• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player

Barge said:
Continuing with the theme of Sandy Bay players:

Noel Morrison - Sandy Bay ;)

Continuing with that theme: Michael Conlan - Sandy Bay (Ex: Fitzroy AFL)
He was on a fair bit of cash at the time. :p
Difference was Conlan actually was worth his pay.

Kingpin said:
Continuing with that theme: Michael Conlan - Sandy Bay (Ex: Fitzroy AFL)
He was on a fair bit of cash at the time. :p
Difference was Conlan actually was worth his pay.

Touche!

You mentioning Conlan actually reminds me of a game where he played against Glenorchy at KGV.

He was playing on Daryn Holmes, who funnily enough I have mentioned earlier in this thread, and "Homer" was giving him the verbal workout:

"You're too slow ya Old C**t. What are you doing still playing you Old C##t?" etc etc.

Sure enough, Conlan ends up in the goal square unmanned, kicks a goal and Holmes is about 30 metres away.

"What are ya doing way back there you old C**t?" Conlan said to the at the time roughly 23-24 year old Holmes.

One of the only times as an at the time mad Glenorchy supporter I laughed my head of at an opposition goal!

Garry Davidson - Glenorchy and North Hobart

Michael Finlayson- North Launceston

A few guys might remember Finno as the tall, skinny fullforward coverd in tats who played a couple of seasons for north coming from Bridport. Kicked quite a few goals and was a real talent, but he was nearing or was 30 at the time and his best day s were behind him.
Absolute gun in his 20's but alcohol and other substances really affected his career. Now only drinks decafinated cofee and skinless chicken!

Drinks skinless chicken? :confused:

Here's a few legends who went on to coach in the old Southern Amatuers:

Michael Hibberd - Clarence (Coached Claremont to Flags in 92,93 and 94 :D after losing the 91 GF by a couple of points).

David "Spud" Young - New Norfolk. (Coached Mangalore {Now Brighton} in 1995. Unbackable favourites for the flag, but didn't even make it, :p losing finals to Claremont and Sorell!

billybrownless16 said:
The 91 GF was Lauderdale's last flag, they won the reserves and seniors

Don't worry, I know! The guy I'm about to mention makes sure I remember that on a regular basis!

John Paine - Clarence.

Father of Tassie Devil Nick and Tassie cricketer Tim.

Discovered this guy's name by accident the other day, I thought "He's one for the Players thread!" Very handy player from memory:

David Giles - Sandy Bay, Burnie, Clarence.

Had a stint at Fitzroy did he not, Kingpin?!

Barge said:
Mark Watterson - Sandy Bay

Perennial Reserves Player. Played Seniors here and there.

FLOGGER!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :D

Remember him when he was at Channel Barge?
The surfie haircut and the big Kombi van pooncing around like he was a hero to the Channel Colts boys........

Used to think he was Dermott Brereton - complete with No 23 guernsey for the Bay.

A mate and I saw him out the night they won the '94 Reserves Grand Final.

"You're Mark Watterson, aren't ya"

`Yeah, that's right!'

"YOU'RE A F***EN C@@@HEAD!"

Don't know that's the reply he was expecting.

I remember the SFL Colts '99 1st Semi Final, Channel V Claremont @ Huonville. Due to injuries Claremont only had 16 players. Channel got up by about 8 points in the end. Anyhow, it was quite a heated contest, and the ball has gone over the boundary line near him and he has picked the ball up, but before handing it back to the boundary maggot, he has held it up in the air and roared at the young Saints "Here it is, this is what ya's want! Get in and get it!"

And I thought "Coming from you ya big idiot! When did you last put your head over the aggot?"

A true one of a kind. I recall someone telling me he played at Glenorchy before going to the Bay, can't recall that, can you, Kingpin?

Graeme Fox - Glenorchy, New Norfolk, Hobart.

Hard little bugger!

1998 Claremont Coach.

Didn't realise til I saw a story in the paper that he suffered a heart attack recently!

As a coach, favoured his Son Nathan to a degree you had to see to believe.

Has a shocking reputation along with Brother Wayne as a lunatic, but from their year at Claremont in 1998 both seemed to me like good blokes!

Your thoughts, Kingpin?

Barge said:
Used to think he was Dermott Brereton - complete with No 23 guernsey for the Bay.

A mate and I saw him out the night they won the '94 Reserves Grand Final.

"You're Mark Watterson, aren't ya"

`Yeah, that's right!'

"YOU'RE A F***EN C@@@HEAD!"

Don't know that's the reply he was expecting.
ROTFLMAO :D

Barge said:
A true one of a kind. I recall someone telling me he played at Glenorchy before going to the Bay, can't recall that, can you, Kingpin?
Not that I can recall, if he did it wouldn't have been for long, nor very distinguished.

Barge said:
Graeme Fox - Glenorchy, New Norfolk, Hobart.

Hard little bugger!

1998 Claremont Coach.

Didn't realise til I saw a story in the paper that he suffered a heart attack recently!

As a coach, favoured his Son Nathan to a degree you had to see to believe.

Has a shocking reputation along with Brother Wayne as a lunatic, but from their year at Claremont in 1998 both seemed to me like good blokes!

Your thoughts, Kingpin?
I remember Brer in his days at Hobart and I thought he was a great bloke, same with Baldy.
Both were bad bastards at times, but in a funny kind of way.
Great footballers the pair of them, and I was glad to see them lining up in the Gold Sash for a few years there.
I used to watch Baldy when he was at Glenorchy and New Norfolk, and he was my favourite TFL player back then.
Baldy kicked the ton two or three times for Hobart and only a shoulder injury in the middle of '89 stopped him from kicking another ton.
I remember Brer coaching Claremont and his brother was at full forward in a match at the TCA in 1998.
Graeme left Hobart after the 1990 Premiership and Wayne left after the '89 grand final loss, but all these years later they stayed till very late hours drinking with the Hobart boys, and it was a great night. A lot of great memories from the Hobart days.
Sad to hear of Graeme's plight, hope he is recuperating.

I remember the night of the 1994 Huon FA grand final, Garry Williamson had coached Cygnet to a premiership over Kingston.
My fiancee at the time's best friend, lived in a flat with her fiancee (at the time) just near Kingston Beach Oval, and he was a former Channel reserves player.
We got bored listening to the girlies talking so we decided to hit the silly-soup in the Kingston clubrooms.
Off we toddled round the corner and into the rooms, there's Baldy Fox drinking in the bar, there's Wayne "Pedro" Petterd and "Stumpy" Kirkwood from Hobart, there's the now Hobart Football Club President Phillip Baker and wife at one end of the bar doing some sort of volunteer work.
The joint is packed, despite being a Tiger-man, I didn't go much on the atmosphere of the place, seemed very anti-outsider to me.
I drank with my mate and a couple of Channel blokes I knew, rumour spreads that Cygnet are planning on turning up and running amuck through the place, half an hour late in strolls a bunch of Cygnet players and fights are breaking out everywhere.
Baldy Fox gets out of his seat at the bar and punches the bejesus out of one of them, then casually as you like, sits back down and finishes his beer.
Barman pours him another and says "Righto Baldy I'll pour you your last before you leave. Cops roll up and clear the room.
By jeeeez the place went off :D

Kingpin said:
Justin Devine - North Hobart.

Son of legendry ex-Geelong coach and North Hobart premiership coach and player John Devine.
I actually started Prep with this bloke in 1980, big "Jay" made his debut for North Hobart in 1992 and although a serviceable player, never really reached the heights that were expected of him.
Quit footy a couple of years later, and I think was running a few hotels round the place, I know he was running the Talbot in New Town for a little while there, apparently almost sending it broke.
Saw him at Maccas in Moonah one night about 18 months ago, and he'd ballooned out in weight.
Great bloke was the "J", but I think living in his father's shadow didn't help him much.
Had another brother Aaron Devine, who was field umpire during the early 1990's in the Statewide League who did quite well there for a while.

Now living in St Kilda. Came over and played in the Oven's and Murray for Mrtleford.

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player