Suns in the Media - Part I

Nothing any of us can do.
Suggest everyone enjoy their weekends with their family and friends.

A lot to play out over the next 4-5 months, take it as it comes.

If Evans and co get moved on - it can only mean bad.
If Lukosius and others want out.. even worse.

But what can we do about it.

Keep calm and carry on folks.

So is it now Cochrane vs thurls64? :)
Thurls has always been a great source of accurate information and more so a strong supporter of the club. He wouldn’t post something like this lightly. I guess we will have to wait and see

Spoke to a board member I live near during the week , no indication of any such problems.
Three things Ive learnt not to trust in life today.
1 Politicians
2 Media Reporters
3 Disgruntled former employees.
Have been unlucky to encounter the three in business life.

ENJOY THE FINALS AND STAY HEALTHY !
That's good to hear.

Thurls has always been a great source of accurate information and more so a strong supporter of the club. He wouldn’t post something like this lightly. I guess we will have to wait and see
I shouldn't have joked about that. None of what I've said is by any means an attack on Thurls or his intel. He is someone I respect highly and I have spoken to him in private too so all good.

Appreciate that Swallow went straight to the Coch.
It’s put an end to what could have been days of melting.

We will be fine.
It's my nature to go straight to the top when I hear shit like that. I can't even sit on the info without squirming.

I'll just weigh in here. I can confirm the rumour has made the rounds in the media. the source is apparently a well trusted source that hasn't been wrong before. BUT when pressed on this question Evans and co have reiterated it is false (to put it nicely).

I cannot say how accurate this is as i don't personally know the source but i'm nervous and hope information has just been misinterpreted. As i can fully see Evans being promoted to AFL House despite the fact i think it is too early for the AFL to poach our CEO yet again.

as far as the player rumours..... still waiting on confirmation.

I'll just weigh in here. I can confirm the rumour has made the rounds in the media. the source is apparently a well trusted source that hasn't been wrong before. BUT when pressed on this question Evans and co have reiterated it is false (to put it nicely).

I cannot say how accurate this is as i don't personally know the source but i'm nervous and hope information has just been misinterpreted. As i can fully see Evans being promoted to AFL House despite the fact i think it is too early for the AFL to poach our CEO yet again.

That does not sound good. :oops:

Hey mate

When you say it’s done the rounds of the media, who are you referring to? I can’t believe no one has ran with it if all the media have wind of it. Is the source a current club employee? Or just someone who “knows someone”. Noone is willing to put there plums on the line and say where this is coming from which is disappointing.

I can’t believe all this rumour mongering going on even if a quarter of this was true and the media had wind of it as you suggest no doubt it would be pasted all over social media, the AFL website and herald sun by now by all the Suns bashers down south.

Clearly just muckraking by disgruntled ex staff in an attempt to destabilise the club.
Nothing wrong with the culture at the club and that’s been improved further with certain staff gone.
Hope so. Last thing it needs is another player exodus, apart from those wanting more opportunity (Wright/Brodie)

Hey mate

When you say it’s done the rounds of the media, who are you referring to? I can’t believe no one has ran with it if all the media have wind of it. Is the source a current club employee? Or just someone who “knows someone”. Noone is willing to put there plums on the line and say where this is coming from which is disappointing.

I can’t believe all this rumour mongering going on even if a quarter of this was true and the media had wind of it as you suggest no doubt it would be pasted all over social media, the AFL website and herald sun by now by all the Suns bashers down south.

I've put the rumour to nearly every journo I've had on my show. All say they've heard this rumour but only the part of evans and Haines. Most of them are still following it up looking for more concrete information before going to press. But when asking those involved directly the answer is usually "its a bull$#!t rumour". Only a few journos willing to burn relationships with AFL and Queensland would go with it with such little info available.

As far as ex player or not no one will confirm their source to me.

opening this thread be like

giphy.gif

Can't the AFL exchange boys go straight to AFL house with the question?

The club believe Rowell, who hurt his shoulder in Round 5 against Geelong, will be back to doing full contact work by the time the senior group joins them on January 6 in a huge boost to Gold Coast’s playing stocks for 2021.

“His rehab is going as well as how he played,” Suns coach Stuart Dew said.
He is diligent, committed, motivated and challenges everyone.

“It’s on track. We don’t need to rush contact so he is up and running at the moment and has good movement in his shoulder.

“We anticipate post-Christmas he will be knee deep in training like normal with everyone else.”

Who will be the next All-Australian?

McKenna: “Obviously there will be some logical ones in Matt Rowell, Noah Anderson and Izak Rankine.

“But I think David Swallow has got the runs on the board and I’m probably going to go Lachie Weller.”

Watson says: “I’ve gone with somebody that finished top 10 in the best and fairest this year and maybe a surprise for some people. I love this kid and I reckon he’s going to develop even more next season, Jack Bowes.”

Have the Suns got the right skipper? If not, who should it be?

McKenna:David Swallow. I’m a bit of a traditionalist if you like.

“He’s been there since day dot and he leads by deed. I’d go with ‘Junior’ Swallow. He knows what’s going on and he knows what the club needs and he delivers.”

Watson says:Matty Rowell for me.”

Left-field trade target?

McKenna:Ben Brown of even a Rowan Marshall."

“Ben Brown obviously for experience but to get him up forward and if he can clunk some marks, you offer Ben King a chop-out as well. If he could get up the ground and Ben King on the full-forward line, the centre-half back would be struggling a bit.”

Watson says: “There’s a guy out there at the moment who hasn’t committed to his club just yet. Unlikely that you’re going to be able to get him up there… Darcy Moore would be somebody I’d have a crack at.”

Left-field trade option?

McKenna: “Two-metre Peter (Wright) is on the table and to get another draft pick in.

“I’m sure being a top-10 pick he would demand a fair payment backwards.”

Watson says:Alex Sexton. I’m not sure whether or not he’s in the good books with Dewy (Stuart Dew).

“I think that type of player, a guy that can kick goals attracts a lot of interest across the competition.”

Who deserves a pay rise?

McKenna:Sam Collins at full-back. Unlike you forwards and midfielders, I’m sure he’s only on a couple of cents.

“Best and fairest. When he marks it and can counter-attack, he’s a very good player.”

Watson says: Same answer.

Should get a pay cut?

Watson says: “He would probably have been on big money and that would be Peter Wright. We’ve seen very little of him.”

McKenna: “Same.”

Who will have a big 2021?

McKenna: “I think Izak Rankine. If he moved into the midfield he’d be really good.

“Again, if they got that big tall forward who can supply a lot of crumbs. His natural talent is fantastic and if they can supply some more crumbs and a quicker ball movement, he’d get nice and busy playing that dual forward line into the midfield.”

Watson says: “I like what I’m seeing with Ben King. He just needs to strengthen his hands. He gets his hands to a lot of footy, but if he can actually start clunking them with his athleticism, and he starts to get the confidence in all parts of his game, learn the craft a little bit better, I think he could have a huge season.”

Swing the magnets - the big positional change in 2021?

McKenna:Rankine to move on-ball. That would allow Touk Miller to free up and it would just be a headache for the opposition midfield coach.

“Rankine’s vision and his touch with his kicking, for a first-year player it’s quite unique.”

Watson says: “I’m thinking about Jack Lukosius. It was great to play him as a defender early in his career.

“I’d like to see him switch to the other end of the ground. He’s learnt all about how difficult it is to play as a forward. I’ve had a crack at that.”

i imagine if players wanted to leave, it would be all out in the media.
Their managers would leak it.
Always amazes me how slow the Suns are to respond to a lot of these sort of things. I'd love them to get on the front foot for a change and deny deny deny - just for once. Cochran has done his bit but would be nice to get this refuted or acknowledged so things might settle down. Lukosius' GF seems to like posting nice shots of the GC and QLD in general and seems to spend a lot of time up here - so he can't be missing her tooooo much! Might be a good move to 'out' this disgruntled ex staff member / coach for the prick he/she is.

Yeah and Luko seems the loyal type, unless there was a really good reason, he seems to love it there. Even Tom Browne came out and said, while he made enquiries to the crows whether they would use any picks to try to lure him back, but from everything he knows, Jack is happy up on the GC.

So unless something dramatically has occurred to change that...

I think that if an article or something Publicly in the media then they will 100%. I doubt they’d do that with a leak on Bigfooty.

Spot on. Could you imagine the clubs responding to rumors on Bigfooty? They would be doing nothing else.

What surprised me most in all those recent leaks is that nobody went after the person who released the Dew's video. I can't imagine the worse person. Keeping video for 2 years and then basically blackmailing the club, people. It's actually illegal to disseminate the video without permit and criminal charges could be laid. According to GCBulletin Haines shared it with coaches so it's not really difficult to figure out the candidates who leaked it.