them to jam it a long time ago.

Kyron Johnson and Madeline Ogilvie - that's two major problems the league's got.
What exactly do either of them do for the SFL?
Aside from occasionally popping up out of the blue and photobombing an important club photo somewhere and buggering off again?
I'm very surprised that the club directors haven't come together and had a bit to say about all of this and demanded action because it sticks out like a honeymooner's **** on a wedding night that the whole thing is running into the ground and headed for a major crash.
Seems to me the SFL has been on this path ever since those two started running the show (and I say "running" loosely).
It was only seven years ago a crowd of over 7,000 piled in to KGV to watch a Grand Final.
Ten years ago that competition was so much more professional and for all intents and purposes we have two people running the entire operation now. Where did everybody go?
Players can't be bothered to represent the league against the northern comps.
This is supposed to be the major southern competition outside the Tasmanian State League, on its current path it'll end up being the third tier competition behind the Old Scholars before long, deservedly.

I don't know how you and Tony do it, it's a disgrace, I would've told them to jam it a long time ago.

I have no idea why Madeline or Kyron are even in the jobs they have there at the SFL they don't do anything, I've never seen Madeline do anyrthing other then come to a meeting last year I had and hired me to do the job Ben Harrison gave me before. Gibson does everything in the office there, he no longer works at the servo, spends most of his time at the office doing STJFL and SFL stuff. The man deserves a lot more then he's getting. I have offered to take the load off of him and do more, but we need to find more to do stuff there's so many jobs that should be staffed better.

Martin said I should just leave the game on Saturday and get the scores from someone else, and have them do it. While I would, there are still some thar aren't sending stuff and I think some clubs are still lacking some professionalism as well.

I can see the ODFA overtaking the SFL at this rate unless something is done and done soon.

The league is on autopilot with too many people hanging onto roles they shouldnt.

Basically I think they need to clear the decks and re-establish itself as a new entity.
Firstly I would call a meeting of all clubs and those who have something to do with the league.

1. Organize a series of new entities, some for profit, some not:

--- AFL South Tasmania (AFL ST), Inc., a non-profit membership corporation of which every club, regardless of previous league affiliation, is an equal member.
--- AFL ST Control Arm, a for profit entity that handles all aspects of league branding, licensing and merchandising. And I mean all - right down to dictating team names to franchisees, on a case by case basis.
--- AFL ST (South Tasmania Football League Media Inc), a for profit entity that handles all television, radio, publishing, direct to consumer and over the top content, right down to the media guides and game day programs.
--- AFL ST Future Fund to be used for unforseen incidentals.
--- AFL Partners -
--- The Teams Themselves, each of which are also organized as Incorporated companies.
--- AFL ST (South Tasmania Amateur Football League Inc) looks after all of the old Old Scholars league
--- AFL ST (South Tasmania Districts Football League Inc) looks after the old Oatlands league

2. STFL operates four leagues: (AFL ST), and four regional leagues, STFL, STAFL (OSFA), STJFL and STDFL (ODFA) Each team pays a nominal amount (enough to cover league office expenses, plus 25%) in annual membership dues. .

3. AFL ST Combined Corp (team Presidents): represents all teams as a collective group, with each owning an equal stake. AFL ST CC, in turn, owns a 40% equity (non-voting) ownership interest in each and every team. In short, The Hobart Tigers can only own 60% of it's team, but you also own a percentage of every other team in the league. This eliminates any need of traditional revenue sharing, forces everyone to work collaboratively rather than competitively, keeps player costs down (because why bid against essentially yourself?).

4. AFL ST Control Arm: owns, controls, licenses and merchandises all league and team brands. It's ownership is held (i) 60% by AFL ST Combined Corp, Inc, (ii) 20% AFL ST Media (iii) 10% AFL ST FF (iv) 10% AFLST Partners. All licensing and merchandising is handled by this entity, making it unnecessary for teams to have dedicated resources to this except to sell merchandise on game days.

5. STFL Media produces all live game productions (if any), offering it free via direct to consumer, live streaming content. It then sells in-game advertising to cover production costs to generate profit. It produces all game day records, and takes care of any advertising and social media. All sponsorships must be authorised through the STFL Media.
It's ownership is held (i) 60% AFLST CC, (ii) 25% AFLST FF and (iii) 15% AFLSTCA

6. AFLST Partners represents everyone - game officials, front office personnel, fans, anyone who wants to buy into the sport but who doesn't have the jack to put into a team themselves. While it holds no direct ownership in a team, it holds minority stakes in its licensing arm (10%), enticing people to buy merch; and it holds 15% of the media company, encouraging them to interact more with its corporate partners and 'consume more content.' You can buy into AFLST Partners for a comparatively token sum ($200 per unit), Volunteer for 5 years and receive 10 units for contributing. etc.

I believe something like this, which adds more people to the ownership of their club, other clubs and the league itself would see the return of those wanting to be a part of it again. It would help keep those around that should be, more volunteers and more structure.

Hopefully it will return to what it once was.

Hi guys long time reader first time poster, Went and watched my first local footy game on Saturday at Claremont in about 3 years or so. Was impressed by the level Claremont played at, But from looking at the results of other games in the first two rounds, do you think there will be a big gap between Claremont and Lindisfarne and the rest ?

Claremont and Lindisfarne are the teams to beat, while I think that New Norfolk will be still there abouts, they have some very good young players coming through the loss of 11 senior players is going to be telling on them. Seemed on the weekend they were missing a few players as well as some colts like Claremont last year pulled double duty.

Claremont's training has been pretty intense in the pre-season I had watched them train in full, as well as Lindisfarne, as well as seeing Lindisfarne in an intraclub match. I think they will both be very strong this season, though the Two Blues weren't very good under intense pressure again when they played New Norfolk also got sucked into retaliating as well.

It was interesting to see Clayton pop up and boot 4 goals in a quarter which effectively sunk the Eagles.

Big test this weekend for Claremont against Lindisfarne.

I think Dodges and Hobart could at least be competitive.

Southern Football League (Tas) Thread