Sunraysia Football league

GAblett said:
i will be heading along to see as your reliable gate keeper every week is being inducted (my grandfather) ernie

as for some others. mate have no idea. who was inducted last year?

Good on Ern. Top bloke and well deserved.

Last year there were a few from the triple premiership years of 67 68 and 69.

Big Billacaglia
Andrew Banks
John Brunyen
Peter Hahn

Thats all I can recall. I wouldn't be surprised to see Terry Loveridge get added and perhaps Squid. Although I heard Squid won't be here on the night so they may not add him.

I imagine there will be six or so added and I am very interested to know if they will add a second Legend to sit alongside Kenny Mansell.

Not sure of the selection criteria but perhaps Darren Wood for coaching the 98 Premiership side.

The criteria I do know is that you must have played or coached but you can no longer be playing or coaching. I think someone said last year that all McLeod Medallists will be added.

Ibis100 said:
Good on Ern. Top bloke and well deserved.

Last year there were a few from the triple premiership years of 67 68 and 69.

Big Billacaglia
Andrew Banks
John Brunyen
Peter Hahn

Thats all I can recall. I wouldn't be surprised to see Terry Loveridge get added and perhaps Squid. Although I heard Squid won't be here on the night so they may not add him.

I imagine there will be six or so added and I am very interested to know if they will add a second Legend to sit alongside Kenny Mansell.

Not sure of the selection criteria but perhaps Darren Wood for coaching the 98 Premiership side.

The criteria I do know is that you must have played or coached but you can no longer be playing or coaching. I think someone said last year that all McLeod Medallists will be added.

would be a huge honour for them if that was the case.

how would someone like gordon casey go, any chance?

just looking at the draw mate, we play you on the day so it would
be great to see a good game of footy and have your older supporters
come down for a look.

and for the club/s to show some sort of recognition their way.

GAblett said:
would be a huge honour for them if that was the case.

how would someone like gordon casey go, any chance?

just looking at the draw mate, we play you on the day so it would
be great to see a good game of footy and have your older supporters
come down for a look.

and for the club/s to show some sort of recognition their way.

Gordon has been inducted into the Hall of Fame, he would certainy be a worthy Legend for what he has done for the club over his life. He still gets down there every Saturday to watch and even gives me a few coaching tips now and again. He loves watching the 16-18 yr olds that he coached in U11's. He'll even tell you about the kids he put on the right path to AFL glory if you have the time.

The club will put on lunch for the past inductees and they are all invited to the night. I know Kenny Mansell makes the effort to come and he will certainly be watching the game along with many others.

Hopefully the boys can have a win to ensure it is a memorable day.

Yaaablett said:
I actually wasnt there for the teams to be read out last night and have not spoken to Ando about the subject of him not being in the team. I am sure he is gutted as he loves playing for Mildura. I'm sure he'll fight back and get back in.

One hopes he can get back in, i'd hate to see Mildura go alright in the finals and not have someone like him in the team. Looking at your team on paper I still think he is worthy of making your 22. There are a couple of guys in there who I think might be getting a game because of there name.

Lazy Dave said:
One hopes he can get back in, i'd hate to see Mildura go alright in the finals and not have someone like him in the team. Looking at your team on paper I still think he is worthy of making your 22. There are a couple of guys in there who I think might be getting a game because of there name.

Care to name them Lazy?

Ibis100 said:
Tim is a great bloke and good footballer. If they don't want him, I will open the gate between No.1 and No.3 oval and he is more than welcome at South.

As a coach I thought you might know better than to write that.

Yaaablett said:
As a coach I thought you might know better than to write that.

Know better than to write what Yabbs? Someone from Imps wrote exactly the same about Chalkie. he was just saying he thinks he is a good footballer and he would find a spot at South. Where was the harm in that big fella? I am sure all 7 other clubs would feel the same.

gutsy said:
Know better than to write what Yabbs? Someone from Imps wrote exactly the same about Chalkie. Just saying I think he is a good footballer and he would find a spot at South. Where was the harm in that big fella?

Wasn't Seamus Maloney though was it?

Have you just slipped up Ibis? That was a quick edit! But not quick enough to prevent me from quoting your post! Everyone can see the edit now from "Just saying I think" to "he was just saying he thinks" . Sprung;) Finally concrete evidence that Ibis is gutsy. Ordinary comment regarding the O'Callaghans- Nice little bit of ammo for this week.

gutsy said:
To those of you out there that think I am Jason Spivey, I am NOT. As previously stated I am entitled to an opinion on any player I like, good or bad. So no more private messages about this crap about me being Spivey. I know Spivey is on here and I am sure there are quite a few south players who can confirm who Spivey is on here and it isn't me.

So HOTDOGS, Brad Thomas probably wouldn't give a toss that I put him in my top 5 softest players and as for my No.1 choice, there are plenty on here that agree. And lastly, I put my opinion forward on the softest players as I was asked to. READ THE POSTS HOTDOGS BEFORE YOU SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES TELLING ME TO PULL MY HEAD IN.

I am leaving this forum. I apologise to Spivey and Terry Ryan and any other person that may have been mistaken for me and my opinions.

Interesting.

Yaaablett said:
Have you just slipped up Ibis? That was a quick edit! But not quick enough to prevent me from quoting your post! Everyone can see the edit now from "Just saying I think" to "he was just saying he thinks" . Sprung;) Finally concrete evidence that Ibis is gutsy. Ordinary comment regarding the O'Callaghans- Nice little bit of ammo for this week.

Great Work Yaaablett!

mullethead said:
You have to be joking......gets in his comfort zone, if he hasnt been worth every cent that he gets paid I will go he.... Do you think he hasn't been offered twice what he is on to play at Balranald.... I just love blokes on here who bag out the better footballers that have played in this area.....

Certainly not bagging his ability but it is a fact Balranald probaly have offered more money but the Eagles chase up the price .And it is a comfort thing because if he went some were else he would have to prove himself all over again .Nice to know you love the critics!!!

gutsy said:
Softest Players in SFL. I will give you my top 5.

1. No question here, Ryan O'Callaghan. As one person put it, if he ran any wider he would be on the highway. Has never been on the bottom of a pack and never will be.

2. Michael Faulkhead. Probably more the biggest sook than soft but to me he is soft. Doesn't do the hard stuff that would lift his team. When the going is tough he dissapears then blames his team mates.

3. Cory O'Callaghan. Just like Ryan, will run wide and not through packs but will take the accolades for the hard work of others.

4. Mark Alvey. Again, not the in and under type player as previously stated. (NO MORE SAID ON THIS ISSUE).

5. Brad Thomas. Again, an outside player who in a one on one contest will back out.

All of these playes are highly skilled and good players for their team with two of them being past McLeod Medallists and two ex AFL players. There is a place for these players quite obviously and they do stand out but for hardness, they would never win a trophy of any kind.

Interesting.

Santoz said:
Interesting.

yes very interesting!
well gutsy obvisoly u may need to play a bit like these footballers if u want to play afl...(ryan o,alvey) u cant bag these players out when they are better then u and played at a higher level then u eva will... r u jealous?? not every one can be a hard nut like u and play sfl for the rest of ur life... so make sure u bag players out who a crapper then u next time!!!!

Just a few queries on a few younger players in/from the league...
Ibis how is Alex Ghaddab going in Adelaide??
Nest how is Brodie Harris going this season, haven't heard much about him this year, prob best player in finals series for you blokes last year & thought he would kick on & dominate the league??
Yaablet, Matt Vinning? Was very good last year but again havent heard much about him this year, how has his year been?

classic said:
yes very interesting!
well gutsy obvisoly u may need to play a bit like these footballers if u want to play afl...(ryan o,alvey) u cant bag these players out when they are better then u and played at a higher level then u eva will... r u jealous?? not every one can be a hard nut like u and play sfl for the rest of ur life... so make sure u bag players out who a crapper then u next time!!!!

well what can we say ibis-gutsy you have been sprung yabs was to smart for you... its proven you just gave yourself up.... there is no doubting spivey that you are very good country footballer and you are entitled to your opinion.. but i put you in the coward category because you went to town on me started a thread on me.. why?? my guess is because i played league footy and you didnt well chin up bud.. its not your opinion of me or what you said bout me that matters most its the fact that when i looked you in the eye and asked you wether you were gutsy u denied and blamed your old man- you would have thought with all those accusations against you you would have at least asked him if he was him but you told me you didnt.... ocallaghan is a very good player he played at a higher level than you so chin up again.. cat thomas is a very important player for you an i reckon he has proved you wrong... then thers your comments pumping yourself up on most feared opposition players you descibed yourself as a mean mother- well mean mother the least you can do is come clean and please dont try deny againas you have just been sprung red handed.....

GAblett said:
badds found this on the cmfl thread "just reading the coaches 07 forum and looks like tooleytang are going to get rid of another successful coach at the end of the season? with Mark "TAB" Alvey sniffing around the bucs cash!!!!"
this was posted on the coaches changes for 2007 "Yes he was at the game on Saturday watching a few of his old Wentworth mates run around Jarrod and Drew Arentz. He came with Arentz boys brother Gareth, how does that mean he is coaching Tooleybuc Manang?? He told me himself he is likely to coach over Albury way, would be a good pick up for any club."
know you have strongly told us for the last couple of weeks you staying put but it seems that some people down there still feel your leaving

its amazing all the rumours that are going around about myself, firstly that crap i have read on this site bout me asking for this and that is to be honest very funny, the fooz on cmfl and i will comment on there thread 2morow get a life and be very careful with leagal rammifications being involved what you put on here regarding dollars... i am not a person who is driven by money for example i knocked back potentially earning 45,000 for footy at port and 50,000 at another country league club this year to play at my local club for around 10,000 so to all you parrots who think you know about me you know nothing... as for my future that we will be decided at the end of the season, yes i have spoken to 4-5 other clubs they have rang me.. the least i can do is talk to them.. rumours are just that no body knows other than me..,all disscussions have been very informal.. and i stress not once yes thats rite not once has money been mentioned to be honest its all about getting a good job for me.., yes i want to coach at some stage and all clubs i have spoken to are in different leagues to this... it is a very big possibillity that i will stay at wenty as i love that club and always will.. and gablett watch very carefully what you quote me as saying as i have yet to comment once on here bout my movements next year.... so try and guess if you want but to be honest you know nothing......

Hey Badds, its great to here all these rumours about you coaching here and there so why don't you let things go to see what else they can come up with! Also were you on the p**S last night, if not why on earth would you be on the internet at 1 o'clock in the morning on a Thursday night. Surely the team selections at Wenty didn't go for that long OR did you have a friend around to give you some company that just left?:D

GoBears said:
Just a few queries on a few younger players in/from the league...
Ibis how is Alex Ghaddab going in Adelaide??
Nest how is Brodie Harris going this season, haven't heard much about him this year, prob best player in finals series for you blokes last year & thought he would kick on & dominate the league??
Yaablet, Matt Vinning? Was very good last year but again havent heard much about him this year, how has his year been?

Matt Vining has been outstanding for the past month after a reasonable start to the year. Was our best player against Irymple and hopefully can keep going. As good in and under with clean hands that I have seen for a kid his age in country footy.

I will tell you again Badds, I am not Gutsy. I told you I THOUGHT it was my old man by the fact that he knew alot about me.

I now know who Gutsy is and have done for a little while but who is it for me to unleash the biggest secret on this thread.

He is a very good mate of mine and tied to the South Footy Club and I speak to him daily. Chalkie was heading in the right direction with his guess but not sure exactly who he thought it was.

I was with him yesterday and I had logged out of this site. He had logged back in and when I answered Yaabs I thought it was me logged in. Noticed when the post came up so I edited it. (But too late obviously).

I would never make comment on my fellow players Badds or anyone that has played at the highest level. I had my opportunity and trained at Saint Kilda and was't good enough, simple as that. I know what is required to get there and admire any person that makes that level.

As for Catta, I spoke at length to Catta in the off season to keep him at South. He was offered huge bucks to go to Balranald and I can only speak highly of him. Nakkers will tell you this and so will he. He took another huge step this year with his defensive side and turned into one of our most valuable players.

So, as I said, there are those that know who Gutsy is, and those that think they do and those that have no idea at all. I will put you and most of the others on here in the catergory of no idea at all.

The funny thing is, no-body will ever guess who it is. But he does love a good joke and stirring the pot.