• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tallangatta League

Mitta v Barny should provide one of the years hardest fought contests.
No doubt the Mountain Men will exhert physical pressure on the Tigers as they strive for a remarkable 4th consecutive flag. Flip of the coin in this one, perhaps the Tigers may have too much run and class through the midfield especially if 'Super' Cohen doesn't play.

You'd expect Kiewa would fancy there chances against Mitta in the 2's on Saturday, setting up a repeat of last years GF against Barny.

Expect a sizeable crowd at the Creek and some cracking TDFL footy!!!! :thumbsu:

I believe this could be the first year in a long time that a Mitta team might not be represented on GF day.
Barny in the seniors could cause an upset with momentum going in to the prelim. Injures and form are factors that could see Mitta out of the Grand final and give Barny a sniff.
Kiewa should easily account for Mitta in the 2's. Kiewa are a far better side and should win comfortably.

Mitta's only real hope is the U/13 netball side who play Chiltern. Going on form this game could go either way. (not that I would really know).

I'm not writing them off yet but it could happen.

I believe this could be the first year in a long time that a Mitta team might not be represented on GF day.
Barny in the seniors could cause an upset with momentum going in to the prelim. Injures and form are factors that could see Mitta out of the Grand final and give Barny a sniff.
Kiewa should easily account for Mitta in the 2's. Kiewa are a far better side and should win comfortably.

Mitta's only real hope is the U/13 netball side who play Chiltern. Going on form this game could go either way. (not that I would really know).

I'm not writing them off yet but it could happen.

I couldn't agree more with you Saint. The Under 13's on form are one of the more formiddable teams running around and should go close to taking out the flag. They have a toughness that your rarely see in U/13's these days.

Wahgunyah has won their appeal to join the tallangatta league in 2008. Jerilderie has also won their appeal to join the Picola DFL.

Reading todays BM and Marcus Osborne's 'link' to Wahgunyah, would Carl Dickens also be on the list to go to the Tigers with him.

Mitta v Barny should provide one of the years hardest fought contests.
No doubt the Mountain Men will exhert physical pressure on the Tigers as they strive for a remarkable 4th consecutive flag. Flip of the coin in this one, perhaps the Tigers may have too much run and class through the midfield especially if 'Super' Cohen doesn't play.

You'd expect Kiewa would fancy there chances against Mitta in the 2's on Saturday, setting up a repeat of last years GF against Barny.

Expect a sizeable crowd at the Creek and some cracking TDFL footy!!!! :thumbsu:

id say kiewa will battle if kindellan plays. they might as well walk onto the ground with seventeen players.

just thought i would say farewell to the boys from Mitta as tomorrow will be there last game. Mad Monday has come a week early for them for the first time in 4 years.
without Cohen they will struggle. i can't see Packer putting himself in the middle to give his boys a bit of grunt!. If Carty goes troppo like last week Barny may win by a mile.
i can't wait for a Kiewa Vs Barny Granny, they have had some great games recently and i look forward to next week.
Barny by 11 points tomorrow. Withers to kick 7 on Teunon in Fish's last game.
Kiewa by 6 in the GF. Sutherland BOG

just thought i would say farewell to the boys from Mitta as tomorrow will be there last game. Mad Monday has come a week early for them for the first time in 4 years.
without Cohen they will struggle. i can't see Packer putting himself in the middle to give his boys a bit of grunt!. If Carty goes troppo like last week Barny may win by a mile.
i can't wait for a Kiewa Vs Barny Granny, they have had some great games recently and i look forward to next week.

Hmmmm, A little innacurate there

Oh no!

foot-in-mouth-1199.jpeg

Hmmmm, A little innacurate there
as the dog on the Toyota ad says "bugger"
i must say, i was dreaming (or hoping) that Mitta would lose yesterday, but more than anything i was expecting a barrage of ridiculous replies telling me to pull my head in blah blah blah. Mountain Man is obviously keeping a lid on it.
Milesy, great picture mate.
Gents, what a great year it has been for all involved. i must say this thread has had its ups and downs but in all, the season was a ripper. a few notable things to come from TDFL 07-(1)Thurgoona finally having an impact after being the easy beats (lets see how they go with next years draw playing the top 5 twice). (2) a player being reported after the game and getting outed for 2 weeks, (the same day another bloke punched a bloke in the nose in front of an umpire and got told to settle down) (3) the farcical ending to the Barton Medal Count (4) Wahgunyah gaining entry for next year meaning no byes for the old blokes to recover.
until next year!
Go Kiewa! still reckon Sutherland for BOG.

well yes it is Grand Final week and this thread is just about dead, who does everyone think is going to win this year? I believe it will be close in both the 1st's and 2nd's and could go either way in both games.

In the seniors Kiewa and Mitta face off in a replay of the 2nd semi 2 weeks ago. A lot of people wrote Mitta off last week (me being one of them), but they came out firing and ended up winning by 7 goals. But Keiwa are a much better side than Barny so this contest will be very close. I am tipping Kiewa to win by less than 2 goals.

The twos should also be a tightly fought contest with another replay of the 2nd semi 2 weeks ago. Barny have been undefeated all season, but listening to the country footy show the other night it said that of the Grand Finals that have already been played 6 teams went through undefeated and of those 6 teams only 1 of them won the flag. That doesn't mean much going into this game but I think there will be an upset and Kiewa will win by less than a kick.

I hope everyone enjoys themselves on Saturday. I unfortunately wont be attending, but I believe going to Watch the mighty Hawks & Buddy at the G is the better option given we haven't been in the finals for 6 years. Good luck to everyone who is participating.

The twos should also be a tightly fought contest with another replay of the 2nd semi 2 weeks ago. Barny have been undefeated all season, but li

Not quite right there, Barny twos were knocked over by Kiewa at Kiewa in the last round of the season. :thumbsu:

The twos should also be a tightly fought contest with another replay of the 2nd semi 2 weeks ago. Barny have been undefeated all season, but li

Not quite right there, Barny twos were knocked over by Kiewa at Kiewa in the last round of the season. :thumbsu:

Thanks Big Al
I should do some research before posting

Thanks Big Al
I should do some research before posting

We really need to boost this thread cos its dead like our finals hopes. I can see why people have stopped talking though cos the only team that counts (Thurgoona) is out of the premiership race.

Better yet lets just all give up on this thread cos Thurgoona cant win so i'm pretty sure no-one cares.

This won't be the last of Franzee the mighty red nut though....Just wait and see, i'm destined for bigger and greater things. Over And Out

Actually I have to admit this is getting rather boring......what are the options though? Talk about Mitta or talk about Kiewa.....BORING!

Someone say something stupid so we can hang sh1t on you!! You'll do Mountain Man or Top Cat! ;)

Good luck to all teams playing off in tommorrow's grand finals. In particular, Rutherglen's Under 14s. GO CATS

In the seniors, i think we will see either of the following:
- Kiewa win comfortably
- or Mitta win if its close

My Tip = Kiewa by 31 points

Im not a Kiewa man, but it would be nice to see somebody else other than Mitta win that cup.

Also, bad luck to Rutherglen's A grade netballers who lost narrowly to Yack in last weeks prelim.

Good luck to all teams playing off in tommorrow's grand finals. In particular, Rutherglen's Under 14s. GO CATS

In the seniors, i think we will see either of the following:
- Kiewa win comfortably
- or Mitta win if its close

My Tip = Kiewa by 31 points

Im not a Kiewa man, but it would be nice to see somebody else other than Mitta win that cup.

Also, bad luck to Rutherglen's A grade netballers who lost narrowly to Yack in last weeks prelim.

I knew it wouldn't take long!!!!! Tell me GB when did the GF get moved to a Friday??? :D

my review for th gf will depend alot on a M.JONES.will he take the big stage and kick a bag.he's in pretty good form and looks fit a ever(hammies i mean).i think kiewa should win for being the better side this year but most people gave mitta the arse early in the season but look who's in the gf. you don't get there by losing. it should be a real hum dinger of a gf and for it's mitta by 13 points just on pure experience. But if the hawks win well done and don't forget to follow it up next season......and don't blame the drought for no cash.....:D

heard a huge that rumor that the gates will be locked at sandy creek today...dam the league where am i going to park my truck and couch???? the reason i was told was to stop poeple who pay good money to wtch from being smashed by the time the thirds finished.isn't that whats gf day all about ?? :D

I knew it wouldn't take long!!!!! Tell me GB when did the GF get moved to a Friday??? :D

Good point AD, the grand final is in fact saturday as you quite rightly pointed out.

Who knows, maybe one day in the future the TDFL grand final will be moved into Albury-Wodonga and played under lights on a friday night.

Probably not though - just throwing it out there.

As if thurgoona shouldnt be there tomorrow. I would make it my personal goal to go out there and hurt people physically and mentally with my skill and pure athletic ability if i were playin. Keiwa and mitta should consider themselves extremely lucky!:D