scooby1279

May 15, 2004
melbourne
kangaroos
So disappointed with the club. I am a player sponspor and have been for 10 years, and in previous years i have sponsored 2 players. There was a player sponsorship photo on family day, and unfortuantely the player i sponsor was not in attentance. However i have rang up the club on numerous occasions to ask when i can take the photo and i am still waiting for a response back. I reckon i have been trying for about 3 months now and all i get is we will try and orgainse something. I even had a past player ring the club and find out what was goign on. Now seriously North Melbourne football club, this is becoming a joke. I put so much money into the club, even a family member was in the Presidents club a few years back. Surely it isn't that hard to orgainse something so simple. It might be a good idea if you start to look after your loyal members from time to time.........

scooby1279 said:
So disappointed with the club. I am a player sponspor and have been for 10 years, and in previous years i have sponsored 2 players. There was a player sponsorship photo on family day, and unfortuantely the player i sponsor was not in attentance. However i have rang up the club on numerous occasions to ask when i can take the photo and i am still waiting for a response back. I reckon i have been trying for about 3 months now and all i get is we will try and orgainse something. I even had a past player ring the club and find out what was goign on. Now seriously North Melbourne football club, this is becoming a joke. I put so much money into the club, even a family member was in the Presidents club a few years back. Surely it isn't that hard to orgainse something so simple. It might be a good idea if you start to look after your loyal members from time to time.........

Please tell me this is not true!

scooby1279 said:

I feel for you mate what a disgrace the club is when it comes to organising things or getting back to people.
The place needs a total overhaul get people in their that can actually run and promote this great club they way it should be.

NMFC said:
I feel for you mate what a disgrace the club is when it comes to organising things or getting back to people.
The place needs a total overhaul get people in their that can actually run and promote this great club they way it should be.

I read something about Collingwood a couple of weeks ago that got me thinking. When Ed came to power there one of the first things he resolved to do was to move out the volunteers and replace them with professionals who were recognised as the best in their respective fields. I say it got me thinking because I have always thought (and accepted) that North will rely on volunteers to keep things ticking over.

Some will think that North can't afford to do this and they may well be right to an extent. However, Collingwood wasn't exactly a financial powerhouse when Ed came on board (although their capacity for improivement was substantially greater the North's may be). This is something that will need to be looked at seriously I think, probably starting with the PR/Membership department. Once you get an improved income stream you can then start to fix other areas of the club. As the saying goes, you have to spend money to make money ...

I'm not saying volunteers (or poorly paid servants of the club) are useless or unable to do their job, just that volunteer motivation doesn't stay strong for great lengths of time - worked fine for the Sydney Olympics which went for two weeks, however relying on volunteers (or lowly paid employees) for a season or more will end up with shoddy performances. I am reminded of the saying, you pay peanuts you get monkeys ....

There are some things you simply cannot afford to be cheap about, no matter how broke you are. One is your relationship with sponsors and other paying customers.

If you're not trying hard enough in that area you might as well close the doors!

There are too many negative reports about the club's dealings with people for my liking.

scooby1279 said:

Who have you spoken to at the club? This is definately not good enough. If you haven't spoken to Graeme Osbourne, then ask for him personally (or I can give you his email address).

If you have spoken to him and nothing has happened, then write a letter to the CEO and let him know about it. (Or you could always write in the newspaper or call talkback radio, but it's more negative publicity)

We had problems a few years ago, and got a personal response from Greg Miller. At least he took the time to write us a letter, so we felt we were being taken seriously.

If it's Mark Powell you are sponsoring, then maybe the club is trying to forget the whole thing!

Instead of having a sook publically (which only makes you look bad), take fusion's advice and contact someone at the club with the power to act :)

He got a former player to contact the Club, or did that just fly over your head. :)

CR7 said:
Instead of having a sook publically (which only makes you look bad), take fusion's advice and contact someone at the club with the power to act :)

No offence mate but i wouldnt have a sook (like you said) if i didnt speak to the right people in charge. Thats what was dissapointing about it, believe me i spoke to the right people.
However it has finally be resloved, funny enough i got a call this afternoon and i took the player photo tongiht after training.

scooby1279 said:
No offence mate but i wouldnt have a sook (like you said) if i didnt speak to the right people in charge. Thats what was dissapointing about it, believe me i spoke to the right people.
However it has finally be resloved, funny enough i got a call this afternoon and i took the player photo tongiht after training.

So happy that was resolved for you mate.....Unbelievable that it came to a message on Bigfooty to generate the required action. Poor form by the club....again.

Its bloody embarrassing sometimes. I get slagged off for supporting the Roos more now than ever before. It doesnt bother me, but gees they need to get their backsides into gear with marketting and co-ordination.

RoyalBlue said:
The club would be mad - especially the marketing department - not to read this site.

This is like a free focus group, once you sort through the crap.

That's an awful lot of sorting. I'd hate to think that the lunatics on this board are a fair cross section of the North Melbourne community. What a miserable bunch of whingers we must be.

pharro said:
That's an awful lot of sorting. I'd hate to think that the lunatics on this board are a fair cross section of the North Melbourne community. What a miserable bunch of whingers we must be.
Well take the thread on the reaction to the Duff announcement of a plan to return votes to the members.

And the thread on if we'll be members next year, and why.

RoyalBlue said:
Well take the thread on the reaction to the Duff announcement of a plan to return votes to the members.

Weren't you the one with the sage advice that a director elected from members would want to be careful not to follow every kooky whim of supporters like those found here?

pharro said:
Weren't you the one with the sage advice that a director elected from members would want to be careful not to follow every kooky whim of supporters like those found here?
That doesn't sound like something I'd say, and don't recall saying that.

Search through my previous posts, you may be unable to find it amongst all the solid gold.

scooby1279 said:
So disappointed with the club. I am a player sponspor and have been for 10 years, and in previous years i have sponsored 2 players.

No offence Scoobs, but you've gotta get off the hash cookies. If you've been a player sponsor for 10 years and you've sponsored 2 players a year, Graeme Osbourne must have a photo of you in a locket around his neck. You MUST be on first name basis with him surely. And if not, why not? How have you failed to propagate a relationship with him? I have never encountered a single problem that a phone call to a personal contact at the club has not fixed instantly. One of the joys of being a part of a small club is that people in there remember you by name. Of course if you behave like an ar$e to them and refer to the entire membership/PR department as useless, embarrassing or worse, then they will remember your name even moreso. Not that I'm inferring that you did this Scooby, But a few people around here would want to be confident that their nom deplumes are secure.

sponsor photo? shame on you nmfc