Temper Trap to perform at Grand Final

Temper Trap are good and Paul Kelly is one of my all time faveourites so pretty happy. Never saw the point in getting these old international acts the past couple years.

Jesus, wilful ignorance is rampant this morning. Try to get to a few music festivals, avoid commercial radio, expand your horizons. Music continued to exist after 1995 and is in fact still made today, a fact apparently unknown to many posters here. Music that isn't ACDC isn't just what's in the Top 40 people. Listen to Triple R occasionally (if you're in Melbourne).

Good choices all round. Temper Trap are one of the more successful Aussie acts of recent years, well known here and internationally but still credible and not yet cringeworthy. Tim Rogers is a legend and loves footy (still plays perhaps? Played in a few benefit matches recently) and one only needs to review the bushfires benefit to see how well Paul Kelly and the MCG go together. Can't say I'm thrilled with how they plan to parade the talent but the chosen performers are fine by me.

Mate dont call me ignorant. All I was saying, and not many would disagree I Imagine is that the temper trap are relatively unknown. I love music and could match most people in a conversation about music. But just stating the facts. I didnt even mention the other artists as I did not know they were playing but paul kelly is a beautiful songwriter and I cant wait to see him playing @ the GF.

Why was The Temper Trap picked??? One reason - Michael Gudinski.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fans-to-spill-onto-mcg-in-free-finals-gig-20120904-25b9f.html

Michael Gudinski, who will produce the grand final entertainment, said it was great to have an all-Australian line-up.

"Melbourne has some of the greatest music bands in the world and The Temper Trap have proven themselves to be one of our best exports with world-wide recognition," he said.​

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fans-to-spill-onto-mcg-in-free-finals-gig-20120904-25b9f.html

I have bumped the GF entertainment Paul Kelly ( the musician) thread started in 2008 and followed up in 2010 when Lionel Ritchie was plucked to do the 2010 GF replay.

troutmaskreplica made a comment re the 2010 entertainment and why the AFL entertainment was so bad. I took his post and did a bit of digging.

The AFL could do worse than take a leaf out of the NRL's music book and guess what? It does do a lot worse! The NRL has You Am I this year, had Wolfmother last year and Hoodoo Gurus a couple of years ago. The Gurus show was an absolute beaut. Problem with the AFL is that there is not a single person in the organisation that has a clue about putting on entertainment and making a cultural and artistic connection to the GF as an event. They use people like Michael Gudinski to do it for them. Gudinski runs a touring company and his sole interest is lining his and his clients pockets but mostly his. Paul Kelly hasn't got a snowball's chance in hell of performing at the GF. Expect Delta Goodrem does.

Oh yeah, I vote Paul Kelly with both hands!

They are listening, Tim Rogers has a gig.

Does Gudinski manage or own the record label of The Temper Trap??

Well well well.....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Temper_Trap

The Temper Trap's eponymous second album was released in late May/early June 2012 under Liberation Music (AUS), Infectious Records (UK) and Glassnote Records (US).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Temper_Trap

who owns Liberation Music?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberation_Music
Liberation Music is a boutique, independent Australian record company, started in 1999 by Michael Gudinski and Warren Costello
Following the 1998 sale of Gudinski's Mushroom Records to Festival Records, Liberation Music was formed to continue to satisfy Michael Gudinksi's desire to promote and develop Australian Music.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberation_Music

Who has a major role at Infectious Records?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infectious_Records
In January 2009 it was announced that Korda Marshall would be relaunching Infectious Records as Infectious Music Ltd. With financial support coming from theatre and sports entrepreneur Michael Watt, Marshall also brought Michael Gudinski onto the board of directors of the company.

The first signing to the newly relaunched label was Melbourne band The Temper Trap, who are also signed to Gudinksi's Australian label Liberation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infectious_Records

In what way could temper trap be considered a new band ? they've been around for years now the hit "sweet disposition" was released 4 years ago!

Anyhow a nice change from bogan pub rock i guess, have the AFL finally realized we're not still in the 80's ?

saw them at big day out a few years ago.
were brilliant and put on an awesome show. very pleased they got them to perform. and watching enough tv, i'm sure most people would recognise some of their songs from use in ads and other tv promotions

Temper Trap to perform at Grand Final