Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.

My name is chris, everyone calls me billy, i have supported the swans since 1994, and the best game ive been to was Richmond vs Sydney Rd4 in 1996 at Waverly Pk when we beat them by a point and Essendon in 97. The Roos in 96 when we flogged them by 79 points was a good game as well. Havent been to a game since Kelly and Dunkley's last game. :rolleyes: That is all.

yeah some of the newbies couldn't take it, some of the others found better positions and some people preffered to find jobs that were not comission based but last week we had 20 or so newbies. also there are always people getting sick etc and they call up at the last minute and say they can't make it anyways...

music_2000 said:
yeah some of the newbies couldn't take it, some of the others found better positions and some people preffered to find jobs that were not comission based but last week we had 20 or so newbies. also there are always people getting sick etc and they call up at the last minute and say they can't make it anyways...
yep that's just the way it is huge turnover for a job on pure commission. I lasted 2 months and i had enough. Long hours ******** days, just got sick of it. But mate best of luck with it, just don't annoy me at the swans games with your raffle ticket selling :p

My name's Tom but my mates call me Shan. Dunno why. Someone said it and it stuck. I live in Melbourne and go to every Melbourne game. I go to half the games in Sydney aswell because my dad works there and the work pays for the expenses for flights and watever. I'm Benny Mathews's cousin, so I'm in the rooms a fair bit. I have a lot of autographed memorabilia and stuff. So yeh. Thats me. Cya in the forums :)

LittleSchneider said:
Yeah Im going to the Tamworth games - representing Sydney Uni Cumberland. The AUG you have to be selected for cause Sydney combines all its campuses - want to go, let you know
Haha, ur a cumbo! What sport are you playing? We met a lot of cumbos at the gong cos they stayed on the same level at the novotel.

Hi, my name's Ben. I'm 28 years old and originally from Sydney, although I'm currently in the city of Suncheon, South Korea teaching English. My aunt and uncle from Melbourne introduced me to Aussie Rules when I visited them during an Easter vacation to Melbourne when I was 8 and I fell in love with the sport, and started following the Swans. I must admit, my interest in Aussie Rules waned during my high school years in Sydney. Though, I lived in Melbourne for a year back in '95 where my interest in Aussie Rules rekindled.

I've been a big fan of the Swans ever since, though don't get to as many matches as I used to, being overseas and all!

It would seem that I am the Old Bloke here. Known as tez to most
people. Came to Sydney from WA and followed North Melb but when
Sth Melb moved up I became a Swans Supporter. Since 1982 I have
missed about 7 home games and have been back to Perth for every game
we have played there. I am the NSW Mgr of an Interstate transport
Co, married with 2 daughters {all Swans members} and look forward to
seeing the AFL premiership coming to Sydney.

Oh, I love red wine too.

Hi...

I am a Melbourne based swan fan in my mid twenties. Family followed the swans for generations and I myself have since the late eighties when becoming aware of footy.

Moved to Melbourne from Tas in 89 and as than i was only going to the footy every so often it tok me ages to see my first win when at the ground (94 against Melbourne I think.)

Best moment watching the swans was plugger kicking the goal that put us in the grand final in 96....

The worst was being at the ground for the thrashing the kangaroos gave us at princess park i think in 93, we were coachless and were hopeless.

now I attend all games in Melbourne and a couple each year in Sydney.

look forward to sharing my opinions with you and reading yours.

Go Swans

Half Back Flanker

This is just like my dad, he stayed with them when they moved in 1982.

Must have been hard to be a supporter up there, considering back then AFL was very much second fiddle to rugby league and union.

It's a credit to everyone involved with the Swans in what a great job thay have done in ensuring AFL football has a profitable market in the NSW/ACT region.

G'day everyone, my name is Patto (adam) and I am a virgin at this, being my first posting. I have followed the Swans since I can remember, now being 29. My grandparents both followed the Bloods and I was hooked, especially since the Swans were the only game to watch on a Sunday arvo. The best thing about that was; that if you had mates that did not barrack for the opposing team, everyone wanted the Swans to win!! I still remember the Capper days of '86 and '87, where we had Barry Mitchell, Gerard Healy, Greg Williams, Stevie Wright and the likes burning up the turf of the SCG. My mates and I used to drive through Friday nights up to the SCG from VIC to watch all Saturday night matches, but now the airfares have come down, we fly, but they won't let us bring our eskies on board! I was there whent he big fella kicked the big 1300 - funny how Mal Michael has moved on.

Hey everyone. I'm a 15 year old Swans fan from Perth. I've always liked the swans because when my dad came to W.A from NSW, he had to choose a footy team. I'm not overly impressed with our season so far, but I thought the win over Port was decent, and I hope it only gets better.

Lol, just saw that the Swans forum has by far the least amount of posts of the club forums. Where's the passion guys?

Gday. My names not really cruiser and I've been a Swans fan since moving to Sydney in time for the 1987 season. Formerly from Adelaide, I was a Tigers man (Glenelg and Richmond). Made the swap from Richmond to Sydney when I realised that this great city and its surrounds (I now live on the NSW Central Coast) would be my home for many many years and I wanted to be able to regularly watch the team I support. Besides, I wasn't as fanatical about Richmond as I was about Glenelg. Now I'm fanatical about Sydney and long for the day when we see the Premiership cup hoisted by Sydney's captain. Which begs the question: who hoists it if we win it this year? :confused:

well as most of you will guess my name is not Bam Bam (I'd being chasing the parents with a deadly weapon if it was). I'm Tina. I've been following the VFL/AFL since I was 15. More than half my life, but didn't initially follow My true love the Swans until around 95-96. I was torn between the Swans and Essendon winning the prelim in 96, as I took a liking to the Bombers in 84-85 (good years for them). Really dumped league when the evil empire took over in the super league war and made the AFL my main interest.

Hubby bought me my first membership to the Swannies in 1999 after having stuffed up my knee in 96-97 and wasn't able to play soccer any longer (we played Sunday's which was the main day the Swans played in Sydney back then). Went to a few games in 98 so Hubby indulged me and here I am now. Have not missed a game in Sydney since and travel interstate when I can (work and other commitments hold me back from having a season travel pass).

My favourite player is Ryan O'Keefe (aka Pebbles - hence the user id). Have introduced my nephews to the game. One now has switched codes from league to rules, which his Aunty is more than happy about. I also have a niece from the other side of my family, who corrected her Mum with "I don't follow them (a league team) I follow the Swans :D .

Hoping one day to have my own little ones to pass the passion onto and can't wait for the day that I tell them about and share with them the joy of seeing the premiership cup held aloft.

don't forget for further Swans talk go to www.redandwhiteonline.com we're a pretty friendly group of people (for those who have never been there).

Well, my Dad used to play league, so I grew up in a league household. The My brother went to school and rugby took over as the family's first 'footy' preference, which was fine by me. I never understood Aussie Rules, had no one to teach me and it was the game of the Mexicans, thus, I never really followed it.

The rugby wars and a poem by Bruce Dawe called 'Life Cycle' I had to study started the shift towards AFL. I went to my first game in 2002, and have been a fan ever since. I had planned to sign up as a member this year, though didn't as I work Sundays (eight of the 12 games this year are played Sundays). So I was resigned to watching them at work. Sigh. :(

Two days before we took on Essendon in Rd 7 this year, my Grandfather passed away. He was a big St George supporter, and had taken a liking to the Swans over the last few years.
Anyhoo, I had a lengthy discussion with him on the Tuesday about the team, the captaincy and the game, much to my Grandma's disinterest. Two days later, he was no longer here and I became a member. It is a sad story, but I only see the positives: this team and this game has already given me so much in return for my support. I do have quite a large amount of emotion invested in the team, but I find that it has helped me considerably. It just sucks to lose one you love in order to gain another.

So, although only a new member, I am having the time of my life immersing myself in the footy. I don't know what I am going to do next year when I'll be overseas though... perhaps cut short my trip and return home in time for the 2006 season? ;) I live by the cycle of the fooy season. Apparently, I am now officially a supporter. :D

Hi, I spend more time on RWO, where my username is sydfan83 ('83 being the year of my birth), than Bigfooty, but with that offline, thought I may as well post an introduction here :)

Like a few others on here, I'm also at uni (final year at UNSW), and after becoming increasingly interested in the Swans for a few years, I finally went to my first game in 2003, which happened to be the famous come-from-behind win against Melbourne at the SCG on Anzac Day :D :D
Became a member last year, and hate missing a home game (though I had to miss a couple because of uni and work). Looking back now, I find it embarrassing that I actually preferred watching Swans games at home on TV!

I also face Tuesday's dilemma of not being able to watch the Swans when I go overseas at the end of the year. It's not so much about missing the games - more that after 72 premiershipless years, there's always the fear that you won't be there to see it when they finally do win one!

Ooohhh, I never pass up a chance to talk about myself :p

I've followed the Swans since 2000 (and the arrival of a certain player, though I now loathe to admit it as I often get classed as a "groupie"). I didn't go to my first game until 2003, but my true conversion came at the Collingwood match that year. I absolutely bawled after we lost, and have rarely missed a game since.

I'm now a dyed-in-the-wool fanatic, so much so that I am actually writing my BA Hons thesis on football in NSW. In fact, I am procrastinating on an assignment as I write...

Football has been a great source of entertainment, community and friendship over the last 2 years... With any luck, it will also be a source of considerable pride after the Swans (finally) win a premiership.

Oh, and my football biscuits are rapidly developing a following. At least, I'd like to think they are...

edit: I forgot to add: I am currently missing RWO like crazy. All of a sudden I actually have no reason not to do my housework. It's very, very sad. :p :D

:D Well, my name is Alex and I'm 41, have been an aussie rules girl all my life and followed Carlton from age 0 to 32 (Dads family Victorian and it was "the family" team). Sydney born and bred but have wandered aimlessly to various parts of this country over the years to work and play.
Came back to Sydney in 95 and started going to Swans games and have been hooked on them since.
Have been quite subdued with my barracking this year - but really let rip on Saturday night and had pretty much lost the voice by half time! I normally sit in the MA with the other members of the "unholy trinity" which will soon be a quartet as one of us is pregnant (and its not me) so another little swans follower is on the way.
Met another RWO person on Saturday night - son of Old Roy Boy - and yes its true I do live above a bottle shop! (yes I was asked that)
cheer cheer!

G'day, My name's Stewart and I'm 18 and student commerce at Uni. I live in Adelaide but grew up in Sydney and i've followed them since about 1991-92. I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city. I've completely obsessed with football stats and the game since i tore my ACL when i was 15 (playing footy). Rarely miss a game on TV (if its televised over here) and can be heard shouting at the TV from 2 doors down. My favourite player for the passed few years i Kirk ecspecially when he was in a tagging role and shuttin down the oppositions best player week after week.

eirinn said:
Oh, and my football biscuits are rapidly developing a following. At least, I'd like to think they are...

They really rock. I forgot I had a couple of packets in my backpack after the Fremantle game. So the next day I had the pleasure of gobbling up by Kirky & Jude.

If there are Swans player biscuits being baked before the Geelong match, do save me a couple of packs.

JF

MiniKirk said:
G'day, My name's Stewart and I'm 18 and student commerce at Uni. I live in Adelaide but grew up in Sydney and i've followed them since about 1991-92. I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city. QUOTE]

Make sure you get tickets through the club when we play over there in a few weeks. I'll be over there, as I tbhink several other listees will be as well.

JF

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
They really rock. I forgot I had a couple of packets in my backpack after the Fremantle game. So the next day I had the pleasure of gobbling up by Kirky & Jude.

If there are Swans player biscuits being baked before the Geelong match, do save me a couple of packs.

:D And so Kirky and Jude were tasty, eh? ;)

The Good Lucky Footy Bikkie® Matchday Committee (GLFBMC) has decided that the red writing on white base works best, thus you'll be seeing some more of that. And the Bikkies will definitely be baked before the Geelong match.

The GLFBMC are unable to confirm actual numbers of Bikkies to be baked, as they do take a significant amount of time. We invest financially and emotionally in the product, devote a significant amount of time and have been known to sacrifice Friday/Saturday nights on the turps, just to provide some lucky people with some football-shaped edible hapiness.

Once again, the GLFBMC thanks you, JF, for your support and encouragement. No doubt we'll make a special one just for you. Any requests? Matching B1 and B2 bikkies? They're my personal favourites! :p

MiniKirk said:
I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city.

Gee you must have sat through some awful losses at Footy Park in that time - it must have been a great feeling especially for you after the 2003 QF v Port! :D I only saw it on TV, but it has to rank as my favourite memory of following the Swans so far.

Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.