• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

I remember just before the Devils were formed, there was talk the Northern Bombers,in the north, and Clarence in the south wanted to form teams to play in the VFL,at least this would have given all players a better chance of playing at a higher level.

The DEVILS should play at Nort Hobart, and then they would have a real home ground advantage.This is still a terrific ground for atmophere, this is why it is the best ground for finals footy in HOBART. Play on SUNDAY.
Agree with you there Old Lion. There is no atmosphere at all in these bigger grounds when there is only a couple of thousand people attending. Put the same number at North Hobart and the atmosphere is completely different. When you look at the grounds in other areas of the VFL they are very similar to Nth Hobart, and cost wise it would have to be better for Devils finances.

If you are such a North-Westerner why are you scouting for a ruckman for a southern side?

quote=roorat
Since Tassie is the only football state where only 39% of it's population reside in the capital city(189,400/482,000. 72% of Vic reside in Melbourne, 70% of SA reside in Adelaide, 69% of WA reside in Perth, 62% of NSW reside in Sydney, etc etc.
We've done the North/South thing to death tho so can we just leave it alone?

Since you're huge on percentages, I've spent 92.875% of my life on the NW coast. Hope this clears it up 4 u rat boy.
perhaps you should have included the ACT as 98% reside in CANBERRA.

Re: NTFL footy - too many sides

ill throw in my point of view.. playing footy in launceston for afl is the best option as facility wise and geographic suit everyone. in regards to the devils why not call it the hobart devils cause truly it aint a tassie team if you have to relocate to play their. i do think hobart is the best place for the devils though and will back bink bink up on this one. employment wise its the best place to relocate to. though if you dont have guys playing as they cant due to work, i dont think then its truely a state team, hence call it the hobart devils
Ewwwwww I don't want that lot using my team's name as their own, it was bad enough when the scum up in Argyle Street did it in the late 90's. :thumbsdown:
Launceston seems to want to be the central focus of footy in the state, I wish for once they'd take the Devils with them!
If they really have to play down here play them at North Hobart on Sunday's and call them the Southern Devils.
In my opinion they only play over the river as a sort of convoluted form of penis extension anyway ('Look at our ground down here Mr Demetriou, it's got big modern stands!').
Look at most of the VFL grounds that are used, North Hobart is still better than most of them, has a shitload more atmosphere than Bellerive and they actually can win there (unlike 'The Jail').
I still don't see why the Devils don't sort of go on tour by playing games at smaller venues across the State if they really want to get everyone into taking an interest in them.
If they can play on some of the shit tips that they do in Melbourne surely they haven't got an excuse not to take footy to Longford or Scottsdale or Ulvie or Burnie or Cygnet or New Norfolk or wherever.
Play the match as the main drawcard of the day's proceedings with the local game as the curtain raiser which would raise desperately needed funds for footy in each town/district with the bigger crowds, increased bar/kiosk takings etc.
Something different, but would require less ego pampering and you'd have to wonder whether AFL Tas would want any of the local clubs profiting from the Devils in any way, shape or form.
Still, it'd be a good exercise in PR for them and would go some of the way to proving whether or not they are there to actually help Tasmanian football in general or just to line their own pockets and to pump their own tyres up.

I agree the afl games do hurt but the way they play this keeping of game by kicking it backwards instead of going straight down the ground and backing your team mate to beat his opposition player might bring back supporters to real club football,and if AFL TAS care they wont play Devils games on Saturdays and this might give local clubs a chance of survival,they might even get a suprise and see more at there games on Sundays by not forcing people to choose.

Devils games on Saturdays aren't doing much damage to the SFL. Crowds at most games are putting the devils to shame.

Devils take it statewide

KINGPIN SAID " I still don't see why the Devils don't sort of go on tour by playing games at smaller venues across the State if they really want to get everyone into taking an interest in them.
If they can play on some of the shit tips that they do in Melbourne surely they haven't got an excuse not to take footy to Longford or Scottsdale or Ulvie or Burnie or Cygnet or New Norfolk or wherever."

Surely the Devils should play a few Sunday games at Nth Hobart? Isn't is just logical to play 2-3 games at the heart of footy in this state. Guaranteed a bigger crowd and a better day for all plus it's better to film from as the angle is rather perfect for a p...v

What's the go as a member with voting on these issues or is one not allowed to cast a vote at the TFC?

Re: Devils take it statewide

Surely the Devils should play a few Sunday games at Nth Hobart? Isn't is just logical to play 2-3 games at the heart of footy in this state. Guaranteed a bigger crowd and a better day for all plus it's better to film from as the angle is rather perfect for a p...v
Well you'd think 2 or 3 at North Hobart yes.
They only play about 9 home matches a year and there aren't that many other grounds that would be capable of hosting a game like that.
Besides, they'd only really need a bigger capacity ground if they were winning games, losing and the crowd would fit into Snug.

Duff TV said:
What's the go as a member with voting on these issues or is one not allowed to cast a vote at the TFC?
Not 100% sure but from what someone that I used to work with who used to be a member was saying was that you have no rights on any issue relating to them, even if you paid for a membership.
From memory that's why he chucked his membership in.
May have changed since then.
I'd rather buy Sorbent personally.

Can any of you Hawk supporters add any detail to the Itinerary below. Its off the Hawks website but no details on times or venues.

Community Camps will be held from Tuesday 5 February - Friday 8 February 2008. Come meet the Hawks at:

Hobart
King Island
Burnie
Devonport
Queenstown
St Helens

Clinics will be held during the day and the players will attend fundraising dinners in the evening

Wednesday 6 February 2008
Launceston
Youth and coaching forums will be held in the evening

Thursday 7 February 2008
Training session (Aurora Stadium)
Superclinic (Aurora Stadium)
Memberships and merchandise available at the ground

Friday 8 February 2008
Intra-Club practice match (Aurora Stadium)

I would just like some one to tell me if AFL TAS care so much about the Premier league why the Devils play football on saturdays locally and damage and prevent the local crowds from maybe attending SFL games. Go play on Sundays Devils ,we dont get many people at local comps as it is so please dont try and take the crowds as well as the best players from each club,put a little bit back in,its not all about taking and giving nothing back.Poorer standard of football of course, but it is still our local comp that we have all followed for years with hated rilvary amongst all clubs.Save it dont destroy it

the problem afl tas have with playing on sunday though is junior footy... a lot of the kids are playing and cant make games.

as for crowd numbers, i do believe when they made the finals afew yrs back bellerive got over 10,000??? support is there when they are winning. like anything fans wanna see their side get up

Can any of you Hawk supporters add any detail to the Itinerary below. Its off the Hawks website but no details on times or venues.

Community Camps will be held from Tuesday 5 February - Friday 8 February 2008. Come meet the Hawks at:

Hobart
King Island
Burnie
Devonport
Queenstown
St Helens

Clinics will be held during the day and the players will attend fundraising dinners in the evening

Wednesday 6 February 2008
Launceston
Youth and coaching forums will be held in the evening

Thursday 7 February 2008
Training session (Aurora Stadium)
Superclinic (Aurora Stadium)
Memberships and merchandise available at the ground

Friday 8 February 2008
Intra-Club practice match (Aurora Stadium)

• ALL COMMUNITY CLINICS WILL BE HELD AT 1pm
  • SUPER CLINIC @ Aurora stadium will start at 11.00am
  • INTRA CLUB MATCH @ Aurora Stadium will start at 10.30am
  • COACHING & YOUTH Forums to be held at 7.30pm
Hope this helps

Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in QLD and play in the AFLQ.

little snippet in today's Herald Sun telling us that Nathan Grima's done his ACL and is likely gone for the season

terrible news for a player who's worked so hard to get his AFL chance :thumbsdown:

In the Examiner today, Scott Stephens has told the Devils he is not interested in playing VFL Football in 2008 and has signed with Launceston. Launceston has also recently signed Gary Shipton and has clearances for Shannon Baker(Wynyard) and Sonny Whiting(South Launceston)
Other reported signings,
Ulverstone; Mark Harris(Qld), Sam Lovatt
Devonport; Nick Leedham.

Shannon Bakes possibly the guy you're looking for from Wynyard roorat?
Correct! Thanks - typo and congrats on posting our 6,000th reply
See if I can get these right
Northern Bombers;
Still negotiating for; Darren Crawford & Sam Whish-Wilson(Ulverstone),Kristian Higgs(Devonport) and Callum Newman(Latrobe)
Clearances obtained for;
Zane Littlejohn(latrobe), Simon Spencer(Glenorchy)

Shannon Bakes possibly the guy you're looking for from Wynyard roorat?

Shannon Bakes is the dude. Ran 16-6 on the beep test recently. Former runner up in Baldock Medal in 2005. Will win the thing if his body doesn't fall apart. Sticky tape is holding it together.

No one will match him athletically. Respected by those that know NTFL footy.

Launceston are going to be hard to toss again this year with Bakes and Sonny Whiting, plus Derb and Stephens for the full year.

North will also improve dramatcally if they can get all the players they're after signed.

Shippy Went to tafe with him last year Whats he like on the footy Oval
??

Played against him before he left Launceston a few years back. Was a dynamic, versatile flanker. Apparently he's put on a bit of beef, but some of the Launi connections would be better qualified to comment on this. Rep squad member too.

Here's a new talking point. Think about these....

2008 tips for:
a) Premiership
b) League Best and Fairest
c) Leading Goal Kicker
d) Player to watch/most improved/under the radar

Any league around the state..... Comments with predictions are good too!

NTFL
a) Launceston
b) Sam Whish-Wilson tied with Shannon Bakes
c) Adam Derbashire
d) Jacob Hislop

Here's a new talking point. Think about these....

2008 tips for:
a) Premiership
b) League Best and Fairest
c) Leading Goal Kicker
d) Player to watch/most improved/under the radar

Any league around the state..... Comments with predictions are good too!

NTFL
a) Launceston
b) Sam Whish-Wilson tied with Shannon Bakes
c) Adam Derbashire
d) Jacob Hislop

derba will kick 140 goals this yr. the mans a freak. unless he comes back to devils later in the yr which is a possibility.

sammy WW is playing devils as well so would need to play well in those games he is with the bombers/robins to win medal!