- Banned
- #2,151
Sheedy’s alright mate, just think of Fred Flinstone and all the fun he gave you growing up.This is the first Sheedy story I've heard that made me like him
Two players i have met and that are absolute knobs. Scarlett and dangerfield. Scarlett in particular has no hesitation telling little kids to fu** off if they ask for an autograph
Neither surprises me. Danger struts around like his shit doesn't stink. Wants more money for shorter quarters while waiting to get paid the whole shebang despite no games taking place. Would prefer the Scarlett typeDangerfield surprises me a little but the bit about Scarlett is very believable
But did they dislike each other?Heard Caddy and Mitch Clark were pretty unliked at Geelong
Who cares about this when the thread is about players disliking each other.Two players i have met and that are absolute knobs. Scarlett and dangerfield. Scarlett in particular has no hesitation telling little kids to fu** off if they ask for an autograph
I believe this is in Sheedy's book from the late 1990s. I recall something about Sheedy taking an autograph book for a young fan around the dressing rooms and Bill Barrot signed it, "Get f’ed, Bill Barrot". Sheedy took exception and they punched on.
Remember towards the end if his career he could get so wound up by niggle and sledging that his game would go to shit.Yeah great player, but he has that whole figjam vibe
Wa is better than vic because it has sand on the beach , okI live in wa ....and man it leaves Victoria for dead
We have sand on the beach ...white pure sand and miles of deserted beaches to yourself
Anyways back to Judd I'm grateful of his achievements ...he just didn't look happy after winning a flag
He's the most unhappy captain of a flag winning team I've ever seen ....
Well yeah it is a good start so stop being precious.Wa is better than vic because it has sand on the beach , ok
If I ever want sand I'll know where to go now , thanksWell yeah it is a good start so stop being precious.
I didn't know sand was the latest tourist attraction too hahah , when the lockdown is over I'm going there ! Need to see this great Holy sandJesus, even fighting over sand now
Thanks, I needed a good laugh
Perfect beaches for thousands of km - amazing surf - the best reef ecosystems you will ever see.Wa is better than vic because it has sand on the beach , ok
You will get a great view with your head stuck in it.I didn't know sand was the latest tourist attraction too hahah , when the lockdown is over I'm going there ! Need to see this great Holy sand
Having been to our clubs best & fairest for multiple years now, I can absolutely verify that Dangerfield is a very surly individual to our fans....It is really disappointing to see tbh, especially when you compare him to a Guthrie or Selwood who are so great with their time....On the actual topic, I can tell you Josh Caddy & Scott Selwood could not stand each other in 2016, which reached the point of Caddy suggesting a conflict of interest with Joel as captain because he felt Joel was pushing Scott to be in the midfield & therefore forcing Caddy out of it down forward. It was a not so much talked about reason why he left that year while still in contract.Dangerfield surprises me a little but the bit about Scarlett is very believable
Well I envy you a lot, certainly not my experience with him, but am glad to hear he’s not always like that.....Not so much teammates but team vs coach in the Gary Ayres days is another one....Have heard from numerous people that our senior core of the mid to late 90’s all referenced Gary Ayres as “minibus” because they all felt he was only half a coach.what you said about Danger does not fit with my experience.
Which half?Well I envy you a lot, certainly not my experience with him, but am glad to hear he’s not always like that.....Not so much teammates but team vs coach in the Gary Ayres days is another one....Have heard from numerous people that our senior core of the mid to late 90’s all referenced Gary Ayres as “minibus” because they all felt he was only half a coach.
Haha i’d say he was the back half, because by 1999 we were towards rear of the competition....In all seriousness though, it does go a way to explaining why our culture took such a long time to build after that, it clearly wasn’t a harmonious club at that time.Which half?
He was business at the front and party at the back.
Having been to our clubs best & fairest for multiple years now, I can absolutely verify that Dangerfield is a very surly individual to our fans....It is really disappointing to see tbh, especially when you compare him to a Guthrie or Selwood who are so great with their time....On the actual topic, I can tell you Josh Caddy & Scott Selwood could not stand each other in 2016, which reached the point of Caddy suggesting a conflict of interest with Joel as captain because he felt Joel was pushing Scott to be in the midfield & therefore forcing Caddy out of it down forward. It was a not so much talked about reason why he left that year while still in contract.
Not true, Tim Kelly was actually quite well liked in the 2 years he was there.... He remarked to a lot of the guys how much he will miss them, it was simply a matter of circumstance for him leaving, because he needs help with two of his kids possibly being on the spectrum... It certainly wasn’t a anti-Geelong thing.....To add another one to this topic, although it’s probably been raised before, but Mark Blake was seriously disliked by most of the club after the 2007 GF, the players felt he was selfish in the way he handled being dropped & made it all about him, when it should of been about the team....The clincher being him basically saying either King goes or I go. He really riled up some guys after that, with Scarlett & Mooney at the forefront.Have heard that Tim Kelly wasn't very well liked by the playing group at Geelong.
Had an ego that wasn't appreciated.
Yea it would be interesting to know... I have a workmate who know’s or at least knew Cameron Thurley very well ( ex Roo also ) when he was in Geelong, & he told me that one day Cameron Ling was following Thurley into the club & saw him brush off two kids trying to get autographs, once inside Lingy apparently gave him an absolute verbal barrage saying something along the lines of “never again do you ignore our supporters like that”....Apparently Thurley was so taken aback he felt the need to go back outside & see the kids to say sorry and sign the autographs.Caddy comes across as... Well kind of a flog. It's good to hear Guthrie and Selwood are decent guys. I do wonder what the more accommodating players think of their surlier teammates
terry wallet did that to him, only way he got to stay on the list.Old man was a dog of a player. Dirty little campaigner.
I heard it was worse at the dogs because they were overly precious , eg telling him not do his handstands , sooking about his article.I
Was it leading teams he had a problem with or his teammates "telling him like it is", I suspect the 2nd option when you consider lightning struck in the same place twice. Leading teams worked out of for the Cats it put them on their road to success if you listen to some of their players.
No question Aker was at his best a great player, entertaining etc but it was always about him.