Backfire SSP: Desperate times call for desperate measures

You know whats worse than having 2 open list spots? Having 3 :$

Maybe you should have made a thread about it at the time 🤷‍♂️

LOL. That is quite the backfire :$

Well done Sav 👏

If I was running around talking about what depth we had after not winning a flag for 30 years, you might have a point :$

Maybe you should have made a thread about it at the time 🤷‍♂️

If I was running around talking about what depth we had after not winning a flag for 30 years, you might have a point :$
Well you see I don't actually get what your whole point is. Most clubs will play 28-30 players throughout the year. What does it actually matter if player #41 & #42 aren't on the list yet? Brisbane added 2 players in 2022/23 SSP then went onto play 2 grand finals, with one player being McKenna who played in the GF. You guys got Oleg Markov in 2022. Plenty of players picked up late in the SSP or even mid season draft have been useful to clubs so I fail to see whats so bad about having a couple list spots open.

We got rid of a depth forward in Owies and a depth mid in Kennedy. #depth

We got Markov because we lacked depth and run in defence... Brisbane also lacked depth in some area, as shown by McKenna playing a GF. Rather than saying how much depth they had, both clubs went on to win flags

So my whole point is - and I know this will come as a shock to no oppo supporter - that even after 30 years of failure, Carltank flogs still think they're on the cusp of success every year, and that their list is capable of a flag, and that you have depth across the field

How's that workin' out for ya?

Almost as bad as * supporters thinking they're going to win a final :$

“The Blues are the only club with multiple spots open, with delisted pair Sam Durdin and Matt Carroll to be joined by culled Hawthorn tall Denver Grainger-Barras and VFL spearhead Liam McMahon* in pushing for the two contracts on offer“

DGB: Hawthorn reject
McMahon: Collingwood reject
Durdin and Caroll: Carlton rejects except you can't even decide if you want to keep them or replace them with other rejects

Most clubs will play 28-30 players throughout the year

2024 players used:

Richmond 42
WCE 40
Adelaide, lolnorf 39
GCS, STK 38
Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood 37
Fremantle, Melbourne, Footscray 36
*, Geelong 35
GWS, Hawthorn, Port 34
Sydney 31

So in fact 0 teams used "28-30 players" and the average is 37... the number you played last year :shrug:

Last 2 flag winners are only two teams to have picked up multiple players in SPP in the past 2 years somehow proves point Carlton are shit for having multiple SPP spots this season.

I was looking forward to how you would try to spin this backfire and it hasn't disappointed.

What sort of ****ing name is Jaxon?

Hippies.
Amateurs. We had a Jaxson once. Pies absolutely own the shit name game.

That’s ok. We’ll take a cliff after a flag. Those old campaigners still had Carlton and the premiers number both times this year. It’s like everyone has just realised Pendlebury is an old campaigner. I think we’ll be around the mark next year unless half our list suffer dementia

We're the hangover specialists. Carlton OTOH are all flop, no flag.

I bet Vossy’s wearing a Batman suit.
You remember that case, was it the 90's? I'd be at the pub with a few mates, we'd spot a nice looking sheila on her own, then someone would start humming the batman theme.

Actually happened to one fella I knew, except the blok in the closet was her husband, and he wasn't wearing a batman suit, and my mate wasn't tied up, turns he just liked **** as well as puss. Good luck to him, takes all sorts.

Amateurs. We had a Jaxson once. Pies absolutely own the shit name game.

We're the hangover specialists. Carlton OTOH are all flop, no flag.

You remember that case, was it the 90's? I'd be at the pub with a few mates, we'd spot a nice looking sheila on her own, then someone would start humming the batman theme.

Actually happened to one fella I knew, except the blok in the closet was her husband, and he wasn't wearing a batman suit, and my mate wasn't tied up, turns he just liked **** as well as puss. Good luck to him, takes all sorts.
That “one fella” was you, wasn’t it?

I'd like to start bagging out Brisbane or Essendon at this point, but then someone may point out that future superstar Joel Freijah seems to have ruined his face this pre-season.

Last 2 flag winners are only two teams to have picked up multiple players in SPP in the past 2 years somehow proves point Carlton are shit for having multiple SPP spots this season

You still don’t get it 😂

Tanker flogs are in denial about having depth

Literally says it in the OP 🤷‍♂️

You still don’t get it 😂

Tanker flogs are in denial about having depth

Literally says it in the OP 🤷‍♂️
Our 8th or 9th string forward would have won your goalkicking.

We probably cant play multiple AA defender Docherty down back due to too many defenders.

We shipped off Kennedy from the midfield who will play at the Bulldogs alongside Bont and Libba.

We had only about 3 fit players miss out on playing a game late in the season naming 2 or 3 debutants in that game and we won by like 10 goals. 2 of those debitants Lord and Moir shone. Due to missing Curnow and McKay in that game we threw our 4th best KPD forward in Kemp and he kicked 4 goals despite being manned upnby a multiple AA defender.

If there was an area we were one short
It was KPD and we've just brought in an AA defender in Haynes.

Move along now Mr Backfire.

Our 8th or 9th string forward would have won your goalkicking.

How many flags have all of your goal kickers won?

We probably cant play multiple AA defender Docherty down back due to too many defenders.

How many flags had Doc won?

We shipped off Kennedy from the midfield who will play at the Bulldogs alongside Bont and Libba.

From one loser club to another 😂 at least the Welfare have won a flag this century

We had only about 3 fit players miss out on playing a game late in the season

It took you an hour to score a single point in your EF 😂 ONE POINT 🤡 after 30 years of disgrace and yet you STILL think you’re not the laughing stock you are 🤦‍♂️

But but… 🤡

And you reckon my memory is bad

Not at all! Your memory is great… it’s just from a long, long time ago i.e. last century

Clubs that haven’t won a flag this century despite existing since last century:

Essendone
Carltank
Failmantle
lolnorf
Crom
Aints

LOL

lol Hine was with us for 21 years and recruited/traded us to 2 premierships, 13 finals series and 9 preliminary finals.

Meanwhile you burnt 7 coaches and won 5 wooden spoons :$ so maybe you can pick him up as well?
And yet all that could not save him from his disastrous mistakes 12 months ago.

Backfire SSP: Desperate times call for desperate measures