Resource State League Jumper Guide

No offence but most of the SANFL ones look a bit off.

Centrals - look alright from a quick glance (only have white shorts though)
Glenelg - sash is too thick and too straight (also know they use the same KooGa template as the AFL)
North - V is very weird. Too big and not well positioned. Socks also have way too many hoops
Norwood - look pretty good from a glance. Red is off though
Port - prison bars go up too high and don't look quite right. Pretty sure they still have printed laces and the middle black 'stripe' is a bit thicker than the rest
South - blue is way too light and you've f***ed that monogram up big time!!! Also not too sure what's going on with the shorts :confused:
Sturt - looks pretty good from a glance, probably the most accurate. 95% sure the socks aren't hooped though
West - same problem as the bays; the sash is too thick and straight
WWT - looks alright from a quick glance. Shorts don't match up though

Can I also ask what the hell is going on with your templates?!?!? I'm pretty sure you're using them incorrectly and it doesn't look good. The necks are weird (not like any official templates) and the shorts and guernseys have weird grey lines on them. The numbers are also a bit off the actual ones used. Seriously mate, read Smeagle's paint tutorial properly and your designs will look 99999999x better :thumbsu: also make sure you don't save them as jpg files, cos that reduces the quality and colour of the image a fair bit...

The problem with things looking off isn't to do with using the templates incorrectly, it's because the files have been saved as .jpg files (which are better suited to photos and the like), instead of .gif or .png files (better for graphics with big chunks of solid colours). Save them as GIF or PNG files and they'll look much better. :thumbsu:

Isn't South Adelaide's panther logo the saddest, most pathetic thing you've ever seen?
Looks like a child drew it using the Philly Eagles logo, some coloured pencils and an eraser.
It's probably better than knocking one off, which half of them have, but only just.
I would count Central's Yale Bulldog, Glenelg's Hamilton Tiger-Cat and West's Minnesota Timberwolf as being categorically knocked off, and Port's magpie, which I am unsure whether it was registered to Collingwood or Port first.

My go at the SANFL
Central-2011.gif
Glenelg-2011.gif

North-Adelaide-2011.gif
Norwood-2011.gif

South-Adelaide-2011.gif
Sturt-2011.gif

Port-Magpies-2011.gif
West-Adelaide-2011.gif

Woodville-West-Torrens-2011.gif

They look good, but I think most teams collars are different

Pretty sure that all except for Glenelg (AFL KooGa template) are just slightly different variations of the v-neck :) Shorts are a bit different and numbers may be as well but otherwise absolute first-rate performance (as usual) Mero :thumbsu::thumbsu:

How can I compete with the work of Mero. His work is A+ class.

What someone said about my pictures earlier was that the colour of the shorts didn't match. When the jumper is worn both home and away then I will do the front in the home short colour and the back in away short colour. If the uniform is for home or away only then I will do both sides of the shorts in the same colour. So by looking at the picture I do of a uniform you can tell if it is a Home and Away, Home only or Away only.

Also, don't the designs done by Mero look better without the logos on them on here. The reasons why the look better is because the size that the logos would have to be to be in size with the size of the jumper would mean than they are hard to see.

Why waste time with getting the sponsor accurate on jumpers. What a sponsor puts on a jumper as their logo can not be controlled by the clubs. They are controlled by billion dollar companies who give clubs million dollar sponsorship deals.

Thats the point of the 'Jumper Guide', to show exactly what the clubs wear when they run out on the field. All minute details included.

i hardly recognised the wafl jumpers because they weren't plastered with sponsors :D

Seriously the Perth jumper this year is a joke with a sponsor taking up most of the back with a big white patch leaving barely enough room for the number... IMO most of the state leagues have gone too far with the number of sponsors allowed on the jumper and the size of them.

workhorse has got a point.
The ones I made were just quick jobs.
I've re-done Centrals, it now looks like this:
Central-2011.gif

I've used vectors of each logo, so it should come out looking like they should look.
the text above the SANFL logo is be active. Holden sponsor the Front, Back and Shorts. As well, Novita Child Services are also on the shorts.
The club logo is a slightly modified Yale Bulldogs logo with a footy shadow added.

What I mean by not wasting time on the sponsors logos is that are just logos printed onto a jumper. Some would say against me, "Isn't the Carlton CFC logo just a logo printed onto a jumper". There is a difference. If Carlton wanted to change the logo they could, which they have from the sown on CFC to the CFC logo on the logo to the new CFC logo hich is currently on the jumper. However, the Hyundai and Mars logos can't be changed by the Carlton Football Club. They can suggest a change but they have to except the wishes of their sponsors.

On footyjumpers.com, what is considered a change in jumper. Take Gold Coast for an example. The names on the front of the jumper for their first match is considered a change. The change in the sponsor's name from Virgin Blue to Virgin Australia, no it isn't.

There is another reason why I don't think sponsor logos should be included on pictures of club's uniforms. I am using some quotes from the thread about footyjumpers.com.

Quote:[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
Originally Posted by BennyW
Mero, you should put the sponsors on the jerseys :thumbsu: (on your site)
Originally Posted by Gibbsyspin
This has been discussed many times before. Simply isn't feasible to do without Mero paying mega-bucks to the AFL.
Originally Posted by Mero
$100,000 actually. Which is what you pay to be a licensee of the AFL.

It's all relative, financially speaking, but you know, we could live on that sort of money for 5 or 6 months.

Wouldn't these comments also transfer over to a site like this.

I won't be putting sponsor logos on the site as it makes it a representation of an AFL product, which only the official site can do on a permanent basis.

On here, pictures of jumpers in threads are by definition, replaced by new threads. That is the nature of a Message Board.
You can use an Essendon jumper to say this is what an Essendon jumper looks exactly like today, but if you intend to keep it there, say on an ad on this site, that would mean trouble with the AFL.

I just think that it is best not to stir up a hornets nest if we don't have to.

Sponsors logos on a jumper are an item that a club has limited control over. On a thread like this one that is just saying how a jumper is it may be ok.

But on threads that are about changing jumpers sponsors logos shouldn't be included. The best thing would be to have blank spaces were they would be. The sponsor hasn't paided to be on the jumper, and they haven't asked to be on it.

I don't put sponsor logos on jumpers so they won't cause any problems that have been mentioned.

Too right. Whats the point of having the website on the hip in tiny writing when nobodys going to notice it. Including the website and canterbury i counted 9 sponsors logos on the jumper.

IMO most of the state leagues have gone too far with the number of sponsors allowed on the jumper and the size of them.

The trouble is most of the state league clubs would struggle immensley without the help from their sponsors these days. They rely on them so much and need to encourage as many sponsors as possible to help support the club. Because these leagues obviously don't get as much exposure as the AFL, most clubs need several major sponsors and also have to make compromises for the sponsors to actually pump reasonable amounts of money into the clubs. No-one would want to pay 1000s of dollars for a tiny little square on the chest when only around 5000 people might see it (from a distance) every week. The difference is, as many as 10-15x the amount of people are exposed to a single live AFL match a week, let alone the 1000s more viewers on TV. Unfortunately, I don't think the amount of sponsors will be changing any time soon either :(

In regards to the 'sponsors debate', I really don't understand the issue. Workhorse's point is valid in that a jumper guide should really be as accurate as possible and therefore for the point of this topic there is no reason for them to 'not be used'. At the same time they don't have to be used but it does make more sense to. If you want to, use them, if you don't, don't use them :rolleyes: There is no point saying not to use them when for this purpose they only improve the design, not hinder them

One more thing, the blue on that Sturt guernsey probably looks a little bit too bright (too much like the carlton guernsey). If you have a quick look at www.sturtfc.com.au, the lighter blue appears a bit more pale (just have a look at the sidebar or top right corner in particular). Only very minor but seeing we are talking about getting this thread as accurate as possible, here's my contribution ;)

I know we live in an age where advertising space is gold and spreading the word about you company is paramount for businesses, but out of all the SANFL supporters in the world who is going to need a garage door.

The Box Hill Hawks jumper: Middle brown panel is a bit narrow I reckon. I have one at home, it is almost like a three-panel jumper.

Glenelg: Worst jumper I have seen for sponsor's log. They should almost have to incorporate the 'Gliderol' wording into the definition of the jumper. Just terrible commercialism at it's best. No offence to GFC supporters.

North Adelaide: For the absolute life of me, I still cannot work out why the hell there is a 'V' on the jumper. What does it stand for? I mean Victoria State of Origin has a 'V' to clearly stand for 'Victoria'. What is the 'V' for?? Why not put an 'NA" on there if you're going to put a letter(s) or if it's part of the jumper, make it a proper vee like the old Sth Melbourne, or even better, change back to the old red and white vertical stripes. Rant over.

Resource State League Jumper Guide