Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.

MadSwansFan said:
Hello, I'm Karen and I'm 14.

I don't usually go onto here very often but I've been a memeber on here for awhile...

Since I was born in Hong Kong and only came here in 1998 I wasn't really exposed to AFL as a young child.

I started watching AFL only in 2003, but already I am a huge fan. I LOVE the Swannies to bits, and my friends reckon during the footy season I should shut up about AFL, but seriously I can't restrain myself. I've been one of the lucky ones, following the Swans for only such a short time but already seen them win a premiership. I was brought along to the round 5 game at the SCG against the Demons in 2003, and I saw how exciting and great the game was and was instantly hooked. I went to a couple more games in 2003 then singed up as a junior member in 2004 and still am a member.

Carn the bloods!
Good Stuff :thumbsu:
Great game to go to as your debut (10 goal last quarter).

For all the newbies, check out where most of us swans fans dicuss issues. www.redandwhiteonline.com

Hi, I'm Steve and I'm a Swans-aholic. Its been a long time since I've been to BigFooty but I regularly visit RWO.
I am 43, from Melbourne and I've been a Swans fan as long as I can remember, just like my dad and his dad before him. Now my sister and I are taking a whole new generation of supporters to the Melbourne games.
My early memories are of champions like Skilton, Bedford, etc, so I remember the not-so-good-old-days when we had champions players but lost more games then we won.
I remember being devastated when South Melbourne went to Sydney, but i have got over that loss, and I am even more passionate about the Bloods than I have ever been...and that was BP...Before Premiership!!
I will never forget being at the MCG on Grand Final Day...in many ways it was the most agonising of experiences - the last few minutes lasted forever, and than it became an absolutely glorious moment that will remain with me forever.
Away from footy i coach junior cricket and lately I have been buying memoribilia and watching DVDs...not sure why...hmmmmm

hey guys im new to this! im a mad swans fan from tassie! you may have seen me in other forums like sportal and cokemakeyourmark!

go you mighty swannys!

im a mentally mad swans fan from tassie! i live the swans. u may have seen me in other forums like sportal or cokemakeyourmark

sorry about all 3 posts! im new here and it said it didnt work so i kept posting! i still didnt think it worked coz it said click on quick thread icon or something but it must have worked!

go you mighty swannys woooooooooo

LittleSchneider said:
Well I play Hockey for UTS. hehehe - cause the sydney uni hockey club is pretty poor. But will play for them in uni games.

But...I do support SU in all other sports - especially AFL. So maybe we will have a friendly rivalry going here - bring it on! :) ;)
Boo to you and Sid....go NorWest Jets.my names Pete and ive followed the Swans since i was 2(1983)and play footy in Richmond.Remember back when local clubs used to get piles and piles of season passes to hand out to anyone who would take em.Ive been to the SCG when less than 1000 people were there,they asked us to move from end-to-end at each quarter to make it look like a half decent crowd.Fave games-in the 80s when the Swans smacked the Dons by about 25 goals,and the 96 PF(you can see me under the scoreboard-or at least i think so)keep your eye on NorWest Jets this year, the best looking guernsey in the land.

pekay-norwest said:
Boo to you and Sid....go NorWest Jets.my names Pete and ive followed the Swans since i was 2(1983)and play footy in Richmond.Remember back when local clubs used to get piles and piles of season passes to hand out to anyone who would take em.Ive been to the SCG when less than 1000 people were there,they asked us to move from end-to-end at each quarter to make it look like a half decent crowd.Fave games-in the 80s when the Swans smacked the Dons by about 25 goals,and the 96 PF(you can see me under the scoreboard-or at least i think so)keep your eye on NorWest Jets this year, the best looking guernsey in the land.
Haha, carn luffy and the bulldogs!

Sid said:
Haha, carn luffy and the bulldogs!
We actually played in the 2nd Division this year,massive player losses from RAAF and other unforseeable problems forced us to relegate from 1st Division.But it all went well, we finished undefeated in H&A,lost the 1st Semi to Sydney Uni, knocked off your Dogs(priceless)and went on to defeat Syd Uni in the GF.We are trying to go back up for 2006,fingers crossed.But i watched Dogs v Pies at Village Green this year(a twilight game perhaps?)Awesome finish,i think Templeton had a shot from about 60 out to win,but sprayed it.Top game of footy.Were you there?

hi, im sarah. im 14 yrs old & a mad swans supporter. i live in melbourne & ive been supporting the bloods for my whole life. umm well this year im going to be joining the melbourne based cheer squad:)

well last year was the best year ever!! i was lucky enough to go to 3 out of the 4 finals games & each one of them was simply AMAZING, except that mark by leo in the grand final has gotta be the most memorable moment, also with davis' last second goal!!!

GO THE BLOODS!!

swans4ever said:
hi, im sarah.
Hi Sarah

omg...I just noticed this thread...goes to show you how blind I am

I'm Carolyn and I'm turning 15 this year. I've been a Swans supporter since 2003 when Auskick came to my school and gave me my first taste of AFL.
I love the whole of the Sydney Football Club but my favourite players would have to be Tadhg Kennelly, Nick Davis, Luke Ablett, Sean Dempster and Adam Goodes.
I live in North-West Sydney and have a younger brother who also supports the Swans (though not as passionate as me). ;)

Im Josh, 22. Followed the swans all my life as dad was South Melbourne.
Leo Barrys mark rates as the single happiest moment of my life.
Other Favourite games include the 96 prelim, beating richmond at warvely by a point in 96 ( the 1st game i ever went 2 where the swans won!)
And beating port in a final a couple of years ago.
LOVE THE RED AND WHITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

39 year old Swans fan here. Been a Swan all my life and recall watching games at the old Lake Oval with dad in the 70's when I was a tacker.

My all time fave Swans? John Rantall, Graham Teasdale, Stevie Wright, Daryn Cresswell, Plugger, of course, Paul "The toughest man alive" Kelly, Brett Kirk and Tadhg.

What did I do when we won the flag? I actually sat back in my chair and cried. I wasn't alone cause I found out later that Dad did as well. I'd almost given up hope we'd win one, back in the dark days when we were useless in the early 90s... It was just an outpouring of emotion.

What did I do today to the Richmond fan at work? I grabbed a collection tin I'd found somewhere, stuck a "Help Save The Punt Road Toothless Tiger" sign on it and went and asked him for a donation. Needless to say he didn't find it that amusing... But I did!!!

I just love the passion here. My name is Mitchell and I am 28 years old. I have followed the swans all my life as it was passed on from my grandfather to my father and so on.

We are still celebrating the Swans GF victory. I feel sorry for my grandfather that hadnt seen a premiership for 70 odd years.

My favourite players over the years include Tony Morward, Mark Bayes, Mark Browning moving through to Sanford Wheeler, David Murphy and then onto Kelly, Plugger (although the incident with Caven pegged him back a bit) and now Magic, O'Keefe and big Baz.

Favourite games I have seen (in person) - unfortuneatly I dont get to too many but obviously the GF last year and another I can think of would be the Swans win over Carlton in 1995 (at Princess Park) when Carlton were thought to be unbeatable.

On TV the 1996 prelim was ridiculous and also the win against Port Adelaide in 2003. Following that I organised a road trip to Sydney to see us in the prelim against the Lions. Ended up being a tough trip home.
Also last years win against the cats. I was Bells Hotel in Sth Melbourne. The roof lifted off once the siren went!

Hey, my name's Tim, I'm 18 go to Melbourne Uni and I live in Melbourne. I've been going for the swans ever since I figured out the difference between league and footy, moved down to Melbourne from Sydney about 8 years go. Hopefully we can win back to back flags! :)

heh, how exciting.

I'm Natalie, 17 and i live in Sydney. The first game of AFL i ever watched was the 1996 preliminary final.. so yup, this is my 10th year supporting them and 4th year as a member.

My favourite player is definately Leo, has been for years now. But i also love Tadhg, Bazza, Teddy, LRT, Nick Davis, Adam Goodes, Kirky.. actually all of them.. haha. They're all great.

and yuh, that's it i guess.

My name is Daniel...
People call me Mussen...
My first swans game (so im told) I was barely a few months old and the swans trounced Essendon by 163 points (236-63)... So immediately I assume I have to be good luck!

I have grown up in Sydney schools dominated by rugby union and I've played the game for many years. I have not played as much AFL, but have done significantly well in the code. I am a failed soccer player, though it remains my 2nd preference in regard to sport. I am a passionate Liverpool FC fan, not a hobby-ist like most Australians in regard to LFC. I hate Rangers, and like all LFC fans, Chelski, The Arse, Manure and the Blue Noses.

Significant Swans Matches I have had the privaliged of attending:

2005 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast MCG
2005 Semi-Final Sydney vs. Geelong SCG
2002 Round 22 Sydney vs. Richmond Stadium Australia
2003 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Brisbane Stadium Australia
2003 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. Port Adelaide Football Park
2002 Round 9 Sydney vs. Essendon (First match at Stadium Australia)
2004 Round 11 Sydney vs. St. Kilda SCG (Saints Winning Run Ends)
2003 Round 21 Sydney vs. Collingwood Stadium Australia (Highest AFL Crowd outside Melbourne)
2006 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Fremantle Stadium Australia
2002 Round 3 Sydney vs. North Melbourne SCG
1996 Grand Final Sydney vs. North Melbourne MCG
1996 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Essendon SCG
1996 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. Hawthorn SCG
1998 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. St. Kilda SCG
1996 Round 14 Sydney vs. Geelong (Highest Ever SCG crowd to that stage)
1997 Round 22 Sydney vs. Geelong (Highest ever SCG crowd)
1997 Round 15 Sydney vs. Essendon SCG (1 point win in the re-match)

I won't continue to bore you. There are probably a few I've missed out on. I haven't missed attending a Swans home game in 3 years. I got expelled to watch them play in the grand final on the last day of school. I go to the same dentist as the swans. I have had the honour of being out and getting wasted with LRT after last years Grand Final.

In one day I will attend the 2006 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast at the MCG. We will win... Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

p.s. Dont forget to chant "Up there for Sydney" on Grand Final day.

im justin, i live in melbourne, study IT at tafe & i am 21 years old.
i started supporting the swans at the start of 1996, so its been 10 years. some families enforce teams onto their kids, but i made my choice for the swans when i could of chosen collingwood or essendon or melbourne.
for about a 5 year period i couldn't follow the afl at all i wasn't living in an area where i could get tv let alone news papers
ever since 2001 i have been watching the swans again, been to a few matches this year, the melbourne & hawthorn matches in melbourne, had the privledge of watching the emotions of a cute hawthorn supporter turn from really happy to bawling her eyes out at the end of the match.
Next year will be my first membership year, ill be paying thru my ass to get the best one i can so if the swans do make another gf, and if there is a chance, i would like to be there. i would of been a member since 2001 if I had the funds to do so :(

my fav players are ablett, mcveigh, malceski, jolly & magic.

hey!
Im Kate, Im 19 and from Perth.
I moved here 3 years ago from Sydney, but followed NRL. But there is no such thing as NRL in Perth, so I started following AFL. I couldnt get into the Freo or West Coast teams, I just didnt like them for some reason. But I started to follow Sydney. And I have been obsessed ever since.

Its so incredibly hard to be a Swans supporter in Perth at the moment! Everyone has gone Eagle crazy!

I used to watch the Bloods at the Lake Oval, and then have a sandwich and a lemonade in the clubrooms with the players of BOTH teams and their families AND the umpires. In 1970, we managed to beat every team once, and made the finals, briefly. I was at the MCG, only to see Travis Payze of St Kilda play a blinder in Bobby Skilton's only final. I saw our ruck carried by a courageous 6' bloke (183cm), No. 17 I think called Russell Crow. The great No. 20 John Sudholz, our version of Doug Wade. No. 8 Tony Haenen having about 11 kicked on him by Hudson Sen., and Graeme John (father of Gareth) having 12 kicked against him by Peter H. in the same season. Our Brownlow Medallist, Peter Bedford also playing cricket for Victoria. '82 broke my heart, and I stood out of football,.....................but '96 still hurt SO BAD, and now a Hawthorn supporter for quite a few years now.......GF Day '05, I'm standing in a crowded melbourne pub, the final siren's gone, and I couldn't see for ages because of all the tears that refused to stop running down my cheeks. I was oblivious to everyone, except memories of the Chimp, Mopsy and co. The Bloods.................Congratulations and thankyou. Can you remember Bob Skilton shaking Ted Whitten's hand ? I can. I was there.

My nickname is Spanner and I'm 32 yo Ex-Victorian living in Brisbane. I was born with a Red and White beanie on my head and I have Red And White blood running through my veins. I couldn't be anymore passionate about the Swans,(Cost me my marriage) but it gets lonely up here in Brisbane when they are playing without anyone to enjoy it with. If anyone up here is A MAD PASSIONATE Swans fan please message me and maybe we could hook up for the 2007 season, or if you know of any supporters club in Bris please message me, Spanner

Cheer, Cheer, the Red and the White.

My name is Daniel...
People call me Mussen...
My first swans game (so im told) I was barely a few months old and the swans trounced Essendon by 163 points (236-63)... So immediately I assume I have to be good luck!

Significant Swans Matches I have had the privaliged of attending:

2005 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast MCG

Don't these pictures capture what it was like mate. I would have been all of 3metres away blubbering my eyes out when those pix were taken.

DanielMussenafterGF2005II.jpg

DanielMussenafterGF2005.jpg

JF

Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.