Tasmanian Football Thread

Whats going on? I thought this was meant to be the hub of all football knowledge, yet there is no mention of the SWL from you doyens of the football world which has been given the go ahead! My prominant SFL source tells me it will unfold similar to this:

"format will be 3 teams from the south 3 teams from the North west coast and 3 teams from launceston. The SFL will still operate as is but the Northern competition will split into 2 8 team competitions with the reintroduction of the NWFU and teams in the NTFA making up the numbers (and a new club called Propect being formed for the Launceston based competition).The 3 teams in the South will be reginonal based and will have SFL league clubs affiliated with them i.e Northern Brighton, Glenorchy, New Norfolk. Eastern Clarence Lauderdale. Central Hobart, North Hobart, Kingston. I beleive that they will have new team names names and new team colours and not be affiliated with any of the clubs competeing."

Will kill tassie football and maybe even the devils, which would be nice!

Whats going on? I thought this was meant to be the hub of all football knowledge, yet there is no mention of the SWL from you doyens of the football world which has been given the go ahead! My prominant SFL source tells me it will unfold similar to this:

"format will be 3 teams from the south 3 teams from the North west coast and 3 teams from launceston. The SFL will still operate as is but the Northern competition will split into 2 8 team competitions with the reintroduction of the NWFU and teams in the NTFA making up the numbers (and a new club called Propect being formed for the Launceston based competition).The 3 teams in the South will be reginonal based and will have SFL league clubs affiliated with them i.e Northern Brighton, Glenorchy, New Norfolk. Eastern Clarence Lauderdale. Central Hobart, North Hobart, Kingston. I beleive that they will have new team names names and new team colours and not be affiliated with any of the clubs competeing."

No chance

Old news Peos. Refer to my post in mid August in the "Statewide League '08" thread.

Jelly was referring to player influx rather than a new club.

There appears to be quite a few premier and regional league players heading to Old Scholar clubs next year with St Virgils and OHA appearing to be the main beneficiaries.

My apologies, I did hear/read in the papers that Channel were talking about a move about 3 weeks ago. That's why I needed clarification.
(P.S. Been working my backside off with odd hours + cricket, so If I'm a little delayed...I'm a bit sorry about that :eek:)

Can't see clubs with tradition/history jumping on this. I reckon they'll vote against this and form their own league. AFL Tas aren't open for discussion on this and they expect the clubs to toe the line.

I'm not a bloke that gets around saying that AFL Tas has stuffed footy, but if this goes ahead...... well, i don't know what to think.

Just another innovative idea that will die in the ass - hate to be a cynic! Footy clubs don't run without volunteers and are the current volunteers going to jump on a new formed team?

AFL Tasmania expect that Launceston can support as many teams as Hobart? Or that the north west can support as many teams as Hobart?
A 9 team competition?
4 south, 2 Lonny, 2 NW, seems the most sensible mix to me; or 6 teams with 3 from the south and one in Lonny. the demographics don't work quite as well with the 6 team option, but could ensure a higher standard. And not new teams - what's the point of creating new clubs when the existing ones are struggling for finances and/or players. It will only drive suburban/country clubs to the wall. have just seniors (and preferably under 18s) in the state league with existing clubs and it frees up players for the lower leagues (list will be shorter without having to field a reserves team) and frees up salary cap room to get more of the best players in the best league.

And keep one second tier league in each of north and south. Splitting the NTFL just diminishes the standard in the north. (Although if 3 Launceston clubs join the state league, there won't be a lot of north east presence in the NTFL anyway.)

Thursday, 1 November 2007Plenty of flak for Statewide footy plan from clubs
By PHIL EDWARDS
space.gif

AFL Tasmania's pitch for a return to a Statewide football league in 2009 met with some fiery dissent at a meeting with representatives of NTFL clubs last night.
The proposal would see a nine- team senior-only competition, with three clubs representing each region of the State.
The three existing regional competitions NTFL, NTFA and SFL would underpin it.
Statewide clubs would be expected to field teams in both Statewide and local competitions.
"It did get a bit fiery and it wasn't open to too many questions - it was more a concept or structure they had that was non- negotiable," Northern Bombers president Reg Lyons said.
"It was pretty much as expected - but the biggest problem we see with it is that clubs would have to double the amount of support staff to play in both competitions."
Lyons said AFL Tasmania wanted NTFL and NTFA clubs to consider how the proposal could work and report back to their leagues.
"It met a lot of dissent- it really did - and I'd be very surprised if it gets any support whatsoever," he said.
"At the end of the day, there is no trust between AFL Tasmania and the clubs."
NTFA president Geoff Lyons said that AFL Tasmania was determined a senior-team Statewide league would start in 2009- regardless of the support of existing clubs.
"If you have a Statewide league you would need at least another 140 players just in the North - and at least 10 extra volunteers with each club - and I don't know where they are going to get the extra numbers from," he said. Under the proposal, North Launceston, Launceston and South Launceston would join a revamped eight-team NTFA competition.

I heard the older veitch isnt playing at all and the younger one is getting ankle surgery which could rule him out all together!
Devine to lauderdale with hall. ben beams been chasing a few north hobart boys to go over to myrtleford!

up north timi macmichael to burnie. his brother to stay fat! clinton brown, matt wooldridge back to burnie as well. matthew smith also to go back. langmaid has put in for latrobe coaching position.

If you read the mercury earlier this year (september i think) there was an article on aaron saying he wasnt sure what he was doing.

as for justin, he was running around fine at touch footy last night not sure where ankle surgery comes in...

Looks like the Central Hawks have missed out on Joker Barwick.

There is an ad in the paper today announcing the senior coach (Stevenson) and ..... the assistant coach (Barwick)

Guess Ozguy and his fellow spud diggers couldn't grow enough spuds and swedes quick enough to raise the cash to entice him up there.

Thursday, 1 November 2007Plenty of flak for Statewide footy plan from clubs
By PHIL EDWARDS
space.gif

AFL Tasmania's pitch for a return to a Statewide football league in 2009 met with some fiery dissent at a meeting with representatives of NTFL clubs last night.
The proposal would see a nine- team senior-only competition, with three clubs representing each region of the State.
The three existing regional competitions NTFL, NTFA and SFL would underpin it.
Statewide clubs would be expected to field teams in both Statewide and local competitions.
"It did get a bit fiery and it wasn't open to too many questions - it was more a concept or structure they had that was non- negotiable," Northern Bombers president Reg Lyons said.
"It was pretty much as expected - but the biggest problem we see with it is that clubs would have to double the amount of support staff to play in both competitions."
Lyons said AFL Tasmania wanted NTFL and NTFA clubs to consider how the proposal could work and report back to their leagues.
"It met a lot of dissent- it really did - and I'd be very surprised if it gets any support whatsoever," he said.
"At the end of the day, there is no trust between AFL Tasmania and the clubs."
NTFA president Geoff Lyons said that AFL Tasmania was determined a senior-team Statewide league would start in 2009- regardless of the support of existing clubs.
"If you have a Statewide league you would need at least another 140 players just in the North - and at least 10 extra volunteers with each club - and I don't know where they are going to get the extra numbers from," he said. Under the proposal, North Launceston, Launceston and South Launceston would join a revamped eight-team NTFA competition.

Not sure what reception it got down here because I didn't make it along but I am sure it was similar. I wonder whether AFL Tas are going to give clubs and players the opportunity to provide feedback in an open forum as they were adamant in their advertising of the presentation that it was NOT an open forum for discussion. Or will the dictatorship continue.

I actually hope it proceeds because it will be very interesting to see if they can find enough players interested in playing in a statewide comp, and if they do find the players, it will be interesting to see how many existing clubs disappear because there aren't enough players to field a team. Clubs are already struggling to field 2 teams, add another 3 or 4 teams, and there is up to 88 players not available in the south for the existing structure.

Looks like the Central Hawks have missed out on Joker Barwick.

There is an ad in the paper today announcing the senior coach (Stevenson) and ..... the assistant coach (Barwick)

Guess Ozguy and his fellow spud diggers couldn't grow enough spuds and swedes quick enough to raise the cash to entice him up there.

Either he had already signed a 2 year contract OR they threw a sh itload of dough at him to stay. Lets face it, they are in for more of the same.

Yep!, there is only so many times you can cry wolf. How many games did he go AWOL this season gone? Monna might be able to clarify this.

Reminds me of the yarn that Barge is fond of telling us - The one of Paul Dac ringing up on a rainy Saturday morning to say he had the flu and couldn't play. Only to be spotted at the Claremont bar in shorts, tank top, thongs and a stubby in hand. :D

Not sure what reception it got down here because I didn't make it along but I am sure it was similar. I wonder whether AFL Tas are going to give clubs and players the opportunity to provide feedback in an open forum as they were adamant in their advertising of the presentation that it was NOT an open forum for discussion. Or will the dictatorship continue.

I actually hope it proceeds because it will be very interesting to see if they can find enough players interested in playing in a statewide comp, and if they do find the players, it will be interesting to see how many existing clubs disappear because there aren't enough players to field a team. Clubs are already struggling to field 2 teams, add another 3 or 4 teams, and there is up to 88 players not available in the south for the existing structure.
Sounds like a "my way is the only way, AKA demetriou approach. Not sure what they will do if the clubs webel against wade, stop us playing footy? yeh right!!
AFL Tasmania has confirmed the broad structure of the new league is locked in and no discussions will be entered into.
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said the clubs would be given time to digest it before they presented any concerns or ideas to the NTFL at a later date.
"If we get any resistance (tonight), it's not going to change our minds," he said.
"We don't believe it's a forum for debate.
"The clubs haven't seen all we're going to present."
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/other/state-league-to-go-ahead-afl-tas-to-unveil-plans-today-whether-clubs-like-it-or-not/1077967.html

Yep!, there is only so many times you can cry wolf. How many games did he go AWOL this season gone? Monna might be able to clarify this.

Reminds me of the yarn that Barge is fond of telling us - The one of Paul Dac ringing up on a rainy Saturday morning to say he had the flu and couldn't play. Only to be spotted at the Claremont bar in shorts, tank top, thongs and a stubby in hand. :D

Joker only went AWOL and failed to show up because he had incinerated his Brighton playing gear in a firepot near the boozer at Giggle Park (ie. Boyer Oval). With passion for the place like that it's easy to see why he re-signed!! Money wouldn't even have entered the equation would it??:D

Apparently there was a radio program here this morning which had Wade on, talking about this new Statewide League concept.
Someone mentioned it at work this afternoon and from what was said, it was apparently Wade stating that it would be going ahead whether the clubs liked it or not.
North Launceston president was also on the show tearing holes in the concept saying that none of the clubs up there, or the supporters wanted it.
Coming to think of it, I haven't heard any support for it down this way either.

Should be the TFL South and TFL North - Premiers of each meet for the TFL Statewide Premiership.
Saves a truckload of money this way and won't have the problem of fans not getting to see their clubs each week which was one of the biggest problems of the old Statewide League.
People got out of the habit of going to watch their clubs each week, found other stuff to do and couldn't be bothered after awhile.

Surprised to read the Mercury article that Todd Lewis might be the coach of Hobart in 2008.
From what I read in the article he sounded about 25% committed to taking on the job to be honest.

A curious appointment that one if it happens.
Lewis was one of the most disliked players at the club in his time there in the TFL days. I remember it well. :thumbsu:
Was one of the 40 that walked out on the club in 1996 when the players had that almighty bustup with John Thurley (Pres) and Richard Mulligan (Vice Pres) and went to North Hobart and later to Brighton.

Sounds to me like another 1993 scenario - a lack of suitable candidates, not flush with funds and the need to name someone.

Yep!, there is only so many times you can cry wolf. How many games did he go AWOL this season gone? Monna might be able to clarify this./quote]

From memory he missed the first three through injury and a couple mid-season AWOL.

Joker only went AWOL and failed to show up because he had incinerated his Brighton playing gear in a firepot near the boozer at Giggle Park (ie. Boyer Oval). With passion for the place like that it's easy to see why he re-signed!! Money wouldn't even have entered the equation would it??:D

I don't think that was the only reason. I think the reason he burnt his gear is one of the reasons why he missed a couple of games

Apparently there was a radio program here this morning which had Wade on, talking about this new Statewide League concept.
Someone mentioned it at work this afternoon and from what was said, it was apparently Wade stating that it would be going ahead whether the clubs liked it or not.
North Launceston president was also on the show tearing holes in the concept saying that none of the clubs up there, or the supporters wanted it.
Coming to think of it, I haven't heard any support for it down this way either.

Should be the TFL South and TFL North - Premiers of each meet for the TFL Statewide Premiership.
Saves a truckload of money this way and won't have the problem of fans not getting to see their clubs each week which was one of the biggest problems of the old Statewide League.
People got out of the habit of going to watch their clubs each week, found other stuff to do and couldn't be bothered after awhile.

Surprised to read the Mercury article that Todd Lewis might be the coach of Hobart in 2008.
From what I read in the article he sounded about 25% committed to taking on the job to be honest.

A curious appointment that one if it happens.
Lewis was one of the most disliked players at the club in his time there in the TFL days. I remember it well. :thumbsu:
Was one of the 40 that walked out on the club in 1996 when the players had that almighty bustup with John Thurley (Pres) and Richard Mulligan (Vice Pres) and went to North Hobart and later to Brighton.

Sounds to me like another 1993 scenario - a lack of suitable candidates, not flush with funds and the need to name someone.

Lewis is very very unlikely to take the reins.... What a terrible article it was to!

i reckon if u think ur the know it all of southern footy u should apply for a job at the muckery evvo.

seems u think u can do so much better than the guys there!

Todd Lewis actually played with North before coming to Hobart. This is where he played all his junior footy.

Steve Gillbee also left the club at the of 1996 with the player walk out against John Thurley and Dick Mulligan, but returned to be a very good coach.

They manner in which Todd played (a bit dirty) certainly did not him endear him to being the most liked guy going around, but he was always well enough liked by Hobart people when he played there.

Todd Lewis would be as a good an appointment of any of the current available coaches in Hobart, I hope he takes it.

Todd Lewis actually played with North before coming to Hobart. This is where he played all his junior footy.

Steve Gillbee also left the club at the of 1996 with the player walk out against John Thurley and Dick Mulligan, but returned to be a very good coach.

They manner in which Todd played (a bit dirty) certainly did not him endear him to being the most liked guy going around, but he was always well enough liked by Hobart people when he played there.

Todd Lewis would be as a good an appointment of any of the current available coaches in Hobart, I hope he takes it.

He seems to have done a pretty reasonable apprenticeship. Good luck to him (if he takes it)

The new Statewide League structure

The teams:

1.Team 1 North-West – representing the City of Burnie and
the municipalities west of Burnie.

2.Team 2 North-West – representing the Central Coast municipality.

3.Team 3 North-West – representing the City of Devonport and the
municipalities of east of Devonport.

4.Team 1 North – representing the western suburbs of Launceston
, incorporating the northern municipalities of West Tamar
and Meander Valley.

5.Team 2 North – representing the eastern suburbs of Launceston
and the northern municipalities east of the Tamar river.

6.Team 3 North – representing the southern suburbs of Launceston
and the northern municipalities of Northern Midlands and Break
O’Day.

7.Team 1 South – representing the City of Glenorchy and the
southern municipalities north of Glenorchy.

8.Team 2 South – representing the City of Hobart and the southern
municipalities south west of Hobart.

9.Team 3 South – representing the City of Clarence and the
southern municipalities south east of Hobart.
+
Definite opportunity for one more team from the South to represent
the Kingborough and Huon municipalities
(adequate playing facility is the issue)

State League team clusters:

1.Team 1 North-West – incorporating NTFL Clubs Burnie, Wynyard
and Smithton.

2.Team 2 North-West – incorporating NTFL Clubs Ulverstone and
Penguin.

3.Team 3 North-West – incorporating NTFL Clubs Devonport, East
Devonport and Latrobe.

4.Team 1 North – incorporating proposed and existing NTFA Clubs
Launceston, Deloraine and Prospect.

5.Team 2 North – incorporating proposed and existing NTFA Clubs
North Launceston, Georgetown and Scottsdale.

6.Team 3 North – incorporating proposed and existing NTFA Clubs
South Launceston and Longford.

7.Team 1 South – incorporating SFL Clubs Glenorchy, New Norfolk
and Brighton.

8.Team 2 South – incorporating SFL Clubs North Hobart, Hobart-
Sandy Bay and Kingborough.

9.Team 3 South – incorporating SFL Clubs Clarence and
Lauderdale.