• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

Correct, just looking at the record books now. I'm sure there was one that folded around 1997-98?
HELP!!!
Huon Football league folded in 1998
2001 : Peninsula Football Association folded
Participating clubs were :
Nubeena
Eagle Hawk Neck
Port Arthur
Premaydena
Grand Final Eagle Hawk Neck 14.20.104 D Port Arthur 11.4.70
Compliments footypedia

So the STJFL has decided to split the premiership in the U-14's over "sirengate".
Perfect day, not much wind, dunno how it was inaudible but oh well.
Nigel Hyland, in my opinion, cost the Hobart colts a premiership in 2001/2002 by failing to hear the siren at KGV, the Storm went down the ground 5-10 seconds clear after the siren sounded and kicked a goal to win the Prelim.
Felt gutted for the lads after that.
Huon Football league folded in 1998
2001 : Peninsula Football Association folded
Participating clubs were :
Nubeena
Eagle Hawk Neck
Port Arthur
Premaydena
Grand Final Eagle Hawk Neck 14.20.104 D Port Arthur 11.4.70
Compliments footypedia

Huon FA fell over at the end of '97.
It was down to Cygnet, Franklin, Huonville and Kermandie in the finish.
Channel and Kingston had defected to the new STFL the year before that Peter Hodgman had championed.
If I remember right, Hodgman stuffed up the Huon by bringing in a handicap system for the matches, by giving certain teams a 5.0 (30) start or higher.

Anyone know who is coaching Sorell or who Sorell are after for next year. It would be a tough gig as many of the players are leaving for other clubs.

Lovely to see Daryn Cresswell out and about on the weekend and in fine form as per usual.

l_78d720d5ce3180632ce1cc1c630e532b.jpg

In the Mercury newspaper on Tuesday, August 28th a letter was published, written by New Norfolk football club legend Michael Eiszele about supporting the local football comps.
I have not been able to find a link to it so I will quote some of the more important parts of the Letter.

"Supporters found the expense to travel way to high."
In reference to a new revamped statewide league

"I would suggest give up on the state wide league, give up on the Tassie Devils and bring back the mariners (under 18') to represent our state and give them a stepping stone to the AFL....... "

"Promote what good football we have in Southern Tasmania. We need the media to put bums on seats. Premier and Regional League do not get enough recognition."
These points are really relevant at the moment. AFL Tasmania might do well to listen to a person who has breathed Tassie footy for 30+ years.

Also found at: menzza.com

Rowie - Fooken Brilliant pic! Done well there ol boy, made me laugh. Still looks the same as he does on TV - must be a everyday thing.

Anyone know who the "Devils squad member" is that got busted riding a pushbike in the nudie around the Lauderdale Ground after being on the turps as reported in todays Mercury?

Surprised it hasn't already been brought up on this site today.

OZ -Where is this weekends ODFA Grand Final between Woodsdale and Swansea being held? Campania or Oatlands

Who is the nutter posting the poll about where AFL footy should be played. Come on Southerners get over it and I am a Southerner!

Anyone know who is coaching Sorell or who Sorell are after for next year. It would be a tough gig as many of the players are leaving for other clubs.

I'd be surprised if McConnon left them, he's the sort of bloke they need about the club. They just didn't get their best team on the park this year and obviously your depth is going to be exposed accordingly....

Rowie - Fooken Brilliant pic! Done well there ol boy, made me laugh. Still looks the same as he does on TV - must be a everyday thing.

Anyone know who the "Devils squad member" is that got busted riding a pushbike in the nudie around the Lauderdale Ground after being on the turps as reported in todays Mercury?

Surprised it hasn't already been brought up on this site today.

OZ -Where is this weekends ODFA Grand Final between Woodsdale and Swansea being held? Campania or Oatlands

No worries mate ;)

I know the Devils player hails from Glenorchy and got a stern talking to from Coach Newitt last night at training! Im guessing it was one of the older guys, most likely Nathan Street

No worries mate ;)

I know the Devils player hails from Glenorchy and got a stern talking to from Coach Newitt last night at training! Im guessing it was one of the older guys, most likely Nathan Street

I have a feeling it was someone Johnson...

Wade declined to name and shame the player. But he said the nude cyclist was a Tasmanian Devils player.

The player will line up for Glenorchy in its Premier League second semi-final against Clarence on Saturday.

Glenorchy coach David Newett said it was the first he had heard of the incident.

"If one of our players has stepped out of line . . . he will have to answer to the leadership group," Newett said.

Glenorchy players who have played Devils...

Ben Careless
Nathan Street
Brodie Moles
Jaye Bowden
Aaron Joseph
Aaron Cornelius
David Hunt (squad)

Johnson?

Wade declined to name and shame the player. But he said the nude cyclist was a Tasmanian Devils player.

The player will line up for Glenorchy in its Premier League second semi-final against Clarence on Saturday.

Glenorchy coach David Newett said it was the first he had heard of the incident.

"If one of our players has stepped out of line . . . he will have to answer to the leadership group," Newett said.

Glenorchy players who have played Devils...

Ben Careless
Nathan Street
Brodie Moles
Jaye Bowden
Aaron Joseph
Aaron Cornelius
David Hunt (squad)

Johnson?

Sorry it was James Armstrong... new it started with a J

No good if its Armstrong. He was playing Glenorchy twos the other week. This little incident isnt likely to help his cause I would imagine.

Glenorchy have to stop taking themselves so seriously. He is a good fella and more importantly a good player.