Teammates that didn't like each other

played with Cupido at south Adelaide years ago. we both worked at the club also.

He spent his time knicking packets of chips n soft drink from behind the bar

Came to work in purple velvet suit even tho he was meant to be doing footy clinics at local schools.

Also spent time on the track lining up junior players trying to make the reserves team thinking he was tough.

shit bloke
Head a few stories about him while at South. Was on 2 contracts as well from memory. One that they lodged for salary cap purposes and the one they were actually paying him.

If he's so hated why was Mitchell the guy who took control before extra time against Port, and brought your team together, instead of the guy who's been captain for years?

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that. Stunning inditement of Hurns captaincy.

Probably a difference between being hated and respected. 300+ games, 4x premiership player and likely coach next year, why wouldn't players listen to him. It's one thing for Hurn to rant and rave, but a guy like Mitchell adds something different.

Never knew Milburn killed someone. I'm hardly surprised that he wasn't charged. Boys will be boys after all. In America he would've got 10 years.

#Australianjustice
History is strange.
A Geelong premiership hero.

I often wonder if Geelong had have lost the 2009 GF, how Milburn would be remembered after he gave away those two stupid goals in the first quarter.

Not team mates, but I know Jeff Garlett watches AFL 360 after making some disgusting remarks to Dayne Beams that resulted in Beamer belting him after a point this year.

In the recent James Button book about the history of Geelong, Paul Chapman mentions that he is not friendly with Scarlett. Not sure if it's just a clash of personalities or something more to it, or whether either expands on it in his own book.

At a guess, I'd say it's probably two alpha dog types clashing. Many Geelong players from that era have spoken about how intimidating Scarlett was and how hard they had to work to win his respect, while Chapman (whom I believe was never part of Geelong's leadership group, due to his own bluntness with other players) doesn't sound like the type of guy who would treat anyone with the deference that Scarlett was probably used to.

images
upload_2017-10-18_6-31-20.jpeg

What did Rockliff do to Polec?
A lot of scuttlebutt going around at the time of the Go Home 5 that Rocky was particularly harsh with the young blokes at the club re childish initiation/hazing rituals and giving overly blunt feedback on their performance.

I will add that all the talk this season is that he turned it around, which was demonstrated by him winning the players player award on B&F night.

If he's so hated why was Mitchell the guy who took control before extra time against Port, and brought your team together, instead of the guy who's been captain for years?

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that. Stunning inditement of Hurns captaincy.

Mitchell is thrice the leader Hurn will ever be. He may not be liked (ala Buckley in his playing days) but I imagine he is very much respected.

You serious..
Nathan Carroll and Pia?
I mean Nathan and his model good looks.
Apparently Pia was quite the party girl.

This came from the horses mouth, however he could be full of shit

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

In the recent James Button book about the history of Geelong, Paul Chapman mentions that he is not friendly with Scarlett. Not sure if it's just a clash of personalities or something more to it, or whether either expands on it in his own book.

At a guess, I'd say it's probably two alpha dog types clashing. Many Geelong players from that era have spoken about how intimidating Scarlett was and how hard they had to work to win his respect, while Chapman (whom I believe was never part of Geelong's leadership group, due to his own bluntness with other players) doesn't sound like the type of guy who would treat anyone with the deference that Scarlett was probably used to.
I reckon Paul Chapman is probably a pretty decent guy.

While playing at the Bombers he publicly spoke about not really like Brendon Goddard, and then when he retired basically teed off on him. To me Goddard is a flog of the highest order – uber competitive, sooky, a prick to his teammates.

I've also long harboured this fascination with why people other than Geelong supporters have such a love for Matthew Scarlett. To me he just seemed a massive prick.

One of the most interesting things I've seen is when Essendon played Geelong at Etihad in Chappy's first game against the Cats, after the game he was out on the ground for a good ten minutes chatting to just about every opposition player. Fair enough some guys talk to their old teammates more than regular opponents, but it was clear on TV how much the Cats respected the guy because everyone was giving him a pat and a handshake and really visibly wishing him well and catching up.

The general outcome to me is that Paul Chapman is probably a pretty decent bloke who simply doesn't like these over-competitive, footy-head, arrogant personalities that it seems Goddard and Scarlett are/were.

Obviously I've never spent as much time with him as Chapman would have, but most things I've seen and heard of Scarlett on a personal level make him seem like a knob.

Teammates that didn't like each other