You can collect on this one.Was talknig to Brodie Moles' brother Shane and he's certain Brodie will be picked up in the ND. I've got a carton of beer on him not.
Wise move?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
You can collect on this one.Was talknig to Brodie Moles' brother Shane and he's certain Brodie will be picked up in the ND. I've got a carton of beer on him not.
Wise move?
Was talknig to Brodie Moles' brother Shane and he's certain Brodie will be picked up in the ND. I've got a carton of beer on him not.
Wise move?
On the topic of players moving, one defection I cannot believe hasn't made it on to here is that of Superstar goalkicker Ben Van Kraanen from North Hobart to Hobart, no doubt on the back of promises made by his ex team mate and new coach Todd Lewis.
Haven't heard of his? Let me paint a picture for you, one nameless ex team mate called him a "Poor man's Robbie Devine!"
Anyone closer to League Headquarters care to comment on this young gun?
Perhaps D. CRESSWELL should be footing the bill for the "cartoon" after stone-cold declaring (numerous times) that Brodie would be drafted!!
As we have just seen there are no guarantees in the ND.
Feel for the Tassie boys who were looked over, particularly Joseph, Bellchambers and Bowden who had all been heavily speculated about. Hopefully there chance may come via PSD or the Rookie List.
You write better when your *****ed(off) than I do sober. Just wish the rest of the football "family" in the State would stand up for themselves in the same vein.(Yeah I'm absolutely munted at the moment but I still stand 100% behind my comments)
My sources tell me Sam Fielding is jetting off next week for a 10 day stint with East Fremantle. Looks likely to go, with the Sharks apparently chasing him pretty hard.
Found some stuff in Wikipedia tho incompleteReason for looking if anyone can help, I'm trying to find a complete list of Tasmanians drafted by the VFL/AFL.
Found some stuff in Wikipedia tho incomplete
National Draft
'86 - 16 drafted, also inception of Statewide league
'87 - 8
'88 - 17
'89 - no record found
'90 - 14
'91 - no record found, Statewide league starts to fail
'92 - 3,
'93 - 1
'94 - 3
'95 - 1 Mariners/Under 18's started
'96 - 6 Under 18's, 5 Dev. 1
'97 - 2 Mariners
'98 - 4 Mariners
'99 - 3 Mariners
'00 - 1
'01 - 1 Mariners Devils formed
'02 - 2 Mariners
'03 - 3 Mariners 2, others 1
'04 - 3
'05 - 4 Mariners
'06 - 4 Mariners
Deductions
Statewide League did not help in drafting Tasmanian players, in fact the reverse. Mariners are what we need to focus on if our main aim is to run football in the State for the sole purpose of providing a pathway to the AFL(which it shouldn't be)
So Wades statement today that players will not get drafted if they play in regional comps is bulls**t, it was only since the inception of the first Statewide league that draftees fell from 16/17 to 3/4 and now 1. Out of the 27 Tasmanians drafted in the last 10 years 22 have been Mariners.
Perhaps D. CRESSWELL should be footing the bill for the "cartoon" after stone-cold declaring (numerous times) that Brodie would be drafted!!
As we have just seen there are no guarantees in the ND.
Feel for the Tassie boys who were looked over, particularly Joseph, Bellchambers and Bowden who had all been heavily speculated about. Hopefully there chance may come via PSD or the Rookie List.
Dont be too harsh on Mellor, he only got the job cause he was Cresswells drinking and punting buddy from Qld. I was told he was already moving to Tassie b4 other applicants had even been interveiwed. Definatly sounds like something that would happen at AFL Tas.Couldnt' agree more Kingpin. I don't think the current system is working, i don't think the mariners were that effective either. QLD got 18 kids drafted or rookie listed last year and there good kids are playing in a senior comp. I think its time they looked at what is happening before its to late. As for Mellor commenting in today's paper that he was at a loss at the result, maybe he should take a good look at his coaching methods.
You obviously didn't read the text very well. The premise was that the Statewide league as quoted by Wade in a previous post was the only way to get players drafted to the AFL. I stated that the Mariners had a higher success rate for drafting i.e 20 out of 27 in the last 10 years.roortat you have no fuc*en idea, name tasie mariner players who has played over 100 games in the afl holland, green, robertson, rawlings anyone else their? i may have missd one or two. point being we are pumping two mill a year into this and their aint many successfull players coming out of it. look at qld, wa and sa who dont have the tac cup. they play against the men and get drafted out of that. yes have the mariners and have a couple of games against the tac clubs before the champs but at the moment if you see the mariners as a business she wouldnt be very profitable at all!
I did not state that the Mariners were a business. As far as I'm concerned Statewide League will NOT help football in the State as proved by the previous attempt and the subsequent lowering of the standard of football in the state as proved by the drafts of 16 in '86, 8 in '87 and 17 in '88 which can't be attributed to the Statewide league which was only newly formed. I don't know what you were inferring to with your 100 games yardstick but I don't think a club usually applies that when drafting a player.Mariners are what we need to focus on if our main aim is to run football in the State for the sole purpose of providing a pathway to the AFL(which it shouldn't be)
You obviously didn't read the text very well. The premise was that the Statewide league as quoted by Wade in a previous post was the only way to get players drafted to the AFL. I stated that the Mariners had a higher success rate for drafting i.e 20 out of 27 in the last 10 years.
I did not state that the Mariners were a business. As far as I'm concerned Statewide League will NOT help football in the State as proved by the previous attempt and the subsequent lowering of the standard of football in the state as proved by the drafts of 16 in '86, 8 in '87 and 17 in '88 which can't be attributed to the Statewide league which was only newly formed. I don't know what you were inferring to with your 100 games yardstick but I don't think a club usually applies that when drafting a player.
You obviously didn't read the text very well. The premise was that the Statewide league as quoted by Wade in a previous post was the only way to get players drafted to the AFL. I stated that the Mariners had a higher success rate for drafting i.e 20 out of 27 in the last 10 years.
I did not state that the Mariners were a business. As far as I'm concerned Statewide League will NOT help football in the State as proved by the previous attempt and the subsequent lowering of the standard of football in the state as proved by the drafts of 16 in '86, 8 in '87 and 17 in '88 which can't be attributed to the Statewide league which was only newly formed. I don't know what you were inferring to with your 100 games yardstick but I don't think a club usually applies that when drafting a player.
LOL I must've been well on the path Roorat, I can't even remember typing thatYou write better when your *****ed(off) than I do sober. Just wish the rest of the football "family" in the State would stand up for themselves in the same vein.
It kinda seems to me that they see some young bloke play a couple of good matches against other young blokes and pump the poor buggers up like they're going to be the next Royce Hart or whoever, then it gets to their heads a bit and they invariably turn out to be disappointments when they have to face good opposition - same goes with Devil players who get pumped up and told how good they are but can't cut it.hardnut69 said:i think the mariners though pump young kids egos and abilitys up to what they arent and i would love to see the stats of kids who went through the mariners and arent even playing footy three years atfter they come out!
I nominate Mitchell Oliver from the Burnie Dockers. Good luck beating this 19 year old machine.