Autopsy Swans vs Geelong SF 2017 [READ OP BEFORE POSTING]

What shits me the most is that by halfway through the second quarter I could tell that we were gone.

What irks me rhe most is the lack of fight and ability to turn it around on field or in the box.
Longmire is stubborn. Why wouldn't you fix what is broken? He just allowed the gameplan to suit Geelong (and Hawks). We shit the bed when we are in a game of 'keepings off'.

I didn't see that coming.

We seem to lack a plan B

It's hard to process this. Scott moving Dangerfield to deep forward disrupted our defensive structure especially without the pelican as a change option. The Dangerfield move could have made the Cats midfield vulnerable but Blicavs (14 tackles) Duncan (36 disposals) Menegola and S Selwood all stepped up. Credit to them we were smashed there. Hard to understand why Kennedy, Parker were so quiet. I do know it wasn't effort or desire. There's something about the pressure of favouritism in big games. I'm not sure how we deal with that. I don't think the answer is to flog ourselves but it's hard to change an embedded mindset without some personnel changes. Favourite moment since 2012 remains the Rohan goal after the siren against Bombers. Those are the things I'll remember about this season long after the disappointment fades. See you all next year.

Another year gone and another year wasted. This pattern since 2013 where we play so called hard contested footy during the home & away season and get to finals and as soon as the opposition put any sort of pressure on us we go to water. We will not have any success with the current coaching staff in place as this pattern is all too familiar and as soon as we change the way we play we might be more successful in finals and known as a great team, but if you keep falling at the last few hurdles no one remembers who you were.

The doubt creeps is more and more as we keep losing in these big game finals, credit to Geelong to turn it around in 7 days but for me this is another failure for the club and in all honestly we would have been better finishing outside the 8 and getting a higher draft pick than dishing up what was displayed last night. Absolute disgrace to Longmire and the coaching staff if you think it was great starting 0-6 and making finals only to finish like this we are sadly mistaken. Once again false hope portrayed by this club.

What shits me the most is that by halfway through the second quarter I could tell that we were gone.

What irks me rhe most is the lack of fight and ability to turn it around on field or in the box.

Start of the second I said to my wife we have given up

Just lazy efforts and too many looked like they knew it was done

Well said mate!
This is our team so we can support it without this nonsense as far as I'm concerned. Be upset by all means but this team went from 0 & 6 to win the last 15 of 18 games, losing an away final to a team that finished second place & not having to travel. They are the facts.
Our game didn't stand up because it wasn't carried out defensively by ALL on the ground meaning our pressure fell away & the keeping off game got us again.
Having said that, other teams have also tried this method to beat us but we have just followed our team defence game plan & thwarted it.

We get to go again.

You do know we were 0-6 by our own hand

Never should of happened

Lost to ****en Carlton for god sake

Never should of happened

This.

The Carlton loss, if anything, was more disgraceful than the unforgivable tripe served up last night.

I don't know if this is even possible but we should force close games during the H&A season next year. Screw the blow outs. What's the point of smashing everyone when we lose in the finals anyway.

Start of the second I said to my wife we have given up

Just lazy efforts and too many looked like they knew it was done
How do you have time to speak to your wife, post here and watch the game at the same time?

Who are we all going for now? I'd like to see the Crows get up. Obviously been through a lot in the last few seasons, and they're a pretty inoffensive club.

Wouldn't mind GWS for all the Vic media melts. If they can get their shit together, a Crows/Giants GF could be a belter. Still think Richmond will choke at some stage, so would rather them avoid the Grand Final. If they win the flag, I think I'll be ignoring football until next year's finals series.

Horse knew it early.

Begged them to lift in the second.

Only a kick in it. That was when we needed to find a gear.

But not a shot fired, and Geel just piled on goals. Game was practically over about 6 mins into the second.

I wonder about the mental preparation of the side. 40 mins into a game and we looked cooked.

We weren't set for an expansive game. We looked set for a slow slog in close quarters. We also looked genuinely crushed by their ability to mark and hold the ball - especislly contested marks forward. We just looked like we were expecting a ground ball game.

40 mins into a game it's mental and tactical - not physical - as far as I'm concerned.

Question marks have to be hanging over the prep.

Aliir should be in the team day dot next year...his issues are not talent or ability but rather experience. He can mark the ball all day and get past 2 players, he just coughs it up when he tries to do too much,pureley because he hasnt adapted to afl level. The gulf between afl and neafl is so large, aliir playing in the twos wont make him a better player

Your guys looked completely cooked last night. Some of the early dodgy frees their way didn't help, but I still expected the Swans to come back at them at some point. Geelong's planning and match-ups were first class - completely blanketed your star mids, and outmarked you all night (they do play a very tall team though). Next week it's a 50/50 ball game now I think. You'll bounce back again next year no doubt - too good a list to drop away - and the younger guys will have benefited from the experience.

You guys will flog them.

They played a bottom four team last night.

Such a disappointing way to go out, not even being competitive. Like another poster, I never felt like we were going to win the flag from 6th and I thought the media hype on us as favourites or whatever was overblown, but to be so comprehensively outplayed was alarming, especially the manner in which it happened (i.e. so similar to previous efforts against Hawthorn etc). The only saving grace is that it's less crushing than a close loss where we actually had a chance - felt like the match was over at half time so emotionally I'd basically switched off at that point. Umps were fine I thought, but they did prop the Cats up a bit early, especially with the frees to Danger, which gave them momentum. There was another free early to Selwood for a high shot from Hanners where I swear Hanners bumped him in the chest and Selwood grabbed his face like he'd been hit high. That sort of stuff sets a tone. The commentating worship over Danger is nauseating too - he played well and is clearly a huge influence when he goes forward, but he basically got gifted 2 goals. From the way they were carrying on, you'd think the AFL had never seen anything like his performance.

To be fair though, the Cats were terrific and it seems like the media forgot that they did actually finish 2nd. Yes, they maybe aren't a truly elite, dominant side, but for us to be such heavy favourites against them in Melbourne, regardless of form or previous games against them, was IMO a little silly. Still, I didn't expect this kind of wipeout.

In terms of bagging players etc, everyone was down and off their best, save for one or two. I don't fault effort - guys were trying, but the intensity in what they were doing just wasn't there. To me, that's not effort necessarily, it's just something that happens on occasion, especially when you've been playing at such a high level for weeks. We had no pressure around the contest all night and let them walk it out of defence far too easily. More baffling though was all the fumbling around and dropped marks. I assume it was damp from the rain, but the Cats didn't seem to struggle so I don't know what was going on. I barely saw any clean possession from the Swans all night. So many dropped marks.

I'm not sure why everyone is being so hard on Rohan - he wasn't good at all, but he was hardly alone. The guy always tries his guts out I reckon, even when he isn't impacting the game on the stat sheet. Parker is in the same category for me. They don't deserve singling out. I hope that Melican was injured because if he wasn't the decision to play Cunningham was pretty indefensible I reckon.

On the positive side, once again we managed to get some quality games into youngsters while still being near the top of the comp - Melican and Hayward in particular. Next year we should do the same with Dawson and hopefully get Aliir back in the side, along with one or two of the other defenders getting a run. We need to do something about the ruck though. Sinclair tries hard and had a couple of great games, but I just don't think he's good enough.

I appreciate what people are saying about not making the most of this group and it being a wasted season but it's damn hard to win a flag. There are no guarantees and all you can do is put yourself in the best position for things to break right at the end of the year. Our 0-6 start meant that we couldn't do that. To be honest, I viewed even participating in these last two games as a bit of a bonus, given the start. We would have lost both the Essendon and Richmond games 99 times out of a hundred so to scrape through those and have a chance to play finals was great. Better than finishing 10th or whatever.

Too ******* Angry to even go into that ******* insipid gutless performance. For now my only sane remark would be that as bad as that collective effort was from the 22 Players The Coach was Just as bad maybe worse by handicapping what ever attempt the players were making to rectify things by having not one ******* clue what was happening out there.

******* Henderson had Leather poisoning by 10 minutes into the 2nd quarter as a spare man and Motlop possibly the biggest ******* squib playing any level of Australian Rules Football was running around like he was Bob Skilton. We put ourselves out there as this great sporting franchise with professionalism & culture & standards and as a club excellence is what the club professes it expects. If that's what we ******* sell then you can't blame ******* supporters and more so ******* paying members having and expectation when we get to a position in a season where we have our chance to Rubber stamp that we once again piss our opportunity for that ******* excellence to be achieved up against the wall in such a gutless fashion.

This ******* list is not winning a Premiership any time soon because it has a soft ******* underbelly that is the trait and flaw of only a few but grabs hold of the rest of this side like a ******* cancer when the pressure is on. If the people that are responsible for making decisions for this club to achieve success don't see last night as a tipping point of where we are wasting opportunity and season after season and don't address it sooner or later that opportunity won't be there. Be farked Premierships are hard to win. We have the talent We just don't have the ******* spine and by saying that I don't mean the ******* goal to goal line.

Never should of happened

Very disappointing start but who's to say that if we had beaten Carlton & Collingwood & were 2 & 4, that we would have not had that edge to win 14 of the next 16 to make finals.
I just feel that even if we won last night we were going to be on a hiding to nothing next week against the Crows & had we beaten them, the GF could have been a whole different level of embarrassing.
There is not much more we can do but we at least have won a final once again. Not good enough for some but brilliant consistency for others.

Autopsy Swans vs Geelong SF 2017 [READ OP BEFORE POSTING]