Tassie crowd support

theonico

Nov 21, 2008
geelong
Seeing the low crowd of 12600 made me think what are the locals waiting for and do they really support AFL, maybe they have become complacent and don't want to commit to the club and the code down there. Maybe they just want their own club. In any case hawthorn make a mint out of the arrangement, have a great win loss record there and have secured a generation of hawk fans potentially.

Do we commit to launceston long term or come back to a Victorian bass club for all home games?

I don't think hawthorn could do any more in the community down there, we have really embraced the region as part of the hawks family, but have they??

To be far, it was on at a poor time, and isn't it the 8th or 9th time we have played Freo down there?
I am not sure if I would be rushing out for that game.

I know the reasons behind them getting the games they do down there, but still think they should get a couple of better games.
I mean Freo, Dogs and GWS are all they get this year? Pretty poor

I was quite disappointed; the ground capacity isn't large & the boys only play in Launceston 4 games a season. You really feel the folks of Tasmania should be pre-ordering tix to see these AFL games, especially with the success Hawthorn are experiencing ATM.

Reading the Tassie papers this morning, a lot of soul searching about why crowds seem to be getting lower in the last few years

Then they show a table of the seven lowest attendances at York park, and six of the seven were games involving Freo, going back to 2005.

There's your smoking gun.

It's time to end the deal. It's a disgrace when there are 50,000 paid up Hawthorn members in Melbourne that would have loved to go to watch the Hawks yesterday yet were denied the opportunity to go because of this ridiculous deal with the Tasmanian government. Yet we had to watch the game on tv while there were thousands of empty seats in the stands.

The club have done their best for over a decade to promote the game in Tassie yet I reckon they can't do anymore. It doesn't matter what club we're playing, if you're a true supporter you go and watch, especially if you only get the chance four times a year.

The fact is that most Tasmanians have a team they support and it doesn't matter what the club does down there, people are gonna stick by their club, especially with the amount of tv coverage these days making it easier to follow the club of your choice. I bet if we played Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton or Essendon in Tassie our supporters would be outnumbered 3 to 1.

It is embarrassing for the club and galling for it's loyal Victorian supporters to see the empty stands we saw yesterday and regularly see when Hawthorn plays in Launceston. Surely, if the club wants to be regarded as a "big club" they would be better off playing all their games to decent crowds at the MCG rather than selling out to an apathetic population in Tasmania.

We can only hope that the Tasmaian government will wise up and realise that this deal is not value for money, end the deal, and put us all out of our misery.

Seeing the low crowd of 12600 made me think what are the locals waiting for and do they really support AFL, maybe they have become complacent and don't want to commit to the club and the code down there. Maybe they just want their own club. In any case hawthorn make a mint out of the arrangement, have a great win loss record there and have secured a generation of hawk fans potentially.

Do we commit to launceston long term or come back to a Victorian bass club for all home games?

I don't think hawthorn could do any more in the community down there, we have really embraced the region as part of the hawks family, but have they??
Time to give up this arrangement down there once and for all IMO .Too cold and our players always seem to get injured .Besides i'm sick of seeing the word Tasmania plastered across the front of our jumper.

You could ask where the Fremantle supporters were. I don't think I've ever seen the visitors stand so empty before.

And yes, people are getting tired of seeing the same crappy teams down here. At least we get the Doggies, that's a slight change.

It's time to end the deal. It's a disgrace when there are 50,000 paid up Hawthorn members in Melbourne that would have loved to go to watch the Hawks yesterday yet were denied the opportunity to go because of this ridiculous deal with the Tasmanian government. Yet we had to watch the game on tv while there were thousands of empty seats in the stands.

The club have done their best for over a decade to promote the game in Tassie yet I reckon they can't do anymore. It doesn't matter what club we're playing, if you're a true supporter you go and watch, especially if you only get the chance four times a year.

The fact is that most Tasmanians have a team they support and it doesn't matter what the club does down there, people are gonna stick by their club, especially with the amount of tv coverage these days making it easier to follow the club of your choice. I bet if we played Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton or Essendon in Tassie our supporters would be outnumbered 3 to 1.

It is embarrassing for the club and galling for it's loyal Victorian supporters to see the empty stands we saw yesterday and regularly see when Hawthorn plays in Launceston. Surely, if the club wants to be regarded as a "big club" they would be better off playing all their games to decent crowds at the MCG rather than selling out to an apathetic population in Tasmania.

We can only hope that the Tasmaian government will wise up and realise that this deal is not value for money, end the deal, and put us all out of our misery.

Do you go to all the games at the MCG?

And at Etihad?

I have addressed this already today in the autopsy thread, however, suggesting, as someone has in this same old same old thread, that 50,000 members would turn up to a match in Melbourne (probably at Etihad) between these 2 sides is laughable.

If Tassie has 8000 Hawk members, and we get 12000, then a corresponding match in Melb should get high 30000's.

Fat chance of that.

Cool story bro.

Where do you get the 50 000 Melbourne members from?

There are 9000 members from Tassie are you saying there are no Hawk members from SA,WA,Qld,ect ect ect.

By your logic 50 000 people would go to the MCG to watch Hawks v Freo not counting any Freo supporters or any traveling Hawk supporters turning up.

I would say a crowd of 35 000 would be a big crowd for Hawks v Freo game in Melbourne, so are you saying at least 15 000 Hawks would not turn up?

Cool story bro.

Where do you get the 50 000 Melbourne members from?

There are 9000 members from Tassie are you saying there are no Hawk members from SA,WA,Qld,ect ect ect.

By your logic 50 000 people would go to the MCG to watch Hawks v Freo not counting any Freo supporters or any traveling Hawk supporters turning up.

I would say a crowd of 35 000 would be a big crowd for Hawks v Freo game in Melbourne, so are you saying at least 15 000 Hawks would not turn up?
How many of the 8000 Tassie members are from Melbourne? Out of our 65K members 8k from Tasmania (2k prob from melbourne), with a maximum 3k from other states leaves around 55k Melbourne members. Our side is full of stars and is traveling as well as we have since late eighties early 90's and we get 12k on a Saturday afternoon. Time to bring a couple of Hawthorn games home.

I found it amazing that hand-me-downs were treated like gold for such a long time. No surprise that games that are commercially unattractive in Melbourne are now being seen the same way in Tasmania. The best thing is we got bang or our buck as a bottom team void of superstars pre-2007. Time to come home and compete with the big boys for a major sponsor that's not a state government.

Given the afl seems to want us out we should leave on our terms.

Perhaps go with two games there for a few years to ease the wrench

The real problem is fixturing by the AFL. Even superstars like Franklin and Rioli cannot, by themselves, attract a full house. There has to be another incentive which is the game itself. Does anybody in Tasmania care about Fremantle?

Another point is that most Taswegians would have supported another club prior to Hawthorn's commitment and it is difficult (even impossible) for supporters to switch allegiances. I can vouch for that impossibility. Most know I am from Brisbane but I could not care less about Brisbane or Gold Coast. I am Hawthorn and always will be.

Attendances overall seem to be down from the first couple of years. Maybe there was an initial novelty in seeing AFL games live but then fans became disenchanted with the second rate games offered by the AFL. Add to that the continuous drive for Tasmania to have it's own team and it becomes a very difficult market.

It must be extremely frustrating for members based in Melbourne to see these games, although second rate, played elsewhere when they could be home games played in Melbourne. But the mighty dollar rules and the Hawthorn Football Club must be supported by their members in taking the initiative to expand their market.

If only the AFL supported Hawthorn in it's endeavors by offering first class games instead of the fluff that is currently offered.

Just another thought... Are admittance costs much higher than in Melbourne?

Seeing the low crowd of 12600 made me think what are the locals waiting for and do they really support AFL, .............??

And how many of the crowd were Victorians over for the weekend?
Also, were the local footy league playing at the time as well? That's an extra couple of thousand right there!

Hawthorn vs Fremantle
Round 11, 2011
Crowd: 31,925

It's time to end the MCG deal. It's a disgrace when there are 8,000 paid up Hawthorn members in Tassie that would have loved to go to watch the Hawks play Fremantle yet were denied the opportunity to go because of this ridiculous deal with the MCG. Yet we had to watch the game on tv while there were thousands of empty seats in the stands.

:rolleyes:

Yeah moving the Fremantle game back to Victoria is a proven winner. :thumbsu:

I think it's pretty simple. The League has been around for over 100 years and most of us were born into our clubs or chose them at a very young age. If we've had any success in Tasmania (or Launceston), then we won't really see the flow on effect of those who chose to be hawks (as kids) for a number of years.

It would be interesting to see see how many adult supporters have chosen to support us or go to the game merely because we are playing there. Obviously not too many!

To put it simply I used to live right opposite VFL Park and unless the Hawks were playing, I never had the inclination to go and get my Junior Supporters Club card stamped! It didn't matter if it was Carey, Kernahan or anyone, if they weren't wearing the brown and gold then I wasn't there!

All local sport was on. Junior and senior. Statewide teams all playing. Early start???? Why? I have 2 kids playing sport in the morning and live an hour away. Got to my seat as the players run onto the ground. Many others would say too hard racing round trying to get there in time to see a Ross Lyon coached Freo again without their top players.

Play the game as a twilight Sat or on Sunday. It's not hard to get another 2000-3000 people there. Fixturing......

Tassie crowd support