Tasmanian Football Thread

Was at the Kingborough / New Norfolk game, and what a great game it was. The last quarter was one of the best I have seen in a long long time. Notice there was 3 reports after a brawl on the wing, could anybody tell me if any where rubbed out from either side, especially Number 20 from New Norfolk, running 100 metres and king hitting a player from behind, then wanting to take on the crowd as well. was funny stuff as long as you werent hit.. That young fellow Ross kicked 5 goals and very quick and impressive also Brodie Clarke from the tigers, I watched him against North Hobart and was good, but on the weekend he was brillant, must have had 15 clearences in the 2nd half. Been informed that he could still play underage a player to watch in the future.

Here it is -
Murray, JonNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Striking14/05/08 Guilty1 match
Cashion, KrisNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Charging14/05/08 Guilty2 match
Ross, NathanNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Striking14/05/08 Guilty2 match

Was at the Kingborough / New Norfolk game, and what a great game it was. The last quarter was one of the best I have seen in a long long time. Notice there was 3 reports after a brawl on the wing, could anybody tell me if any where rubbed out from either side, especially Number 20 from New Norfolk, running 100 metres and king hitting a player from behind, then wanting to take on the crowd as well. was funny stuff as long as you werent hit.. That young fellow Ross kicked 5 goals and very quick and impressive also Brodie Clarke from the tigers, I watched him against North Hobart and was good, but on the weekend he was brillant, must have had 15 clearences in the 2nd half. Been informed that he could still play underage a player to watch in the future.

Its a far cry from a few years back, when Tas went through some of these comps at various ages without a win.

Here it is -
Murray, JonNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Striking14/05/08 Guilty1 match
Cashion, KrisNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Charging14/05/08 Guilty2 match
Ross, NathanNew Norfolk District Football Club 10/05/08Striking14/05/08 Guilty2 match

Nathan Ross?
that'll hurt NN as hes the only one that looks anything near dangerous in there forward half!!

For anyone that is interested,

Did you read in today's Mercury, the marketing manager for AFL Tas, was in there as an example of how the new tax system that is being implemented this year will affect people, it mentions his salary bracket. Makes you wonder how much more Wade and his cohorts would be on............A fair bit I reckon.

For anyone that is interested,

Did you read in today's Mercury, the marketing manager for AFL Tas, was in there as an example of how the new tax system that is being implemented this year will affect people, it mentions his salary bracket. Makes you wonder how much more Wade and his cohorts would be on............A fair bit I reckon.

But not nearly as much as your good self Cad... They all deserve every cent they get:p, just remember that THEIR u18 side just won the national div2 title.`Still, there will prob be only 2 or 3 drafted, which is apparently how they assess the performance of footy in the state.

So how long til you pull the guernsey back on for the ailing saints cad? Sounds like they could do with your tough-as-nails-take-no-shit attitude out on the park.

Good to see the 2's side notch up the club's first win of the season on the w/e. They should be able to make it 2 in a row this week. From looking over the names in the 2's it looks as though there are quite a few blokes cntent on playing in the 2's (Lachrilly anyone?), as to avoid being thrashed in the 1's... Not a good sign, have seen it before at Friends, and it led to the club's demise....

So how long til you pull the guernsey back on for the ailing saints cad? Sounds like they could do with your tough-as-nails-take-no-shit attitude out on the park. Pfff.....would'n make much difference...maybe if I had a motorised wheelchair :D...They are missing your dash and flair on the wing badly...;)

Good to see the 2's side notch up the club's first win of the season on the w/e. They should be able to make it 2 in a row this week. From looking over the names in the 2's it looks as though there are quite a few blokes cntent on playing in the 2's (Lachrilly anyone?), as to avoid being thrashed in the 1's... Not a good sign, have seen it before at Friends, and it led to the club's demise....

Three veterans pretty much won the game for them......:eek:

SFL Round 6 Video highlights

Premier League Round 6 highlights can be seen here http://dufftv.com.au/?p=137

Hobart hold on to get up over Clarence and New Norfolk steal the show against the young Tigers.

SFL footy is pumping and they want to go statewide!!!!!!!!!???????

Should Cameron Blight play in the rep game and just who was the “Sniper” at Kingston?

Join Ken and Duff for 22 minutes of sheer entertainment.

A certain Coach with another debt with a certain collection agency.

Surely another misunderstanding :(

Well with some of the selection choices Jelly so far this season its no wonder blokes wanna stay in the 2's. But i dont wanna hang shit on the coaches cause they are doing a fine job.There are allot of guys in the one wanting to play 2's purely for the fun side. plus we arnt getting flogged by 150pts every week. Should be a ball tearer up the bunna this week with the saints just winning in all grades

Heard today from a Devils insider that Cresswell played up big time in Ballarat on the weekend being kicked out of several clubs for abusing patrons and was very close to being arrested.

A meeting was held last night with Devils long time servant Lance Spaulding walking out in disgust that Cresswell is still coach.

Also plenty of player unrest at the public bagging some players are recieving in the local rag.

Should be a ball tearer up the bunna this week with the saints just winning in all grades[/quote]

Duff TV will be there to film the seniors. Anyone like to commentate?

Just let me know or call me on 0413 139 599.

Heard today from a Devils insider that Cresswell played up big time in Ballarat on the weekend being kicked out of several clubs for abusing patrons and was very close to being arrested.

A meeting was held last night with Devils long time servant Lance Spaulding walking out in disgust that Cresswell is still coach.

Also plenty of player unrest at the public bagging some players are recieving in the local rag.

not sure who your devils insider is but he may be pulling your leg , as i was on a business trip to melbourne for the weekend with devils on my flight to and from melbourne.
and yes daryn was sitting in his seat on both occassions.
funny how things can be brewed up on a whisper or misheard information.
how many clubs are in ballarat anyway 3 + an rsl?
Nice mail bluthy you peanut.

not sure who your devils insider is but he may be pulling your leg , as i was on a business trip to melbourne for the weekend with devils on my flight to and from melbourne.

Only going on what a trainer/physio for the Devils told me today who was also on the trip.

Cant see why he would lie - seemed pretty upset that Cresswell has "again" been out on the gas making a dick of himself and gets away with it.

Well with some of the selection choices Jelly so far this season its no wonder blokes wanna stay in the 2's. But i dont wanna hang shit on the coaches cause they are doing a fine job.There are allot of guys in the one wanting to play 2's purely for the fun side. plus we arnt getting flogged by 150pts every week. Should be a ball tearer up the bunna this week with the saints just winning in all grades

Saints might win in the Magoo's, but that's about it IMO.

Tips for this weeks SFL and NTFL (No NTFA matches due to AFL Game at Aurora)

SFL Premier League (Round 6, Part 2)
Lauderdale v North Hobart at Lauderdale, 2pm (Lauderdale by 22)
Brighton v Glenorchy at Pontville, 5:30pm (Glenorchy by 68)

SFL Regional League (Round 7)
Claremont v Cygnet at Abbotsfield Park (Claremont by 92)
Dodges Ferry v Lindisfarne at Shark Park (Lindisfarne by 3)
Central Hawks v Kermandie at Oatlands (Hawks by 1)
Triabunna v Channel at Triabunna (Triabunna by 52)
Sorell v Huonville at Pembroke Park (Sorell by 19)

NTFL Round 8 - Potentially a lop sided round looming here...
Wynyard v North Launceston at Austin Street (North by 105)
Smithton v Devonport at Smithton (Devonport by 16)
Burnie v South L'ton at West Park (Burnie by 47)
Ulverstone v East Devonport at Victoria Street (Ulverstone by 175)
Launceston v Latrobe at Windsor Park - Sunday (Launceston by 85)

NTFA Division 1, Round 8 - To be played on 24th May
Deloraine v Rocherlea at The Racecourse
Scottsdale v Bracknell at Rose Street
Hillwood v George Town at Hillwood
Longford v Bridgenorth at Longford

Division 2, Round 7 - To be played on 24th May
Fingal v Perth at The Valley
OL's v Old Scotch at Invermay Park
Uni-Mowbray v Tamar Cats at University
St Pats v Evandale at The Beach (Night Game, 6:30pm start)

Big congrats to Brad 'Blackie' Curran, a formidable opponent and nice bloke to boot. Enjoy your 150th at Gagebrook park this w/e.

Thats funny I heard the same thing the other day. So dolamiteblue, you were on the same flights, funny that!!!! Were you over there promoting the fading Tassie Devil?????

Looks like someone didn't keep it in house.

Speaking of peanuts, Cressa should nearly be on his last legs.

Hey I was just up the TCA having a beer and an old supporter said that the 3rd qtr by Hobart was the best he'd seen Hobart play since the old Tigers' famous 4th qtr in the 1990 Grand final.

The boys viewed the "Directors Cut" on the big screen and it went off. Seems players like seeing themselves back.

Biff was popular.

Hey I was just up the TCA having a beer and an old supporter said that the 3rd qtr by Hobart was the best he'd seen Hobart play since the old Tigers' famous 4th qtr in the 1990 Grand final.
I know I'm slightly biased, but I still view that as the very best quarter of football played by any side in modern day TFL Grand Final history that, as far as sheer domination is concerned.
Definitely the best in Hobart's history. I'd love to know the possession difference, it would've been colossal, I don't think the Robins got the ball inside 50m, until about the 23-minute mark of the quarter.
Especially given where the game was placed at the time, and how good North Launceston were (although I felt the Robins' sides of '91, '92 were better)
A lot of old timers, and many from other clubs said the same thing for years after.
North Hobart's second quarter of the '87 Grand Final (11.3.69) against Glenorchy and North's second-half of the second quarter of the '89 Grand Final against the Tiges' (8 in 11 minutes after being 40-points down) not far behind that.

Ahhh wonderful memories :p.............. :(

Do you reckon this "misunderstanding" will end up in court too?
Creswell's debt false alarm
BRETT STUBBS
May 16, 2008 12:00am
FOR the second time, Devils coach Daryn Cresswell's name has inadvertently appeared in the Tasmanian Collection Service Trade Gazette.
In March, Cresswell was listed as owing $13,935 to Sportsbet Pty Ltd, but the betting agency confirmed it was an error -- and it appears the same has happened again.

In this month's gazette, Cresswell is listed as owing $1586 to Aaron John Ball in a matter arising from an interstate court judgment.

When contacted by the Mercury, Cresswell said Mr Ball was a friend but had no idea what the money owing was in relation to.

Mr Ball told the Mercury the matter related to an investment property in Brisbane, but had been resolved.

"That has all been sorted out," he said. "There was a bit of a miscommunication there along the line, but it is all good.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23707606-13222,00.html

I know I will recieve a pasting but here is the Duff TV SFL team from the backline.

B. Post Curran Joker
HB Kamerick Blight Glenn
C Baker Hall Piuselli
HF Foale Sharman Cassidy
F Ross M.Williamson Degoyer
Rucks Carver Geappon Kean
Inter Andrews, Fitze, Devine, Delaney if fit.

A few words on the boys;

Post - Reliable, experienced not flash but good in a heated game.
Curran - Best fullback in the state
Joker - Capable of anything can play forward and back
Kamerick - Smart experienced defender, cool under pressure
Blight - Fitness is back, ex VFL, make him Captain
Glenn - Experienced, still has pace and kicks goals. Would set things up with Kamerick and Curran.
Baker - Played in big games, having a great year and should play
Hall - Best player in the state
Piuselli - Coming into his prime, fast. Would link well with fellow Pies
Foale - Most unassuming player in SFL. Could play VFL. Must play.
Sharman - Strong, back up ruckman and kicks goals
Cassidy - A real goer and in form
Ross - Has kicked 20 goals and deserves the spot
M.Williamson - Leading goalkicker in comp. This game would decide his future
DeGoyer - Great player at this level. Vice Captain
Carver - Best ruckman in the comp coming into his prime, kicks goals down forward. Player who plays with pride
M.Geappon - In and Under, tough , experienced, Must play.
Kean - Will Captain Glenorchy one day. Would be a big game for him, young player with pace
Andrews - Goes all day. 2nd if not 1st ruckman
Fitze - No one deserves a spot more than this bloke
Devine - How could you leave him out?
Delaney - Has the talent and would be keen to prove a point. Not sure of his form or fitness

SFL by 21 points

Thats funny I heard the same thing the other day. So dolamiteblue, you were on the same flights, funny that!!!! Were you over there promoting the fading Tassie Devil?????

Looks like someone didn't keep it in house.

Speaking of peanuts, Cressa should nearly be on his last legs.

i sell insurance footyguard , what do you do ?
i think its funny how things can be twisted and manufactured in a way that makes it appealing for someone to read , its commonly known as stretching the truth.
any how , how do we think the devils will go this week?

i sell insurance footyguard , what do you do ?
i think its funny how things can be twisted and manufactured in a way that makes it appealing for someone to read , its commonly known as stretching the truth.
any how , how do we think the devils will go this week?

Funny that several posters on here have informed me that you are in fact a Devils player with the initials BS, thus are trying to cover up the continuous booze fuelled stuff ups of your beloved coach!

Like the majority on here care more about how Puckapunyal 3rd's go than the Devils.

Like the majority on here care more about how Puckapunyal 3rd's go than the Devils

Couldnt put it better myself, get no support from me until local footy is looked after... I might be waiting a while

Hope the Devils have a win this week

About time some of you blokes stopped taking so many bitter pills ;)

Footy needs promoting full stop- local footy needs more investment tell where this is not the case? Ask someone in Ballarat or Adelaide and they would say the same thing

Good effort with the SFL team Duff - looking forward to the game except that is not played down here -

Are any of the games worth going along to this week?