Tallangatta League

So what do we reckon of the young blokes playing senoirs this year? Dederang and Kiewa have played alot of young guys and they have gone alrite.

You could throw Beechworth in that sentence too. Seeing their young blokes first hand last week I thought they were pretty good. It can only be good for the competition having good quality juniors coming through. :thumbsu:

Is it true that Franzy has applied to have his name changed to Ronald Mcdonanld. Look for fanta pants running off the back flank kicking the ball in big clown shoes. Go FOT (****ing orange thing) :thumbsu:
Yeah. The nurses at Ronald McDonald House let him out on day release every saturday so he can play.:D

ROUND 7
WOD.SAINTS 20.17.137 D Rutherglen 4.9.33
Mitta United 8.7.55 L BARNAWARTHA 14.6.90
DEDERANG 14.9.93 D Tallangatta 6.4.40
Chiltern 7.9.51 L YACKANDANDAH 7.10.52
Beechworth 5.5.35 L KIEWA SC 19.12.126

LADDER W L B % PTS
Thurgoona 6 0 1 152.68 28
Kiewa SC 6 1 0 242.11 24
Barnawartha 5 1 1 134.59 24
Mitta United 5 2 0 145.04 20
Dederang MB 3 4 0 97.24 12
Yackandandah 3 4 0 95.81 12
Wod Saints 2 4 1 88.50 12
Chiltern 2 4 1 81.47 12
Beechworth 2 4 1 65.75 12
Rutherglen 1 5 1 46.77 8
Tallangatta 0 6 1 59.24 4

Will be good fight for the double chance between top four.
Next five sides can't afford any slip ups from now, percentage may well come into play. Hard to gauge a genuine contender out of this group, form or lack of is hard to follow.

ROUND 7
WOD.SAINTS 20.17.137 D Rutherglen 4.9.33
Mitta United 8.7.55 L BARNAWARTHA 14.6.90
DEDERANG 14.9.93 D Tallangatta 6.4.40
Chiltern 7.9.51 L YACKANDANDAH 7.10.52
Beechworth 5.5.35 L KIEWA SC 19.12.126

LADDER W L B % PTS
Thurgoona 6 0 1 152.68 28
Kiewa SC 6 1 0 242.11 24
Barnawartha 5 1 1 134.59 24
Mitta United 5 2 0 145.04 20
Dederang MB 3 4 0 97.24 12
Yackandandah 3 4 0 95.81 12
Wod Saints 2 4 1 88.50 12
Chiltern 2 4 1 81.47 12
Beechworth 2 4 1 65.75 12
Rutherglen 1 5 1 46.77 8
Tallangatta 0 6 1 59.24 4

Will be good fight for the double chance between top four.
Next five sides can't afford any slip ups from now, percentage may well come into play. Hard to gauge a genuine contender out of this group, form or lack of is hard to follow.
Get on barny no one will get close when they fire!!!

Who would have thought last years 8th and 10th placed sides would be playing a 1 v's 2 blockbuster in round 8. The height, pace and skill of Kiewa versus the hard and toughness of Thurgoona. Should be a beauty at Tangambalanga on Saturday.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Got the chance to go watch Mitta and Barny on the weekend!!! Mitta were s**t House!! It was just a training drill for barny who smashed Mitta all over the ground!!!Mitta need to take a good hard look at them selves because they were pathetic!!No standout players for them but barny had semmler, bradshaw, withers and S.Roache who performed very well!! Withers had a field day and Mitta had no answers at all. Kane McGregor was very dissapointing and should have a good hard look at him self!!Disgraceful!!! Went to the huddle at three quarter time where danny cohen had a few words to say!! There all talk and cant perform on the ground!! The only good thing up there for mitta on the weekend was the weather!! I guess thats the only positive for them from the weekend!!

Supporter of either side greatgame? Fairly direct summary about the Mountain Men, don't think I'd write them off just yet though buddy. Perhaps the Tigers are a little bit better than you expected and possibly outplayed their opponents, or are you taking an easy pot shot.

I heard Thurgoona has signed Allan Murray from St Kilda.......True?????
No-one will beat the Mitta Men!!!!Other teams can spend as much money as they like but no one will get close!!!looks like a certain 4 in a row

I tried to find out who he barracks for but now I'm more confused than I was before I looked! :D

Supporter of either side greatgame? Fairly direct summary about the Mountain Men, don't think I'd write them off just yet though buddy. Perhaps the Tigers are a little bit better than you expected and possibly outplayed their opponents, or are you taking an easy pot shot.
If he didn't rate banu in and under he is the only one on this site who doesn't. Go back through previous threads where people talk about ladder predictions just about everyone has barny in there 5 and in most cases 3. Mitta will be there at the business end.

Does the tallangatta league play the long weekend in 2 weeks time?
If so, who and where are thurgoona playing?

Does the tallangatta league play the long weekend in 2 weeks time?
If so, who and where are thurgoona playing?

no games over the Queenies Bday Slick,
the league canned the interleague clash with O&K a month ago, silly decision i reckon. would have been good to see Friday night Footy at LPO again.

no games over the Queenies Bday Slick,
the league canned the interleague clash with O&K a month ago, silly decision i reckon. would have been good to see Friday night Footy at LPO again.

Believe it was the O&K, not the TDFL that canned the Interleague game. A few interesting results on the weekend. Barny proved they are contenders by easily accounting for Mitta. Interesting to see if the mountain men respond by getting the cheque book out and going shopping. What is going on at Wodonga Saints - we played them 3 weeks ago and they were terrible & since then beaten Yack & Rutherglen. Obviously things are a bit worse at Rutherglen than we thought, have a mate who plays there and he said at the start of the season they'd be ordinary. Dederang easily accounted for Tallangatta, the injuries obviously hurting the Hoopers, though they should have reasonable depth judging by their 2's results. Kiewa trounced Beechworth, who were OK against us the previous week, obviously Cameron didn't play despite being named. This week will be interesting, with Kiewa & Thurgoona the big one, but also very interested to see results of the other games. Can Saints continue their form against Barny or come crashing back to earth. Can Chiltern record a win for their injured coach, and who will win between the teams who are both playing at "home" - Beechworth & Yack.

Cammo did play,very ginger on his right knee but, spoke to him after the game says he got through better than expected.

I guess it's about time to start a get rid of Packer campaign. How did Conway play?

kiewa v doggies should be a great contest looking forward to the result of that one!! although seeing as whatever the result they both will still be sitting top 3 you could argue that the more important game this week will be beechworth v yack. majority of ppl woulda had yack top 3, top 5 at worst and if they drop this one go to 8th a win behind DMB, beechworth and chiltern and after the long weekend break have kiewa then dogs! i'll be backing yack for 2 in a row

Im a Kiewa man and couldnt be bothered watching them smash beechworth!! Decided to go watch a good game but was very dissapointed!! If mitta keep plying the way they played on the weekend they'll struggle to make the 5!! They beat us but since then they've gone backwards!! Tigers r not that good!! Got there main 5 or 6 players and thats it!! Made mitta look like a pack of girls!! And no in and under im not taking an easy pot shot just letting people know wat i thought of the game:D

Don't forget that Mitta lost three games last year, and one was to Barny. So far only two have been lost so I don't think they should be ruled out just yet. Yep, it was a shit game and the boys that played know it (they knew it when they were playing and they still know it now). I think it will be used as motivation though, so could very well be a blessing in disguise for them. I think that people are getting too excited about Mitta having a loss...... At the end of the day, who cares?

kiewa v doggies should be a great contest looking forward to the result of that one!! although seeing as whatever the result they both will still be sitting top 3 you could argue that the more important game this week will be beechworth v yack. majority of ppl woulda had yack top 3, top 5 at worst and if they drop this one go to 8th a win behind DMB, beechworth and chiltern and after the long weekend break have kiewa then dogs! i'll be backing yack for 2 in a row

Benchy, you are on the money there with Yack mate! they will get back Daniel Powell this week and Matt Hay (rested last week). this week could see Yack field their strongest side for the season, so the Bushrangers wanna be ready!
the home game comment by Run straight was spot on. i think Beechworth have played the same amount if not more games than Yack have at Yack. should make for a great Canteen and bar sales then (that's what clubs like to see isn't it!) (except for the scabs from Barny who take their own grog to away games and sell it to their own players!)

Benchy, you are on the money there with Yack mate! they will get back Daniel Powell this week and Matt Hay (rested last week). this week could see Yack field their strongest side for the season, so the Bushrangers wanna be ready!
the home game comment by Run straight was spot on. i think Beechworth have played the same amount if not more games than Yack have at Yack. should make for a great Canteen and bar sales then (that's what clubs like to see isn't it!) (except for the scabs from Barny who take their own grog to away games and sell it to their own players!)[/quote]

That's a fairly serious allegation against Barny there MTAG. Do you have 1st hand knowledge of this ?

(Switch the Play):Its not that you are playing for a tracksuit and nice guernsey;it's about attracting some sort of prestige as we both agree on OTO.Those two items are at least something that can be worn at training with a little bit of pride.I remember the yellow polo from Hume league days you would be embarassed to wear yabbying.Just another point on the MM,"surely Robbo deserves better".Doesnt the coaching staff along with the committee become responsible for the clubs culture?He deserves the blame,not pity for that joke of a club.He has been at the helm for a long time not inherited that list.It's pretty simple,look at the succesful clubs;Osborne;Mitta etc-they dont recruit ********s.As a coach surely he finds out a little about the charachter of blokes coming to his footy club.You would rather recruit a good person than a handy footballer who seta a bad influence internally and is viewed that way externally every time!
user_offline.gif

the home game comment by Run straight was spot on. i think Beechworth have played the same amount if not more games than Yack have at Yack. should make for a great Canteen and bar sales then (that's what clubs like to see isn't it!) (except for the scabs from Barny who take their own grog to away games and sell it to their own players!)

Might be time switch to start looking in your own football club and start questioning it's culture if that above is in fact correct. ;)

the home game comment by Run straight was spot on. i think Beechworth have played the same amount if not more games than Yack have at Yack. should make for a great Canteen and bar sales then (that's what clubs like to see isn't it!) (except for the scabs from Barny who take their own grog to away games and sell it to their own players!)[/quote]

That's a fairly serious allegation against Barny there MTAG. Do you have 1st hand knowledge of this ?

yes, with my own beady little eyes.

Curious to know when you saw this occur MTAG. I know first hand that the coach of Barny has made it a point to encourage players to go into the oppositions rooms win, lose or draw after games. Everyone knows the best way to make some quick dollars for your footy club is by encouraging opp. clubs in for a beer after the game and follow suit on return trips so they cna also make some funds also. I think you maybe taking a cheap shot there.:thumbsdown:

Agreed. Barny certainly filled the Mitta rooms on the weekend. Good to see.