Teams Reaction To Brown Hit

Go The Mores # 2

Mar 21, 2007
Round 4 saw Barry Hall king hit Brent Staker - a terrible act that evoked at the very most a half hearted retaliation from Adam Hunter.
Fast forward 1 week and Jonathan Brown crunches Sam Mitchell. Now, when comparing incidents it is akin to comparing apples and oranges but how good was our reaction ???
Brown had barely got himself off the ground and we had Ladson, Lewis and one other in there giving it to the big fella. Soon enough it was an all in melee - great stuff.
Is it a difference in confidence that sees the difference in reactions between us and the Eagles or is it just the fact we are the hardest team in the comp ???
Either way how good was it ?

Yeah it was nuts I was listening on SEN. The commentator said Jordan Lewis is so tough that he would give his grandma stale bread or he would eat stale bread... anyways it was somewhere along those lines!

Before I replied to this I was thinking, Barry Hall is a beast thats why they didn't try and start him, then I thought Johnathan Brown is like the only one who could take Hall. So yeah I guess what I'm saying is Hawthorn are a bunch of tough stale cookies!!!

Sam milked it. Nothing in it. The boys got around him as they should of, got nothing to do with a percieved hardness.
Theres nothing perceived about it mate. We ARE the hardest team in the comp and this reaction was indicative of this.
Im not saying that we are hard because we got around Mitch I'm saying that the toughness that runs through our list was evident through this.
Ladson is not the biggest bloke but he had no hesitation in running in and well Lewis we expect it coz hes a nutcase. Love him

there was nothing in it, shouldn't have been a report.

it looked like sam got more hurt from players standing on him in the melee afterwards. he got up easily and at the time i was yelling for him to quickly get to the square and kick it b4 the free was reversed.

i don't think j brown could even take on bazza.

it all looked a bit pathetic to me, try hard toughness while your skipper lies on the ground after being nudged softly

Sam milked it. Nothing in it. The boys got around him as they should of, got nothing to do with a percieved hardness.

oh bullshit! Did you see it, he was abotu to get up when he had players trampling him, he did the smart thing and stayed down to protect himself. He was in the pheotal positition, head tucked in. He was makign sure he did not get hurt (few feet came very close to knocking his cranium)

A St Kilda supporter questioning a captain's toughness? Who would have thought! Reiwoldt cough cough

Sure, Riewoldt isn't going to drive through packs with 4 tacklers hanging onto him in the way that Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell do every week, but the mark Riewoldt took against Sydney a couple of years back where he was running with the flight of the ball and launched himself at it was one of the gutsiest things I've seen on the footy field.

If someone from overseas asked me to show them proof that our game requires great courage, I'd show footage of that and Jonathan Brown launching himself at packs when running with the flight.

That's tougher than Barry Hall's hit (not that I'd have the guts to tell Barry that!! :D)

PS. If you want to list Saints who might lack a bit of toughness, check who is lying on the ground holding his head after the Riewoldt mark ;)

it all looked a bit pathetic to me, try hard toughness while your skipper lies on the ground after being nudged softly
The 2nd most indearing image I can think of your Captain, is his shrunken monkey featured face blubbering and snivelling as he sits his sorry arse on the bench. The ultimate sook, and you make him captain.

i still found the hawthorn boys reaction over the top and pathetic, all came screaming in trying to act tough reacting to a nothing hit. but most of all i loved watching ur little try hard toughies trying to push around johnno brown as he just stood there disinterested. particularly, jordan lewis, who came running in and pushed brown in the back a couple of times, brown just stood there as if what is this little man doing.

A bit like our reaction to you :D

Hey, school holidays are over - get to bed, little boy, and get some sleep! And do your homework ...

oh bullshit! Did you see it, he was abotu to get up when he had players trampling him, he did the smart thing and stayed down to protect himself. He was in the pheotal positition, head tucked in. He was makign sure he did not get hurt (few feet came very close to knocking his cranium)

Watch it again. Gets hit stays down until the kick is given. He was fine, just milking it. I thought we were talking about the incident of brown hitting him?

All I was saying about our "percieved hardness" is that a bunch of fellas playing pull my jumper and undisciplined acts are not good examples.

I do think we are a hard side. Why?

Watch the way Brown flings himself at every contest and backs into packs.
The tackling pressure of the whole team :thumbsu:
The way fellas like hodge and sewell get contested possesion and break tackles.
The way they aren't affraid of taking possesion of, or putting their head over the pill.

Look everyone is free to talk us up but the sort of examples some are giving are lame. They stink of the type of posts that focus on blokes who have played a handful of games and showed a little promise as the better option over experience.

I have no probs with the reaction, however, I wish Clarko would stop advertising the fact he has no problem with our players going so close to the line and maybe getting rubbed out for a week or 2.
Have that attitude but keep it schtum for god sake.
We are just inviting the MRPanel and the AFL to clamp down on every minor misdemeanour.
Reputations count against you to a great degree in this comp.

J Brown only got reported because of who he is on Sat night. Had it been A Corrie or S Black nothing would have happened.
If Trent West was J Brown or C Brown they would now be doing 3-4 weeks.

Just cant understand why we are constantly talking about it. It will bite us on the bum for sure.

The original poster is comparing the reaction of the Hawks (flying the flag) to the reaction of the Eagles (Hunter running in and squibbing it completely, and no one else coming in).

Its not that hard to comprehend folks.

The first point is off topic, but the second point about the boys getting around him is in essence what the original poster is highlighting.

Is it a good thing to show support and spirit for a fallen team mate. The answer is yes. By all means we don't want Lewis and Hodge running in throwing haymakers, but a bit of a jumper punch (at the extreme end), or just jostling and showing that its not all right to deck Hawks is to be commended.

The whole AFL watched the Eagles squib the incident after Hall decked Staker, and if I was Staker or a supporter of the Eagles, i'd not be too comfortable with the white flag waving.

This has nothing to do with "being tough" (Hawks supporters), or "acting tough" (all you pathetic opposition supporters who've been ruffled by the Hawks recently), but has everything to do with supporting your teammates, and showing that no one individual is less than the sum of the team.

The original poster is comparing the reaction of the Hawks (flying the flag) to the reaction of the Eagles (Hunter running in and squibbing it completely, and no one else coming in).

Its not that hard to comprehend folks.

A poor example to use and use the word hardest to describe it. I first commented on the incident and then gave my opinion. Not to hard to comprehend either. Also one was behind the play and one wasn't therfore the number of eyes on the incident was very different! Might have been the difference between a couple people seeing it and 10. Got no problem with the reaction either but let's stop telling everyone how good we are and using crap examples of how we think we are hard.

The best examples of our teams hardness are with football in hand not our genitals!

A poor example to use and use the word hardest to describe it. I first commented on the incident and then gave my opinion. Not to hard to comprehend either. Also one was behind the play and one wasn't therfore the number of eyes on the incident was very different! Might have been the difference between a couple people seeing it and 10. Got no problem with the reaction either but let's stop telling everyone how good we are and using crap examples of how we think we are hard.

The best examples of our teams hardness are with football in hand not our genitals!

I specifically quoted you because you were one of the few who was discussing the point at hand, rather than everyone else flying off talking about how tough we are.

No problem with your comprehension, nor mine.

You tend to notice players on your team get decked, even if it takes a couple of seconds. It registers. Players run off at odd angles towards a commotion. You turn and look. Then you choose to intervene, or in the Eagles case, you don't. I think it was pathetic. I thought the Hawks response was more apt.

Secondly, I'm in the Hawks board, not the main board, so any rabbiting on about our players was what its about, isn't it?

Clearly we're both had a gutfull today!

Teams Reaction To Brown Hit