Tasmanian Football Thread

Resigned or pushed out the door?

Must be the latter.

His treatment of players, his 'if we win I'll take the credit and if we lose it's the players fault' approach to the game, is drunken behaviour and his manner in general left a lot to be desired in my opinion.

Have had the 'honour' of running into Darren a few times, and he's come across as a bloke you wouldn't give a minute of your time to.

Thank heavens for that, and now to get that clown Wade out of office, or at least to get him to recognise that is local football, and not the Devils, that should be his number one priority.

Sheesh, he really is determined to find that TAB ticket he was searching through bins for at the Black Buffalo last Friday then isn't he! :D

Given he was the one who got the ball rolling seeing it would be "so beneficial for the Devils" does this mean the proposed Statewide League will fall by the wayside?!

Sheesh, he really is determined to find that TAB ticket he was searching through bins for at the Black Buffalo last Friday then isn't he! :D

Given he was the one who got the ball rolling seeing it would be "so beneficial for the Devils" does this mean the proposed Statewide League will fall by the wayside?!
We can only hope.

I'm stuck for words at this news so I'll say it with smiles.
:D:D:D:D:D. LMAO

Resigned or pushed out the door?

Must be the latter.

His treatment of players, his 'if we win I'll take the credit and if we lose it's the players fault' approach to the game, is drunken behaviour and his manner in general left a lot to be desired in my opinion.

Have had the 'honour' of running into Darren a few times, and he's come across as a bloke you wouldn't give a minute of your time to.

Thank heavens for that, and now to get that clown Wade out of office, or at least to get him to recognise that is local football, and not the Devils, that should be his number one priority.

He was never going to last the year.

I dont know the kid and hope he goes well, but mate you aint going to get drafted to AFL when playing SFL REGIONAL, sorry but they are facts, couldnt see an AFL scout coming down to Tassie and watching a game at Kermandie or Cygnet or Dodges. Maybe they watch the Mariners or Devils!!

How much would you like to bet on that?

Originally Posted by Benny_
Jeremy Howe. Absolute gun. 17 year old, who should get drafted. Will be playing Devils by the end of the year.

I dont know the kid and hope he goes well, but mate you aint going to get drafted to AFL when playing SFL REGIONAL, sorry but they are facts, couldnt see an AFL scout coming down to Tassie and watching a game at Kermandie or Cygnet or Dodges. Maybe they watch the Mariners or Devils!!

NTFL general manager Ian Wotherspoon said it was rare for AFL scouts to attend NTFL games generally, unless they were observing a specific potential recruit.
However, he said AFL scouts usually attended the NTFL grand final and some AFL clubs had requested a copy of the NTFL roster for planning purposes.
Essendon's Tom Bellchambers was recruited after starring for Launceston in last year's NTFL grand final at Latrobe.
Hawthorn defender Grant Birchall, originally recruited from Devonport, also played representative football for the NTFL at under 19 level, in 2004 and 2005.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/scouts-keep-eye-on-talent/776280.aspx

Cresswell gone

Ok, Cressa is gone but I now throw these questions out (in order of importance) to everyone in the football community.

1. Who will be held accountable for the decision to appoint the former Devils coach?

2. When will Devils members of the so called Tasmanian Football Club have a voice on such matters?

3. When will the football community finally say "enough is enough" and cast a vote of no confidence in AFL Tasmania for its incompetence and poor handling of football operations in this state?

It happens in politics and most recently with Paul Lennon so how,when and just who will have the guts to stand up to the establishment and create change.

Until this happens nothing will change. We, the Tasmanian football community, will continue to be that disgruntled pissed off mob who talked about it but never acted.

So, I say to all those with far greater pull than myself, lets get the ball rolling, lets unite both North and South, stop the rot and not continue to loose focus on what we should all be about which is looking after the players, friends and sponsors of the game today and the game we want for future generations.

The time is now.

Re: Devils form

Flood said "No forwards, no quality ruckman, a lack of talls in general, no star midfielders, ordinary leaders and a poor coach."

So Flood what is a good coach in you eyes? Give Cressa a go. The set up last year was crazy with training and a very young Nth Melbourne list. How would you have gone?

Sticking with my prediction of 9 wins.

Sticking with some of the comments I made at the start of the season Duffster!!! A good coach he'll never make.

Noted you referred to your mate Cressa as a clown on another forum earlier today. What happened to giving him a go??

You change your mind more often than Kingpin bleats about the Hobart Lions (and that's saying something!).

Noted you referred to your mate Cressa as a clown on another forum earlier today. What happened to giving him a go??

Flood, I was at Tennis tonight and a bloke told me of the news. I jumped about 10 foot in the air like one of those Toyota commercials. It's been a great day.

The Examiner has a rehash of what we already know but with this statement from "Cressa

Speaking from Melbourne last night Cresswell said AFL Tasmania's unwillingness to guarantee he would be coaching the Devils next year prompted his decision to quit.
"I'm obviously a passionate person and things weren't going according to plan so I just thought it was best if I moved on now rather than at the end of the year," he said.
http://northerntasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/sports/cresswell-calls-it-quits/1245489.html
"

Flood, I was at Tennis tonight and a bloke told me of the news. I jumped about 10 foot in the air like one of those Toyota commercials. It's been a great day.
I got a text message at work tonight about Cresswell chucking it in.
My first thought was jumped-before-pushed.
Pity the rest of AFL Tasmania didn't follow suit.

Sounds like Cressa did jump before pushed.

AFL should do an investigation into AFL Tasmania and then look to get rid of S Wade.

Also, it seems like he has lost the plot especially with his SWL (that's I'm told, the Scott Wade League not the State Wide League ). As if the clubs are going to agree to something without all the cards on the table. Wade is taking the clubs and its members for fools.

I got a text message at work tonight about Cresswell chucking it in.
My first thought was jumped-before-pushed.
Pity the rest of AFL Tasmania didn't follow suit.

Was told last week by a mate of his (not that he had many) who he played superfools with last season that Cresswell was given a month to either resign or be pushed out the door.

Will be interesting to see how Mr Wade puts his always positive (we are not to blame) spin on this one?

Sounds like Cressa did jump before pushed.

AFL should do an investigation into AFL Tasmania and then look to get rid of S Wade.

Also, it seems like he has lost the plot especially with his SWL (that's I'm told, the Scott Wade League not the State Wide League ). As if the clubs are going to agree to something without all the cards on the table. Wade is taking the clubs and its members for fools.

And like that really will happen??? :rolleyes:

Just thought I'd let you know, I have forwarded the following email to Dominic Baker, Chariman of AFL Tasmania:

"Dear Mr Baker,

In light of recent events with regards to the resignation of the Tasmania Devils head coach, Darren Cresswell, I feel it is important than AFL Tasmania remain transparent in their dealings with the Tasmanian public and more importantly, Tasmania Devils members (of which I am one).

While I don't expect you to spend your days trolling through internet forums for comments relating to AFL Tasmania's involvement in local footy, I ask you, and your fellow board members, to review some of the comments on the following website. While posting under many different alias', some of these posters make up an important part of the Tasmanian football community, and I feel that there concerns provide a reliable indication of the general feeling in local football at the moment. Here is the address:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=231913&page=457

My greatest concern relates to the management ability of General Manager, Scott Wade. His arrogant, narrow-viewed visions for Tasmanian football appear to continually be at the root of problems in harmonising our state to nurture the best football and football players that we can produce.

I would appreciate if you could provide me with examples of AFL Tasmania's willingness to receive and address feedback and the governance principles which exist when delaing with the footy-loving public.

I look forward to your reply.

Kind Regards,

Ken Rosewall"

Another Cresswell story in the Mercury with a few quotes

His replacement, Devils assistant coach Lance Spaulding, was one of the first to know.
"Daryn rang me and said he was resigning," Spaulding said last night.

"It was a big surprise because it was only yesterday I was planning training with him.

"It was just bang, and he was gone."
The following quote makes it seem like there is more to the story than just lost heart in the Devils

Asked what Cresswell said about leaving, Spaulding said: "That's pretty personal. He didn't go too much into it.

"He felt that he just didn't want to go on. That was it, really. I don't go into someone else's private life."

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23813634-13222,00.html

Item in the Examiner today promoting a Film on Tasmanian Football that premiers at the State Cinema tonight made by Roar Promotions. It will be also be shown on SBS in 4 parts starting on August 27th. It highlights four footy communities - Queenstown, Beaconsfield, Woodsdale and King Island. It evidently focuses on their struggle to keep Footy alive in their area so hopefully Wade and Baker will be watching to get some pointers and see how the other half live.

Tansperancy

I think it will be very interesting to see if the local media will start asking AFL TAS the hard questions on a range of topics and concerns within the local football community.

For me its pretty easy getting on this forum and openly saying this and that about the state of play but it is time AFL TAS were made to answer the hard questions and be transparent.

- Who owns AFL TAS the AFL or someone else?
- If it's a private company then who are the share holders?
- How does one see a profit and loss statement of AFL TAS
- Who are they accountable to?
- Why are the Tassie Devils the only football team in Australia where members have no voting rights?
- Is it aware of the growing un-rest within the football community?
- Is it correct that if a player like Colin Garland gets drafted AFL TAS receives $60,000 and his home club Nth Hobart $2,000?
- Is this fair? Where does the money go?
- Is AFL TAS aware that it is common knowledge that potential sponsors have lost faith in the current administration and therefore do not associate itself with AFL Tasmania?
- Is it concerned about the growth of Soccer and what is it doing to counter this phenomenon?

I challenge all local journos all of whom I respect very much to get on the front foot, bring it out into the open and get the answers.

Tasmanian football needs to know.

I will say it again if this was politics this would not be allowed to continue.

Creswell leaves coaching void
JAMES BRESNEHAN
June 05, 2008 10:40am
THE void left by Devils coach Daryn Cresswell, who walked out on the club yesterday, has left AFL Tasmania wondering what to do about filling his shoes.
Cresswell shocked the Tasmanian football fraternity with his "I quit" bombshell at 2pm yesterday.
He is now in Melbourne, but plans a stint in Sydney in a week or so -- where he should feel right at home having played 12 seasons and 244 games with the Swans -- before returning to Tasmania later this month.
Despite a rocky road and only five wins in 26 games over two seasons, Cresswell had been expected to coach until the end of the year.
After all, he was the Tasmanian football manager, in charge of the development and direction of the game right around the state.
(was he?, I thought that was Wade. No wonder he didn't have time for coaching)
As far as options go, AFL Tasmania has three:
Install one of Cresswell's three assistant coaches -- Lance Spaulding, Manny Lynch and Richard Brown -- to see out the season. Appoint Tasmanian football's high-performance manager Nick Probert (an experienced senior coach) to the top job. Look outside Tasmanian football to see who might put up their hand mid-season to take up a "permanent" position as Devils coach. That means finish off this season and continue on with the job next year.
AFL Tasmania will decide across the weekend when chairman Dominic Baker returns from his trip to China.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23813902-3462,00.html

Cresswell shocked the Tasmanian football fraternity with his "I quit"

I know it didnt shock AFL tas as much as they say, have on very very good advise ( a board member ) that he couldnt see Cressa staying on for the whole year. 3 weeks later, its bye bye to Cressa, so for Wade to say it was a total surprise is BULL#%$@.
I know of a SFL president who was happy last night at there local hotel, he thought it was the best thing to happen in Tassie footy for years.

Re: Tansperancy

I think it will be very interesting to see if the local media will start asking AFL TAS the hard questions on a range of topics and concerns within the local football community.

For me its pretty easy getting on this forum and openly saying this and that about the state of play but it is time AFL TAS were made to answer the hard questions and be transparent.

- Who owns AFL TAS the AFL or someone else? (AFL 2 votes, SFL 1 vote, NTFL 1 vote, NTFA 1 vote)
- If it's a private company then who are the share holders? (As above)
- Who are they accountable to? (Shareholders in voting order)
- Why is the Tassie Devils the only football team in Australia where members have no voting rights? (No Idea- only became a member this year, so not sure of rights)
- Is it aware of the growing un-rest within the football community? (Haven't been for the past 2 decades, not sure why that would have changed)
- Is it aware that it is common knowledge that potential sponsors have lost faith in the current administration and therefore do not associate itself with AFL Tasmania? (As above)

I challenge all local journos all of whom I respect very much to get on the front foot, bring it out into the open and get the answers. (There in cohorts)

Tasmanian football needs to know.

I will say it again if this was politics they would be sacked.

Answers in bold

Whisper is that Cresswell is having extra-marital affairs and has flown to england today. Perhaps to be with an english belle?

Watch this space.
You are spot on, in london right now with a certain netballer from AFL TAS,not much else to say about , his actions speak for him

I knew when Wade said "When I woke up today (Wednesday) I expected Daryn to coach the Devils for the rest of the season" that it was pretty clear DC wasn't gonna be the man in '09!

Cresswell wasn't happy to not be guaranteed the job next year? What's he expect with 5 wins in 26 games?

Winning ratio = 19.23%