Tasmanian Football Thread

Does anyone know the result of the Premier Reserve Elimination final at Nort Hobart today, between CLARENCE and BRIGHTON, as the game was called off during the third quater. A lot of reports apparently.

bout 5 minutes into the third old boy, clarence up by fifty and she was on for young and old with both sides at fault. even the runners got into it in the end. the umpires threw the ball up to get the game going but the players werent intersting. a few brighton supporters had a crack at the instigating clarence player when she was called off. in true clarence fashion though they come back on after the game and sung the song. should be atleast 5-8 players from each team reported and rubbed out. pretty silly from clarence since they were winning so easy

Tasmania 5.1 10.4 13.5 18.5 (113)
North Ballarat 5.3 6.4 14.5 20.11 (131)

GOALS:
Tasmania: Shackleton 5 Koulouriotis 3 Geappen 3 Cornelius 2 Cassidy Thurley Plummer Hardy Street
North Ballarat: Smith 7 Edwards 4 McMahon 3 Spolding 2 Swallow Stephenson Grima Clifton

BEST:
Tasmania: Street Robinson Setchell Koulouriotis Shackleton Thurley
North Ballarat: Sansbury Moloney Smith Clifton Roach Stephenson

Menza, the Lions were pretty awesome today and trust me, if they get through, you guys will have your hands full!

They're a very good side!

But before anyone starts, I will be very surprised if the 'Farne don't break the 16 year hoodoo!

'92 the last flag am I not correct Menz?

Yep hearing ya Barge. They are a really good side!
Should be another slug fest against the Sharks next week and expect the Lions to get over them if the game is played on the firmer North Hobart surface.
Would like to see it played at shark park again after a week of torrential rain.

Don’t suppose you ran into the silver fox from the Uni Reserves while you were at Anzac. Thrasher Harris. The great man walked past me at three quarter time and shared some wisdom!

'92 was that Wayne Petterd?

logo-sunday.gif

August 23rd 2008 | Fiesty Devils Fall Just Short.
By James Bresnehan - Link

With their hearts on their sleeves and bodies on the line, the emotion-driven Tasmanian Devils fell just short of one of the upsets of the VFL season at Bellerive Oval yesterday.

Sitting on the bottom of the ladder, the daring Devils came within 14 points of knocking off second-placed North Ballarat in a ripper of a contest.
That might not seem very close, but the North Melbourne-aligned North Ballarat was gifted two goals late in the final quarter when the Devils were only three points behind.
With the 1186-strong crowd chanting "Devils, Devils", the home-town heroes were dealt two cruel umpiring blows in front of goal.
On both occasions the Devils defenders were incensed, and rightly so.
It robbed the team of momentum at a critical stage, and the more polished Roosters steadied to secure the win, 20.11 (131) to 18.5 (113).
In the coach's box, Lance Spaulding felt disappointed for his players at the two dodgy decisions.
"I'm not even allowed to mention them," Spaulding said.
"Look, there were other things that went wrong - players make more mistakes than umpires do."
After the game, North Ballarat's coach Gerard FitzGerald went to the Devils' changerooms and said to Spaulding: "Your guys were terrific."
Spaulding agreed but he wanted more.
"I thought we played a good brand of footy - they were hard and stuck to our structures for most of the day. It was terrific," he said.
"But I'm disappointed because I thought we could have won the game."

In attack, Devil Luke Shackleton was a one-man wrecking ball, crashing packs, taking marks and finishing with five goals.
Ben Setchell (37 possessions) and Nathan Street (36) were super in the midfield, as was Cameron Thurley (26) down back.
Onballer Paul Koulouriotis was another strong contributor with 27 possessions and three goals, and no-one tried harder than skipper Brett Geappen, who turned himself inside out leading and chasing for his 18 touches and three goals across half-forward.
Sadly, those players might be lost to the state if the Devils, as expected, are voluntarily mothballed from the VFL in favour of the State League.
"The Devils is a fantastic program and I wish that decision could be reconsidered," Spaulding said.

It could be a historic day next Sunday when the Devils take on Box Hill at Bellerive. It will probably be Tasmania's last VFL game.

0,,6213995,00.jpg

Tasmanian Devil Kane Richter spoiled this mark for Ballarat's Aaron Edwards.

North Ballarat 20.11 (131) - Tasmanian Devils 18.5 (113)
Attendance: 1,186 at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Football Related Stories
State League Looks Likely - August 23
VFL Plea For Devils - August 23
Premier League: Roos' Forward March In Limbo - August 23
Regional League: Two Blues Pumped For Perfect Season - August 23
Regional League: Magpies Hunting Lions - August 22

did anybody see the pathetic effort put forward by Southern Cross News tonight?

close-cropped camera shots of 'Devils fans' sitting in empty stands (yes SCTV, we could still tell they were empty), interviews with old ladies about how they'll simply die without the Devils, thinly-veiled barbs directed at the Statewide League, and they even got a vox pop from some 10 year old saying the Statewide League would never work!

gutter journalism, Southern Cross.

stop peddling your agenda and start reporting FACTS
Yes, I saw this and thought much the same as you.
I was yelling at the television throughout that utter bollocks.
I thought to myself, the bloody thing's only been going 8 seasons for Christ's sake, not like it's been around for 40+ years!
Never saw any fans interviewed when Sandy Bay was closed after 53 years in the TFL!
They did with Hobart the following week mind you.
That interview with that kid was laughable, I thought, "Cobs you were still filling your pants with shit when the TFL was ended, what the f*ck would you know?!?"
Was an obvious slant towards the Devils in the reporting, and not only that but what would they expect in turning up to a Devils' match and interviewing the supporters anyway?
Old Lady: "Oh no they're a bunch of ****s the Devils, play like Steady Eddy in an egg & spoon race every week, should be gotten rid of immediately! I'm only here to do my knitting y'know!" :eek::p
Somehow I doubt it ;)

The ABC-TV broadcast was absolutely ridiculous with their open peddling of their agenda yesterday.
Messrs Bennett, Smythe and this other character who's name escapes me for the moment all needed little skirts and pom-pom's they were openly wailing that much.
It was embarrassing. As was having Tim Hazell acting as boundary rider asking dumb questions all day and at one stage trying to coerce VFL CEO Peter Schwab into being critical of AFL Tasmania for looking increasingly likely to be axing the concept.
Schwab handled it well I thought and made Hazell look like an inquisitive 6-year old in comparison!
It was like a team of cheer-leaders on there!
Not to mention Blair Brownless' ridiculous comments on ABC Radio, made him look like an 8-year old bogan kid that would come out with something like "Oim not followin' da Staitwoid League c-c-cos It-It-It's schtewpid!!!11!!"

A poor day for our media yesterday. :thumbsdown:

Don’t suppose you ran into the silver fox from the Uni Reserves while you were at Anzac. Thrasher Harris. The great man walked past me at three quarter time and shared some wisdom!

'92 was that Wayne Petterd?

Jeez Menza you could be called old Silverado yourself with all the grey fur on your scone.

By the way, congrats on the new addition to your clan.

Ha ha, old Thrasher! Is amazingly still 32 and looks 52! Must be all the stress of not having enough room under his mattress to hide his money!

Always had a soft spot for the Sharks, did Thrash. Saw him at both Claremont v Sharks games this year actually.

Geez that's a bit harsh Cadoras, old Menza isn't too different in his hair colour to the good old days of 20 years ago!

Mind you I did have my sunnies on when I saw him yesterday!

Harris on the other hand ........

Pedro coached in '97 - I have a funny feeling the last 'Farne Premiership coach may have been a former coach of a number of posters on here - Phil "Bugsy" Burridge!

There's a photo in the Anzac Park Bar where he coached a flag, not certain what year it was though, possibly before that time.

What I do know is '89 '90 '91 Claremont went on to lose the Grand Finals by 2, 4 and 6 points which drew them much sympathy from their opponents at the time!

Went on to win 4 in a Row from 1992-95 so I suppose Lindisfarne's last flag wasn't 1992.

Think now it may have actually been '89 as Sorell was '90 and I'm reasonably sure Lauderdale was '91.

bout 5 minutes into the third old boy, clarence up by fifty and she was on for young and old with both sides at fault. even the runners got into it in the end. the umpires threw the ball up to get the game going but the players werent intersting. a few brighton supporters had a crack at the instigating clarence player when she was called off. in true clarence fashion though they come back on after the game and sung the song. should be atleast 5-8 players from each team reported and rubbed out. pretty silly from clarence since they were winning so easy

Pretty silly from clarence?? What do you mean? We are susposed 2 stand there and get our heads punched in and not do anything? Yes we did start it but they inflamed the whole situation by every one of there players running in to try and be heroes and punch peoples heads in. And also i can not see how one player from both teams can be reported for "engaging in a meele"?? How the hell can they pick two people out of it?

if you read what he said it was silly from clarence for starting it as they were 50 points up in an eliminatio final.....

So you had a good view from the bench?

Didn't see it but from all reports I hear the Clarence player did start it.. Not saying that is true, but if it is, I would be very dirty on him for dragging a team into an absolute shambolic state.. May as well not even turn up for North Hobart as they will make your rectum bleed..

But of course if my source is false.. I sincerely apologise..

What I want to know on behalf of those of us who have posted on here for the last few years is Where have you been Kempos?

Haven't heard from you in ages!

Now you've graduated from the Underage to the Reserves was this forum beneath you til now?

Mind you I agree 100% with what I highlighted, please tell me how there's a brawl so bad a game has to be called off and there's two players booked?

Is it fair to say the Brighton boys kept a fair distance from that renowned thrashing machine, Michael Oakford?

Also, how involved was the former Rokeby JFC Captain, one J Westbury?

Always loved a good melee back in his younger years.

So you had a good view from the bench?

Didn't see it but from all reports I hear the Clarence player did start it.. Not saying that is true, but if it is, I would be very dirty on him for dragging a team into an absolute shambolic state.. May as well not even turn up for North Hobart as they will make your rectum bleed..

But of course if my source is false.. I sincerely apologise..

Hangable offence in these parts pal! :p

Are you saying your info is Rodney Callinan started the whole thing? :confused:

I'm not claiming to know, I was at Huonville watching them have a training run for the Preliminary Final. :(

Tongue in cheek sir.. I just recieved word my source is still hungover and can't remember the seniors so I think I may have stuck my foot in it this time.. But North will certainly *******e them in a way they have never felt before..

VFL - Round 19
North Ballarat 20.11 (131) - Tasmanian Devils 18.5 (113)

SFL Premier League - Qualifying Final
(Sen) North Hobart 23.13 (151) - Clarence 15.9 (99)
(Res) Lauderdale 9.11 (65) - North Hobart 8.11 (59)
(U19) Glenorchy 9.6 (60) - Lauderdale 6.9 (45)
(U17 2SF) New Norfolk 14.13 (97) - Lauderdale 4.7 (31)

SFL Premier League - Elimination Final
(Sen) Lauderdale 18.5 (113) - Hobart Lions 9.12 (66)
(Res) Clarence 11.14 (80) - Brighton 2.5 (17) ***
(U19) Clarence 11.11 (77) - Kingborough 11.6 (72)
(U17 1SF) Kingborough 10.10 (70) - Clarence 6.6 (42)

*** This match was abandoned after 5-minutes of the third quarter due to fighting.
Footage seen here courtesy of Duff TV.

SFL Regional League - 2nd Semi Final
(Sen) Lindisfarne 22.11 (143) - Dodges Ferry 11.9 (75)
(Res) Sorell 21.10 (136) - Lindisfarne 13.7 (85)
(U17) Claremont 10.18 (78) - Cygnet 11.3 (69)

SFL Regional League - 1st Semi Final
(Sen) Huonville Lions 25.14 (164) - Claremont 12.5 (77)
(Res) Huonville Lions 13.16 (94) - Central Hawks 9.7 (61)
(U17) Huonville Lions 11.15 (81) - Kermandie 7.5 (47)

NTFL - Qualifying Final
(Sen) Burnie Dockers 16.13 (109) - Ulverstone 14.14 (98)
(Res) Launceston 10.17 (77) - Burnie Dockers 9.13 (67)
(U19) Ulverstone 18.13 (121) - Burnie Dockers 13.9 (87)

NTFL - Elimination Final
(Sen) Sth Launceston 19.12 (126) - Nth Launceston 13.8 (86)
(Res) Latrobe 11.13 (79) - Devonport 5.17 (47)
(U19) Nth Launceston 9.5 (59) - Sth Launceston 6.11 (47)

NTFA Division One - Round 18
Deloraine 25.14 (164) - Hillwood 8.14 (62)
Scottsdale 25.12 (162) - Bridgenorth 10.8 (68)
Longford 16.12 (108) - Rocherlea 16.11 (107)
George Town 14.13 (97) - Bracknell 11.19 (85)

NTFA Division Two - Preliminary Final
(Sen) Tamar Cats 23.11 (149) - Old Scotch 12.12 (84)
(Res) St Patrick's 14.11 (95) - Fingal Valley 11.14 (80)

Old Scholars FA - Round 19
DOSA 20.7 (127) - OHA 19.9 (123)
Richmond 20.18 (138) - St Virgil's 17.9 (111)
Hutchins 23.16 (154) - University 11.9 (75)

Ladder: OHA (60), RI (52), SVC (44), DOSA (40) | HUT (32), UNI (0)
Leading Goalkickers: S.Bowering (OHA) 117, A.Palfreyman (HUT) 77, M.Parker (SVC) 66.

Reserves
DOSA 10.11 (71) - OHA 10.11 (71)
St Virgil's 17.18 (120) - Richmond 8.12 (60)
Hutchins 16.9 (105) - University 6.7 (43)

Oatlands District FA - Preliminary Final
(Sen) Swansea 21.18 (144) - Campania 2.2 (14)

Football Related Stories
Premier League: Reserves Final Abandoned After Brawl - August 24
Regional League: Stunning Start Mens Blue Day For Sharks - August 24
State League Looks Likely - August 23
VFL Plea For Devils - August 23
Premier League: Roos' Forward March In Limbo - August 23
Regional League: Two Blues Pumped For Perfect Season - August 23
Regional League: Magpies Hunting Lions - August 22

Tongue in cheek sir.. I just recieved word my source is still hungover and can't remember the seniors so I think I may have stuck my foot in it this time.. But North will certainly *******e them in a way they have never felt before..

Everyone i've talked to about it, seems Rodney Callinan name pops up alot as the instigator.

I would like to think it is very George Clooney like, and thanks Cadoras the new bub is going well.

No probs Menz,

You might want to wear some of those dodgy fleabitten possum fur merchandise that you have been peddling on your other blog when you parade yourself around North Hobart oval during Grand Final day ;)

http://www.rawelementz.com/

Maybe Duff can film a promo of you decked out in possum thermals, beanie and mittens, with the great man himself Barge providing background comments. :eek::D

Everyone i've talked to about it, seems Rodney Callinan name pops up alot as the instigator.

The former enforcer from DOSA, Dodges Ferry, Sorell and now Clarence......where to next year?

Can't really see him as an instigator though......more like a retaliator.

If someone decked you, you would do the same back Monna?

Yes, that footage is from the ''88 Statewide Grand Final.

Christ, weren't they ducking for cover!

Shocking stuff really.

LOL I was at this game too. That was a pearler of a brawl that one!
All 17,878 people at that match roaring their heads off and it seemed like the entire population of Devonport had made their way down for that game.
Glenorchy were super confident after smashing the Burnie Hawks in the Prelim the week before by 110-points and Devvo had been awesome all year and had a gun team.
Lots of pride in that game and Devonport were just too good and raced away in the end when the rain came.
Only brawl as good as that one was Glenorchy - Sandy Bay in the '86 Grand Final.
Sounds like the dulcit tones of Colin McNiff from the old Tas-TV commentating the brawl.
One of the greatest years ever in Coastal football was 1988, with Devonport being the first side in 109 years to take the M.A.S McNair TFL Premiership Cup outside of Southern Tasmania, the Burnie Hawks making it all the way to the Preliminary Final only to be plagued by their North Hobart Oval hoodoo once again.
The Hawks & Blues also setting a Statewide League roster match attendance record of 5,423 at West Park earlier in that season, which stood until 2000, such was the rivalry at the time.
And East Devonport won the NTFL premiership that year as well, their last flag, capping a huge year for the Coast. Things went pearshaped very quickly after that however...
Just 11 months later, Devonport were on the end of a 161-point hiding at the same ground, to North Hobart.

Geez those were the days though, listen to that crowd.:thumbsu:

I went down that day too, only SW final I ever went to (I barrack for South Launceston, so the urge to watch finals footy was never so great for me!)...

LOL I was at this game too. That was a pearler of a brawl that one!
All 17,878 people at that match roaring their heads off and it seemed like the entire population of Devonport had made their way down for that game.
Glenorchy were super confident after smashing the Burnie Hawks in the Prelim the week before by 110-points and Devvo had been awesome all year and had a gun team.
Lots of pride in that game and Devonport were just too good and raced away in the end when the rain came.
Only brawl as good as that one was Glenorchy - Sandy Bay in the '86 Grand Final.
Sounds like the dulcit tones of Colin McNiff from the old Tas-TV commentating the brawl.
One of the greatest years ever in Coastal football was 1988, with Devonport being the first side in 109 years to take the M.A.S McNair TFL Premiership Cup outside of Southern Tasmania, the Burnie Hawks making it all the way to the Preliminary Final only to be plagued by their North Hobart Oval hoodoo once again.
The Hawks & Blues also setting a Statewide League roster match attendance record of 5,423 at West Park earlier in that season, which stood until 2000, such was the rivalry at the time.
And East Devonport won the NTFL premiership that year as well, their last flag, capping a huge year for the Coast. Things went pearshaped very quickly after that however...
Just 11 months later, Devonport were on the end of a 161-point hiding at the same ground, to North Hobart.

Geez those were the days though, listen to that crowd.:thumbsu:

Glad you guys think light of that game as well as AFL Tasmania inducting it to hall of fame for being a memorable GF. Just a thought for you all, Norchy had a young guy called White I believe?? playing that day and he was king hit behind play by a very brave, ex bay player who now is high up in the AFL with the Hawks I believe?? Has anybody ever cared to ask what ever happened to this young fella?? from memory he was quite a good player but I don't believe he played football again, or at least if he did he never amounted to much. Gee wonder if it was a result of the blow he sustained. But I suppose that is all part of footy isn't it, if you can't get a kick destroy the life and health of the bloke who is getting one:thumbsdown: