Teammates that didn't like each other

If true good on Ling for that. Footballers need to remember their salaries come from the fans, and kids especially look up to them. They have to be good with kids and give the kids their time.

For all his faults Barry Hall was great at this. The kids loved him and he always seemed to give kids his time.
have heard multiple reports about Hall being a genuine bloke. Just a hothead with white line fever
Can confirm re: Barry Hall. Saw him out on the town in Sydney at least half a dozen times around the mid 2000's and he was more than happy to have a chat to drunken idiots - myself included on a few of those occasions - and I never once saw him lose patience or fob someone off. Just took it in his stride and enjoyed it.

Seriously?
Sheedy is a legend for involvement in the game.
He is the first to arrive and last to leave at every engagement.
Granted, he's a lunatic when it comes to promotion, but when it comes to one on one people skills there's very few who are better.

I've seen him go to the boot of his own car and give a footy to a kid.
He was telling them to practice bouncing and kicking it to yourself.
This one kid said he didn't have a footy.
At the end of the clinic, about half an hour later, he went to his car said "where's my little mate that doesn't have a footy?"
He went into his own car and gave the kid a Sherrin.
Then he said to the people who were standing there open mouthed "every kid needs his own footy", got into his car and left.
Fair enough, it was probably Essendon's footy (he was coach at the time) but even still, the impact it made to that one kid was huge.

I met Kevin working at the Melton country club as a glassy when I was 15. I met him again a few years later when I was playing TAC cup footy. He remembered me and had a great chat with me. I met a lot of footy personalities during my playing days and have nothing but respect for Sheedy.

Seriously?
Granted, he's a lunatic when it comes to promotion, but when it comes to one on one people skills there's very few who are better.

At the end of the clinic, about half an hour later, he went to his car said "where's my little mate that doesn't have a footy?"
Then he said to the people who were standing there open mouthed "every kid needs his own footy", got into his car and left.
Fair enough, it was probably Essendon's footy (he was coach at the time) but even still, the impact it made to that one kid was huge.

Look I've spent hours on ya website so I've gotta pay respect. But I do support North Melbourne after all

You can hate Sheedy for being an Essendon bloke, but his contribution to the promotion and development of footy is unrivalled

Heard something about Tim Watson & Glen Hawker not getting along, anyone know if that's true though? Seems a bit strange for someone to make it up

Played his 200th with Essendon at the end of the 1988 season and left for Carlton. Given he was a regular best 22 player right up until the end, there may be some merit to this rumour.

Seriously?

I met Sheedy a few years ago at a function. Setting aside that I hate all things Essendon I found Sheedy to be a fantastic and really engaging guy. He gives a lot to the game, plenty to the fans and doesn't hold himself above anyone else.

Absolute respect.

Dermot Brereton and Jason Dunstall have a fake feud
that's been going on for years.

It's a wrestling style conflict. Dermot is a big wrestling
fan. Only good friends can get away with it.

Yeah, they get along well.

Dunstall is an aloof chap though...not rude, just doesn't relate to people he doesn't know. Derm loves everyone.

had the pleasure of meeting Barry over the tables as a Casino employee.good guy,down to earth
Come across many Afl players in that role and in all fairness over 90% are just genuine good ppl out for a break of routine.
My impressions on a few, Nathan Buckley: absolute solid citizen and gentleman
Shane Tuck : good bloke, Aaron Hamill: good bloke with an edge Andrew Mackie : cool,casual.cocky,wears a pair of thongs in winter,or did back then
Adam Simpson : Surly,Peter Bell : All Business,even back in '98 ,David Shwarz: popular,gragerious all round good bloke,David King : Edgy
Loon's : Aaron James,Stephen Lawerence,Shannon Grant,Nathan Thompson
have heard multiple reports about Hall being a genuine bloke. Just a hothead with white line fever
Used to play against Broadford and Hall's little brother, he'd often come to the grand final and get on the cans but always signed the kids jumpers and balls and even have a kick with them at half time and let them take hangers over him, genuine good bloke.

I think it's TW's joke. Sorry for details/omissions/errors because I was only half listening but he said Hawker's parents used to give him a lift from Dimboola and he and Glen would sit in the back. And Glen wouldn't share his chocolate.

So more of an in joke and facetiousness rather than seriousness.

Seriously?

He was engaged to give us a motivational breakfast “speech” in the late 80s. He was unintelligible, I reckon he was pissed. He charged an arm and a leg.

Dermot Brereton and Jason Dunstall have a fake feud
that's been going on for years.

It's a wrestling style conflict. Dermot is a big wrestling
fan. Only good friends can get away with it.

That may be the case in recent times, possibly encouraged by their respective media roles, but I assure you it wasn't during their playing days. Russell Green, who I've known for most of my life, was also one of Dermie's close mates during their playing days and diplomatically recalls he was one of the few - Greeny is also the main source of my earlier post on the matter.

Fake feud, maybe, but I would still be shocked if I walked into a pub one night and saw just the two of them there having a beer together....

So more of an in joke and facetiousness rather than seriousness.
Yeah maybe. Many a word said in jest. But imagine a kid on a long car trip, sitting in the back seat of another family's car, and the other kid is sitting there not sharing their chocolate.

Seems trivial as adults, but for kids, I can understand him not liking that, and that then help shaping his view of him into adulthood.

Yeah maybe. Many a word said in jest. But imagine a kid on a long car trip, sitting in the back seat of another family's car, and the other kid is sitting there not sharing their chocolate.

Seems trivial as adults, but for kids, I can understand him not liking that, and that then help shaping his view of him into adulthood.

I had one 'mate' when I was 15 buy two $5 lunch specials at chicken treat when he knew I didn't have any money, then proceeded to eat them both the campaigner

Years later we still have mutual acquaintances and honestly if he were on fire I wouldn't share water from my toilet to put him out. Sometimes its the small things like that which tell you somebodies true character and whether you should have anything to do with them again

Teammates that didn't like each other