News Taylor Adams coming to Pies? Hine: "Yeah, I think so"

What do you reckon about this drawn out trade?

Does something like this work for you .... I think I had read GWS were trying to grab a first rounder out of you to go with Shaw to give up Adams.. Basically is an 8 pick slide back down the order (5 pick slide really as Norths pick is committed, one of the picks is committed, and it sounds like you and West Coast may already know who they intend to pick at 11)

Port: 14 -> GWS for 21 + 22
GWS: 14 + Adams -> Collingwood for Shaw and 6
Port: 22 -> Brisbane for Polec

jennifer-lawrence-10.gif

Fair enough, I assume you think the Adams/Shaw difference in value is quite minor ?
Look at it this way, we traded away picks to get Pick 6 to be closer to the action. Why would we then trade that for pick 14 for someone who has nominated us as their preferred club.

As Hine said, both clubs are getting something out of this. GWS are getting a known A grader, premierships player with 4 year left in him. We are getting a young first round pick who could be a 10+ yr player.

Does something like this work for you .... I think I had read GWS were trying to grab a first rounder out of you to go with Shaw to give up Adams.. Basically is an 8 pick slide back down the order (5 pick slide really as Norths pick is committed, one of the picks is committed, and it sounds like you and West Coast may already know who they intend to pick at 11)

Port: 14 -> GWS for 21 + 22
GWS: 14 + Adams -> Collingwood for Shaw and 6
Port: 22 -> Brisbane for Polec

LOL!!!!

Right now I'm assuming you're posting from Centrelink.

No need to go on, I get your point. You're in the Shaw for Adams straight swap camp. If GWS wan't to raise their draft picks and are only using three, there could just be a Port/GWS exchange, and Collingwood work out the Shaw/Adams deal separately.

You don't get the point.

Why would we trade up to pick 6 only to do your shitty deal? Your black, white and teal glasses must be glued on.

Jeez we just finished a massive trade deal this morning, which obviously was our priority, and now I imagine they'll move onto this across the next couple days now that we/they actually know our draft position and what we're working with.

Calm yo' t***ies, they probably haven't even sat down after lunch yet.

I for one, pledge to keep my t***ies calm.

Well, I dont think we would have gone to the trouble of doing the deal with West Coast for 6, then throwing it away on this. Adams is not worth six. Even GWS wouldnt be stupid enough to ask for six in this deal...10 maybe, which I think is overpaying, but not 6. Thats...insanity level stupid.

Hine alluded that another player may be involved in the Adams/Shaw deal, so maybe we are giving away a fringe player as part of the deal, I'd be ok with that as long as we keep pick 6 and 10.
With the lack of other picks to negotiate with, involving another player sounds a real possibility. I'm thinking Marty C might be the man.

Well, I dont think we would have gone to the trouble of doing the deal with West Coast for 6, then throwing it away on this. Adams is not worth six. Even GWS wouldnt be stupid enough to ask for six in this deal...10 maybe, which I think is overpaying, but not 6. Thats...insanity level stupid.

That's fine, in that case maybe the 10/14 pick swap is a closer option.

You don't get the point.

Why would we trade up to pick 6 only to do your shitty deal? Your black, white and teal glasses must be glued on.

Nah, us trading with GWS has no dependence on you and GWS delaing Adams, as GWS is likely to try and reduce their picks down to a set of 3 in the top 10 - I can't see them picking too deep. I thought GWS getting 14 may have helped you guys. Obviously 6 for 14 in your opinion is way over the odds, so that's fine, as I don't follow Adams. Perhaps 10 for 14 is closer for you, and if not, it has no effect on anything Port needs to do.

Mate, worst case scenario for us now is we keep Heater and that ain't so bad for us. This deal will determine how we use #6 and #10, not a bad problem to have. Saints have said Sam Fisher won't be traded elsewhere (ie. GWS) which makes Heater far more of a priority for them - I would suggest a straight swap is $1.25 now. Remember, Taylor Adams is not compulsory for the Pies but having watched him closely live in action a couple of times, he certainly would be nice. Just nice.

Going to miss Gault.

After this trading period GWS will have around 60 first round picks on their list - can't imagine they'd have any interest in Gault.

I reckon Lynch or Clarke would be more likely.