• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player

Definitely won a Leitch. I think he was a fly-in player. Lived and trained in Victoria, and flew over to play for Devonport on weekends.

Yes fly in player :thumbsu:
That was back in the days when fly-in's were all the rage, Devonport had Code, Hobart had Phillip Knight, Tony Morwood and later Keith Robinson, and there were others too weren't there Howard?
That '87 team was a pretty reasonable side, but '88 was just a gun team with Chris Reynolds up forward, Kyle Wilson, Ricky Brown, Jaffray brothers and others.

Yeah, for a bump no less on Clarence ruckman Adrian Dean right in front of the Glenorchy race.

Very stiff to go for it, let alone miss out on the William Leitch!

Mark Watterson was one of the hardest players in the TFL, problems with injury cut him down countless times.

He went to Hawthorn and broke his leg showing off trying to take a mark, turned out to be a very good coach of young players.

The Dermot Brereton look a like, Used to play at sandy bay had all the gear, the same haircut as Dermott. BUT was a crap player and that was in the ressys.... as for coaching, I think it was Channel under- age they had a good season, but you could hear him at the other end of the ground swearing and cursing, not good with kids

You must of seen him at the end of his career when injurys had caught up with him.

What ever happened to
Brent Williams i think went to North Hobart
Daniel Gray Hobart
Lee Singline South Launceston
Adrian Burdon New Norfolk
are they still playing for there clubs.

The "bump" on Adrian Dean, was way more than that. It caused Adrian significant damage to nose and teeth and required plenty of follow up procedures, not to mention it cost him a Grand Final spot!

Does anyone remember the hit on Brenton Tapp (Hobart) back in the 90's, at York Park against Sth Launceston. It caused an almighty scuffle both on and off the field. Police had to be called to escort players from the ground and spectators from the park!

Hello Guys, long time lurker first time poster. Just noticed this thread and it gave me so many memories I had to post a few names.

I live in the ACT now but played a few games in the 80's. My high school side was completely dominant and generated a few TFL players including Adrian Fletcher, Matthew Queen (Glenorchy), Dale Moate (Glenorchy), Col Alexander, Matthew Strong (North and New Norfolk), Dave Pennicott (Glenorchy) and Marcus Hoyle (North). Our side lost maybe 7 games in 4 years but 3 were grand finals! Out of these guys Dale Moate was the best player I had ever seen. Should have had a long VFL career but for injury. Not that Fletcher wasn't good but Dale was better.

I had the pleasure of becoming mates with many players on the opposition sides who were good players as well including Anthony McConnon (Moses to those who knew him), Matthew Mansfield, Brad Plain, Tim Blanden, Todd Devine (Justin's brother), Justin and Rick Hodge from New Norfolk to name a few.

Played at North for about 3 or 4 years with the likes of Simon Minton-Connell, Peter Innes, Stephen Rattray, Jamie Salter (started his career at North), Carl Cazaly, Paul Williams and Anthony Cole.

Studied at uni with Daniel Hulm too and was very saddened to hear of passing a few years ago.

Up here in Canberra I used to see a lot of Ricky Dolliver (perhaps the best journeyman except for maybe Wayne Fox). Ricky used to be bar manager at the Belconnen Magpies.

I have to agree with the earlier posts about Dennis Cornish. He is my mum's cousin and she agreed that before his car accident he could have been one of the greatest tassie players of all time.

I don't post much because I don't have the time but this thread was a great read so I thought it deserved a contribution.

Does anyone remember the hit on Brenton Tapp (Hobart) back in the 90's, at York Park against Sth Launceston. It caused an almighty scuffle both on and off the field. Police had to be called to escort players from the ground and spectators from the park!

Yes I was there! South Launceston 16-16-112 - Hobart 2.12.24 :(
It was the last round of 1996, and there had been internal trouble at Hobart involving president John Thurley and vice president Richard Mulligan.
The players were fed up with the board and consequently tanked in games to spite the board and some of the Hobart supporters were a little angry with that and the TFL's treatment of the club at the time.
Three Hobart players got decked in the second quarter and the umpiring was a complete joke - on the day South had 30 more free's than Hobart.
The incident was sparked just on halftime when Gary Williamson chased the umpires off the ground and hurled abuse at them - which is most unlike him.
A group of Hobart supporters got stuck into the umpires and eventually kicked the umpires changeroom doors in at halftime.
Tapp got felled in the third quarter and the Hobart supporters exploded, there were brawls in front of the Cameron Tyson Stand, another further up the ground outside the rooms - the ground authorities barred everyone from going onto the ground during three quarter time break, and eventually the umpires were lead from the field at the end of the match surrounded by about a dozen policeman as a group of about 80 Hobart supporters roared abuse and hurled projectiles at them.
Second most ugly atmosphere I've ever seen at a football match.

It was Tapp's last game for Hobart, and of course a few months later more then 40 Senior and Reserves players walked out on the club, leading to what it is today - not much :thumbsdown:

Did one not play for hobart?
The only Steele I knew that played at Hobart was Stuart Steele who played in the early 2000's in the reserves mostly.
He also played cricket for Lindisfarne and quit footy to concentrate on his cricket, was a trainer at Hobart and part time barman in the clubrooms up there but no longer associates with the club.
Really good guy was Steelie, saw him about 4 weeks back, still playing cricket.
Would have to be in his mid thirties now I'd reckon.

HigginsHawk said:
Up here in Canberra I used to see a lot of Ricky Dolliver (perhaps the best journeyman except for maybe Wayne Fox). Ricky used to be bar manager at the Belconnen Magpies
Ricky Dolliver! There's a blast from the past!
Former Hobart premiership player and went to the Bay and had something to do with South Launceston as well I think.
Haven't seen him for years since he was the bar manager at the old Brisbane Hotel (now Ye Olde Commodore Inn) in the late 90's and before that he ran the old Empire Hotel in North Hobart (now the Republic Bar).

Great post, many great names there. Good to see you posting :thumbsu:

Hello Guys, long time lurker first time poster. Just noticed this thread and it gave me so many memories I had to post a few names.

My high school side was completely dominant and generated a few TFL players including Adrian Fletcher, Matthew Queen (Glenorchy), Dale Moate (Glenorchy), Col Alexander, Matthew Strong (North and New Norfolk), Dave Pennicott (Glenorchy) and Marcus Hoyle (North).
Played at North for about 3 or 4 years with the likes of Simon Minton-Connell, Peter Innes, Stephen Rattray, Jamie Salter (started his career at North), Carl Cazaly, Paul Williams and Anthony Cole.

Well, well,I am from the same school side and did get a mention,ah the glory days of high school footy. Wasn't it good to be able to run around with the guys taking the piss out of each other. What a side. who would this be?

Good to see that this thread is back up and running.

Troy White from New Norfolk...... didnt like Glenorchys Justin O Dwyer very much, women troubles.

Whatever happened to Mark Harwood? From Triabunna, drafted by Port Adelaide.

Watterson - everyone seems to like bagging him out!, got good memories of knocking his middle stump out when he was playing for wellington.

country footballers - Splinter Banks, Nev Barwick, Peter Thorp, Cary Millhouse, Gavin Roberts

Good to see that this thread is back up and running.

Troy White from New Norfolk...... didnt like Glenorchys Justin O Dwyer very much, women troubles.

Watterson - everyone seems to like bagging him out!, got good memories of knocking his middle stump out when he was playing for wellington.

country footballers - Splinter Banks, Nev Barwick, Peter Thorp, Cary Millhouse, Gavin Roberts

What would you know goose!! I played with Justin O'dwyer, he has been happily married for years, never was a womaniser at Glenorchy. get your facts right!!

Married Gavin Wangeneen's sister i believe. Now lives in Melbourne + kids, unsure he if plays football over there.

I know he returns to the apple isle for the fishing season and might of even agreed to play the first couple of games this year at the bunna, while he is in town for fishing

What would you know goose!! I played with Justin O'dwyer, he has been happily married for years, never was a womaniser at Glenorchy. get your facts right!!

I knew the Whites fairly well, this happened back in around 1993/4 if i can remember, so you are right about O'Dwyer being happily married for years as it has been 14 years or so since it happened. I never said he was a womaniser, all i said was women troubles. So maybe you need to go back and read the post properly NITWIT!

Okay what about brothers who played for the same team to make it interesting? I'll start with some Burnie boys...

Alistair, Marcus, Errol and Noel Bourn.
Stephen, Grant and Kent Jackson.

There were two.
Both still there. One went to Queensland for awhile then came back, went to Huonville after that for awhile to be with Jock McGregor but came back.

i thought there was elder brother who was ruck then Scott & Brent the first 2 were all right, Brent was not as good.

The Dean Brothers (Adrian, Brent, and Jarrod) from Oatlands all played together at North Hobart and South Launceston. Adrian the ruckman, won two premierships at Clarence in the early/mid 90's. They then all played in a premiership at South Launceston, Brent winning the BOG medal in the GF against Smithton.

Last I heard Adrian was coaching scottsdale (crows ??) up north east, assume Brent would be playing there as well. dunno about jarrod.

Tom Honner - played with Burnie Hawks, Rosebery - Toorak and ?????

Ken Rainsford - used to see him plodding around the suburbs checking meterboxes.

Who was that fella who played for Launceston - i think he got drafted by Richmond (?) but came back to Tas in a short time. Was it Nick Roney (misspelt?)

Leigh Singline/Brad Cottam - Sth Lton

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player