St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies

I reckon the AFL marketed teams once Friday night footy kicked off. The AFL basically built up a few clubs and left the rest to fight for scraps.
Hawthorn is a financially wealthy club, a big Victorian club with great history and an exciting list.

How many Friday night games in 2024? St Kilda? (Definitely more).

Hence why it’s a poor point.

Because I'm completely in favour of making the best out of what you got, instead of complaining about why things can't be the way you want them to be. Look at Richmond's recent premierships - no father sons, no use of academies, the only priority pick was Deledio who left before we got success.. and you can see how it turned out. Why can't St Kilda do something similar? You've had enough times at the draft.
No Dusty,no cups

Hawthorn is a financially wealthy club, a big Victorian club with great history and an exciting list.

How many Friday night games in 2024? St Kilda? (Definitely more).

Hence why it’s a poor point.

This isn’t just a new phenomenon. Collingwood for example were on there knees. The AFL basically made them the franchise of all time slots and basically with ED rebuilt them along with a new supporter base.

Just heard him speak, is that how he normally sounds or was he on the sauce?
or.. or...... he was born profoundly deaf and has a speech impediment as a result............

no he didn't go full Baker

Academies are designed to get kids playing AFL at grassroots or developing more elite kids when the major state footy codes are League or Rugby. Done by clubs not AFL Qld or NSW AFL. The points system is evening up. Reflecting better that clubs been around for 10 years and have potential for father son.

But inequality is everywhere. The Victorian travel rort needs to be managed it’s not just the final. StKilda travelled out of Vic only 7 times. Played since mid July, their last 6 matches, at Marvel. We’d need to send their teams away for a night away after local away matches. Sleep more in hotel beds away from family. Which is just a wrong conversation to have. Do I have to do recruiting strategy for StKilda too
that's beacuse we played back to back interstate sides early in the season, did you not read. 4 home games in 1st 14 rounds, 7 different venues in 9 games.

gmbha
mcg - h
marvel
norwood
manuka - 6 day break
marvel -h - 5 day break
adel O
utas
marvel - h
mcg
optus
marvel - h
gabba

poor Brisbane having an almost regular home and away fixture

you mention the points system changing, who do you think was vocal about that happening? I can give you a hint, see the OP

If St Kilda truly believes it is a cheat code to premiership success, they are welcome to try and re-establish themselves on a footy frontier and enjoy all the largesse of a development academy. We’ll see you in the GF!
Just get N identity instead of living off the Carcass of a true VFL club
Better still ..go back to being “bears” ffs

This isn’t just a new phenomenon. Collingwood for example were on there knees. The AFL basically made them the franchise of all time slots and basically with ED rebuilt them along with a new supporter base.
Yep, the League have carried us every step of the way. We're just funny widdle guys.
Happy Cracking Up GIF

The AFL needs to get rid of the 25% discount to start.
I think the best way to fix this issue is to scrap father sons and academies. The other issue is that the players have too much power even after 1 or 2 years in the system.

For the first 6-8 years of a players career the club should be able to trade them to any club. After 6-8 years the player becomes a free agent.
By doing this there would be no issue of player retention for the northern states.
If a player has been with the GWS for 4 years. GWS offer him a 5 year contract the player says no then they can trade to the highest bidder.
The interstate clubs would also be able to trade in players a lot easier.
Player wages would have to be increased for this to happen. But if every player knows when they enter the draft they could be going to anywhere in Australia for a minimum of 6 years.
If the average wage was increased to 800k I’m sure most players would still play AFL.
Every club has an advantage and needs to maximise it but that should not affect the draft.
If there was no compromised drafts N.Daicos and W.Ashcroft would be playing for North. Which means you wouldn’t have to give out compo picks because North can’t move up the ladder.

St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies