Sunraysia Football league

Manage it a bit better like have contracts/sponsorship in place so that they are not caught with a huge debt at the end of it.

Surely the people/committee at the football club have learnt a fair bit about the mistakes they have made previously and will put in the measures for it not to happen again??

Things like working out your budget before the season starts not at the end and putting a business plan in place so each of the members/committee/players know which direction they are headed and have a 2/3/4 or 5yr window for success not just a quick fix it flag.

Take Souths as an example they suffered badly after 98 but with the right people in the key posts they are out of debt. Yes there footy has gone backwards in the last year or so but they do have good kids coming through and have signed a proven coach to take them places.

Maybe if they sign Merv he will have to go through 2 or 3 years of development and only recruit a handful of players each year.
Remembering the club has the power to direct its coach to what it wants from the playing group and that might mean limited funds for the 1st couple of years to further develop juniors and what they currently have.

Anythings possible with the right people and surroundings in place and maybe Merv might be up for a challenge instead of a star studded side ready to win a flag next year.:confused:

Thats the way it should be done.
But is Merv the man to do it. Is he prepared to take this approach? Does he the have the ability to develop juniors and be patient or is he going to demand the cash to buy the players.
Does his history suggest that he is capable of coaching young guys to success?
Maybe he is maybe he isnt.
East Devonport wasn't a roaring success (was that the Tassie side he coached)
Where was he before Merbein?
How did he go?

So the invitations are out for the McLeod Medal, any surprises?? Im not sure if the great man got the Team of the Year right in today's paper, there are a few that I wouldnt have.

Anyone got a tip for the Rookie of the Year? Roberts (Iry), Watt(Wenty), Richardson (Imps), Arden (Mda), Mason (Iry)......

So the invitations are out for the McLeod Medal, any surprises?? Im not sure if the great man got the Team of the Year right in today's paper, there are a few that I wouldnt have.

Anyone got a tip for the Rookie of the Year? Roberts (Iry), Watt(Wenty), Richardson (Imps), Arden (Mda), Mason (Iry)......

Yeah not bad team but few unlucky to miss out...Bell for one, but he did explain his choces. And maybe a few too many Imps but when thats the team you see every week, than probably fair enough...

If Mcleod is a tie...Matthews and Eaton my tip

Could some 1 post the side i havent got the or seen the paper.

Ill go Eagle before Eaton from the swallows Stable.

Overall winner is wide open, i reckon it will be a real tight count 16 could win it.

Ill go: A Ridley

Value Bet: Vandy.

Could some 1 post the side i havent got the or seen the paper.

Ill go Eagle before Eaton from the swallows Stable.

Overall winner is wide open, i reckon it will be a real tight count 16 could win it.

Ill go: A Ridley

Value Bet: Vandy.
Super Tony's Team

Woolford(Mda), Andrews(Imps), R. O'Callaghan(Mda)
Simms(Iry), A. Rigby(W), Harley(Rob)
A Ridley(Imps), vining(Mda), Eaton(Iry)
Brad O'Connor(Rob), Eagle(Iry), Alvey(W)
R. Hards(Imps), Matthews(Mda), Jackson(W)

Atkinson(Imps), B. Hards(Imps), Falvo(Rob)

Thomas(Imps), Clay(W), Vandenberg(W), Curran(Iry)

Andy Ough will be very stiff if he misses out, has had as good if not a better year than Atkinson. Would have thought Thomas would an automatic starting selection.

Yeah not bad team but few unlucky to miss out...Bell for one, but he did explain his choces. And maybe a few too many Imps but when thats the team you see every week, than probably fair enough...

If Mcleod is a tie...Matthews and Eaton my tip

The team of the year causes problems every year. I like Tony's team if it were going to run out and play but it isn't. I believe the team of the year should basically be the best 22 for the League named. (Not in positions). That way the guys that have had great years don't miss out. Why go for a versitile full fwd in your team of the year over the guy who was 2 short of 100 when the TEAM will never run out on the field.

The team of the year in my opinion is there to recognise the best players, not the best in a particular position or their versatility. Even if you did go with Matthews at full fwd, I don't understand how you could leave Bell out of the side completely when he was the leading goal scorer for the league missing the big ton by just 2 goals. Surely if Matthews is that versatile he could slip in to the fwd pocket in Johny Jacksons spot. Even Tony acknowledged he didn't have a great year this year.

It reminds me when they put Cardew in the pocket and left Hasse out two years ago because (As a selector quoted) Hasse was too old even though he kicked more goals than Cardew.

When someone explains to me what he was too old for I will accept the decision, but like I said, he wasn't going to run out and play for that side. He was also left out of the Snraysia side for that reason which I do undersrtand considering there was an actual game to be played. (Although he should have been in anyway.)

Until they change the selection process it will continue to be flawed. They say they are selected in their positions they play, well I got on the HBF last year and didn't play a game there. Cardew certainly didn't play in the fwd pocket. Team of the year is basically who the selectors like (As shown by Tony's comments about Jackson) not just about recognising the best players in the League.

The TOTY is not going to represent the League that is what interleague is for. The TOTY is there to recognise the 22 best players in the League and that should be the deciding factor. You can't leave the best FF out of the side, it makes a joke of the team if he is.

The team of the year causes problems every year. I like Tony's team if it were going to run out and play but it isn't. I believe the team of the year should basically be the best 22 for the League named. (Not in positions). That way the guys that have had great years don't miss out. Why go for a versitile full fwd in your team of the year over the guy who was 2 short of 100 when the TEAM will never run out on the field.

The team of the year in my opinion is there to recognise the best players, not the best in a particular position or their versatility. Even if you did go with Matthews at full fwd, I don't understand how you could leave Bell out of the side completely when he was the leading goal scorer for the league missing the big ton by just 2 goals. Surely if Matthews is that versatile he could slip in to the fwd pocket in Johny Jacksons spot. Even Tony acknowledged he didn't have a great year this year.

It reminds me when they put Cardew in the pocket and left Hasse out two years ago because (As a selector quoted) Hasse was too old even though he kicked more goals than Cardew.

When someone explains to me what he was too old for I will accept the decision, but like I said, he wasn't going to run out and play for that side. He was also left out of the Snraysia side for that reason which I do undersrtand considering there was an actual game to be played. (Although he should have been in anyway.)

Until they change the selection process it will continue to be flawed. They say they are selected in their positions they play, well I got on the HBF last year and didn't play a game there. Cardew certainly didn't play in the fwd pocket. Team of the year is basically who the selectors like (As shown by Tony's comments about Jackson) not just about recognising the best players in the League.

The TOTY is not going to represent the League that is what interleague is for. The TOTY is there to recognise the 22 best players in the League and that should be the deciding factor. You can't leave the best FF out of the side, it makes a joke of the team if he is.
well explained spives and totally agree!!! how can you leave belly out of the team??? what a joke

when is it chosen?

Just read on the Riverina site that Matt Walder has resigned as coach of the Wagga Tigers and is heading south west for family reasons.
Will he be coaching or assisting a SFL club??:confused:

Going back to the Merv Neagle discussion, brother inlaw ran into him up nth while drivin trucks and told him he had signed with Merbein.

Is apparently bringing 8-10 players including whitecross, riordan & Ben Duscher and maybe Hooker.

Other possibles include Mark Duscher/Milney & Wayne Kelly.

Said contracted players will be on no more than $200 and he is only getting his rent paid!!:eek:

gees didnt Mildura look impressive, smashed Imps all over the ground. Will be interesting to see if they can get another crack in the big one how the will counteract the 3 big fowards and the midfield that smashed them.

Has breeza moved back to the mid field or still sitting in the forward pocket kicking goals

Going back to the Merv Neagle discussion, brother inlaw ran into him up nth while drivin trucks and told him he had signed with Merbein.

Is apparently bringing 8-10 players including whitecross, riordan & Ben Duscher and maybe Hooker.

Other possibles include Mark Duscher/Milney & Wayne Kelly.

Said contracted players will be on no more than $200 and he is only getting his rent paid!!:eek:

Spoke to two committee members (The decision makers) of the Merbein Footy Club on Saturday who advised Neagle has not been signed. They have spoken with him but definately not signed. I guess thats why the job was advertised on Saturday. And no, I'm not putting my hand up for the job. Just ran in to them and had a chat.

Thanks Ibis. I read that you are looking to make a comeback for the GF if Wagga Tigers make it. Thought you were never going play again as the injury was that bad?

Just out of interest why are all the finals being played at Irymple when we have one of the best grounds in the district not being used in Red Cliffs?

We play an annual AFL pre-season match there but its not good enough for a GF or other finals in the SFL?

To me it is the perfect ground for this senario but can only guess that it might have something to do with water or security for why they are not hosting games there.

Please enlighten me................:confused:

Thanks Ibis. I read that you are looking to make a comeback for the GF if Wagga Tigers make it. Thought you were never going play again as the injury was that bad?

Just out of interest why are all the finals being played at Irymple when we have one of the best grounds in the district not being used in Red Cliffs?

We play an annual AFL pre-season match there but its not good enough for a GF or other finals in the SFL?

To me it is the perfect ground for this senario but can only guess that it might have something to do with water or security for why they are not hosting games there.

Water and security.
Irymple is completly enclosed The fence used for the AFL game would be too expensive for the SFL.

Irymples watering system allows the SFL to pump recycled water through the system.

I reckon its Ok better than No 1. anyway.

Water and security.
Irymple is completly enclosed The fence used for the AFL game would be too expensive for the SFL.

Irymples watering system allows the SFL to pump recycled water through the system.

I reckon its Ok better than No 1. anyway.

Yeah oval felt alright on the weekend..bit hard in areas, but 100 times better than the concrete slab on 11th street...

Bit dissapointing with Crowd numbers though...thought might be a few more for those 2 teams...should be good atmosphere for GF though if they can get 3 or 4 thousand there...

Mate the arm isn't too good. Just rousing a few of the boys up over there. Keep em guessing. Then again the allure of a premiership is hard to resist. If I do my arm again thiough I am in big trouble. 95% I wont play the game again. (Always prepared to risk it for a premiership, something I have never won.) BUT WILL MY COACH. I doubt it.