10k Posts Ruby Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor
Aug 4, 2005
Aussie cricket team
I haven't liked it from round 2 or so.

I don't watch footy that is a chance of being ordinary anymore. Because the odds are it will be ordinary

The game has changed forever.

How have you viewed the season overall with regards to excitement, surprising results, must watch games etc.

Hasn't been too bad, there has been a lot of close awesome games and finals weren't decided until after Round 22. Yes there has been some borefests, but games like StK-Ess, StK-Geel, Haw-Geel and ANZAC day were great to watch even as a neutral.

I haven't liked it from round 2 or so.

I don't watch footy that is a chance of being ordinary anymore. Because the odds are it will be ordinary

The game has changed forever.

How have you viewed the season overall with regards to excitement, surprising results, must watch games etc.

You didn't watch the first dogs v pies match, saints v essendon and last nights semi final?

Seriously, why post this whinge? You don't like it, then don't watch it.

Surprised by the poll to be honest

To the above poster. Yep there has been a handful of good games.

Out of 176

As for the 'if you don't like it don't watch it' comment. Once the cats have lost their ability to compete with the top 4 then yes, I will be done. I only partially enjoy cats games because they win most, not because they are good games.

I just wanted to see where others stood.

Looks like the AFL is heading down the right track if the concensus is correct.

Out of 176

As for the 'if you don't like it don't watch it' comment. Once the cats have lost their ability to compete with the top 4 then yes, I will be done. I only partially enjoy cats games because they win most, not because they are good games.

Maybe your interest in the game is waning?

This year has been fantastic!

34 games out of 176 have been decided by 10 points or less. The fight for possitions in the finals, from 3rd all the way to 12th, was constant until the final round. 2 dominant teams that still struggled in tight games. Emergence of some freaky first year players. Massive crowd figures, both for individual games and as a grand total over the whole season.

Hopefully next year is more of the same! :thumbsu:

Here's a list of the 10 point or less games. Round 18 had the most close games with 4 decided by 10 or less.

Hawthorn 16.7 (103) Geelong 15.21 (111) MCG 69,593 Friday, 27 March
Collingwood 13.8 (86) Adelaide 13.12 (90) MCG 41,591 Saturday, 28 March
Brisbane Lions 14.11 (95) West Coast 13.8 (86) The Gabba 26,800 Saturday, 28 March
Carlton 16.16 (112) Essendon 17.14 (116) MCG 70,411 Saturday, 11 April
Richmond 13.14 (92) Melbourne 14.16 (100) MCG 40,763 Sunday, 19 April
Essendon 13.15 (93) Collingwood 12.16 (88) MCG 84,829 Saturday, 25 April
Hawthorn 16.10 (106) Carlton 15.12 (102) MCG 69,014 Saturday, 2 May
North Melbourne 20.5 (125) Port Adelaide 18.12 (120) Docklands Stadium 14,342 Saturday, 9 May
Carlton 11.15 (81) Fremantle 13.10 (88) Gold Coast Stadium 10,294 Saturday, 9 May
West Coast 12.18 (90) Melbourne 13.4 (82) Subiaco Oval 35,209 Sunday, 10 May
Melbourne 15.7 (97) Western Bulldogs 15.14 (104) MCG 28,279 Saturday, 16 May
Sydney 16.10 (106) West Coast 15.11 (101) ANZ Stadium 33,079 Saturday, 16 May
Port Adelaide 14.18 (102) Richmond 15.9 (99) AAMI Stadium 22,034 Sunday, 17 May
Geelong 17.14 (116) Western Bulldogs 17.12 (114) Docklands Stadium 44,620 Friday, 22 May
Fremantle 17.10 (112) Richmond 17.13 (115) Subiaco Oval 35,391 Saturday, 30 May
Brisbane Lions 16.10 (106) Carlton 16.16 (112) The Gabba 33,790 Saturday, 6 June
St Kilda 14.7 (91) Geelong 13.7 (85) Docklands Stadium 54,444 Sunday, 5 July
Western Bulldogs 16.14 (110) Collingwood 17.9 (111) Docklands Stadium 51,382 Friday, 10 July
Hawthorn 10.13 (73) North Melbourne 9.10 (64) Aurora Stadium 15,080 Sunday, 12 July
Richmond 12.13 (85) North Melbourne 12.13 (85) MCG 30,604 Sunday, 19 July Draw
Geelong 15.9 (99) Hawthorn 14.14 (98) MCG 64,803 Saturday, 25 July
Fremantle 10.11 (71) West Coast 8.18 (66) Subiaco Oval 39,536 Saturday, 25 July
Essendon 14.12 (96) Richmond 15.11 (101) MCG 47,412 Sunday, 26 July
North Melbourne 11.18 (84) Carlton 14.10 (94) Docklands Stadium 38,554 Friday, 31 July
Geelong 14.9 (93) Adelaide 13.13 (91) Skilled Stadium 21,686 Saturday, 1 August
Melbourne 12.10 (82) Richmond 12.14 (86) MCG 37,438 Sunday, 2 August
Western Bulldogs 13.19 (97) West Coast 16.6 (102) Docklands Stadium 22,417 Saturday, 8 August
Essendon 13.9 (87) Brisbane Lions 12.15 (87) MCG 41,636 Saturday, 8 August Draw
Sydney 13.9 (87) Geelong 13.14 (92) ANZ Stadium 40,261 Saturday, 15 August
Essendon 16.14 (110) St Kilda 16.12 (108) Docklands Stadium 41,410 Sunday, 16 August
Western Bulldogs 16.14 (110) Geelong 14.12 (96) Docklands Stadium 46,818 Friday, 21 August
St Kilda 8.11 (59) North Melbourne 10.4 (64) Docklands Stadium 30,522 Sunday, 23 August
Sydney 14.8 (92) Brisbane Lions 15.10 (100) SCG 27,933 Saturday, 29 August
Port Adelaide 9.13 (67) North Melbourne 10.11 (71) AAMI Stadium 17,284 Saturday, 29 August

The standard has been varying but on the whole pretty good in my view. The umpiring, I believe, has been better this year than in previous years, they just need to outright scrap the hands in the back rule and the new 50 rule they brought in this year because they aren't even being applied.

The best has been sensational, the Saints vs Geelong match was probably one of the best home and away matches I've ever seen. The two matches involving Hawks and Cats were also great matches, very unpredictable and built around a great rivalry.

The Anzac clash was definitely memorable, albeit not for the right reasons in my view, but that finish will go down in history as one of the best. From a Collingwood point of view the Bulldogs victory was particularly memorable and as well as the win over Adelaide in the finals. The Carlton fail was good to see as well. There are plenty more great matches apart from those as well.

We've seen some big marks taken, Burton's in particular was phenomenal, some big hits, (the bump ain't dead quite yet) some miraculous goals, everything you'd really want from a season of footy.

The season has definitely had its downsides, though. There are a lot of teams using the rebuilding excuse to play downright uncompetitive footy, too many clubs putting the cue in the rack early, although I commend teams like West Coast and Sydney who kept on fighting until the end despite not having much to play for. Hawthorn were very disappointing as last year's winners, I expected more out of them despite their injuries.

Anywho, we might yet be set for some big matches to come. The season might have a few twists and turns yet.

I'm genuinely excited for the last few weeks of footy, I will miss it when it goes.

Since the Eags were shizen for 2/3 of the year, Ive had no choice really but to embrace other club's games. And most of the time, a few beers, as good as ever. Shame that Lance F. didn't really get into top form though compared to last year.

even ordinary teams can perform well, the standard of the game is driven by the people officiating, which has been said for years.

Footballing standard 10

Umpiring Standard 5 (at best)

7 but not excellent.
same

I think one point that should be mentioned is that even though 4 of the best 5 games of the season (Stk vs. Geel, Stk vs. Ess, Coll vs. WBD [1st encounter] and Geel vs. Hawthorn [2nd encounter]) were all in the second half of the season, the hype, excitement and anticipation was mainly in the first half. Particularly, from rounds 5-10.

That's when it was clear the Saints and the Cats were a cut above everyone else, and the Tigers and Dees were destined for a poor year, but all the other clubs were capable of beating each other on any good day. That carried on, to some degree, for the remainder of the season. However I remember 12 or so teams hovering within 4 points of each other for a long period of time before eventually began to disperse in points.

St Kilda v Geelong - best game ever as a neutral. Incredible intensity. :thumbsu:

Maybe it depends on the team you follow and how the season as panned out but for a Bomber fan 2009 was awesome with wins over Coll, Carl (2), Haw (2) and St Kilda.

geelong fans are suffering from sustained success and expecting a certain standard and winning every week. 2007 was your year. 09 in the end could be too.

Reckon 2nd half of the season was better than the 1st half as teams started to run thru the clusters, zones with 'play on' footy.

the game evolved again this year, bring on the prelims and GF.

Out of 176

Tell us when were the Golden Days, Chicken Little?

For me, anything pre this year. Actually it definately took a wrong turn in 05

When attack from defence started to become prevalent.

Now it's lock down footy with a burst here and there. And watching 2 ordinary clubs try it against each other has just been dissapointing.

I've really enjoyed seeing a young team like Essendon let their kids just have a crack though.

I voted average by the way. But it's obvious I am in a minority

Average and on the decline.

The players are fitter and more skillful than ever.
Some of the games are played with great intensity.
Quite a few exciting games due to close finishes but every sport has that.
The competition is pretty good although too many teams are well below the standard of the best.

The style of game is getting boring. Sure, once a team breaks from the congestion and moves it quickly it's good to watch. However so much of the game is played with at least a dozen players around the ball and if someone doesn't get the ball quickly, there'll be 2 dozen. Dinky little handpasses to no-one.

Why? The players are too fit and can get a rest too easily. Limited interchange so players can't always run to the ball to worsen the congestion is what i'd like to see.

Hawthorn 16.7 (103) Geelong 15.21 (111) MCG 69,593 Friday, 27 March
Collingwood 13.8 (86) Adelaide 13.12 (90) MCG 41,591 Saturday, 28 March
Brisbane Lions 14.11 (95) West Coast 13.8 (86) The Gabba 26,800 Saturday, 28 March
Carlton 16.16 (112) Essendon 17.14 (116) MCG 70,411 Saturday, 11 April
Richmond 13.14 (92) Melbourne 14.16 (100) MCG 40,763 Sunday, 19 April
Essendon 13.15 (93) Collingwood 12.16 (88) MCG 84,829 Saturday, 25 April
Hawthorn 16.10 (106) Carlton 15.12 (102) MCG 69,014 Saturday, 2 May
North Melbourne 20.5 (125) Port Adelaide 18.12 (120) Docklands Stadium 14,342 Saturday, 9 May
Carlton 11.15 (81) Fremantle 13.10 (88) Gold Coast Stadium 10,294 Saturday, 9 May
West Coast 12.18 (90) Melbourne 13.4 (82) Subiaco Oval 35,209 Sunday, 10 May
Melbourne 15.7 (97) Western Bulldogs 15.14 (104) MCG 28,279 Saturday, 16 May
Sydney 16.10 (106) West Coast 15.11 (101) ANZ Stadium 33,079 Saturday, 16 May
Port Adelaide 14.18 (102) Richmond 15.9 (99) AAMI Stadium 22,034 Sunday, 17 May
Geelong 17.14 (116) Western Bulldogs 17.12 (114) Docklands Stadium 44,620 Friday, 22 May
Fremantle 17.10 (112) Richmond 17.13 (115) Subiaco Oval 35,391 Saturday, 30 May
Brisbane Lions 16.10 (106) Carlton 16.16 (112) The Gabba 33,790 Saturday, 6 June
St Kilda 14.7 (91) Geelong 13.7 (85) Docklands Stadium 54,444 Sunday, 5 July
Western Bulldogs 16.14 (110) Collingwood 17.9 (111) Docklands Stadium 51,382 Friday, 10 July
Hawthorn 10.13 (73) North Melbourne 9.10 (64) Aurora Stadium 15,080 Sunday, 12 July
Richmond 12.13 (85) North Melbourne 12.13 (85) MCG 30,604 Sunday, 19 July Draw
Geelong 15.9 (99) Hawthorn 14.14 (98) MCG 64,803 Saturday, 25 July
Fremantle 10.11 (71) West Coast 8.18 (66) Subiaco Oval 39,536 Saturday, 25 July
Essendon 14.12 (96) Richmond 15.11 (101) MCG 47,412 Sunday, 26 July
North Melbourne 11.18 (84) Carlton 14.10 (94) Docklands Stadium 38,554 Friday, 31 July
Geelong 14.9 (93) Adelaide 13.13 (91) Skilled Stadium 21,686 Saturday, 1 August
Melbourne 12.10 (82) Richmond 12.14 (86) MCG 37,438 Sunday, 2 August
Western Bulldogs 13.19 (97) West Coast 16.6 (102) Docklands Stadium 22,417 Saturday, 8 August
Essendon 13.9 (87) Brisbane Lions 12.15 (87) MCG 41,636 Saturday, 8 August Draw
Sydney 13.9 (87) Geelong 13.14 (92) ANZ Stadium 40,261 Saturday, 15 August
Essendon 16.14 (110) St Kilda 16.12 (108) Docklands Stadium 41,410 Sunday, 16 August
Western Bulldogs 16.14 (110) Geelong 14.12 (96) Docklands Stadium 46,818 Friday, 21 August
St Kilda 8.11 (59) North Melbourne 10.4 (64) Docklands Stadium 30,522 Sunday, 23 August
Sydney 14.8 (92) Brisbane Lions 15.10 (100) SCG 27,933 Saturday, 29 August
Port Adelaide 9.13 (67) North Melbourne 10.11 (71) AAMI Stadium 17,284 Saturday, 29 August

You missed the Saints 1 point win over Sydney to keep there hopes of a clean slate alive.

Obviously not a great year for my club - retirements, injuries and missed opportunities.

Football itself it going through an interesting stage of evolution with the zone defence creating a lot more 'play on's and handballs in the midfield. The handball/kick ration is sitting much higher than years before as are the number of possessions a game and rotations. The game is faster with ball moment a priority. The problem with this is when teams don't have the skills to execute high possession, quick moving footy it can look ugly.

Rules - The rushed behind rule as been a success. I personally like the new strict interpretation of holding the ball / incorrect disposal. Too many players were getting away with just dropping the pill when tackled. The interesting question is whether the fair bump will survive.

Looking at the two top teams - Geelong play an interesting style with the forwards often moving right up the ground the running back into open space with the flight of the ball, whilst the Saints hit up the leading tall timber or bomb it in long to the big guys and have their crumbers clean up around the packs. Despite the huge number of running midfield goals there still plenty of room for the power forward.

I'm always fascinated by the view that there are a number of boring games each year and therefore footy is not enjoyable. As a follower for over 5 decades, I still realy enjoy the game. Yes it is different but that makes it interesting for me, not necessarily "worse".
I don't accept that the game is "softer", but there is a different quality of "hardness" now
For me, the rose-coloured glasses are often focused on the past (me included!). We bemoan the lack of pack marks now - but did we really see as many week in-week out that we think? Part of the reason that we remember the Knights/Van der Haar duals, Capper, Barker and other high flyers is that they were the exception rather than the rule.
As for boring football, I can remember sitting through heaps of low scoring, dull or one-sided contests. That is live sport. We also had the ruckman playing loose back and when kicking against the wind, any number of players would play loose in the back half before we called them zones.
Yep, it is different from what it used to be and will continue to evolve, but for me it is still enjoyable
I look forward each weekend to going to games not knowing exactly what to expect. And even if a game is one-sided it gives me greater chnaces to enjoy the stars of even poor teams: this year I loved Aaron Davey, newcomers Ziebell, Natanui, Jesse White; Cousins, Franklin, Hodge, Goodes - all from teams not good enough to make the finals
Good enough for me

Standard of this years football