Teammates that didn't like each other

It's borderline - the first time i saw a friend with a mobile was 1999 and we were year 10 (so 15/16 yrs old)

It's plausible he had one, but unlikely that enough other people had one for him to be using it while driving though -
Young people on mobile phones while driving have only become epidemic since the smartphone. Before that, it was just time-poor working people.

In the 90s you could only call other mobiles from a mobile. They were pretty much just walky-talkys

Your mum just told you that so you wouldn't ring up huge landline bills calling mobiles.

Yeah and when Mr Whippy was playing that music it didn't actually mean they were all sold out of ice cream either.

Decent mobile phones were available by 1997, and many people had them, stop making bulldust excuses up. Footy players these days are defended to the hilt, when many of them are overpaid bogans.
Yeah they certainly were. My best mate and I were talking to someone on his mobile, one of the big Nokia ones with the leather cover on it, the day Port Arthur happened (in 1996) and that person rang us from a landline.
They had 019 and 018 prefixes.

Aker V Everyone :)

Not when they played, but Michael Voss and Daniel Bradshaw.

This came about when Voss, Brisbane coach at the time, traded Daniel Bradshaw without his knowledge, to Carlton for Brendan Fevola. Bradshaw refused to go to Carlton, and when his contract came up, he left for Sydney instead.

I heard at the premiership reunions for the Lions, that Bradshaw didn't show up, because he won't be in the same room as Michael Voss.

Not sure about teamates, but some disputes between players and coaches became public knowledge over the years such as:

Shane Zantuck v Ron Barassi at Melbourne in 1981
Brad Hardie v Mick Malthouse at Footscray in 1986
Derek Kickett v Kevin Sheedy at Essendon in 1993
John McCarthy v Bernie Quinlan at Fitzroy in 1995
Corey McKernan v Dennis Pagan at North & Carlton in early 2000s

I'd add Gary Ablett jr v Mark Thompson, 2010.

How do you feel about Justin Murphy?

No particular feelings on Murphy one way or another (other than he is a shitbag).

Anyway, when he was playing with Richmond I was at the Carlton Hotel in Bourke St. with a mate and was told to come over to a table and be introduced to a woman. It was JM's mother. She wanted me to go back to her place in Fitzroy and sleep with her and she had a LOT of burly blokes with her pressuring me to do so. I had to make an excuse to use the dunny and run down the stairs and out onto Bourke St.

Then I had to find a payphone, call the operator and get the # of the Carlton, ring the pub and get my mate to come to the phone and tell him what was going on.

For those of you who have only visited the Carlton in recent years where it was all stuffed animal heads on the wall, believe me, it was something different years ago

Decent mobile phones were available by 1997, and many people had them, stop making bulldust excuses up. Footy players these days are defended to the hilt, when many of them are overpaid bogans.
It was legal to talk on your mobile whilst driving in the 1990s, so not sure why everyone arguing about whether he was on the phone or not!

Not when they played, but Michael Voss and Daniel Bradshaw.

This came about when Voss, Brisbane coach at the time, traded Daniel Bradshaw without his knowledge, to Carlton for Brendan Fevola. Bradshaw refused to go to Carlton, and when his contract came up, he left for Sydney instead.

I heard at the premiership reunions for the Lions, that Bradshaw didn't show up, because he won't be in the same room as Michael Voss.

Whilst Bradshaw is probably in the right for being pissed off, he really needs to get over it if still harboring that much of a grudge it would prevent him from enjoying the success he experienced with his teammates. Having the opportunity to attend triple premiership reunions is something a lot of ex-players would kill for.

End of the day Voss was senior coach and had to do what he felt right for the football club. It was a mistake to go about it in the way that he did and Bradshaw was quite reasonably upset, but now I think it should be water under the bridge.

Whilst Bradshaw is probably in the right for being pissed off, he really needs to get over it if still harboring that much of a grudge it would prevent him from enjoying the success he experienced with his teammates. Having the opportunity to attend triple premiership reunions is something a lot of ex-players would kill for.

End of the day Voss was senior coach and had to do what he felt right for the football club. It was a mistake to go about it in the way that he did and Bradshaw was quite reasonably upset, but now I think it should be water under the bridge.

Not really. He may harbor some anger towards the club itself. Pissed off at the club and Voss and doesn't see the point attending reunion. He wouldn't be the first football player disgruntled at a football club, and I doubt he will be the last.

i hear he is already ruffling a couple of ass.coaches the wrong way at wce.nothing serious just pissing on post stuff.

I can confirm this would be the case. As I was told by a current players sister about issues with Sam Mitchell and the playing group. Obviously has a set way of doing things and standards he wants met.

He is apparently not the most liked bloke going around and they would be suprised if he stayed on coaching at the Eagles in 2018...

I can confirm this would be the case. As I was told by a current players sister about issues with Sam Mitchell and the playing group. Obviously has a set way of doing things and standards he wants met.

He is apparently not the most liked bloke going around and they would be suprised if he stayed on coaching at the Eagles in 2018...

I guess that's what happens when an ultimate professional with winning attitudes and experiences mixes with a bunch of soft *****

Teammates that didn't like each other