Tasmanian Football Thread

Talking to my Brighton committee source yesterday who was telling me they have indeed appointed former New Norfolk coach Craig Stevenson as Senior Coach for 2008, this will be announced later in the week.

Also told me at this stage Sean Salter and Nathan Barwick are staying at the club, however Barwick had a meeting with Ozguy's boys during the week.
quote]

From my mail, your sources are apparently good.

Nathan Henley won't be coaching Hobart in 2008, wife is expecting and he'll be standing out of footy altogether for the year according to my HFC source.
Apparently the club have interviewed a few people in regard to the position and will be conducting more interviews this week in order to make sure they 'choose the right candidate'.
No concrete names stand out as a firm favourite at this stage.

I think you might mean Adam Henley :)

From my mail, your sources are apparently good.

Monna, I had to rub my eyes and blink twice to read this...you are actually agreeing with the Bargester instead of getting stuck into him for false reports regarding the almighty Brighton Football Club:D.

Must be mellowing with age.

Jamie Kaye has gone back to Glenorchy, needs 12 more games to play 200. As everyone has been saying about Glenorchy starting the training already. they had 24 on the Track. Aaron Joseph, Corny, and Bryce O'Grary were all told not to train. AJ with the Draft, Corny by the Devils and Bogga also with the draft.

Also AFL TAS have made new rules with Devil players playing Finals next year. The old rules were 3 games, next year its no games. So if you play all season with the devils you can then play finals (If the Devils Don't) with your allocated club.

Also anyone heard anything about the Statewide league in 2009. I've heard a couple of things in that there will be 3 teams from the North West, 3 from the North and 4 from the South. But I also heard that there is talk of Clarence and Glenorchy having a team together. Which would be a load of crap, and there would be no way both clubs would go for it.

Jamie Kaye has gone back to Glenorchy, needs 12 more games to play 200.

Also AFL TAS have made new rules with Devil players playing Finals next year. The old rules were 3 games, next year its no games. So if you play all season with the devils you can then play finals (If the Devils Don't) with your allocated club.

Also anyone heard anything about the Statewide league in 2009. I've heard a couple of things in that there will be 3 teams from the North West, 3 from the North and 4 from the South. But I also heard that there is talk of Clarence and Glenorchy having a team together. Which would be a load of crap, and there would be no way both clubs would go for it.

Oh so Kayzer doesn't have a problem with David Newett any more?

As for the Devils playing finals rule, can someone please explain to me why on earth this has been implemented?

Like your Paul Kouloritoutis' of the world could give a flying f... about Hobart for example if the Devils miss out next year?

This rule, like the ridiculous SFL Reserves rule (3 Reserves games) when a Senior team has missed the finals, are the two worst rules going around and in my humble opinion need to be f....d off asap!

Statewide League - Hands up who could not give a continental?

I'm far more interested in going to watch every game Wilbur35 plays in the Superules comp next year!

Where is Ozguy anyway?

Not up there ploughing the paddocks is he?

Conspicuous by your absence there old boy!

Well, they certainly have to sell a lot of spuds and swedes to pay for the likes of Dean King if the reports are true of him heading up to the Central Hawks.
(Not to mention trying to poach a few players from other clubs - Has the famed Central Hawks talent scout - Scott O'Connell been making enquiries amongst the Claremont players this year?)

I'm told Mr Central Hawks himself (Having played for all their forming clubs Oatlands, Bothwell and Kempton) Scotty O'Connell has now retired.

His first ODFA club was Mt Pleasant for what it's worth.

Hawk Lady has been quiet too!

As for the Devils playing finals rule, can someone please explain to me why on earth this has been implemented?

Like your Paul Kouloritoutis' of the world could give a flying f... about Hobart for example if the Devils miss out next year?

This rule, like the ridiculous SFL Reserves rule (3 Reserves games) when a Senior team has missed the finals, are the two worst rules going around and in my humble opinion need to be f....d off asap!

I'm far more interested in going to watch every game Wilbur35 plays in the Superules comp next year!

There is no way that the majority of the SFL clubs will allow this to happen. Mark my words.

Jamie Kaye has gone back to Glenorchy, needs 12 more games to play 200. As everyone has been saying about Glenorchy starting the training already. they had 24 on the Track. Aaron Joseph, Corny, and Bryce O'Grary were all told not to train. AJ with the Draft, Corny by the Devils and Bogga also with the draft.

I would like to know where you will get88 players and support staff from when most clubs struggle to have enough each week now. I have not heard of any Premier League Club who want it,and thier supporters certainly dont want it.

Has that ever stopped AFL Tas from doing anything in the past before?

Bryce O'Garey didnt train? He isnt a draft prospect so im not sure if that is entirely correct. I know that Jaye Bowden DID train and recorded the highest beep test score of 14 something.

Regardless of what you think, good teams or not, club footballers don't want to turn up now and do a pre season.

Glenorchy are doing a 2 week on, 1 week off routine.

From what i've heard, many of the players out there are sick of this sort of crap and have had enough of it! They couldn't even have a beer out of the premiership cup. How boring..

thats rubbish as well. the players arent sick of it otherwise they would have left. and nothing is compulsory anyway. I have talked to a number of glenorchy players PLUS newi in the last couple of days. those that turned up did so cause they wanted to be there. crazy yes but with an attitude like that they will be raging favourites for the next 10 flags i reckon!

Hello everyone, I am back. Have had a bit of a read of what has been happening since I left, and it looks like everyone has picked up recruits except the Channel Saints. We are yet to find a coach, and haven't picked up anyone as far as I know, so things are looking bleak down at Guns Park. Several players appear to be leaving next season, so it could be another very long season. Sounds like the Old Scholars is going to be of high standard next season, it seems to be getting better every year...

Well welcome back...:D

Is that official...regional league down to 9 teams for 2008 and the Old Scholars up to 7?

thats rubbish as well. the players arent sick of it otherwise they would have left. and nothing is compulsory anyway. I have talked to a number of glenorchy players PLUS newi in the last couple of days. those that turned up did so cause they wanted to be there. crazy yes but with an attitude like that they will be raging favourites for the next 10 flags i reckon!

Interesting. I've been personally told by a few of the senior players that they are a bit tired of a few of the instructions/ "rules" handed down from the top.

Name names then bink-meister. Me thinks you are full of shite as per your previous post that the Norky boys were'nt even able to drink beer out of the premiership cup. That was laughable as I personally witnessed them drinking from the cup in the rooms after the G.F. and have been told that many beers were downed both from the cup and without the cup over the following days.

After initially being very sceptical about the early start to their pre-season I have quickly come around after the reasons behind it have been explained to me by several of their players. All players that I spoke to were very positive about it.

Well welcome back...:D

Is that official...regional league down to 9 teams for 2008 and the Old Scholars up to 7?

Jelly was referring to player influx rather than a new club.

There appears to be quite a few premier and regional league players heading to Old Scholar clubs next year with St Virgils and OHA appearing to be the main beneficiaries.

*hands are up*

Gee, I'd be surprised if Kayser played at Glenorchy...he didn't look too fit when I last saw him, but if Gracie18 could do it when the size of a house then I guess Kayser can when half the size of a house :)

Not sure if it will be Superules or Ships yet Barge...

Name names then bink-meister. Me thinks you are full of shite as per your previous post that the Norky boys were'nt even able to drink beer out of the premiership cup. That was laughable as I personally witnessed them drinking from the cup in the rooms after the G.F. and have been told that many beers were downed both from the cup and without the cup over the following days.

After initially being very sceptical about the early start to their pre-season I have quickly come around after the reasons behind it have been explained to me by several of their players. All players that I spoke to were very positive about it.

Not full of it CHAMP! Just what i've been told by a couple of senior players (and friends of mine). I'm not going to name names, as this would simply denigrate them. I can only go on what they tell me!

Let's just see if there are any player movements over the next month or so....

I rest my case.

Barge!

Now we know where your favourite umpire TFLUA-Tiger is managing to scrape up the $100 for your umpire payments next year. Looks like he is not flipping burgers anymore these days.

Extract from CA Cup: Tas 2nd XI vs Vic 2nd XI at Lindisfarne Oval(Mon-Thur) thread

TFLUA-Tiger

"Great batting today from the Tassie boys.

I know, because I was pushing the sight screen.

Good way to earn $100"

Haha got me there Cad.

Do all Tassie firsts and 2nd XI games as much as possible. Did the SA Tas Ford Ranger game on Saturday and was a great experience.

Jelly was referring to player influx rather than a new club.

There appears to be quite a few premier and regional league players heading to Old Scholar clubs next year with St Virgils and OHA appearing to be the main beneficiaries.
That is correct, Channel are definitely not joining the Old Scholars. The saints and ships certainly do appear to have bolstered their stocks from what I have been hearing. It doesn;t really surprise me that a lot of blokes are going to the OS, people don't want to travel these days and the regional league covers far too much territory, it is probably about 2 and a quarter hour drive from Kermandie to Bothwell, which in my opinion is much too far...