Tasmanian Football Thread

He wouldn't be back there if he wasn't... Can't see him playing too many with the tigers... Apparently the tiges have had approx 50 to each of their training sessions so far, although a large number of these have been u17 and u19 players. If they keep their young group together, they could be a force in approx 3-4 years time (they are prob 2 years behind Lauderdale in this regard).

Yeh the only problem is the SFL tends not to work this way. Having a young developing team is great in theory but the problem as these kids are ready to hit their peak they wanna travel interstate or overseas, get poached by the devils or other clubs, move because of work commitments. Its just too hard to keep a good young group together until they reach maturity. This is why Clarence have been so dominant for so long. The McCallums, Cooneys, Proberts, Paines, Whitelaws, Geappens, Archers kept turning up season after season and coupled with some promising youngsters get the job done most years. I cant remember the last player from another SFL premier league club to get to 300 games or even 200. This is why it is becoming an increasingly open competition because premierships can open up as a big possibility by forming a good list over the summer, problem is that premiership window can just as quickly close wen a few leave the next summer. Take North Hobart last season and the change for next season for example.

Hey am new to this but have been reading all the comments about coaches swapping and changing adn havent noticed to much said about mcconnan leaving sorell to coach in premier league, he said in paper that he wanted to try to prove himself at higher level but am not sure he did that at sorell had great list every year but failed to win a flag

It's a positive move. Sorell have had a good list, but I don't think it has been a premiership winning list. They probably did well to finish second once. I don't think you could fault his coaching on that basis.

I think the years McConnon got teams into the Grand Final the eventual Premiers were simply destined to win, ie Cygnet 2004, Dodges Ferry 2006. You could even add the Cygnet teams of 2002-03 that toyed with the McConnon-coached Lauderdale teams, put simply Cygnet 2002-04 and Dodges 2006 were ALWAYS gonna win the flag.

As for there not being much mention of McConnon moving to Giggle Town for 2008 how much did you expect to be made of it? 5 pages worth?

While I think of it, my mail is Sorell took the amazing step of overlooking McConnon in favour of the journeyman Fabian Ackroyd! Yep, apparently Mo wanted to coach the Eagles yet again!

Duff - Given setlikejelly follows Essendon I think that might be a major hint as to who his "Don to watch" may be!

As for you Evvo, and your post some weeks back that Michael Cassidy had re-signed with Hobart I have it on very good authority that he is returning to Menza's beloved Lindisfarne for a mammoth $450 a game! Some of which is being paid "UTT" as Kingpin likes to say, by a sponsor!

They will have to raid Menza's beer ticket machine winnings to contribute to Cassidy's match payments.

"UTT" Barge, is where you end up after a session.

450 at the farne and offered 400 odd at brighton. Having taken the step to the premier league id be surprised, very, to see him drop back. Has been approached by ben beams from myrtleford. Is flying over to see what the plan is. If lewis can assure him that things look good going forward then i would be surprised to see him go. U hear alot of things Barge but this time of year nothing is on good authority, take J. Mason for example.

Cassidy has been training with the Devils has he not?? If that remains the case and he makes the Devils list that will put paid to the big bucks being offered by the 'Farne.

He will have to be signed with a Premier League club as per their demands of all listed players won't he?

They will have to raid Menza's beer ticket machine winnings to contribute to Cassidy's match payments.

Nooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!! not the beer ticket machine, thats mine!

I can let everybody know that Mick Cassidy is training with the Devils and seems to be 100% commited to playing in the best comp he can.
Good on him for that, I hope he sees it through.

From the post's on this forum it seems that every club in southern Tasmania is cashed up to the hilt and willing to splash big dollars to anyone at the moment.
Supply and Demand! Seems quality is few and far in Tasmanian football at this present time.
Who really knows the truth on $$$$$$$$$, just leave my beer ticket machine $$$$ to me.
Can anyone let me know that the J.Mason mentioned in a previous post is Jack Mason from Lindisfarne. Silence will be seen in the affirmitive.

Was talknig to Brodie Moles' brother Shane and he's certain Brodie will be picked up in the ND. I've got a carton of beer on him not.

Wise move?

Was talknig to Brodie Moles' brother Shane and he's certain Brodie will be picked up in the ND. I've got a carton of beer on him not.

Wise move?

Aren't you supposed to be under the age of 18? Who is going to buy the carton for you or have you got a counterfeit I.D that enables you to get into men's establisments.

Jared Mason from Hobart ol buddy!

On the topic of Cassidy, why does he "have to" play Premier League if he's in the Devils squad and not getting a game?

If he, or anyone else for that matter, wants to play Regional League or Old Scholars why can't they?

I can hear ya's now saying "Oh but the Premier League/NTFL is a better standard" but surely that's no worse than playing against some of the bottom sides in the NTFL?

Started playing at New Norfolk,a very handy forward who can kick goals,and I was told moved to get a chance to play senior football.
Yeah hally did play senior footy at New Norfolk left due to NN stuffing him around with insurance. Went to Glenorchy and when fully committed played very well up forward. Latest rumour is he is headin with his old coach M Smith and Jade Hodge to NSW

Wise move?

make sure you make the most of beer when it is on special because i have good mail that Brodie Moles is a MORAL to get drafted, Alistair Clarkson was down here on the weekend and went in the point to pinacle and has also been in close contact with Freckle Moles, he should go between 40-60 in draft all things going to plan ( it rarely goes to plan in ND ) But i have a strong feeling he will go.

Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

Ken HAll for SFL

Gee I might be out of touch with things but is it true that Ken Hall is not playing Devils and has committed to Nth Hobart?

Re: Ken HAll for SFL

Gee I might be out of touch with things but is it true that Ken Hall is not playing Devils and has committed to Nth Hobart?

Correct Duff... what a tragedy for VFL football - has been a fantastic player since coming back - however work commitments and a young family have taken over... What a super star he will be in the SFL!

Aren't you supposed to be under the age of 18? Who is going to buy the carton for you or have you got a counterfeit I.D that enables you to get into men's establisments.

I'm hoping I'll just be receiving it mate.

We'll cross that hurdle should it occur.

Ken HAll for SFL

Kenny would have to be a "players player" I reckon and wow can he kick a ball. I would even say he boots it longer than Anthony Cole!

Now there we go we could have a segment each week on Tassie Footy Trivia like who is the longest kick in Tassie Footy history?

Scott Wade, Anthony Cole, Ken Hall,

Dont ya just love it.

Duff