St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies

Wait until you hear what Ivan Soldo has done.

Your tears of moral outrage will be next level !!.

Is that the guy from Star Wars?

"BUT JOSH LIED TO US AND TOLD US HE WAS STAYING AND COST US FIRST ROUND COMPO THATS WHY WE DIDNT INVITE HIM TO THE BNF"

Sooking does get you somewhere

How any hawks supporter can accuse any club of sooking after Sam Mitchell's performance in his press conference after losing the final to Port is beyond me. Absolutely embarrassing.

Are you thick?

The AFL preference the income provided by continually showcasing the larger clubs (prime time matches). Distributions of larger amounts to smaller clubs is compensation for them not having marquee time slots.

If the AFL was equatable, each team would play games equally in each time slot and double ups wouldn't be continually given to big clubs against each other. That way smaller teams could start to command more when it comes to drawing new members and importantly, sponsors. Sponsors want to be in front of as many eyes as possible.
You realise a lot of these marquee time slots are kept because they’ve been there for a long time and make the afl a lot of money, why change something if it’s working, why fix something that ain’t broken, from a financial business perspective.

It’s St Kildas job and other clubs jobs to build their own marquee games, Friday night and prime time slots outside of the big (Kings birthday, Anzac Day, Easter Monday) clashes, do get thrown around.

Also double ups aren’t done for financial gain and are done for fairness of the competition, so a voided argument as such.

But as you said St Kilda is financially aided by the AFL and one of the highest, so the complaints it’s the AFLs fault is a victim mentality comparatively to other clubs.

Of course they'd want that - but it's not possible.

Footy fans are not an infinite resource. Especially in Victoria.
It is possible if all games are more even, less blow outs, even competition means more neutrals for games will be feeding the afl and club pockets. That’s why this year was a good step financially with the onfield success following.

How any hawks supporter can accuse any club of sooking after Sam Mitchell's performance in his press conference after losing the final to Port is beyond me. Absolutely embarrassing.
Embarrassing would be uninviting a player from your BNF then having the gall to put out a post once you knew what the compo is

Pathetic
Weak
Sad

"BUT JOSH LIED TO US AND TOLD US HE WAS STAYING AND COST US FIRST ROUND COMPO THATS WHY WE DIDNT INVITE HIM TO THE BNF"

Sooking does get you somewhere
Didn't your coach chuck a massive tantrum after the final against Port Adelaide?

Embarrassing would be uninviting a player from your BNF then having the gall to put out a post once you knew what the compo is

Pathetic
Weak
Sad
Dude embarrassing is 5 years after a dynasty is being a bees dick away from being merged.

Nothing is more embarrassing in VFL/AFL history then Hawthorn fans ditching their club after the 80s because a few bad years.

You didn’t know he established Australia’s largest job seeking portal? Clearly coming to this thread well educated aren’t you.

The first thing I do whenever I visit a website is look for the ceo of the website

How is it we have a competition that rewards miss managed clubs? Saints have had so many picks over the years, is it the AFL or other clubs' fault they have recruited poorly? It's not just the saints. The whole comp is littered with wasted draft picks and miss managements.
??

How is it? It's literally the system that the AFL and all clubs supported as being the only way for a professional sporting competition in Australia to function and survive.

The Draft.

The lower you finish, the better the Draft selections you get. That's literally the system.

What are you talking about??

And what do you mean by "the Saints have had so many picks over the years"?? All clubs get the same amount of picks.

You realise a lot of these marquee time slots are kept because they’ve been there for a long time and make the afl a lot of money, why change something if it’s working, why fix something that ain’t broken, from a financial business perspective.

It’s St Kildas job and other clubs jobs to build their own marquee games, Friday night and prime time slots outside of the big (Kings birthday, Anzac Day, Easter Monday) clashes, do get thrown around.

Also double ups aren’t done for financial gain and are done for fairness of the competition, so a voided argument as such.

But as you said St Kilda is financially aided by the AFL and one of the highest, so the complaints it’s the AFLs fault is a victim mentality comparatively to other clubs.
WTF??

You're either purposely taking the piss, or you're the most naive person I've ever come across in my life.

You’re ignoring the fact St Kilda are one of the most financially aided clubs in the league.
St Kilda have put more patrons through the Docklands stadium than any other club.
Despite being given a financially disastrous deal we, more than any other club, paid that stadium off so that the league could own it.
When covid happened the docklands stadium was the asset that kept the league afloat.

St Kilda played their part in saving national football. Aided club FFS.

What did Hawthorn contribute dopey?

St Kilda have put more patrons through the Docklands stadium than any other club.
Despite being given a financially disastrous deal we, more than any other club, paid that stadium off so that the league could own it.
When covid happened the docklands stadium was the asset that kept the league afloat.

St Kilda played their part in saving national football. Aided club FFS.

What did Hawthorn contribute dopey?
What did I say that was wrong. You were the fifth most aided club in the competition in 2023.

You’re ignoring the fact St Kilda are one of the most financially aided clubs in the league.

Subsidised money isn’t charity money mate. On the other hand, having the MCC finance a money fest at the G might be a different story for those clubs getting that luxury, with your club being one of them.

What did I say that was wrong. You were the fifth most aided club in the competition in 2023.
You say "aided" when you don't understand what "equalisation" means.
You're a dumb campaigner. Poster after poster has told you.

The additional funds St Kilda receive from the AFL aren't unearned. They are the equalisation for the contribution we make to TV rights, paying for the league owned stadium without the reward of marquee fixtures, preferential TV scheduling etc.

Read more, post less, dopey.

Subsidised money isn’t charity money mate. On the other hand, having the MCC finance a money fest at the G might be a different story for those clubs getting that luxury, with your club being one of them.
You say "aided" when you don't understand what "equalisation" means.
You're a dumb campaigner. Poster after poster has told you.

The additional funds St Kilda receive from the AFL aren't unearned. They are the equalisation for the contribution we make to TV rights, paying for the league owned stadium without the reward of marquee fixtures, preferential TV scheduling etc.

Read more, post less, dopey.
St Kilda cannot blame the afl for not giving any support when they are one of the most financially aided clubs in the league, which is as you say, there to equalise because St Kilda are a smaller club. But this has gone for a lot of clubs, most clubs who are in a poor spot get helped by the afl. Nothing new.

The complaint from Andrew was that they favour wealthy clubs in the drafts (just not the case), and ignoring the fact they’ve just benefited from a compromised system, and they get financial support and aid to help grow their wealth. It’s a help, it won’t be fully handed to them.

I think you’re just lost with the marquee fixtures, are you talking prime time Friday nights for example or are you talking about (Easter Monday, Kings Birthday, Anzac Day) games? Because all clubs have had their fair share when earnt with on-field performance and being able to sell out stadiums when put in the position.

The name calling is not needed and quite funny, just because you’re not understanding doesn’t make me wrong.

hahaha, so Carlton playing Essendon/Pies twice a year or vice versa is for fairness yet Saints not having a dbl up vs Pies in over a decade is in fairness?
interstate sides having dbl ups every year vs interstate siblings despite the 6-6-6 fixture basis
playing port @ port for the best part of 2 decades is for fairness

there is nothing fair at all in the FIXture

St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies